Studying in the UK V2

Raining
post Nov 10 2008, 05:23 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Nov 9 2008, 05:36 AM)
i see. it's normal.. it's not thier mistake, i do have some friend's visa are not valid till their convo..
i would say if you have interest to work in uk, you can consider go back to malaysia for 1 or 2 months then apply Tier 1 Post Study Work Visa and come back for your convo.. this will save you some money and you don't need to pay more for the visa..
i not sure this will work... just a suggestion.. unsure.gif
thanks for the advise happy.gif I will try to plan towards this direction, worse come to worse I just give up attending the convo sad.gif
Raining
post Nov 11 2008, 03:25 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Nov 10 2008, 05:59 AM)
if you got money, you can always come back as visitor to attend the graduation.
yalor, but that's too exp, so most probably I will give up attending the graduation smile.gif
Raining
post Nov 13 2008, 05:06 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(melt @ Nov 11 2008, 07:52 AM)
Is once in a life time... I would suggest that if you can afford it then try to stay there if not then you will have to give up.
QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 11 2008, 08:22 AM)
yes, it's once in a life time. but most UK universities nowadays allow u to postpone ur graduation ceremony to later years. my friend who graduated UCL in 2004 just attended her ceremony this year. no problems at all. the only difference is u dont get to attend with ur friends laa.

and owh, u dont just attend. first u need to inform them first tongue.gif.
hehe, thanks every1, I will try my effort to see what I do with the graduation , worse come to worse I will postpone the it smile.gif

This post has been edited by Raining: Nov 13 2008, 05:07 AM
Raining
post Nov 21 2008, 06:06 AM

104 posts

Received an email today which ask us not to download torrent, then at the same night the student accommodation's broadband's speed suddenly boost up 6 times faster than normal sweat.gif

wonder how the people here survive without torrent rclxub.gif

Dear Resident,
A number of students in the halls of residence using BitTorrent software, have caused the University to receive letters about copyright violation from the legal representatives of the owners of copyright material.  Any student who illegally downloads copyright material, (this includes: music, games and films), through the IT connection in their study bedroom onto their computer, is in breach of the Student Discipline Regulations and will receive a financial penalty.

Yours sincerely,
XXX
Accommodation Services Manager
This post has been edited by Raining: Nov 21 2008, 06:07 AM
Raining
post Nov 28 2008, 05:16 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Nov 28 2008, 07:32 AM)
erm, i don't know HSBC can't use for getting a contract phone.. oh, there's one way to make your credit good is put ur vote when ur area is doing election.
probably you can consider Privacy Guard to check on ur credit, you can subscribe for the 1st month and cost u 1quid.. then u cancel it when u receive ur credit report... i suppose it's cheaper compare with ur equifax...
QUOTE(corad @ Nov 28 2008, 11:18 AM)
me ? vote ?

sweat.gif

I'm a Malaysian too wei ...  laugh.gif

The cash part isn't the only thing bothering me, i'll still have to submit personal documents to them like passport n bank statements for them to "verify" my identity. so nobody knows of any places which gives phone contracts without too many questions?

maybe i'll just buy a phone off ebay  sad.gif
My friend from india successfully register as voter at the City Council,

according to him, resident from Commonwealth country are eligible to register as voter smile.gif

I haven't tried, not sure this works for Malaysian or not smile.gif

any1 here try before?

This post has been edited by Raining: Nov 28 2008, 05:19 PM
Raining
post Dec 4 2008, 01:36 AM

104 posts

How you guys normally keep your feet warm? with thermal socks? or there is other option? because I wrap my whole body when I go out, but my feet is freezing sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Raining: Dec 4 2008, 02:06 AM
Raining
post Dec 4 2008, 09:47 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(lanun8 @ Dec 4 2008, 01:59 AM)
i use tiger balm, apply it and wear the normal cotton socks..
QUOTE(Glassy @ Dec 4 2008, 03:53 AM)
One pair of good-quality socks should suffice. I notice that my feet don't feel too cold when I walk or move about a lot.
QUOTE(lord @ Dec 4 2008, 03:58 AM)
just normal socks...after i walk for about 30mins then my feet will start to sweat...
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 4 2008, 08:16 AM)
why tiger balm? There doesn't seem to be any logic in that and in fact, the reverse may be true. Tiger balm contains menthol and evaporates off easily by drawing heat (latent) away from your body.
QUOTE(youngkies @ Dec 4 2008, 05:53 PM)
yap. i was like  hmm.gif when read that.

tiger balm, real cooling effect when freshly applied, despite it could cause warm feeling afterward.

good leather shoe works well too.
Hi all,

thanks for all the suggestion, I will try all of them smile.gif
Raining
post Dec 5 2008, 10:42 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Nov 29 2008, 10:42 AM)
wow, din't know that. so how do i sign up ?  tongue.gif
I went to register as a voter today, following is what I basically do:

1) I print and fill in the registration form I got from the local city council website

2) Bring the document which can prove my nationality and prove of my accommodation.
(I show them my Malaysia passport and student status letter received from the university)

3) I went to the city council's registration office which is written in their website
(there many city council office in the same region, make sure u go to the correct 1, or you just ask them where you should go)

4) The staff there will make some photostat of the document they need

5) I was ask to wait for confirmation letter which will be send to my place.

p/s: I not sure whether this procedures applied to the city council in different region or not, but this is what I have gone through in Glasgow.

QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 5 2008, 06:10 AM)
to keep my foot warm, before going out, i usually take a hot shower, while putting the socks i'm gonna wear on the heater. after shower, dry up, and wear socks straight away while u still feel warm. ur feet will tend to keep that way even out in the cold.

it's harder to warm ur feet if it's already cold. so better to keep it warm always.
oh...I never tot of this, I will try from today onwards smile.gif

This post has been edited by Raining: Dec 5 2008, 10:50 PM
Raining
post Dec 7 2008, 03:38 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 6 2008, 07:30 PM)
depends on how badly insulated ur house is. houses with bad insulation (including things u cant see with naked eye) can cause ur room to leak out heat, making u spend more time to heat ur house.

for my house, i only heat the bedroom and the attic office (where i do my work). my heater is set at these hours: 7pm-9pm, 11pm-12am, and 6am-7am. that's a total of 4 hours.
the heater at my flat will only be on for a while when it is really too cold, it is off most of the time because my flatmate from Pakistan cannot afford to pay for the bill.

This post has been edited by Raining: Dec 7 2008, 03:55 AM
Raining
post Dec 7 2008, 07:07 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Dec 7 2008, 06:27 AM)
omg... you must be freeze to dead especially these 2 weeks... there's one way, if he doesn't want to pay the bill.. turn off the radiator in his room.. then the rest of you can turn on the heater and split between you guys.. otherwise if you using the portable heater which using electric will be very expensive...
hehe, I can't believe how I survive until today also smile.gif maybe Glasgow is still warmer compare with other place.
(I went to Edinburgh last week, it is beautiful, but it is damn cold. my shirt + thermal pants is totally useless in keeping me warm.)

my flat uses gas for heater and hot water, so it is hard to tell how to divide the bill even the radiator in his room is off. It is getting cold these few days, so the Pakistan flatmate keep silent when we turn the heater on with low volume. In addition, I will boil some hot water in my room and use the steam to warm up my room sometimes.

But I will get another nice fury jacket tmr, if not the hair on my hand will be getting thicker and longer (it's ugly =p )
Raining
post Dec 8 2008, 03:53 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(lord @ Dec 7 2008, 10:22 PM)
oops..i meant drinking water... blush.gif
It can last only for a short while before it turn to ice water sweat.gif . Even I put the hot water in the flask, it won't be able to last for more than 6 hrs. Hence, the effect of the heater is still the best smile.gif

I was told that the gas and electric is cheaper during certain off-peak period. I think is 12am~7.30am, maybe you can turn the heater's volume higher during that period smile.gif
Raining
post Dec 9 2008, 05:13 AM

104 posts

reminder: Toxins found in Ireland pork product, don't buy those pork product if possible smile.gif

http://newsinfo.inquirer.net/breakingnews/...d-pork-products

This post has been edited by Raining: Dec 9 2008, 07:22 AM
Raining
post Dec 26 2008, 05:13 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(lord @ Dec 25 2008, 06:56 AM)
Merry Christmas everyone!!!
Man these few days the supermarket and mall were full of people. This afternoon we went to Asda and they are selling 6 pint milk at 1 pound...those ppl just carry 6-7 bottles... sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif tmr will be a quiet day and fri n sat will be time to grab any cheap stuff for boxing day... rclxms.gif
The street here is empty during Christmas, I tot it will be crowded like in Malaysia =X

Went to the shoe store just now, the price tag before Christmas is 49.99gbp,

but on boxing day they put before discount 89.99gbp, after discount 49.99gbp sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Raining: Dec 26 2008, 09:44 PM
Raining
post Jan 8 2009, 12:01 AM

104 posts

Sorry everyone,

I have a question. For NHS dental treatment, I just walk-in to the clinic which accept new NHS patient and fill-in some form to get exempted from paying 20% of the fees? I have the medical card after register with the doctor, do I still need to make additional registration for the dentist? icon_question.gif
Raining
post Jan 16 2009, 06:07 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Jan 10 2009, 11:34 PM)
oh, another thing, i'm bit confuse.. about UK resident. we are holding student visa, are we consider uk resident?
erm...I don't think so sad.gif

I also tried to apply for few things, but because I am non-UK resident, hence I am not eligible... sweat.gif

For example when I try to apply for share dealing account, this is what I get smile.gif

I can confirm that as you are a resident in Malaysia you are not eligible to apply for an InvestDirect or InvestDirect International. I therefore regret to inform you that we are unable to provide a service to you at this time.
Raining
post Jan 18 2009, 12:22 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Jan 16 2009, 08:35 PM)
Are you still studying or working?
Still studying smile.gif how come u manage to open the HSBC investDirect account?

QUOTE(Thinkingfox @ Jan 17 2009, 07:45 PM)
Anyway, where do guys usually go for haircut? Do you go every month? 10 pounds is about RM60, which is expensive.
I went to a Chinese shop for haircut, cost me 10 pounds....I saw the price tag of the normal British barber in Glasgow cost around 5~6 pounds...

I was told that it only cost 1 pound if we go to certain hairdressing university as "model" for the hairdressing students...[my housemate tried this near my place, it seems good, going to try next time ^^]

some of my friend make the hair cut themselves. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Raining: Jan 23 2009, 02:43 AM
Raining
post Jan 30 2009, 06:31 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(reynna @ Jan 27 2009, 05:23 PM)
is that GBP100K for 3 years expenses (full course) or 1 year?
We need to have GBP100k before departure?
QUOTE(Qrious @ Jan 27 2009, 09:20 PM)
GBP100K  is equal to RM500K!
have you really???!!
he assume that GBP100k is for the entire course, not for 1 year...but the tuition fees and living cost various from the place you stay and the course you enrolled.

to save $$, most of the people either:
1) Do their undergraduate in Malaysia, then take a MSc in UK
2) Do a twinning program
3) Do those (3+0) or (4+0) courses

This post has been edited by Raining: Jan 30 2009, 06:34 AM
Raining
post Jun 19 2009, 01:00 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(kenv09 @ Jun 18 2009, 03:37 PM)
hmm... can i open a bank account accessible in UK? I heard HSBC allows this..
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 18 2009, 06:41 PM)
do they? coz i'm pretty sure they dont. last time my wife tried that, she was told that although it's the same HSBC name, it's managed under different country's policies. so u cant actually transfer ur money from one account to another internationally as simple as u would like. it's the same process as transferring ur money from one bank in malaysia to another bank in the UK.

this policy might have changed, though.
1) I was told by Malaysia's HSBC last year that I can open a UK HSBC account from Malaysia, but they will charge me about GBP 200 (I can't really remember the exact price)... sweat.gif
(you can call up HSBC for confirmation)

2) HSBC Passport account charge GBP 6 per month for the duration of 1 year. (so GBP 72 in total)

3) Someone told me that it is free of charge if I open a HSBC account after I reach UK...but I'm not sure about this...

Added on June 19, 2009, 1:04 am
QUOTE(jasperng @ Jun 18 2009, 08:29 PM)
Also I realise that UK bank offers very low interest compared to Malaysia's Bank. Is this applicable for all UK's banks too ?
Different bank has different interest rate, you can check their websites for more information.

This post has been edited by Raining: Jun 19 2009, 04:04 PM
Raining
post Jun 24 2009, 12:30 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jun 23 2009, 10:34 PM)
as for paying school fees, as long as you can show the uni that you are waiting for your bank account to setup, they will put you as temporary enrolment and set you a new date when you have to make the payment.
For school fees, you can get the bank draft which is payable to your university (you must confirm the name with your university) from your bank in Malaysia before you depart. Eg. GBP 10,000 payable to University of XXX.

In this case, you do not need to worry about when your bank account will be ready and you can prove to the Entry Clearance Officer that you are here to study on your arrival.

But please make sure that you DO NOT DO this until you get your student visa on hand.

This post has been edited by Raining: Jun 24 2009, 12:36 AM
Raining
post Jun 29 2009, 05:21 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ Jun 28 2009, 06:36 PM)
Going to shop for some winter clothes here, any one can suggest me any place that sells affordable winter clothes in KL/Selangor.

Went to Winter Time and Universal Traveller, doesn't like their branding, lol...
Just buy a "wear-able" one from Malaysia, you could get a much better one with the same price in UK smile.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0551sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:33 PM