16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Crossroads Mylarone Bijou, <<<HOT item>>>

TSyuheng
post Aug 27 2008, 11:22 AM, updated 17y ago

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

walabies is running is and testing the sound now. drool.gif drool.gif thumbup.gif

DO you feel the improvement???

This post has been edited by yuheng: Aug 27 2008, 11:37 AM
TSyuheng
post Aug 27 2008, 11:23 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

reserve for future users list biggrin.gif
TSyuheng
post Aug 27 2008, 11:24 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

This is my comparison for bijou 3 vs d-jays.

allrite, just to give a short introduction, bijou3 having darker signatures . D-jays delivering a brighter signatures. Therefore, you can clearly seen that i m comparing different signatures, and sound, rather than pure sound differents with the identical signatures, I m expressing my personal opinion here. It will be based on jazz,pop,soft rock of listening. here's the sources that i m using.

Gmod>VDH hybrid>The Secret AMP>Djays, bijou3

I decided not to using the proper review method as it might be just comparing sound signatures and my preferences on which, rather than reflecting an accurate comparison. As a result, i will do more description on each rather than listed out the differences via songs by songs. and therefore, i m gonna to compare IEM by IEM.

Before i comments on this, i do have to highlight that signatures played a important rule here, i hv tried my best to describe on sound rather than complaining on signatures differences. Let start's from D-jays, djays having very forwards singatures, with the brighter sound, the vocals is rather focused, the seperation is clear and air. very details sound, but pls do not mess the details and forwards, i almost pengsang when i met with a friends that keep telling me more details on a certain cable where it deliver forward sound. The overal performances was top on this comparison. Personal preferences placed important here as the bright singatures was similar to Etymotic signatures, less fuller frequency, bass isnt as strong, if u r bass-head, you can stop on this as it only give accurate bass, no overbass at all. It give everything but more towards mids to highs. djays give better bass quantity when compared to Ety, the impact presented identically, but djays having greater transparent sound. With the prices, it is worth, alot more worth than what was competed in this prices ranges(RM300-400). if you are jazz listener, this is a good choices for the upgrading from crossroad, The details was rich, with colourful sound as Ety, it is just like a dad on x3i, being improved in every aspect. very fun listening as you can pick alot of new details out that you never noticed. with proper amping, the high was very impressive, you wil be shock that how far it can go, it is really far, really high.

Before i comments on this, i do have to highlight that signatures played a important rule here, i hv tried my best to describe on sound rather than complaining on signatures differences. Bijou 3 was deemed as de-improved when compared to previous x3i, BUT i dont really think so, as for my current setups, bijou do delivered less focusing vocals, but more balanced now, people complained that it don't have the clear vocals, i have to agree with this when you are comparing this only with x3i, x3i was top on vocals, but bijou3 have definitely better vocal compared to xbi. However, with putting in other aspect, i do really confirmed that it was improved, the sound separation was better, and the bass impact was wonderful for my current setup, soundstages was wider and guess what, it is a lot more smoother, the smoother was impressive, very impressive, if you ever try HD650, you will know how smooth a cans can go, and yes, bijou was smoother now when compared to x3i, it make everything not as focused, it make you enjoys, rahter than pickings on everything, it make me forgot to compare but enjoys on the music, this was the major parts on improvement, this is a give and takes on entry level grades. the details is there, but just less layering, and some details was soften and unabled to delivered well in poorer sources. all 5 frequency was balanced this times, better instrument impact compared to x3i, with fuller mid-low frequency, you can get more accurate and real instrument. and yet, i wont think that instrument was mixed, it is separated, very separated, a very suprised separation after amped. I hv compared the separation by pop songs(cao ge-superman album), purposely using lower recording quality(compared to audiophiles recording), but yet, it was well presented, a lot of suprises coming in. Positioned was still on par with x3i as same layback singatures.

Please do not hesitate to reply me with any comments on the comparison, and if you have any confusion, feel free to reply here as it will be more transparent biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yuheng: Oct 13 2008, 08:45 PM
walabies
post Aug 27 2008, 11:44 AM

Jaben Network.. A headphones store with teddy bears...
6,934 posts

The revolution of Crossroad MylarOne

Pleased to announced that the new versions of Crossroad has landed here, it's call Mylarone Bijou, bijou means 'jewel' in French.
I have just gotten them on hand and can't wait to listen to the new sound, to find out whether it worths a jewel biggrin.gif

Let's take a look at the sneak peek first.

user posted image user posted image

The colour I got it is 'gunmetal'. Metalic and really gorgeous, love it very much. Other colours available is pink, ruby and black; with different level of bass to be adjustED, I got myself a "3", meaning the X3i level of bass which I preferred. Stock haven't arrived yet so I also no idea how it will look like. This time the whole shell is very sturdy, cos it is really made from some sort of metal, in air conditioned room the piece is icy cold to your ears. biggrin.gif A longer protective part attached from the shell to the cable means that less problem will occur, if you know what I means.
Quote from Uncle Wilson: So what is different this time... Strain Relief where the cables exit from the housing, right angle jack, better cables, smaller housing so you can stick it deeper to keep more ambient noise out and this means lowering the volume... and protecting yourself.

The package comes with a hippo case, a new way to keep you IEM organized, invented by Mr. Hippo (secret man tongue.gifsmile.gif. And comes with same old 4 different kinds of sleeves, S, M, L flex and double flanges.

So it comes to the most important part, the sound quality of this IEM, and I will be using previous X3i and Xbi for comparison (sorry mates brows.gif).

Rigs used:
Ipod gmoded with secret portable amplifier (my favourite listening rig!)
MylarOne Bijou 5 hours burn in
MylarOne X3i
MylarOne Xbi

A few songs are compared. Each of them are nicely recorded.

Susan Wong - Killing me softly - female vocal
This is one of my favourite female vocal, I am so familiar with this song and I used it to compare a lot of phones. Anyway... The BiJou really opened up my mouth this time, Susan Wong is singing Word By Word clearly, shocking.gif and I am not talking about it's bright, so it is crystal clear; in fact I feel Bijou has it a dark signature, more to like Sennheiser sounding. The first feel is more bassy but listen carefully the details are better than the previous ones. You can feel the fingers tapping on the piano hard, and saxophone is very SeXy... As for staging, more articulate then the previous ones, not just left and right but depth. nod.gif

The Eagles - Get over it - rock
One of my favourite rock songs. It's live and you can really feel it's staging. This song is very good for testing the transparency as a adequate transparency will let you have a real, live feeling. This transparency ability is able to pin down a few of the big brands. Drum beating is tight and articulate. I really can start rocking my body. rclxms.gif

Norah Jones - Come away from me - Jazz/Female vocal
Everyone knows Norah Jones, so it's convenient for me to say something. Norah Jones sings liquid yet intimate to me wub.gif I quickly changed back to previous two version the feeling is not so strong anymore. When I put back BiJou I the feeling is coming back to me. whistling.gif Lots of background instrument is playing at the beginning of the music, it doesn't mix but blends well into it; with tiny background music isn't lost. Good job BiJou...

Jay Chou - Shuang Jie Gun - Pop
There has to be some Pop music for comparison as pop is still the popular music among the users. And the reason I use this song is that the drum beating part initially is very hard to perform well in a lot of earphones, as quite some instruments are playing and the drum will not goes well with them. Surprisingly BiJou did really well in the drums, I can really feels its beating and nodding my head nod.gif . I also have a fake impression that Jay Chou remake his songs and his vocals sounded more crystal clear, can't say word by word but the improvement is to be seen.

Faye Wong - Tian Kong - female vocal
Everyone favourite audiophile testing music piece. Not only Faye Wongs sings well, but I feel touched - from deep of my heart to be able to listen to celestial vocals. And again, the staging is enormous again.

Final Fantasy 9 soundtracks
FF9 soundtracks features a lot of opera, electric guitar, piano, and misc instruments. All the above BiJou characteristic really performs well in the soundtracks. Older version has some problems in nicely separating the instruments, especially when there is too much music oozing at the same time.

Other songs tested: Laura Fygi - Continental (Jazz), Jewel - Fat boy (Female vocal), Johannes Linstead - Adalucia (guitar)
Very satisfied with the results rclxms.gif

I have been listening since I uploading the pictures and typing this review, and I sell want to listen more. I don't feel fatigued from the musics.
Overall, soothing musical presentation, very good transparency and has liquid vocals. Signature went a bit dark but not losing the details.
Tight and deep bass, intimate mids but a bit of roll off at highs, not affecting much to me.
cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif

This post has been edited by walabies: Aug 29 2008, 12:50 AM
shinzhizu
post Aug 27 2008, 11:59 AM

1,298 posts

omg..is it better than the x3i? stock ready?
signither
post Aug 27 2008, 02:11 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

how much?? brows.gif
xjian1985
post Aug 27 2008, 04:26 PM

240 posts

wow, looks quite solid.
scy320
post Aug 27 2008, 04:32 PM

2,464 posts

how much it cost?

layzieboy
post Aug 27 2008, 04:47 PM

496 posts

eh, new version???
that was y there was no stock...da new versions are here!
quickly review them yuheng..
moniqee
post Aug 27 2008, 05:02 PM

7,864 posts

woah...

looks niceeeeeee...

wonder how much would it cost??
scy320
post Aug 27 2008, 05:38 PM

2,464 posts

looking for comparison with x3i or xBi
moniqee
post Aug 27 2008, 07:33 PM

7,864 posts

true true...

i agree with scy320...

now i have to save $$... i guess it would be my next year bday present liao... happy.gif
sukhoi37
post Aug 27 2008, 08:13 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

Just tested bijou at Jaben one hour ago.
Compare to x3i, it's more bassy, better build quality and better design.

price: SGD70.
HaszAhmad
post Aug 27 2008, 08:39 PM

12K Porn Fan Club
1,821 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Aug 27 2008, 08:13 PM)

apa lagi...bring it in Yuheng/Uncle Wala-wala bingbing! shakehead.gif
vixxiee
post Aug 27 2008, 09:08 PM

Super size me!!
1,294 posts

price at SGD70...that is about rm170 only...love the design
dlyz
post Aug 27 2008, 09:18 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Aug 27 2008, 08:13 PM)

more bassy but how bout soundstaging and clarity?
shinzhizu
post Aug 27 2008, 09:23 PM

1,298 posts

why dont have any webiste mention about this model?
walabies
post Aug 27 2008, 09:42 PM

Jaben Network.. A headphones store with teddy bears...
6,934 posts

I just posted a review on top.
The reason why no reviews is because it just came out yesterday.
I only put out 10 units of "3" "gunmetal" colour for sale for this current moment. Pricing has to check with yuheng. He will open a new sales tread.

This post has been edited by walabies: Aug 27 2008, 10:04 PM
Alex_T
post Aug 27 2008, 10:16 PM

72 posts

Fantastic review from walabies. This will be another hot item from Mylar series.
sukhoi37
post Aug 27 2008, 10:19 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Aug 27 2008, 09:18 PM)
more bassy but how bout soundstaging and clarity?
i just auditioned it for 1 minute, so i can't tell much. tongue.gif
btw, i forgot which model number i tested. doh.gif

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:22 AM