bhypp
post Dec 7 2008, 10:06 AM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(RBR @ Dec 7 2008, 07:44 AM)
QUOTE(zltan @ Dec 6 2008, 11:09 PM)

Not really.

There is a 'withholding tax' if you are a non-resident for tax purposes. Therefore, unless you provide them with a TFN, the bank must withhold a portion of interest as a withholding tax. The logic behind this is that the tax office can't chase non-residents, especially those overseas, so the obligation is on the bank to pay the taxes on behalf of the non-resident. Non-residents do not have the $6000 threshold before which no tax is payable.

If you provide a TFN, you are saying you are a resident, therefore, the bank will not withhold interest payable to your account, but you may be required to submit a tax return. This would apply if your income from all sources (interest, dividends if you play shares, property trading, salary) is above a certain amount which may or may not be $6000 depending on the tax office's computer system.
hey thanks so much for the explanation...the same thing happened to me before....so i know its coz of Tax File Number...but dunno why...just ask the bank why am i not getting my full interest....then they say i hav to submit my TFN to them...
bhypp
post Dec 9 2008, 11:14 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Errorz @ Dec 8 2008, 02:45 AM)
banyak msians kat south of river.. semua orang kaya  brows.gif
is that where pak lah has his house at perth? unsure.gif unsure.gif orang kaya....hes one right??

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 9 2008, 04:15 PM)
you get racism and bigotry in every society.......in fact the chinses can be one of the most racist ethnic group.....just listen to the prc talk about others....

oz has very strict laws against racism.......and with almost 40% of the people born ouside oz, migrating from 120+ countries......it's hard to be a racist.... biggrin.gif

you will find it much less racist and much more egalitarian then msia..... smile.gif
couldnt agree more...but racist or not depends oso on ur perception la...if ur a tightarse btard....even when ppl ask if ur from china...u'll get offended and go, "so u think all yellow ppl from china now la?!" but u also get times when some drunk will drive past u and hurl insults at u....if ur tightarse u may wanna quit aussie and so to somewhere better...or if ur cool...u know its just the alco speaking... nod.gif nod.gif

about the e-visa thing...yupz just as u said its all on electronic records...u may wanna print out that confirmation email for ur e-visa that they sent u so that u get sorta hav something for them to refer to in case of anything but very very unlikely...i had that printed out version with me...they din even bother to look at it...so ya... nod.gif nod.gif

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0424sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:29 AM