Studying in the UK V2

Raining
post Oct 10 2008, 12:07 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Oct 9 2008, 10:51 PM)
their messaging system is great actually.

i always get prompt reply via PM.

so you already have internet banking?
yup, I use the Internet Banking to apply the Online Bonus Saver and Flexible Saver account smile.gif I think I am the only 1 which use the HSBC passport account sweat.gif no one apply for it because it is too far from the university + they charge 6 pound per month sad.gif

Q1) by the way, international student is eligible to be exempted from tax paying right? Just fill in the R85 form and submit to the bank, that's all?

Q2) What you guys think about this printer + scanner? http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/uk/en/ho/WF...35-3390944.html
intend to buy this 1, but my friend suggest me to buy during christmas sales for cheaper price sweat.gif do they actually give alot of discount during christmas sales?

Raining
post Oct 10 2008, 05:17 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(melt @ Oct 10 2008, 12:31 AM)
Q1 Yes you do not need to pay any taxes including working when you are a student. I dont think you need to fill in the R85 form if you are having a student account.

Q2 I would never buy a printer or scanner. Well maybe is just me. I think the uni library should have more than enough for student to use.
Yes they do get a lot of discount but only to those old stocks. It also depends on the items itself. From the link, I think is quite cheap. (I dont know the market price though)
hehe, too bad the account I apply is not student account, I think is the account for those people who need to travel alot sweat.gif

the HSBC customer service officer very serious in dealing with emails, at first they say they update the correspondence address for me. Then I see that my permanent address still not updated, so I email again to ask whether it will be a matter or not. they tot I want to change my home address at my country also, so they change it to Andrew Ure Hall for me.

I think there is alot I need to learn from them. At least, be more cautions of what I dealing. Today I went for the career fair, saw the "Work in Malaysia"'s handbook. Got some weird weird feeling shocking.gif

p/s:Next time when I move out of my student Hall, I just need to change my permanent address and correspondence address then ok already?

This post has been edited by Raining: Oct 10 2008, 05:21 AM
Raining
post Oct 11 2008, 04:17 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(jinXxxx @ Oct 10 2008, 06:40 PM)
I do think that you would need to go to the bank to change important details like your home address and update information on your account. You won't be able to do it over the phone or online.

As for the cheques bouncing, do watch your accounts and make sure you have sufficient balance on your clearing accounts. Granted that the interest gained on current accounts are way lower than a normal savings account, the interest lost on that few hundred pounds or so is not worth it if you end up getting charged £35 for a bounced cheque.

Buying a printer/scanner here is quite alright. The prices here are comparable (and in some cases cheaper) to those in malaysia. It's the ink where all the difference is. It's just a personal preference really. I'd say if you have like loads (hundreds and hundreds of pages) of printing to do, you would be better off using the library printer as the paper and ink cost for the printer would cost you an absolute bomb. However if you do more scanning and print the odd report once in a while, I think buying the printer/scanner would be better.

Hope that helps.
QUOTE(archinkent @ Oct 10 2008, 07:25 PM)
i can change my address online through online backing but im with barclays so it might be different with other banks.

and about the printer, it depends whether u work more in the library or at home. i work more at home so i prefer to have my own. its also helps that u dont need to go all the way to library when u need to print just a page or something. like someone said, the ink cartridges are not cheap (2 of them can buy u a printer), so try not to waste any.
thanks all for the info, in this case, I think I just try the computer in the library/ labs for 1 month. If really not convenient then I will get myself a printer on Christmas smile.gif (the printer price not include the USB cable, need to pay additional 8 pound sad.gif )

yalor, coz the computer in the library is sux. Spend me few mins just for loading sweat.gif + they going to charge me for printing also. that's why I tot of buying my own printer. In addition, next time can carry back to Malaysia also smile.gif

QUOTE(Geminist @ Oct 11 2008, 12:29 AM)
I reckon most of you should be aware of this, but this is just for the sake of prevention. 

I noticed recently there's a barage of authentic looking emails claiming to be from banks (mine is HSBC) with all sorts of reasons trying to get you to click on a link to a fake HSBC website where they can phish for your account info.

Remember never ever log on to bank, paypal etc websites using a link from your email.
Thanks Geminist for the info shocking.gif I will be cautions onf this.

QUOTE(youngkies @ Oct 10 2008, 10:06 PM)
q2. you can get it for cheap if you scout around website deal. e.g. from ebuyer.com, dabs.com, misco.net, etc. goggle abt it. and yes definitely it is at convenient to have a printer at home.

Added on October 10, 2008, 10:09 pm

sometime it just not easy for me to go to bank and sort those out. so email and telephone are great ways to get things done.

every other bank charges abt that amount for bounce back cheque. even bank in msia charge abt rm100 for that.
dunno why their call time + SMS here is so exp sad.gif maybe they encourage people to use the monthly contract instead of the pay as you go.

my classmate really pro, he can find jobs in UK + apply to migrate to canada and australia at the same time sweat.gif, but grad that he is not selfish, so still willing to help us wink.gif , if not I will never tot of applying for jobs before graduated smile.gif

This post has been edited by Raining: Oct 11 2008, 04:20 PM
Raining
post Oct 12 2008, 12:03 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Oct 11 2008, 05:17 PM)
yes, when you buy printer.. they are not including USB cable.. you need to get it separate.. £8? no, you can just get a cheap from the internet, it just cost £1-3... i don't think you need to get branded USB cable..
well, what you can do when you are going back to malaysia, you can sell it to your junior or those who just enroll.. probably you only able to sell it 40% or 50%.. lol.. it's better than you carry back malaysia..

actually pay as you go is cheaper if you seldom make calls.. monthly contract is bit troublesome coz you need to stick with them for 1 year or 18 months. but the advantage is you get a free phone.

it's not easy to get a job.. you are encourage to start hunt for job before you are graduate... remember, those graduate job is starting to recruit around beginning of the year, such jan-march.. so if anyone is going to graduate next year jun/august, now is the good time to apply graduate job.
hehe, then I will get the USB cable seperately (I will try my walkman's USB 1st, if not suit then I buy a new 1 smile.gif ) smile.gif yalor, even I dun like the job, but dun care so much, just apply 1st smile.gif

I am those type which seldom use mobile phone, my phone never ring before since I bought it 2 weeks ago sweat.gif should hav spend the $ for other thing first.

QUOTE(youngkies @ Oct 11 2008, 05:52 PM)
what are you studying? engineering etc? with some courses, you are able to secure a job before you graduated.
Business+IT sad.gif (seldom got IT company wants to employe foreigner)

bought a slow cooker from argos today smile.gif I actually reserve the cooker from the wrong branch, but the casher kind enough to make new reservation for me. Do I need to cancel my own reservation? Or just leave it to "expired" after 3 days?

Added on October 12, 2008, 12:30 am
QUOTE(angelgemini @ Oct 5 2008, 03:04 AM)
wanna ask that anyone know where can get cheap bicycle at belfast?
need to get 1, bus fare was very high and walking until my leg like wanna patah.,....
I saw my friend use the "bus card", he bought 10 weeks card so he can unlimited use the bus within the 10 weeks, if you wan you can try also smile.gif He bought zone 1+ zone 2+ zone 3 in Glasgow which cost him 90 pound. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Raining: Oct 12 2008, 12:30 AM
Raining
post Oct 12 2008, 11:48 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Oct 12 2008, 11:47 AM)
healthcare professionals (e.g medic, pharmacist etc) and some engineering (position of graduate engineer usually opens by early of third year, apply and fight for it, and you will secure a job before graduation).
IT is hot in UK. but they usually look for one with years of experience.

anyway you can just apply for the IGS, post-graduate whatever they called now scheme that allows you to extend the stay up to a year to look for job in uk.
I think they change it to Post-Study-Work Schema, which allow UK graduated student to stay for up to 2 years smile.gif

My dad actually offer me to study PhD if I still dun wan to work sweat.gif I told him that it is too exp to study PhD in UK, but he say nvm smile.gif

This post has been edited by Raining: Oct 12 2008, 11:55 PM
Raining
post Oct 13 2008, 05:59 PM

104 posts

I realize Primark and some other store are having sales, is this the autumn sales?

This post has been edited by Raining: Oct 13 2008, 05:59 PM
Raining
post Oct 14 2008, 03:16 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 13 2008, 07:31 PM)
yes, autumn sale is the best time to get last year's winter clothings. especially if u dont have much winter clothings already. unless u care about what's the most current trend, in which case it will be sooo last year tongue.gif.
Oh, that's cool. The automn sales will last until when? I need to get some long john before I freeze to die in the middle of Glasgow sweat.gif
Raining
post Oct 17 2008, 06:53 AM

104 posts

I tried to login My Internet Banking account, but type in the wrong security number for few times, now they give me these words sad.gif

"For your security, we cannot proceed with your request. Please call us on 0845 600 2290 quoting reference 039, and we will be happy to help. Please click 'OK' to close this window."

meaning they lock my account already? May I know which is the cheapest way to call 0845 number? Can I just use the public phone? 20mins for 40p? blink.gif
(use mobile phone to call them very exp, the system ask press this press that then 1 pound gone sweat.gif )

This post has been edited by Raining: Oct 17 2008, 06:55 AM
Raining
post Oct 17 2008, 03:20 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Oct 17 2008, 10:19 AM)
Hi. Is your dad looking to adopt a child? Maybe a girl.. somewhere in the mid 20s?  biggrin.gif
hehe, yalor, he is very good smile.gif

QUOTE(lanun8 @ Oct 17 2008, 10:23 AM)
locked for internet banking only..

what bank did u opened ur acc? if lloyds.. i think it should be as simple as 123..
I using HSBC account sad.gif Then I think I just call the number given to unlock my account or just go to the HSBC branch sweat.gif

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Oct 17 2008, 02:46 PM)
i not sure for pay as you go...

but if any of you have free minutes and want to call 0800/0845 , you guys can check the number for 020 or free call from SayNo0800
thanks I will try that out smile.gif
Raining
post Oct 21 2008, 03:57 AM

104 posts

get to know a marvelous classmate here, every time we went for career seminar, the question he ask is like o.O, the presenter can't even answer.

Scenario 1:
him: do you company hire international student?
presenter: yes we do

him: are you going to apply work permit for us?
presenter: ahh...erm...ekk....you can check for more details in our website or you can work for our company's branch in india sweat.gif

Scenario 2:
him: do you company hire international student?
presenter: yes we do, do you have an work permit?

him: do you consider post-study work scheme?
presenter: blink.gif you can apply for our job if you get the visa

him: can I apply for the job now, if accepted, delay for 1 year then work for your company after I get the visa?
presenter: shocking.gif blink.gif rclxub.gif
Raining
post Oct 25 2008, 12:48 AM

104 posts

The people from TV license go to my classmate house today and ask him to sign something to admit that he is guilty coz he does not renew his TV license. Then he explain to that guy that he actually rent the house from his landlord and currently he is not using a TV, hence no need to pay. But the staff don't trust him and say their system stated that he has a TV, so he tell that guy "you don't update the system, that's your problem " sweat.gif

then that guy say he need to inspect the house, so my classmate ask him for warrant shakehead.gif then the TV license guy say he does not need a warrant to inspect, but my classmate say he din violate the act according to the letter they send, so the TV license guy dun have the right to inspect his house.

the TV license guy end up with no choice but going to leave, before he left my classmate ask for his ID so he can make a complain to him shocking.gif (of course he dun wan to give)

This post has been edited by Raining: Oct 25 2008, 12:52 AM
Raining
post Oct 27 2008, 12:44 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 26 2008, 11:50 PM)
would it be cheaper just to take out money then put in the other bank? i mean, not cheaper, but FREE?
izit safe to do like this in UK? coz I saw some ppl counting money on the table outside the bank instead of counting them at home.

The pound sterling's value drop so much smile.gif
Raining
post Oct 29 2008, 03:10 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(Arturia @ Oct 28 2008, 11:34 PM)
LOL cheers mate!!!!

i'll try. i asked lloyds and they told me £30 pounds! WTF??!!!!

coz im planning to close my natwest acc (since after all natwest, halifax RBS (groups of H-BOS) and llyods had went for a merger) so its pointless to leave open 2 acc in teh same bank tongue.gif

btw seems like today is rather cold. tomorrow forecast says in london it'll be below 0.
Have you tried the way azarimy suggest? I quoted it for you below...

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 27 2008, 12:52 AM)
cant u just go to the target bank (in this case, lloyds), bring ur natwest card, and use it to pay whatever amount into the target account, just like u buy whatever stuff using debit cards?
This post has been edited by Raining: Oct 29 2008, 06:10 AM
Raining
post Oct 29 2008, 08:05 PM

104 posts

I submited the R85 form few weeks ago,

now HSBC told me that I am not ordinarily residents of UK, so it is beyond their authority to exempt me from tax paying shocking.gif

so they suggest me to claim the tax I paid on my accounts back from HM Revenue & Customs directly shakehead.gif

EDITED: need to take a trip to the HM Renevue & Customs office to have this settle

This post has been edited by Raining: Oct 31 2008, 03:06 AM
Raining
post Oct 30 2008, 02:19 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Oct 29 2008, 11:02 PM)
so for course like postgraduate which is 1 year, will i still get student visa? .. how long would the visa be ? ... also i heard about the working holiday maker scheme, is this scheme is available ? ..
Q) so for course like postgraduate which is 1 year, will i still get student visa?
A) yes you will
Raining
post Oct 30 2008, 05:07 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 30 2008, 05:00 AM)
yes. usually they'll add 4-6 weeks after ur supposed end of studies, so that u could sort out to go back home or find job or spend a few weeks bumming around or whatever.
actually I am in doubt why all my friends from other country get extra 4 months, but onli grant me extra 4 weeks...I tried to go through the Entry Correction Scheme, but the Entry Clearance Officer in KL say is my problem because it is not written "black and white" in my offer letter, so they reject me. In fact, every1 in my class apply visa using the same offer letter with the same content sad.gif

This post has been edited by Raining: Oct 30 2008, 05:12 AM
Raining
post Nov 3 2008, 06:38 PM

104 posts

will it possible for me to be exempted from tax paying for my bank interest? Or I need to pay for the tax 1st, later claim back from the HM Revenue & Custom office?

This post has been edited by Raining: Nov 4 2008, 03:38 AM
Raining
post Nov 8 2008, 12:17 AM

104 posts

@liew_jls: You paid 295 pound to extend your student visa for extra 3 months?

This post has been edited by Raining: Nov 8 2008, 04:34 AM
Raining
post Nov 8 2008, 06:11 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Nov 8 2008, 05:34 AM)
nope.. i'm converting my student visa to Tier 1 Post Study Work visa. This visa is for those who graduate in UK university. if you apply in UK, you need to pay £400 with £800 funding in you bank account while you do it outside UK (malaysia) you only need to pay £215 (forgot how much is that should be around £200++) with £2500 funding in your bank account... With this visa you are allow to work any permanent job in UK for 2 years.
Hi liew_jls,

Thanks for your information smile.gif
Raining
post Nov 8 2008, 06:06 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Nov 8 2008, 06:20 AM)
hi there...

no problem.. enjoy ur student life wink.gif
just curious, r u planning to extend your student visa?

coz the duration of my student visa is onli 1 year + 1 month (can't even attend the convo which is 4th November), I went through the Entry Clearance Correction to fix it, but the Entry Clearance Office in KL denied that this is his mistake, so I tot of extending my student visa for extra 3 months by paying 295 pound via the "Visa Extension" sad.gif (a friend from China tried this, and they granted him to stay until January 2010 using his Student Visa)

This post has been edited by Raining: Nov 8 2008, 06:10 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0452sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:41 PM