7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia (V 2.5), All users: read rules on first page

bhypp
post Nov 4 2008, 12:14 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

of course when things get cheaper...everyone wanna buy sth....!!! u just wait allan'smusic...!!!

@zexynova.....its better to get postpaid since the rate is the same....just that if u get post paid.....u get it directly deducted from ur bank monthly so less hassle...and u might even get a free phone too!

Added on November 4, 2008, 12:16 pm
QUOTE(mrRighthand @ Nov 4 2008, 12:12 PM)
it really depends on how much u use and whether u wanna be tied to a contract anot...
for example i'm using the cheapest cap they have but its still too much for me laugh.gif ...can use skype ma...
well if u got a significant other half....maybe $29 cap wont be enough.....u know la...have to keep calling....no call then merajuk kinda stuff...alot of ppl once they are seeing someone....straight away $49/ $69 cap.....thats for 3 mobile carrier la....

This post has been edited by bhypp: Nov 4 2008, 12:16 PM
bhypp
post Nov 4 2008, 12:20 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Nov 4 2008, 12:02 PM)
but as you've said, there's steamboat.. drool.gif then i think it should be no problem for me already.. laugh.gif
just to be clear.....its not a steamboat restaurant kinda thing leh...its more like house-party steamboat.....self cook...but still quite fun tho.... icon_rolleyes.gif
bhypp
post Nov 4 2008, 12:23 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(zexynova @ Nov 4 2008, 12:19 PM)
oh yea i saw "3" website

i cant seem to understand all the $29, $49 cap.

can you guys tell me more?
basically u u got $120 / $150 credit per month....so if u no matter how much u use per...as long as its within that $120 credit....u only have to play $29......if say u exceed the cap.....say use $125...then ur monthly bill would be $29+5 = $34....
bhypp
post Nov 4 2008, 01:43 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(mrRighthand @ Nov 4 2008, 01:30 PM)
lol..you are right in a sense if u put it that way..
but still recession will hit hard on poor families and those with low qualification.. just hope it wont be that bad...

Added on November 4, 2008, 1:31 pm
that's just plain selfish.... laugh.gif
well i dun think so lar....it will hit the people in the middle income bracket....and like seed said.....those who overspend......

like the blue collar's.....thing run as usual....rice farmers still gotta grow rice....fisherman still going to sea....but maybe factory workers, and construction guys might face abit of difficulties lar....

and the top bracket no need to say la...they got money printing machine....but the middle bracket ie those white collar, sitting in the middle range of a company's structure they are the most vulnerable to be laid off.....like they dont need some random director sitting there since the one below them can still take over their job and its kinda hard for companies to keep these guys around....

whoots KV if thats the case....we need a WORLD WAR too!!! get rid of some scums in the world currently...that would do the world some good too! laugh.gif laugh.gif like a big big reset button! OBAMA-BROWN-SARKOZY, launch WW3 now!

but im never a big fan of rate cuts....more often than not...it will affect inflation...i know its good to promote more economic activities which tend to slow down during recession but this inflation bit.....i dun wanna pay $5 for a bottle of milk! vmad.gif vmad.gif
bhypp
post Nov 4 2008, 01:48 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Nov 4 2008, 01:43 PM)
Why anybody wants to yumcha with meruchan ? She looks like a donkey ... in her avatar laugh.gif
JoKING XD

How come you guys are graduating much earlier than me? O_O I can only finish at MID 2011. That's unfair T.T
thats a totoro doll in meruchan's avatar.....well what year ur in seed?? which course? which uni?? well i will be around till 2010 oso....not gradding anytime soon sweat.gif sweat.gif ......errr meruchan sounds depo for some company.... sweat.gif sweat.gif
bhypp
post Nov 4 2008, 01:51 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(mrRighthand @ Nov 4 2008, 01:48 PM)
lol..wat milk u buy so expensive de? 3 litre?
no im jsut saying i dun wan inflation to bring my milk to $5 la..... sweat.gif sweat.gif

ahahhaa well thats Petaling St totoro for u....looks like donkey tongue.gif
bhypp
post Nov 4 2008, 08:13 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Nov 4 2008, 07:16 PM)
1st; the issue cover is very agaisnt RTM etc...so its only outsider know.

ABC; even air about the teresa kok issue; where about the word Chibai is on the tv for about 30 sec blackmail her and family...Lucky australian dont know doh.gif

How disgrace is our country in Australia eye. wink.gif
ah damn missed that thing....now they showing US election stuff already sad.gif...anyway ive watched dateline about msia's election some months ago and about our clampdown on bloggers....indeed its embarrassing to have our bad stuffs broadcasted over the tv over here.....but i think the report by them is not fair as its more like Pakatan Rakyat's views only....i mean its okay if that's shown to Msians coz we all know how our mainstream media is out to show the good about the govt only.....but to broadcast a biased report to some freakin aussies who has no idea about how things work in Msia would only give a bad impression....

QUOTE(SeeD @ Nov 4 2008, 07:35 PM)
Hi MeruChan my dear,

Australia is nothing different smile.gif

Here, the only thing good about here is there's no such thing as Bumiputera.
yea....got aboriginals and torres strait islanders.....talking about free new 4wds for takes, free newly build communities and housings to them...but the aboriginies dont appreciate those things so they would just burning those stuffs down to warm their night....and continue to wander around......and the cycle goes on and on.....talking bout wasting taxes....they are better at that, but then again they dont really care...coz 1 the aboriginals are so few as compared to the general population....2nd, the white ppl feel compelled to do sth, even if its blatant waste of taxpayers' money coz of all the inhuman stuff they did in the past.....

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 4 2008, 07:39 PM)
OZ is tons better than msia...at least they take care of the people well..and people are being fairly treated..public amenities are working efficiently...here..the busses and taxis are older than me WTF! looks like they are going to crumble anytime soon

where did our taxes go? in to the pockets of stupid politicians and gov. for their own good! babi betui!
well i think stuffs here are pretty old too....jsut that they do take care of them....like they maintain it pretty good so that its still usable.....anyone been in a old connex train before, with wooden plywood insides....with green n yellow livery / logo?? thats pretty old.....and what about that city circle tram....1800's!?! not sure....but what i am saying is.....not everything has to be new....just need to be working and in good condition right? i agree msia's stuffs usually are not well maintained.... shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

fairly treated?! i dun think so....well fine example is my faculty....we pay tonnes for our fees so our international students club sorta tried to ask if its possible for the faculty to decrease the fees and if not justify why its so high or sth.....then the faculty sorta said...well its just 'normal procedure' to increase the fees around 5-10% every year and they even added...well we dont think its too high...there's so much demand....sorta like if u dun like GTFO sth like that....lemme translate...."kalau tak suka boleh belah" sounds familiar?!....welcome to aussie MATE! thumbup.gif

bhypp
post Nov 4 2008, 09:19 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

well i think the weather is quite chun....i personally prefer cold to hot.....like rite now its just so chun....laugh.gif and i like the nice ppl here...sometimes i think they are just abit too nice at times sweat.gif

yea its more like a personal preference...as we've discussed before both countries have its goods n bads....

Added on November 4, 2008, 9:22 pmbut to say that everythings good over here....and to say msia is no better than Aus in any possible way is just being plain ignorant

This post has been edited by bhypp: Nov 4 2008, 09:22 PM
bhypp
post Nov 5 2008, 08:36 AM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 5 2008, 08:20 AM)
i see my post got censored........too tired to repost.......

adrian, yes, oz started as penal colony, where convicts where shipped to, as an open prison.........more than 200 years ago......

bhypp, the aussie taxpayer owes you nothing, you are a foreigner, so yes you don't like the fees, don't go there........comparing to msia's 'tak suka keluar' is inappropriate......we are citizens here, some of us many generations........ironically, oz treats their newly landed pr's better than msia treats some of her citizens........

should be safe for the moderator now........ unsure.gif
dude there is some misunderstanding here....maybe i was taking bout taxes in that same post but i aint sayign taht we should be funded by the aussie tax payers...they attitude that we get over here is as if we are treated like some sort of cash cows, well its kinda hard for u to get a grip of that unless ur here, getting this stuff shoved in your face directly....

what we were asking for is just a justification for that 5-10% fee increase every year....saying that it's just uni procedure without saying why is just pure rubbish....at least they should like try to show us some figures, or the rough breakdown or sth like taht.....

well why isnt it possible to compare that since we are treated like cash cows and not like real beings with higher brain function? well its always easy for a 3rd person to say much about some issues but unless one is in that sh*t, one just can't comprehend the issue as a whole....just like how that dateline's report on Msia's election in March.....typiacl 3rd person's view with no much insight at all....
bhypp
post Nov 5 2008, 12:54 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 5 2008, 08:53 AM)
i am fully aware of the fees, and increments in oz........no 3rd person perspective here......

yes, you are cash cows, have been since the aussie gov liberalised education as a commodity, and restrict funding for their unis some 15 years ago..........education is a commodity.....they will squeeze every drop from you.......as long as there is a willing buyer........

when you enrolled, the fees are clearly spelled out, and the increments of 5-10% annually also clearly stated......supposed to cover inflation.......nobody puts a gun on your head to go study there..........you think the place, their education quality, whatever, sucks.........leave......... shakehead.gif
well maybe i didnt say it properly but unless ur the one who are currently studying in this specific faculty and get this kinda remark from them and unless its your money that's on the line....its pertty easy for you to say....

so yes even u admitted that we are treated as cash cow....so back to the main argument point....so are we still treated equally then? locals and foreigners....not equal right? coz this whole issue came up when someone said EVERYONE is treated equal in Australia, and i said no....we are sorta like cash cows (i wouldn't say we ARE)...so is there still anything else that i miss?

and what i am saying is we are asking for the faculty to let us know what we are paying for and stuff, just like when you buy sth you would wanna know what you are paying for...unless yoour the kind who doesnt care coz of your bottomless piggybank...ah and now your putting words in my mouth? i didnt say that their education quality sucks and etc....
bhypp
post Nov 5 2008, 01:01 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Nov 5 2008, 10:00 AM)
Here's a 3rd person view here:
Foreign students in Malaysia (the India Indians, the China Chinese, the Nigerians etc) pay full fees in Malaysia. To give some numbers, domestic students studying in Swinburne Sarawak pay RM20,000/year for a Electrical Engineering degree. International students pay close to RM25,000/year, close to an extra RM5000. I can tell you that extra RM5000 is a fair bit in their currency. Oh, and Swinburne has an increment too, while I'm at it.

Over at public institutions of Higher learning, if you get in, a Computer Science degree from UKM will cost you RM1300/year as a Malaysian citizen, while international students pay RM3000/year for the same course.

Now replace Malaysia with Australia, Swinburne Sarawak with the name of your institution, and tell me what you think.

You have to ask yourself, after a (working) lifetime of paying tax, why do out counterparts back home have to pay RM20,000/year for education, and we spend close to on average RM38,000/year on fees in Australia, to get a education?

Malaysians complain about being treated like cash cows. Nigerians studying in Malaysia complain of being treated like cash cows. What's the difference?
yea i get what your saying, there is difference that the whole idea of it...we are not EQUAL....i dunno why for me to say that the faculty is not being to transparent with us / our international student society and treating us differently would attract so much flak from certain quarters.....not that i am finding faults in the fee system.....but for the faculty to come up with such a sweeping statement is just uncalled for, certainly raised a few eyebrows amongst us internationals here....

Added on November 5, 2008, 1:03 pmhahha meruchan....u can PM me too! laugh.gif dun bother bout KV.... tongue.gif

Added on November 5, 2008, 1:04 pm
QUOTE(haya @ Nov 5 2008, 12:58 PM)
You are equal once you have got PR and/or citizenship. I have been born in Malaysia, but to some, I am just a passer by.

Go figure.
again u missed the whole point here....that was said in response to the statement...EVERYONE is equal.....no we are not...we internationals are not equal to the PR or locals....

This post has been edited by bhypp: Nov 5 2008, 01:04 PM
bhypp
post Nov 5 2008, 04:25 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 5 2008, 01:08 PM)
So,now,just that we are paying a few times more than them and we are not treated equal? We,as an international student in Australia had never paid any tax to the Australian government before we come here.Now,you expect the locals to use their money to fund our studies.It's ridiculous,IMO.If the tax payers are paying for us,then,it's not fair for them.

Personally,i dont mind.Not that i have infinity funds in my bank account.This is not our country and we are just merely passer by here. It's their country policy,nothing much we can do as an international students.
well ive never said that we are supposed to enjoy subsidized education like the locals do....thats just what limeuu said not me...but the thing im saying is yes we are being treated differently....we pay different figures than the locals....different or not...of course....

yea i know its their policy, but at least they can re-interate / tell us again what bwe are paying for and so on right? is that just so hard to do and im not sure with why my faculty is acting in such a strange manner......

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 5 2008, 02:42 PM)
you misunderstood the debate........

the question is, is every citizen treated equal.........

of course, foreigners and citizens are NEVER equal, in any country.......

the debate was a comparison between how the citizens of msia and oz are treated by the gov........

i repeat, you fees, and their annual increments are CLEARLY stated in you offer letter........go look at it again........so you DO know exactly what you are buying into.....so what's the gripe about??
well if that's what uve been trying to get back at me then its a totally different stuff....exactly thats what im trying to say foreingers (us)can never be treated equally...so if u get my drift in my 1st post that has started this whole chain of posts....all these replies (mine included) wouldnt have been necessary....

well i know about the fees, but what we are asking is for a more current details or a more detailed breakdown of what we're paying for...i mean for the faculty to reply to us in such an obnoxious way its just bitter to swallow......and say if its the same stuff the faculty should've told us so....and if they cant disclose such info to us....they could have told us so too....but what's with that kinda dumb reply for them? totally uncalled for......we also well know that they increase the fees every year but it wouldnt hurt to ask and for them it would hurt for them to reply to us in a better way.....not this "if u dun like GTFO" kinda way....i thought thats typical of msian lowlifes....but apparently not....my faculty is like that too! shakehead.gif shakehead.gif oh yea and its not a debate limeuu....im not even trying....and i surely hope u are not treating it like one...

Added on November 5, 2008, 4:31 pm
QUOTE(empire23 @ Nov 5 2008, 12:08 PM)
The flies although big, are bloody slow compared to malaysian flies, making swatting them easier. Wait till they land on you, then slap for profit. Killed 2 yesterday lol.
well yea they are pretty human frenly here...same goes to the birds....can even catch with hands (i think)....if ur outta cash maybe can catch one for dinner.... drool.gif

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Nov 5 2008, 01:10 PM)
you still have heaps of stories..
watching tv?
channel 7? Obama winning speech? icon_rolleyes.gif
no wor wat time???? i think i missed it liao.... unsure.gif

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 5 2008, 02:13 PM)
*confused* I dont want to PM anyone...you guys dont let me buaya~ anyway..i've work..sad.gif
u can buaya me.... wub.gif hahhaha

This post has been edited by bhypp: Nov 5 2008, 04:31 PM
bhypp
post Nov 5 2008, 07:28 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 5 2008, 06:54 PM)
you are the one who missed the point.....the thread was like this:

meruchan was obviously comparing the way the two countries treat their people......you then disagreed, and use how YOU a foreigner is treated by your uni as example.......

obviously you missed the plot here........
well okay maybe i make assumptions here when she said the word "people" i thought she meant "everyone"....and you on the other hand also made assumption that she's refering to "australian citizen" when she said "people".....i dont think i missed the point totally here.....coz it does not say specifically when she said people, if she's refering to "citizens only", "citizens & PR only" or "everyone who are currently living in Australia"....mind you there is also some minute difference between being a PR and being a citizen....

and you even go on to make more assumption, implying as if i sorta requesting to have my fee's subsidized by the taxpayers, and how i dont like education over here.....u be the judge..... icon_rolleyes.gif

@meruchan....so fast wanna go club liao? well one thats very famous amongst the Asian community is definitely Se7en at south melbourne.....and there are a few other pretty popular ones....but i cant recall their names atm....its been a while since i last clubbed.... blush.gif blush.gif
bhypp
post Nov 5 2008, 07:33 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Nov 5 2008, 07:23 PM)
TPG is pretty good, I've been using it for almost 2 years now and apart from the occasional minor glitches there ain't much trouble around. Sometimes the line would just freeze and not able to load any pages. When that happens, I just off the modem, wait for a few minutes and on it again and it'll be fine. Speed wise it depends on your area too... Mine's an ADSL2 but I don't think I'm getting the maximum speed due to the location; yet it's fast enough for me not to complain too much haha.

The quality of tech support depends on who you get through the telephone. I've talked to an angmoh who gave me great advice, and I've also talked to some angmohs and Indians which were pretty clueless too. Oh well... you can also check out their forum for tech support as their support guy who runs the forum is quite helpful.

I've friends who are using the services of smaller ISPs and there has been mixed reviews. TPG, from my experience and also from other users, would be one of the top choices to consider.

limeuu and bhypp... janganlah gaduh... just a trivial matter only mah... and everyone buaya-ing meruchan? WTF man... exams coming lah, baca buku wei.
ah i dun even wanna but seems like limeuu sees it as a debate sweat.gif sweat.gif ..... trivial matter i know but he say i say sth that i din say....i just wanna get it straight.... i even gotta put up with his 'if u complain so much, dun study here....no one force u to study here' sorta stuff...hell i dunno why my post would invite such a serious reaction from him.... unsure.gif yea my exams coming....uni still going on....have to juggle uniwork and muggin work.... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Added on November 5, 2008, 7:37 pm
QUOTE(s373n @ Nov 5 2008, 07:33 PM)
Do Malaysia allow double citizenship?  blink.gif
nope....once u got another citizenship, ur msian citizenship will be dropped automatically...same for singapore...(so i heard)

This post has been edited by bhypp: Nov 5 2008, 07:37 PM
bhypp
post Nov 5 2008, 08:38 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 5 2008, 08:13 PM)
ME?? why call me donkey? my name's obviously meru not donkey
you must be blind
owh i was just asking ..i am a curious lil gal...and my bro's not helping..he';s sooo busy..like the mayor of the city like that..no time to choi me

and owh!!! he said no flies in brisbane! yipeeee!!!

ahhh if thats the case let me n KV cure ur curiosity then!! we can go to se7en together gether....quite chun la se7en...i heard hishamuddin's daughter n co also club there? heard only....dun think its true tho....hahaha

theres another popular club amongst Asians....its called Eve Bar sth like that....heard its an upcoming one....set to rival se7en....oso in south melbourne area...

no flies in brizzy? u sure?! i thought warmer weather = more flies?
bhypp
post Nov 5 2008, 09:22 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 5 2008, 09:09 PM)
but i am in bris...lol
idk..my bro said so...lol
haha k
whatever... whistling.gif: u dun lemme buaya also
OMG didnt know you can do that!!!
ah so ur not coming to melb to study issit???

if not coming to melb....kthnxbye... rolleyes.gif
bhypp
post Nov 6 2008, 06:32 AM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Nov 5 2008, 10:59 PM)
Which reminds me, i never use my real name anymore, it's too hard for the Aussies to pronounce.

So i just carry around my father's name, Yusof. Easier that way. Which is wierd, the DIAC allowed me to cut the Bin out of my name, but Transport didn't allow me to cut it out of my DA and Standard License.

So my first name is Mohd Syafiq Aizat Bin Mohd. with Yusof as my family name. Goddamn transport. They're only good for making my life harder and sending me fines with stupid taglines like "Every K over is a Killer"

Let's see how many transport "tag lines" we can post here laugh.gif
ahh one of my fren here his name is shafiq too....now he's known as Shaq as in Shaquille oneil,.....anyway my other fren...taufik....became tupac....coz ppl called him topek....sweat.gif even i go by my surname only...they think its weird to call me by my surname but i just cant stand it when they get my chiense name wrong.....vmad.gif and no way im getting an Abrahamic-name....

tag lines u mean like.....thsoe "just a lil bit over? you bloody idiot" those kinda thing?? "arrive alive", wat else ah...."wipe of 5, you could save lives"?
bhypp
post Nov 6 2008, 02:28 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Nov 6 2008, 11:49 AM)
what about lindt cafe man lol cant believe no one mentioned it
yea tried that too....my palate only got 2 categories...good and no good....lindt was good...so is koko blak / max brenner.....i think there is max brenner in syd too....in that cbd area.....forgot which street alrdy sad.gif

QUOTE(ahthim @ Nov 6 2008, 11:49 AM)
I tried San Churro's drink and churros(Maybe because the shop I visited at QV is opened by Asian? I felt the one on Brunswick is nicer than this) but I still prefer Koko Black. Doesn't matter, everyone unique.
wah talking bout churros...the most exp yao char kuai ive ever tried....but still pretty good tho! but the one ive tried was the QV one...not the one in Brunswick..... sad.gif sad.gif

bhypp
post Nov 6 2008, 09:08 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

ahhh what about wilson's prom in comparison to mornington that u said???

ive never been to those 2 spots.....been to mornington but not the beach....sweat.gif but definitely heard alot boout both spots...any takes on that?
bhypp
post Nov 6 2008, 10:30 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

hey hey guys....tmrw is 7-11 day is there gonna be the free slurpee day again??? well im planning to go n ask....dun care.....tongue.gif

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0476sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:52 AM