126 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

DELL Studio XPS™ 13 & 16 Notebooks, Finally, 1GB ATI Mobility Radeon HD4670!

CR9
post Mar 3 2009, 10:46 PM

41 posts

thanks for d advice micdy..yup the warmest area is at the palm rest area, thats why my 1st choice is Zalman NC-2000 but my budget wont allowed it sweat.gif ..

anyway its good idea to put the owner list with their laptop specs juz like other thread..go ahead Onyx_black..diz is my spec (its the most basic spec. wink.gif )

Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor P8600 (2.40 GHz/ 1066 FSB/ 3MB Cache)
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium 32 bit SP1 Edition (English)
Microsoft® Works 9.0 (Does Not Include Microsoft® Office 2003/2007 Software)
16" 720P WLED LCD (1366 x 768 pixels) Display with 2.0MP webcam
2GB (2 X 1GB) Dual Channel 1067MHz DDR3 SDRAM
250GB SATA 7200RPM Performance Hard Drive
Slot Load 8X DVD+/-RW Drive with double layer write capability
512MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3670
Intel® WiFi Link 5100 (802.11a/g/n) Half Mini-card (MY)
Integrated Sound Blaster Audigy ADVANCED HD Audio Software
Dell™ Wireless 370 Bluetooth Module (MY)
6-Cell (56WHr) Li-Ion Primary Battery
1-year XPS Premier Service with 1-year CompleteCover
+Designed for Dell™ Studio XPS 16" Sleeve (Brand: Timbuk2)

Total:RM3725 + 75 (2% credit card charge) = RM3800 (i bought it at retailer shop not online)

some pic..

user posted image even the box design looks nice n cool..hehe

user posted image already removed the dell dock...

user posted image the Timbuk2 designed exclusively for Studio XPS sleeve..

p.s will post some review/thought later after 1 week using it..
TSOnyx_black
post Mar 4 2009, 07:27 AM

449 posts

QUOTE(CR9 @ Mar 3 2009, 07:42 PM)

btw Onyx_black how much do u pay for dell premium care?thinking of extending the warranty after feel the laptop heat (its quite hot)..anyway mayb diz weekend get the Cooler Master Notepal Infinite..anyone here using it for their Studio XPS 16?how is it?

thanks  icon_rolleyes.gif
It's on the Dell Studio XPS customization page; I'm using Cooler Master Notepal W2. It fits the notebook perfectly. I have the Notepal Infinite as well, but I reckon it's more suitable for 15.4" notebooks like my old Inspiron 6400.
The bad thing about Notepal W2: no adjustable speed for the fans, I hardly bother to adjust the speed of the fan honestly.
Another reason why I prefer Notepal W2 over Notepal Infinite, it's a pain in the butt to clean the Infinite.
Cleaning 'manual' here, just to give you a rough idea.
Dackson
post Mar 4 2009, 01:33 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor P8700 (2.53GHz/ 1066 FSB/ 3MB Cache) - just upgrade
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium SP1 32 bit Edition (English)
3-year XPS Premier Service with 3-year CompleteCover
4GB (2 X 2GB) Dual Channel 1067MHz DDR3 SDRAM (1gb is free by Dell)
250GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
Slot Load 8X DVD + /-RW Drive with double layer write capability
Intel® WiFi Link 5300 (802.11a/g/n) Half Mini-card (MY)
Integrated TV Tuner and Antenna with Dell™ Remote Control for TV Tuner - just upgrade
Dell™ Backlit Keyboard with Touchpad (English)
Dell Online Backup 2GB
Notebook Batteries Carry One Year Warranty Only From Invoice Date
Dell Video Chat
Dell connect
Dell Dock
Internal 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet
ExpressCard Slot, (DOES NOT SUPPORT PC CARDS)
XPS-NB Handling & Insurance Charges(Malaysia)

above is my spect !!

i order it since this 30 January !! the price is RM4927, then they refund to me after 3 days i order.
price become RM4799
it come to me at 7 Feb 2009
I report to replacement at 10 Feb, then they just send me quotation at 3 March 2009
Now the market price is 3999
Every 2 weeks dell marketing will adjust the price.

May i know when do you place ur order ah ??
I looking the price with spect drop until now !!

This post has been edited by Dackson: Mar 4 2009, 01:35 PM
CR9
post Mar 4 2009, 01:40 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Onyx_black @ Mar 4 2009, 07:27 AM)
It's on the Dell Studio XPS customization page; I'm using Cooler Master Notepal W2. It fits the notebook perfectly. I have the Notepal Infinite as well, but I reckon it's more suitable for 15.4" notebooks like my old Inspiron 6400.
The bad thing about Notepal W2: no adjustable speed for the fans, I hardly bother to adjust the speed of the fan honestly.
Another reason why I prefer Notepal W2 over Notepal Infinite, it's a pain in the butt to clean the Infinite.
Cleaning 'manual' here, just to give you a rough idea.
haha..i thought u got special price for the warranty..thanks 4 da advice, really appreciate da 'manual'...anyway it seem kinda hard 4 me to find a laptop cooler that fits my purpose sweat.gif ..all seems has some pros n cons 4 me..

i will be mostly using this Studio XPS on bed or couch (got other laptop 4 work) so zalman nc2000 is out coz it cant work 100% on uneven surfaces..the heat at the palm rest area is the one that bother me so much, so i need to find cooler that has vent at the bottom (notepal W2 vents at the top)..

right now only cooler master notepal infinite close to fits my requirements (minus its dimension)..to micdy n Onyx_black; does the extra width of diz Studio XPS 16 look very obvius on da Cooler Master Notepal Infinite?

thanks icon_rolleyes.gif

paskal
post Mar 4 2009, 01:52 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Mar 1 2009, 09:58 PM)
OMG i just replace my new unit ...
Added on March 2, 2009, 10:25 pmWhat the Hell Dell doing ??
Now the Studio XPS 16 price drop until RM 3,999
from RM 4799 to RM4499 then drop to RM4299 and then RM3,999

MR Erick .... you should ask for refund then go HP better ...
If Dell still send me a unit with scratches I will ask for refund and go HP or ASUS.
ASUS software Design good.
why yes dackson, dump the dell and go get yourself the HP or ASUS or BenQ.
and see if you like their lappy there and then. i'm sure they'll gonna treat you much much much better than dell. thumbup.gif

and their lappy is much much much better than dell. they stick to their price for a very long long long time. dell sucks. the price of their laptop goes down fast because it's no quality, craply assembled, full of scratches and hangs all the time. benq and hp asus is better. no scratches.

edited: left out a word

This post has been edited by paskal: Mar 4 2009, 01:56 PM
CR9
post Mar 4 2009, 02:36 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Mar 4 2009, 01:33 PM)
i order it since this 30 January !! the price is RM4927, then they refund to me after 3 days i order.
price become RM4799
it come to me at 7 Feb 2009
I report to replacement at 10 Feb, then they just send me quotation at 3 March 2009
Now the market price is 3999
Every 2 weeks dell marketing will adjust the price.

May i know when do you place ur order ah ??
I looking the price with spect drop until now !!
hi dackson..how much do pay 4 ur specs?i juz put it at dell website and it cost RM5483..did dell give give u some sort of free gift or upgrade since they hv trouble u so much?anyway do u still planning to change to other brand?

btw i'm not bought it online (my laptop shipment date is on 20 Feb)..i thinks its cheaper if got it trough reseller (but need to nego ar), thinks mayb coz they buy in bulk..got it with my specs. for RM3725 through retailer (dell latest online price RM4161)..

haha..quite agreed on paskal opinions..currently dell workmanship is very suck (anyway thanks god mine comes good), mayb coz it was assembled in Malaysia lol..asus is quite a good brand with reasonable price, hp quite pricey (plus it customer service not very good) but da quality is great compared to others..n yes other brands sticks to their price for quite a long time..but i thinks dell price is flexible coz their specs can be adjusted according to customer requirements..currently in Malaysia only dell offer diz kind of service sad.gif ..

p.s hp hdx 16t looks nice smile.gif ..
Dackson
post Mar 4 2009, 03:51 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

QUOTE(CR9 @ Mar 4 2009, 02:36 PM)
hi dackson..how much do pay 4 ur specs?i juz put it at dell website and it cost RM5483..did dell give give u some sort of free gift or upgrade since they hv trouble u so much?anyway do u still planning to change to other brand?

btw i'm not bought it online (my laptop shipment date is on 20 Feb)..i thinks its cheaper if got it trough reseller (but need to nego ar), thinks mayb coz they buy in bulk..got it with my specs. for RM3725 through retailer (dell latest online price RM4161)..

haha..quite agreed on paskal opinions..currently dell workmanship is very suck (anyway thanks god mine comes good), mayb coz it was assembled in Malaysia lol..asus is quite a good brand with reasonable price, hp quite pricey (plus it customer service not very good) but da quality is great compared to others..n yes other brands sticks to their price for quite a long time..but i thinks dell price is flexible coz their specs can be adjusted according to customer requirements..currently in Malaysia only dell offer diz kind of service  sad.gif ..

p.s hp hdx 16t looks nice  smile.gif ..
for P8600 & no TV tunner
like the spect at dell website now.
i buy at RM 4729 !!! with
after refund RM200 and 500 cash redemption from Dell.

Now Dell allow me to upgrade the replaceent unit by paying RM 360 and become RM 5087 as the spect i post

Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor P8700 (2.53GHz/ 1066 FSB/ 3MB Cache)
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium SP1 32 bit Edition (English)
3-year XPS Premier Service with 3-year CompleteCover
4GB (2 X 2GB) Dual Channel 1067MHz DDR3 SDRAM (1gb is free by Dell)
250GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
Slot Load 8X DVD + /-RW Drive with double layer write capability
Intel® WiFi Link 5300 (802.11a/g/n) Half Mini-card (MY)
Integrated TV Tuner and Antenna with Dell™ Remote Control for TV Tuner
Dell™ Backlit Keyboard with Touchpad (English)
Dell Online Backup 2GB
Notebook Batteries Carry One Year Warranty Only From Invoice Date
Dell Video Chat
Dell connect
Dell Dock
Internal 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet
ExpressCard Slot, (DOES NOT SUPPORT PC CARDS)
XPS-NB Handling & Insurance Charges(Malaysia)

They didnt pay me anything, just say sorry.
Is Dell Customer Care manager solve my case now.
After see from the replacement quotation i saw something extra that is the antivirus become 15 months
useless for me. I sure uninstall it !!!
I ask to change, they say can not ald =.='''
I prefer hardware upgrade such as Harddisc, or bag from Dell rather the useless Antivirus.
that antivirus can not scan anything at all, I using bitdefender.
see from the spect ... almost no hardware can be upgrade, excpet Harddisc, bag, mouse better than none(for cheap one)
other thing all need RM 400 above to upgrade.

Dell should consider paying me something for they mistaken.
This is my last chance for dell, If they still send me a damages unit, I 100% ask for full refund.
And i will never buy Dell product again.
Twice ald, they send me such unit. Both on Wendy yap hand !!

(who want to see the damages photo at here ? the bottom case not close well also can pass QC)
TSOnyx_black
post Mar 4 2009, 04:02 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Mar 4 2009, 03:51 PM)
Dell should consider paying me something for they mistaken.
This is my last chance for dell, If they still send me a damages unit, I 100% ask for full refund.
And i will never buy Dell product again.
Twice ald, they send me such unit. Both on Wendy yap hand !!

(who want to see the damages photo at here ? the bottom case not close well also can pass QC)
Well, if you have some photos, post them.
Did you just say they replaced the notebook for you twice? Wow, that's some serious mistake on Dell's part.
Dackson
post Mar 5 2009, 09:45 AM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

here see it
SUSkedilicious
post Mar 5 2009, 10:26 AM

29 posts

if the price is reasonable for the old stock, why dun buy that???
unless is looking for the latest techonology la...
paskal
post Mar 5 2009, 11:25 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(CR9 @ Mar 4 2009, 02:36 PM)
haha..quite agreed on paskal opinions..currently dell workmanship is very suck (anyway thanks god mine comes good), mayb coz it was assembled in Malaysia lol..asus is quite a good brand with reasonable price, hp quite pricey (plus it customer service not very good) but da quality is great compared to others..n yes other brands sticks to their price for quite a long time..but i thinks dell price is flexible coz their specs can be adjusted according to customer requirements..currently in Malaysia only dell offer diz kind of service  sad.gif ..

p.s hp hdx 16t looks nice  smile.gif ..
i was just being sarcastic.
if you've used lots and lots of laptop as much as i have, trust me you would wanna stick with dell. the problem with kids is that kids don't know what's best for them. biggrin.gif

dell's i currently have an Optiplex SX280 Mini SFF. 2 XPS desktops. 1 XPS laptop. and 2 E series latitude.
trust me i've used various brands and i'm still using various brands. if you can afford it, stick with dell.
CR9
post Mar 5 2009, 03:38 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Mar 5 2009, 11:25 AM)
i was just being sarcastic.
if you've used lots and lots of laptop as much as i have, trust me you would wanna stick with dell. the problem with kids is that kids don't know what's best for them. biggrin.gif

dell's i currently have an Optiplex SX280 Mini SFF. 2 XPS desktops. 1 XPS laptop. and 2 E series latitude.
trust me i've used various brands and i'm still using various brands. if you can afford it, stick with dell.
haha..its my 1st time using dell, my 1st laptop fujitsu, followed by gateway, acer (last till now), asus, n compaq...heard many good comments bout dell customer service although currently there are quite a complaints on their poor workmanship (dont know why) other than that they still the best (price wise)..btw u hv nice collections there..

TSOnyx_black
post Mar 5 2009, 05:18 PM

449 posts

Added review link for the Studio XPS 16 from PC Pro.com, check that out at the first post.
As for the owner's list, I 'll find time to do that later, be patient guys. smile.gif
paskal
post Mar 5 2009, 07:03 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(CR9 @ Mar 5 2009, 03:38 PM)
haha..its my 1st time using dell, my 1st laptop fujitsu, followed by gateway, acer (last till now), asus, n compaq...heard many good comments bout dell customer service although currently there are quite a complaints on their poor workmanship (dont know why) other than that they still the best (price wise)..btw u hv nice collections there..
IMHO you could get better specs from other brand (for the same amount of money). but i would like to think that extra money went to serving you better. and i have absolutely no problem with that. i'd buy better service if i can.

i have yet to find any problem with their workmanship. the lappys that i receive are flawless. well there are sometime problem here and there. but i'm not fussy about it. i won't throw a fist over a scratch. trust me i've seen worse. try using courier often and you'll get what i mean.

some people have the time to get their laptop fixed (or replaced) again and again and again. some don't.
likito
post Mar 5 2009, 09:56 PM

1,468 posts

hey guy , my friend just ask lowyat xps stuido 16 upgrade to 3gb and 320gbhdd with rm4040 , so guy where u find 2gb 250gb rm3.7k only ? mind to sharing ?
CR9
post Mar 5 2009, 10:45 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(likito @ Mar 5 2009, 09:56 PM)
hey guy , my friend just ask lowyat xps stuido 16 upgrade to 3gb and 320gbhdd with rm4040 , so guy where u find 2gb 250gb rm3.7k only ? mind to sharing ?
i get mine for RM3725 at All IT digital mall pj..btw da price dat ur friend gets already very good..if i were u i take the RM4040 one..

p.s price of ddr3 ram is still costly nowadays
teNtiOn
post Mar 6 2009, 12:11 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(likito @ Mar 5 2009, 09:56 PM)
hey guy , my friend just ask lowyat xps stuido 16 upgrade to 3gb and 320gbhdd with rm4040
actually the price didnt really drop that much now comparing when it first launched. there's rm500 rebate that time. dell just keep changing the based spec which make it looks cheaper and more option.

my system same like that with 4gb ram only around rm4200 excluded 3-year Premier Service with 3-year CompleteCover and able to pay via installment. but there's no tv tuner which didnt released yet that time.
clemong_888
post Mar 6 2009, 11:19 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

my notebook arriving on the 17th! cant wait biggrin.gif

btw, interesting thread studio xps 13 goes up in smokes here

TSOnyx_black
post Mar 6 2009, 11:37 AM

449 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Mar 6 2009, 11:19 AM)
my notebook arriving on the 17th! cant wait biggrin.gif

btw, interesting thread studio xps 13 goes up in smokes here
With just 5 cumulative posts, I wouldn't take his/her claims too seriously; but then again he might be right.
clemong_888
post Mar 6 2009, 11:42 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(Onyx_black @ Mar 6 2009, 11:37 AM)
With just 5 cumulative posts, I wouldn't take his/her claims too seriously; but then again he might be right.
haha, im not too worried bt it. but i just hope the same thing doesnt happen to mine tongue.gif im a person who hardly switches off my notebook, sometimes weeks at a time. must learn to manage better

126 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:01 PM