Valum ram vs performance ram, effect on overclocking the FSB
Silverfire
Dec 6 2008, 07:03 PM
After using VRs, I realised its really hard to overclock since VR can only achieve certain speeds & latencies which are really bugging me when it bottlenecks my proc's overclockablity.
iBenQ
Dec 8 2008, 04:45 PM
at wat speed ure experiencing bottleneck?? aiming for 4ghz??? so far i tried up to 980mhz @ 5-5-5-15... still can boot up n do benchmark tests... but fails prime95 test after around 10 seconds of stressing ahahahaha... i was at 490*8 at that time >"<
reached 1001mhz before, but never get to load windows cos they say some data in ram not same with duno wat checksum >"<
@meno
Dec 9 2008, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(Silverfire @ Dec 6 2008, 07:03 PM) After using VRs, I realised its really hard to overclock since VR can only achieve certain speeds & latencies which are really bugging me when it bottlenecks my proc's overclockablity. Well, it very much depends on the ram chip itself rather than value rams or performance rams. I had a pair of Team Value Rams which did 1200Mhz 5-5-5-18@2.1v. And i've seen a lot of Crucial Values which comes with D9GMH chipsets doing pretty well. It takes a lot of effort in finding a good pair of VR though. Those Kingstons which come with D9GMH/D9GKX are no longer seen on the market. There are gems everywhere actually, just how u manage to discover it and unleash. Dun be surprised that under the relabellings, some of those are actually GMH/GKX.
DeVGF
Dec 16 2008, 01:00 PM

Performance ram .. cause they have better cooling, better efficiency and better Mhz
hilmiangah
Dec 16 2008, 04:29 PM
Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
QUOTE(DeVGF @ Dec 16 2008, 01:00 PM) Performance ram .. cause they have better cooling, better efficiency and better Mhz then why certain 'value ram' can reach even those level that even performance ram cant achieve. its the certain chipset that important.wonder why kingston god stick can reach 1000mhz on stock vcore while Corsair XMS struggle to reach it.................do ur research 1st.
iBenQ
Dec 17 2008, 01:35 AM
is there a way to know what chipset my ram using?? heatsink blocking view, cannot peek at all >"<
mfcm
Dec 17 2008, 01:38 AM
myb u can put the model and rev of ur ram then others can help u if they got info bout it
iBenQ
Dec 17 2008, 01:42 AM
CM2X2048-6400C5 version 3.1
mfcm
Dec 17 2008, 01:57 AM
iinm urs using PSC
SlayerXT
Dec 17 2008, 06:18 PM
They are just lucky when they bought VR at the time, furthermore the price were not as cheap as today as we can see midget RAM now(for sure no D9GMH/GKX here). Why bother on that, performance RAM getting very cheap lately. I am also getting my Crucial Racer RED 4GB kit DDR2, and it's damn nice.