they have it in the states....but thats in july 11th.....coz of the way their calendar's arrangement....month 1st....::-S
but dunno bout this year tho....im gonna put on some thick face, good at being cheap typical asian face and ask....
Studying in Australia (V 2.5), All users: read rules on first page
Nov 6 2008, 10:38 PM
1,374 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
well last year got such day...just walk up to any 7-11 store and wish them "happy 7-11 day" sth like that...u will get a free small slurpee....imagine if u walk down the main street in the city how many can u get?! loads!!! (i dun use heaps, heaps is for like hay or manure
they have it in the states....but thats in july 11th.....coz of the way their calendar's arrangement....month 1st....::-S but dunno bout this year tho....im gonna put on some thick face, good at being cheap typical asian face and ask.... |
Nov 6 2008, 10:45 PM
free slurpee, i missed out last year felt terribly sore...once a year stuff...always worth asking....
havnt u heard of it?? was pretty huge last year....all over the net / facebook....are u living in melb?? or are u at Wangaratah or Colac where 7-11 is not easily accessible? how can u not know?! |
Nov 6 2008, 11:08 PM
haircut depending on where you have it....usually its between $15-$30 for normal men's haircut with no fancy other stuffs....u can try keeping ur hair...the weather is pretty ok for that (not during summer tho).....
well i dont see the point not getting haircut here its only once every 1.5 months? and besides since ur splashing so much i dont see the prob in getting haircut over here....besides its not too bad lar....like those fancy hairdressers in KL oso quite insanely priced.....rm50? so its not that bad lar..... if u wanna self cut ok oso....provided u got the tools n ur fren knows how to do it... and about that spamming thing...yea try to keep it to a low lar...we got a kopitiam thread for those spams but that din work out too well...well i guess a lil banter wouldnt hurt either...coz most of the major stuffs have already been 'pinned' in the 1st page.... |
Nov 7 2008, 07:42 AM
QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 6 2008, 11:50 PM) hahahah. dude when i was in melbourne me, my bro and friends all got crew cuts. everyone was damn broke. we all looked like army recruits. well no need crew cut wat......go to the shortest length on the clipper.....then u get hairstyle like wentworth miller aka michale scofield....i think alot of gurls like that.... |
Nov 7 2008, 01:53 PM
wah i got my free slurpeeee....so nice...slurp slurp! did anyone go and get one? or maybe more than one?
Nov 7 2008, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(mrRighthand @ Nov 7 2008, 01:55 PM) whuts?! u still dun believe me.... gosh well next year la ok? since every year oso got.... |
Nov 7 2008, 07:20 PM
hey pandaman.....u said before that u used to hang out quite a bit at hardware lane right?? so have u heard of a place "word bar" before??? issit good?
Nov 8 2008, 02:13 AM
QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 7 2008, 10:50 PM) received a msg from haya, sorry there is already one..... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/685359thus mates who wish to spam pls proceed to kopitiam http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/839012 thanks! thats our kopitiam thread....no need to create new one...and yea haya stamped his authority.....i almost pissed in ma pants when i got his msg...aye captain....as u said.... |
Nov 10 2008, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(empire23 @ Nov 10 2008, 12:27 PM) At the Surfers PD, he was turned away 3 times, and when i went with him on the forth time, there was a new cop and he said the same thing. well i think sometimes its kinda hard to differentiate the dole bludger con dudes and a real victim of assault.....like ive seen those ive lost my wallet cases alot in the streets of melb....like wtf man.....what if i help and turn out to be a druggie or drunkard or a con job? but given that the police is jsut so crappy theres lil wonder why the real victims would rather turn to the public than to the cops....Somemore kena hantam by the AFP lagi. Sheesh. anyway luckily Vic Police din have tasers....saw thsoe tv stuff cops in other states very taser-generous....like a dude got floored already, held by 3 cops...cant possibly fight back and the cops just jab him with the tasers over n over more than 3 times i think.... |
Nov 11 2008, 07:30 AM
QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Nov 11 2008, 02:58 AM) Erm. Noob question here. Should I buy a dell laptop here and bring it there or buy it there itself? buy in msia....if u buy in Aus u r subjected to the tax....so unless u r filing a tax return on that....pay only what u need....The price of buying it there is slightly more expensive. |
Nov 11 2008, 07:34 AM
well buddy at least they buy their own kopi here....msia one always mintak kopi from us....
Nov 11 2008, 10:47 PM
try hunting for those 2nd hand washing machines and dryers if u wanna get it cheaper...sumtimes u get like 1-2 yr old machines for quite a bargain as the owner's gradding and leaving the country.....
say get one for 200 (may be even cheaper since 2nd hand), share with a couple of housemates (divide by 3) use for 3-4 yrs.....worth it lar...better than go feeding those laundry places.... try search your uni's website..... |
Nov 11 2008, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Nov 11 2008, 10:48 PM) Eh weird. For mini 9 it is cheaper to buy here at malaysia. But for xps m1530 the price at malaysia is twice the price...wow....guess would get the laptop over there then. hmmm i bought mine here 2 yrs ago...dell inspiron...like altogether without tax is only like rm200-300 more only....cant recall but i got slapped with GST...tahts the bit im not happy about....coz in msia electronic goods dun get taxed (afaik) n then right...i went back within that 'reclaim ur tax' period....was is 3months? forgot already but i couldve got tax return for it! but din |
Nov 13 2008, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Nov 13 2008, 02:50 PM) Oh. My family got several dell laptops and yeah we love the complete cover. u mean not even if theres any hardware malfunction (im assuming lag / hang here is caused by software) and they will still fix it???? say if i 'ter-spill coffee' over my lappie now...will i get a new one replaced by them? since my model has been discontinued....so am i looking at a new current model here??? hmm... yea im on complete cover....and heard alot of bad things about dell AUS.....like poor assembly, poor hardware lifespan...tahts why need complete cover.... Example my brother poked his screen till it cracked. Got a new one in 2 days. And he keeps complaining the com lagging hang bla bla bla. The tech guy came try to fix failed...few days later he got everything changed but the cover. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...entry14834124 Erm. To complete with honours need to take 1 more extra year? |
Nov 13 2008, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 13 2008, 05:04 PM) .... i think this is starting to go into insurance fraud. ah where got fraud...i was just thinking say i was drinking my morning take away coffee on a tram, while typic away on my laptop....then suddenly tram brakes....mah habis lar my laptop!!! yea i think if i can get a job....then i wont be using the comp that much anyway....thnx ling....maybe during this holiday....NBTD....call them up and complain n see how the Dell Australia ppl compare with the Dell Msia ppl...n btw all dell laptops ship from msia right....but heard they are gonna move the manufacturing plant to China Added on November 13, 2008, 5:24 pm QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 13 2008, 05:20 PM) maybank was 2.359 today.......closed liao, wait for tomorrow......but different rate again..... yea shud shop around...coz different msian banks offer different rate...well slightly....but if ur transferring huge sum of money....that could make the difference...the last time i check....public, UOB quite good rates....better than OCBC and maybank.....http://www.maybank2u.com.my/business/treas..._exchange.shtml This post has been edited by bhypp: Nov 13 2008, 05:24 PM |
Nov 14 2008, 12:17 PM
i heard with travellers cheque...u could even buy stuffs at selected retail places....and then get change in cash? yea but the rate is a turn off....very straight forwards travellers cheque....just sign n kaotim....
Nov 15 2008, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(mrRighthand @ Nov 15 2008, 10:46 PM) the coldest i've experienced there was -4C.. hmmm....well if one's staying in uni hostel where electricity is not an issue....might as well get electric blanket....very very comfy! so much so u might not even wanna get outta bed!! i've brought my blanket from malaysia coz its comfy.. its up to u really, if u have extra weight to add to ur luggage,u can choose to bring.. a comforter here cost roughly 50-80 dollars(single bed average quality) |
Nov 19 2008, 06:46 PM
well alot depends on the time u book and the availability...ive never been on Singapore Airlines coz ive never came across cheaper prices from them and besides they dont direct fly to KLIA...so abit of a turnoff.....
had jetstar (syd-kl) before...quite okay....of course smaller legroom, at least they got entertainment....unlike tiger (melb-darwin-singapore) ....small plane, less legroom than jetstar, no entertainment, very bad seats....but u got what u pay for....so nth much to complain here... |
Nov 19 2008, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(haya @ Nov 19 2008, 08:11 PM) If booking in Australia, go through STA travel. They generally have the better prices. A China friend of mine got a flight A$1100, including all taxes, roundtrip BNE-HKG-CTU, back this year. Cheap. talking about tiger & airasia...when i was boarding tiger's plane from sg to darwin...i was like err isnt this plane for domestic route 1? just like the interstate (melb-syd) plane....abit scared really...sked not able to get to darwin in one piece....and cant really move my feet...You might be able to snag a better deal by booking at the airlines website directly. Jetstar's SYD-KUL has gone, but at least they were using Qantas' old 767's, so seat pitch wouldn't have been too bad. Interestingly, it is still possible to fly to KUL with Jetstar: SYD-DRW-SIN-KUL. And you can actually book it as one straight ticket. However, you will be using their A320's. Which were never meant for such long flights. Not as bad as Tiger Airways through. They have put 180 seats in a plane designed for 140 seats. Anecdotal reviews don't give it much marks. One even said he felt like he was "going to die" on the long journey. Not to mention needing to go through Perth. Air Asia X now has their new A330-300 through. 383 seats (with a 3-3-3 layout apperently) is going to be tight, especially when their first A330 (9M-XAA) had only 310 seats. At least XAA felt like a normal plane, if from the 70's (no inflight entertaiment whatsoever). but tiger at least okay coz the journey coz its sorta broken into 2 halves.... altho no entertainment (got cup noodle n some light meals to be purchased)......but for airasiaX....straight 8 hours of no entertainment + tightspots....its abit insane....normal portable video player couldnt last taht long....and average laptop battery life's only 3 hours...so gonna abit susah there.... |
Nov 20 2008, 09:30 AM
hmm issit? it was abit lower during that crazy bailout fiasco some weeks ago....but thanks for the heads up....really hope it will go down more...
and i think those open dated ones.....unless its discounted fare....should be ok to change the return date right? discounted fare u know la....cheaper so less benefits.....no free date change, and also no frequent flier points.... |
| Change to: | 0.0583sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:18 PM |