furniture fair?
Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?
Sep 7 2008, 01:33 PM
1,081 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
furniture fair?
Sep 7 2008, 01:50 PM
211 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
hye...
can sumone tell me any shop with best deal for LG plasma TV PG20 series? and also the pana PV80V and PV8V plasma TV.... PM me or just tell in the forum.. that would be fine.. appreciate your help guys |
Sep 7 2008, 01:53 PM
837 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Penang |
QUOTE(tenable @ Sep 6 2008, 09:25 PM) Thanks guys... Tenable,for your input... well i might be considering LG42" PG20 seires as according to sifu choontoy..it offers better specs and clearer image compared to Panasonic PV8H...plus the PV8H does not have gaming mode which the LG has....and how bout the HDMI version?i saw LG is 1.3 version but i don't know bout Panasonic PV8..does this make significant impact on the pictures...? and pluas what is the difference between LG 42' PG20 and PG10 series?as the latter is cheaper a bit... TQ for compliment but i'm not sifu lah as just cari makan only. Yes,HDMI v1.3 are more vivid color or natural compare to older version.Pana HDMI are older version at PV8H and PV80H but PY800H are version 1.3.LG PG20 spec are better than PG10,correct me if i'm mistaken. As i had Sharp 37" LCD(100Hz) in just couples mths ago thus i love to view more on Plasma tv.And i would say that i regret earlier which did not compare with Plasma.Put side by side to compare will known the results but not 100% as both Plasma internal configuration setting are different unless you have to enter service mode code to tune the color setting. |
Sep 7 2008, 02:16 PM
819 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(choontoy @ Sep 7 2008, 01:53 PM) Tenable, Are you sure that Pana PV80H is not HDMI 1.3, i read somewhere that it is already 1.3 as 1.3 with Deep Color ws released in June 2006. Review of the LG PG20 series http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-panel-tvs/lg-...7-32863632.htmlTQ for compliment but i'm not sifu lah as just cari makan only. Yes,HDMI v1.3 are more vivid color or natural compare to older version.Pana HDMI are older version at PV8H and PV80H but PY800H are version 1.3.LG PG20 spec are better than PG10,correct me if i'm mistaken. As i had Sharp 37" LCD(100Hz) in just couples mths ago thus i love to view more on Plasma tv.And i would say that i regret earlier which did not compare with Plasma.Put side by side to compare will known the results but not 100% as both Plasma internal configuration setting are different unless you have to enter service mode code to tune the color setting. HDMI 1.3 Released June 22, 2006.[12][13][76] Increases single-link bandwidth to 340 MHz (10.2 Gbit/s) Optionally supports Deep Color with 30-bit, 36-bit, and 48-bit xvYCC, sRGB, or YCbCr compared to 24-bit sRGB or YCbCr in previous HDMI versions. Incorporates automatic audio syncing (Audio video sync) capability. Optionally supports output of Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio streams for external decoding by AV receivers.[77] TrueHD and DTS-HD are lossless audio codec formats used on Blu-ray Discs and HD DVDs. If the disc player can decode these streams into uncompressed audio, then HDMI 1.3 is not necessary, as all versions of HDMI can transport uncompressed audio. Cable Categories 1 and 2 defined. Category 1 cable is tested up to 74.25 MHz while Category 2 cable is tested up to 340 MHz. Availability of a new Type C mini-connector for portable devices.[39][78] This post has been edited by gsdev: Sep 7 2008, 02:31 PM |
Sep 8 2008, 10:34 AM
837 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Penang |
QUOTE(gsdev @ Sep 7 2008, 02:16 PM) Are you sure that Pana PV80H is not HDMI 1.3, i read somewhere that it is already 1.3 as 1.3 with Deep Color ws released in June 2006. Review of the LG PG20 series http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-panel-tvs/lg-...7-32863632.html Err... Bro Gsdev.You may double confirm whether Pana PV80H are HDMI v1.3 or not.Corrrect me if my mistake.If confirm that Pana PV80H are HDMI v1.3 then it will be better for those.Cheers for those will get Pana.HDMI 1.3 Released June 22, 2006.[12][13][76] Increases single-link bandwidth to 340 MHz (10.2 Gbit/s) Optionally supports Deep Color with 30-bit, 36-bit, and 48-bit xvYCC, sRGB, or YCbCr compared to 24-bit sRGB or YCbCr in previous HDMI versions. Incorporates automatic audio syncing (Audio video sync) capability. Optionally supports output of Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio streams for external decoding by AV receivers.[77] TrueHD and DTS-HD are lossless audio codec formats used on Blu-ray Discs and HD DVDs. If the disc player can decode these streams into uncompressed audio, then HDMI 1.3 is not necessary, as all versions of HDMI can transport uncompressed audio. Cable Categories 1 and 2 defined. Category 1 cable is tested up to 74.25 MHz while Category 2 cable is tested up to 340 MHz. Availability of a new Type C mini-connector for portable devices.[39][78] |
Sep 8 2008, 10:56 AM
1,182 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sep 8 2008, 11:22 AM
3,945 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
got a quote from SS2
PV8 at RM3630 PG20 at RM3500 here most recommended PV8, but yet some recommend PG20..sigh..can't make decision, and there is rumors that Astro will be transmitting fullHD next year...so should i play the waiting game? |
Sep 8 2008, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(choontoy @ Sep 8 2008, 10:34 AM) Err... Bro Gsdev.You may double confirm whether Pana PV80H are HDMI v1.3 or not.Corrrect me if my mistake.If confirm that Pana PV80H are HDMI v1.3 then it will be better for those.Cheers for those will get Pana. I did read somewhere that it is HDMI 1.3, I think htkaki also confirmed this some time back. Anyways to fully use the 1.3 the source has to be able to support it too, which i think all new ones do. Added on September 8, 2008, 11:33 am QUOTE(lonewolf @ Sep 8 2008, 11:22 AM) got a quote from SS2 This must be Legend. I have not compared the LG PG20 series but the price point between the PV80 is not that much. How about warranty of 5 years from Panasonic, what about warranty from LG ? that has to count for something.PV8 at RM3630 PG20 at RM3500 here most recommended PV8, but yet some recommend PG20..sigh..can't make decision, and there is rumors that Astro will be transmitting fullHD next year...so should i play the waiting game? Added on September 8, 2008, 11:35 am QUOTE(underworld @ Sep 8 2008, 10:56 AM) so series 5 and 6 should have their prices dropping soon ?This post has been edited by gsdev: Sep 8 2008, 11:35 AM |
Sep 8 2008, 11:49 AM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
gsdev, it has already dropped. By quite a lot too. 40" Full HD is now slightly above RM4.1K mark. 46" even more tempting.
The Samsung Raya promo ends on 19.10.2008 |
Sep 8 2008, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(gsdev @ Sep 8 2008, 11:31 AM) This must be Legend. I have not compared the LG PG20 series but the price point between the PV80 is not that much. How about warranty of 5 years from Panasonic, what about warranty from LG ? that has to count for something. PV8 = suppost to be 5 years, but from the forum ..seems they are not the authorize seller..so the 5 years kinda skeptical |
Sep 8 2008, 12:44 PM
21 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Sep 8 2008, 12:54 PM
2,247 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(lonewolf @ Sep 8 2008, 11:22 AM) .... there is rumors that Astro will be transmitting fullHD next year...so should i play the waiting game? ya,one of astro senoir staff also told me Astro 'll be on HD coming soon (duuno how soon cos they actually discuss this HD thingy since early this yr) but dunno it's FullHD or 720p.According to him,Astro HQ oledi install the "machine" which can provide HD format program,should be very soon .... |
Sep 8 2008, 01:11 PM
1,048 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
think the standard of HDTV broadcast around the world is still 720p.........highly doubt Astro gonna skip the 720p and go directly into 1080p....
Sep 8 2008, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(lonewolf @ Sep 8 2008, 11:56 AM) PG20 = 2 years I read somewhere in Low Yat forums that some one bought from Legend did not have the warraty card but panasonic mailed it to the buyer. It looks like it does not matter where you get it from. The 5 years comes with it.PV8 = suppost to be 5 years, but from the forum ..seems they are not the authorize seller..so the 5 years kinda skeptical |
Sep 8 2008, 01:20 PM
156 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Just to share interesting articles esp on plasma tv power consumption
http://apcmag.com/hdtv http://apcmag.com/6986/how_lcd_and_plasmas...the_pixel_level http://apcmag.com/6983/the_case_for_plasma_hdtvs http://apcmag.com/6984/the_case_for_lcd_hdtvs http://apcmag.com/7001/the_verdict_from_wheels |
Sep 8 2008, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 8 2008, 11:49 AM) gsdev, it has already dropped. By quite a lot too. 40" Full HD is now slightly above RM4.1K mark. 46" even more tempting. Wow must be really tempting for thoose looking for LCD TV's...The Samsung Raya promo ends on 19.10.2008 Added on September 8, 2008, 1:22 pm QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 8 2008, 01:11 PM) think the standard of HDTV broadcast around the world is still 720p.........highly doubt Astro gonna skip the 720p and go directly into 1080p.... I too think it will be 720P...This post has been edited by gsdev: Sep 8 2008, 01:22 PM |
Sep 8 2008, 01:26 PM
3,913 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 8 2008, 01:11 PM) think the standard of HDTV broadcast around the world is still 720p.........highly doubt Astro gonna skip the 720p and go directly into 1080p.... hahaha...dun expect it..coz we kno who is astro...dun think of 720p le...now wanna make it clear lik crt tv oso hv problem |
Sep 8 2008, 02:25 PM
518 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(lonewolf @ Sep 8 2008, 11:56 AM) PG20 = 2 years Not sure if PG20 got this thing or not, but if you buy PG60 from Desa HT, you will get 4 years total. 2years from LG and extra 2 years from Desa's insurance (with 1st year being All-risk warranty). meaningPV8 = suppost to be 5 years, but from the forum ..seems they are not the authorize seller..so the 5 years kinda skeptical 1st year --> LG (plus Desa All-risk warranty) 2nd year -->LG 3rd year --->Desa 4th year --->Desa Just got 42PG60UR from them and both my wifey and I are very happy with the PQ eventhough its only through components. Will try HDMI input next. aiz1j, Will be posting some pics soon once I got time to take them. Just watched Corpse Bride last night, PQ and blackness was very good although can't match Kuros. At half the price of a Kuros, I ain't complaining. Regards. |
Sep 8 2008, 02:29 PM
Sep 8 2008, 02:59 PM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
I only hope that it goes to 480p. If Astro goes 720p, expect to pay exorbitant fees for it.
| Change to: | 0.0829sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:39 PM |