Sep 9 2008, 03:12 PM
199 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Klang, Selangor |
Is there any different using ram 2 x 1GB, or 1 x 2GB, i saw most branded performance ram comes in 2 x 1GB
Sep 9 2008, 03:38 PM
2,603 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Sep 9 2008, 03:48 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(boon.fong @ Sep 9 2008, 02:48 PM) Hi goldfries, I read your review on Window vista, thinking about upgrading myself, i am more towards gaming, do you think wise to upgrade to vista now, or should wait after sp2 come out. not a review la. mine is just to complain.for me, Vista is fine on my gaming rig. just that work rig, donno why not recognizing most of my USB stuff (on gaming rig, same OS but ok wor) but somehow can recognize Nokia N81 straight. i think going Vista is fine. just be prepared for crap, in case it happens. |
Sep 9 2008, 04:52 PM
hi, would like to check, since value ram also can used in overclocked, what is the advantages of having performance ram? is the performance differences that big between value ram and performance ram
Sep 9 2008, 06:55 PM
1,864 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Sigh ok looks like time for a technical explanation.
Intel processor speed is a function of two things: 1. Front Side Bus (FSB) speed 2. Clock multiplier. Intel quoted FSB numbers are quad pumped, thus to derive the actual FSB speed of your processor, you need to divide by 4. Non Extreme Edition processors have their clock multiplier locked, so overclocking is achieved by increasing the processor FSB. Now very important: The lowest speed you can run your RAM is 1:1 with the FSB. (I think so, has anyone seen 0.9:1 divider?) Every processor model is different. For example, your E4600 has FSB800/4 = FSB200. Thus at stock, your RAM is at DDR2-400 (DDR is double pumped), as Goldfries has explained. Thus you have a lot of headroom, as your RAM can reach DDR2-800, or FSB400. Your processor will not reach 12x400. Now, your question. Performance RAM is used for processors that have higher stock FSBs or lower multipliers. As an example, I'm using a q9300 that is native 333x7.5. Now i know that my chip can reach 3.5Ghz, but to get there I would need 467FSB = DDR2-934. Your RAM would not be able to reach that, thus I need to use DDR2-1066. Also, performance RAM has tighter timings. Typically ValueRAM has latencies of 5-5-5-18 ot 5-5-5-15. Performance RAM can go to 4-4-4-12 or better. This post has been edited by zer0hour: Sep 9 2008, 06:56 PM |
Sep 9 2008, 07:58 PM
4,746 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Speed rule |
QUOTE(zer0hour @ Sep 9 2008, 06:55 PM) Sigh ok looks like time for a technical explanation. There are some gem value ram out there Intel processor speed is a function of two things: 1. Front Side Bus (FSB) speed 2. Clock multiplier. Intel quoted FSB numbers are quad pumped, thus to derive the actual FSB speed of your processor, you need to divide by 4. Non Extreme Edition processors have their clock multiplier locked, so overclocking is achieved by increasing the processor FSB. Now very important: The lowest speed you can run your RAM is 1:1 with the FSB. (I think so, has anyone seen 0.9:1 divider?) Every processor model is different. For example, your E4600 has FSB800/4 = FSB200. Thus at stock, your RAM is at DDR2-400 (DDR is double pumped), as Goldfries has explained. Thus you have a lot of headroom, as your RAM can reach DDR2-800, or FSB400. Your processor will not reach 12x400. Now, your question. Performance RAM is used for processors that have higher stock FSBs or lower multipliers. As an example, I'm using a q9300 that is native 333x7.5. Now i know that my chip can reach 3.5Ghz, but to get there I would need 467FSB = DDR2-934. Your RAM would not be able to reach that, thus I need to use DDR2-1066. Also, performance RAM has tighter timings. Typically ValueRAM has latencies of 5-5-5-18 ot 5-5-5-15. Performance RAM can go to 4-4-4-12 or better. Heard of FPY5 1300mhz? Heard of Team Value 1100mhz and good latency? It is a matter of chip and what it bin to do |
Sep 9 2008, 08:15 PM
1,864 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Aha yeah true, but those are the exceptions to the rule =p
I've seen cheap HP RAM using Micron D9s too.. |
Sep 9 2008, 08:30 PM
2,547 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Sep 9 2008, 08:52 PM
7,173 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PCH |
ValueRAM vs High Performance RAM... easy, get the one with known good overclocking chip one
Sep 9 2008, 10:57 PM
526 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
zer0hour pretty much nailed it with his explanation.
There are many leagues of 'performance RAM' too, and while my OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 800 might look good, and have low latencies out of the box, I have been unsuccessful running it at 1000MHz or more, stable. Better to get something with D9GMH chipset. Added on September 9, 2008, 11:00 pm QUOTE(boon.fong @ Sep 9 2008, 03:12 PM) Is there any different using ram 2 x 1GB, or 1 x 2GB, i saw most branded performance ram comes in 2 x 1GB The reason why they come packaged like that is because for whatever amount of RAM you need (1GB, 2GB, 4GB, 8GB, etc.), it is best to divide the amount and run them in two, to get the best performance out of your 'dual channel' setup.If you just by one DIMM, you won't get the advantage of the setup, and if you buy four, you're still only getting dual channel, only now your system has to work with two separate threads of data for each channel to get the information held in the RAM. It has nothing to do with 'being better for OC'ing.' This post has been edited by CHiNO730: Sep 9 2008, 11:00 PM |
Sep 9 2008, 11:20 PM
4,746 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Speed rule |
Sep 10 2008, 02:46 AM
5,602 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: The Holiest Of Hole |
with my value ram i can get 19 seconds on 1mb superPI.its aeneon 667 somemore.
Sep 10 2008, 09:32 AM
2,009 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: My house |
with that ram 13sec also can do
Sep 10 2008, 10:03 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Sep 9 2008, 07:58 PM) There are some gem value ram out there well those are exceptions. Heard of FPY5 1300mhz? Heard of Team Value 1100mhz and good latency? It is a matter of chip and what it bin to do what zer0hour mentioned are the general cases. most time, HP RAM is only when 1. you know what to do it 2. you know how to get the max out of it or else, it just works same with ValueRAM. eg. running E4600 on stock. put in HP or VALUE RAM - also performance same. if the timing is better by default, then you can get some boost. not all HP RAM comes with great timings. my OCZ Reaper 4GB kit - 5-5-5-15 by default. i could push it to 4-4-4-12 though. |
Sep 10 2008, 10:58 AM
2,386 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Many calls it "Hell" |
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Sep 9 2008, 07:58 PM) There are some gem value ram out there As what many have mentioned here, it's the chipset that matters on how far the rams can go basically.Heard of FPY5 1300mhz? Heard of Team Value 1100mhz and good latency? It is a matter of chip and what it bin to do The other factors would be the PCB Layer count. Many value rams tend to use less layer PCBs while HP Rams have higher number of PCB layers. I'm not too sure specifically how will it help in overclocking, but from what i heard, the higher the number of layers, the better the rams will withstand extra voltage pumped into it. FP-Y5 doing 1300, thats only 1 revision of it if i've not mistaken. Used to know the specific revision when i was still selling rams. While for the team values, yes i can confirm such rams do exist. I have a pair which can do 1200Mhz at 5-5-5-15 2.1v. The team values were relabeled, so no way of telling what chips are those under the disguise, but best bet will be either D9 or Promos. From the shape of the chips, they do resemble D9, but the pain it causes when i try to run it on CL4 indicates the other way round. QUOTE(zer0hour @ Sep 9 2008, 08:15 PM) Aha yeah true, but those are the exceptions to the rule =p There are many D9s out there.I've seen cheap HP RAM using Micron D9s too.. Stating only D9 is very general. D9DPN will not clock as good as a D9GCT/D9GMH/D9GKX. Only D9Gs are known to be good at clocking. So please beware when you try to purchase rams and only ask if they are D9s. D9s are everywhere, but not GMH,GKX and GCT. Please also take note that the current Crucial Ballistix and Ballistix Tracers which are available for a good price does not use D9G. D9Gs will not come at such a price. QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Sep 9 2008, 08:30 PM) Ya, Rm300 per pair confirmed D9GMH.Slap HR-07s on them and they fly. Some will be willing to pay for them considering the fact that, it's guaranteed D9GMH and you won't need to void your warranty to check it out. While for other HP rams, you'll need to rip off your Ram Sink which in most cases will void the warranty. |
Sep 10 2008, 11:45 AM
Wow, thanks a lot, now i have a clearer picture. will try to learn the timing setting now.....
Sep 12 2008, 09:45 PM
3,112 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 9 2008, 01:24 PM) yes but still can go quite far. died after 1 year of 100% OC? Bro, don't threaten me, now my E2160 OC at 3.3Ghz@ 1.55Vcore...i know my Vcore 'quite high'... anyway, my E2140 died after 1 year of 100% OC Anyway, i'm using value ram DDR2 667 as well, after set to 1:1 ratio, now run at 734Mhz @5-5-5-15-20...i'm sure not the ram hold me back... |
Sep 13 2008, 01:15 AM
3,389 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KL |
if u're mentioning D9GMH,its only limited to 1GB sticks.Why? coz D9GMH chips are only available in 64Mb per chip. 1 DDR2 stick maximum can hold 16 chips.total 1gb on a stick for D9GMH. the current 1gb stick crucial ballistix , if its single sided,means its not D9GMH, its actually D9HNL.D9HNL is 128Mb per chip.so its used to make 2gb sticks nowadays to overcome density limitation by D9GMH.but D9HNL cant OC well.too bad.
till now, i dunno wat other 2gb per stick RAM tht can do good OC above 1Ghz wif good timings. |
Sep 13 2008, 01:17 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(coolkwc @ Sep 12 2008, 09:45 PM) died after 1 year of 100% OC? Bro, don't threaten me, now my E2160 OC at 3.3Ghz@ 1.55Vcore...i know my Vcore 'quite high'... aiyah different usage mah. yours may last longer leh. |
| Change to: | 0.0220sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:12 PM |