Studying in Australia (V 2.5), All users: read rules on first page
bhypp
Nov 20 2008, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(MeruChan @ Nov 20 2008, 02:56 PM) hmm okay..  UQ require me to take QUT does not. so it really depend on the uni..why dont you enquire from them 1st. you dont want to end up like me wasting 500 bucks..and rushing all the way to penang jz to sit for it.. IELTs expires after a year.. if i were u...i would've taken that IELTS test....coz i think UQ is much better than QUT.... totally worth that rush and the rm500...... but then again its all up to u really....say if u prefer QUT's campus life or sth like that.... hmm but the govt's intervention did work to some extend at least...like the ford factory is not going to be closed down as expected before this....but about the currency rate thing....if it does drop to 2.0 wouldnt that affect the prices of goods as well?? prices would most likely go up right? coupled with the forthcoming rate cut....
bhypp
Nov 20 2008, 10:26 PM
well instead of going online wasting precious time scouring the web / calling the banks (telephone bills) for latest rates...isnt that rm100 wasted too? the time could be used to work and get paid?
bhypp
Nov 21 2008, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Nov 20 2008, 10:51 PM) Lol. If you prefer wasting RM100 than clicking 10 links(Heck I bookmarked them I dont even need to click 10 times. Just open all in tabs.) then be my guest. Pay me RM100 and I click those 10 links for you. Okay? Since you said it is worth it. well im pretty sure u clicked more than 10 times to save that rm100.... since u r so particular about it and maybe a few days (a few times a day too probly  ) surveying the trend of currency exchange when u do that right.... well for me...i rather cut down my booze expenses to compensate for that rm100 that i might lose if i were u....rather than being so anal over 0.01....everyone do differently when it comes to money management...so im just saying what i would do.... ahh....its a totally different story where i wanna splash my rm100....i think definitely not to u......that indian money exchange guy / the rich banker seemed a better choice to me...hehe  Added on November 21, 2008, 4:23 pm@ haya...wow thats strange....i thought the song was November Rain....definitely not november hail!!!!....anyway heard situations pretty bad at Qld....any updates buddy?? This post has been edited by bhypp: Nov 21 2008, 04:23 PM
bhypp
Nov 21 2008, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(mrRighthand @ Nov 21 2008, 05:18 PM) oh ya guys..MAS is having a promotion..check out their website.. kl to melb one way is now rm800 all inclusive... other states i'm not too sure.. do check it out if you haven't book your flight the dateline is 30th nov now thats a bargain....sometimes i do wonder how full service airlines can manage to put up such prices...prices at par with those no-frills airlines...dun bother bout their stuff....as a consumer...price is always a big factor...th stiffer the competition, the cheaper it gets, the happier i am / we are
bhypp
Nov 22 2008, 12:36 PM
i was sleeping then heard the sound...then try to see with my just wake up eyes....cant see hail...went back to sleep....ok now im sure i wasnt jsut dreaming....
anyway i thought the locals predicted a very warm summer, with very high risks of bush fires...i certainly hope they are wrong...i would take cold to hot anytime! im so afraid of 40degree days!
Added on November 22, 2008, 12:38 pmahh starghazzer....u posted a pic from ur room?? ahh i can now triangulate ur location n come stalk u! haha....
This post has been edited by bhypp: Nov 22 2008, 12:38 PM
bhypp
Nov 22 2008, 09:05 PM
well i heard usually it rains more around the cooler months like winter spring that time....not quite sure but i think aussie summers are usually dry....n hot.....
ahhh b3ta.....if got hit / damaged can file insurance claim right?
bhypp
Nov 23 2008, 12:29 AM
of course! its freaking 40 degrees here....i think over here in melb will get at least 7 days of 40 degrees days in summer....  33-34 degree days with no cool change in the evening is bad enuff....
bhypp
Nov 23 2008, 03:15 PM
no probs....ive always been worried bout my self brun discs...coz u know la...the contents abit 'unsafe'....but never got into trouble....even dodgy software discs....can cross no prob.....
but depends tho...those pedopilots got their discs checked n got nabbed!
but me so far they just xray my lappie...with a dodgy game disc in it! .....no trouble....
bhypp
Nov 24 2008, 09:06 PM
lol dont they need warrant to search ur laptop??? like searching a house....a private property needs warrant wat...i think to many laptop is pretty private too....so need warrant right??? lawyers here? anyone?
bhypp
Nov 25 2008, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(haya @ Nov 25 2008, 07:30 AM) No, as you are landing in the airport, and bringing your laptop is considered importing an eletrical device. Which like all countries, can be subject to inspection and customs taxes. Of course, I think they will be probably be more interested if it contains a false bottom rather if it contains a false license. You laptop is your asset, not property. Get the 2 right. DVD shrink it avaliable in all good computer sites.  That is as far as I can say with the restraint of the rules. You can mount the ISO as a virtual drive, or use WinRAR or 7zip to decompress it and use it normally. hmm what if what i hav in my computer is some top secret company files that no one should look into or its some country's top classified secret intelligence stuff...kenot search for fun right? say what if the dude ask...hey can i look at ur sms inbox...just part of our airport security electronic check....u know just incase u dun hav any pirated inbox management software....will u be willing still? issit legal for them to do so still? so i din get property and asset right...whats the difference....ur the thread starter...tell me more? since u got it right already...like legal sefinition n stuff....so in case i get into trouble with that at the customs...thnk you very much and wud appreciate it if u can tell me
bhypp
Nov 25 2008, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(haya @ Nov 25 2008, 07:32 PM) Whoo hoo! Kanon! Yeah, just copy paste. Only copy it as a ISO and mount it as a virtual drive if it is games or DVD video Well, there you have it from a real lawyer. All said and done, just because it is not legally outlawed does make it legal. Point taken and noted. lol!  so much for telling me to get my facts straight when u havnt got urs right....i thought u were talking bout legal terminology or sth that i dunno but if its the english dictionary definition ur talking about ...ur the one whu got it all mixed up....well pitfalls of non-mainstream advice i guess...dodgy dodgy....
bhypp
Nov 26 2008, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Nov 26 2008, 11:50 AM) things mentioned here are meant to be taken with a pinch of salt, not to be followed blindly. thread is meant to be some sort of a guide, but not to be followed blindly. get your facts checked out at relevant websites yourself instead of just following blindly to whatever says here. what haya mentioned was of his own definition and its his definition, not dodgy at all. least he has the balls to own up to it, unlike some yupz....agreed...but i think its a great place to start dont u think...just like wikipedia...ppl said its an unreliable source as anyone can edit its content but its a good place to start...not to mention all the prompt replies from fellow forumers..... QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 26 2008, 05:50 PM) i recommend using iinet. i used them for a year. from my experience was good service and had quite a high limit. this was a while back though. cant say for sure now. yea iinets good so i heard too...and they got free EPL streaming and that doesnt count into ur download quota....if ur an EPL fan....and TPG's kinda popular too.....
bhypp
Nov 27 2008, 12:42 PM
u doing western australian year 11 / 12?? well i think u can choose which one u wanna take from the 3 sciences.....i dunno bout u but for me i pick my subjects according to the pre-req of my course....and lebih ones i pick the one im better at.....so u know can sorta pull my overalls up
bhypp
Nov 27 2008, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(Mythras231 @ Nov 27 2008, 01:02 PM) Year 11 ... I just like transfered there ... Year 11 stuff ... Related to lower course ? Like Year 11 chemistry and Year 10 Chemistry ... ? lol...nola....i was saying related to the course u wanna do in uni....but thats year 12....dunno bout year 11 tho.... hmmm im not sure if year11 and year12 is linked like form4-5.....but some of my frens studied economics for year 12 hav to readup some year 11 stuffs too....but i didnt do economics....all the sciences seemed pretty ok....i did year 12 only n no probs from not knowing anything from year11.... This post has been edited by bhypp: Nov 27 2008, 06:30 PM
bhypp
Nov 29 2008, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Nov 29 2008, 10:35 AM) year 12 here doesn't mean the age. its similar to form 6 in M'sia IIRC yup....year one = standard one....so year 12 on our scale will be form6 but the age varies tho...usually year 12 students will be 17-18yrs old....not like msia where the age is sorta fixed....
bhypp
Dec 1 2008, 08:04 PM
i dont think airasia X will be comfortable....i think u will get the usual budget airline stuff...poor legroom....like ive even seen a video clip saying that airasia X planes have got no leg rest (citing the reason, coz ppl dont usually use them, and having them around will weigh down the plane and increase fuel consumption)
ive not been on one so i cant just say too much right now but from my experience with tiger airlines, its just not that great...
bhypp
Dec 2 2008, 03:28 AM
well there are 2 separate classes of airlines....the no frills and the full service...obviously if u wanna save u gotta sacrifice on service.....ive only tried the no frills like once....so i cant tell too much but definitely not as good as the full service ones....
tho i wud say jetstar is better than tiger in comparison....better legroom (slightly), better seats, and they offer entertainment too (hav to pay more of course)
bhypp
Dec 5 2008, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Dec 5 2008, 01:52 PM) hmm...den it can be quite troublesome... i'm staying on-campus accommodation...i wonder they let me sign up for those plans... can why not? not like ur signing up for a broadband service / ** or landline telepohne right? ur talking bout phones here right? like mobile phone phone? well not sure about other banks but for commbank...you can order those statements thru ur netbank account...no need to wait till end of the month....not sure about other banks tho... This post has been edited by bhypp: Dec 5 2008, 03:25 PM
bhypp
Dec 5 2008, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(panda-man @ Dec 5 2008, 04:31 PM) really? can meh? i never applied for this because i never really used a phone that much in australia. just used payphone, or housephone. cause housephone was damn cheap. house to house was like 50c and unlimited or something like that i forgot already. well you could always try give them the uni invoice or letter or anything that uni sends to your dorm as long as it has your name and address. well annoying thing is most ADSL broadband service require you to install a landline phone....thats why if not i would hardly use landline phone....didnt hav any landline phone this year and im still ok with it...yea real cheap...i dun talk much over the phone so it seems abit exp to me 50 cents per call...but i bet the gurls would lurve it....unlimited talk time....can cook till the porridge turn carbon... yea can order the bank statement...done it a few times...receive it within 3 working days or so...postal service mar...but pretty handy...when u need the most recent statement but uve chucked the prev one away....
bhypp
Dec 6 2008, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(tsm @ Dec 6 2008, 06:21 PM) I'm student. I open account at ANZ, two account ANZ online saver and ANZ access acount. I'd like to know do they charge you for "NON-RESIDENT WTHLD TAX ON INTEREST PAID"? i think coz u did giv them ur tax file number...