Crossroads Mylarone Bijou, <<<HOT item>>>

walabies
post Aug 27 2008, 11:44 AM

Jaben Network.. A headphones store with teddy bears...
6,934 posts

The revolution of Crossroad MylarOne

Pleased to announced that the new versions of Crossroad has landed here, it's call Mylarone Bijou, bijou means 'jewel' in French.
I have just gotten them on hand and can't wait to listen to the new sound, to find out whether it worths a jewel biggrin.gif

Let's take a look at the sneak peek first.

user posted image user posted image

The colour I got it is 'gunmetal'. Metalic and really gorgeous, love it very much. Other colours available is pink, ruby and black; with different level of bass to be adjustED, I got myself a "3", meaning the X3i level of bass which I preferred. Stock haven't arrived yet so I also no idea how it will look like. This time the whole shell is very sturdy, cos it is really made from some sort of metal, in air conditioned room the piece is icy cold to your ears. biggrin.gif A longer protective part attached from the shell to the cable means that less problem will occur, if you know what I means.
Quote from Uncle Wilson: So what is different this time... Strain Relief where the cables exit from the housing, right angle jack, better cables, smaller housing so you can stick it deeper to keep more ambient noise out and this means lowering the volume... and protecting yourself.

The package comes with a hippo case, a new way to keep you IEM organized, invented by Mr. Hippo (secret man tongue.gifsmile.gif. And comes with same old 4 different kinds of sleeves, S, M, L flex and double flanges.

So it comes to the most important part, the sound quality of this IEM, and I will be using previous X3i and Xbi for comparison (sorry mates brows.gif).

Rigs used:
Ipod gmoded with secret portable amplifier (my favourite listening rig!)
MylarOne Bijou 5 hours burn in
MylarOne X3i
MylarOne Xbi

A few songs are compared. Each of them are nicely recorded.

Susan Wong - Killing me softly - female vocal
This is one of my favourite female vocal, I am so familiar with this song and I used it to compare a lot of phones. Anyway... The BiJou really opened up my mouth this time, Susan Wong is singing Word By Word clearly, shocking.gif and I am not talking about it's bright, so it is crystal clear; in fact I feel Bijou has it a dark signature, more to like Sennheiser sounding. The first feel is more bassy but listen carefully the details are better than the previous ones. You can feel the fingers tapping on the piano hard, and saxophone is very SeXy... As for staging, more articulate then the previous ones, not just left and right but depth. nod.gif

The Eagles - Get over it - rock
One of my favourite rock songs. It's live and you can really feel it's staging. This song is very good for testing the transparency as a adequate transparency will let you have a real, live feeling. This transparency ability is able to pin down a few of the big brands. Drum beating is tight and articulate. I really can start rocking my body. rclxms.gif

Norah Jones - Come away from me - Jazz/Female vocal
Everyone knows Norah Jones, so it's convenient for me to say something. Norah Jones sings liquid yet intimate to me wub.gif I quickly changed back to previous two version the feeling is not so strong anymore. When I put back BiJou I the feeling is coming back to me. whistling.gif Lots of background instrument is playing at the beginning of the music, it doesn't mix but blends well into it; with tiny background music isn't lost. Good job BiJou...

Jay Chou - Shuang Jie Gun - Pop
There has to be some Pop music for comparison as pop is still the popular music among the users. And the reason I use this song is that the drum beating part initially is very hard to perform well in a lot of earphones, as quite some instruments are playing and the drum will not goes well with them. Surprisingly BiJou did really well in the drums, I can really feels its beating and nodding my head nod.gif . I also have a fake impression that Jay Chou remake his songs and his vocals sounded more crystal clear, can't say word by word but the improvement is to be seen.

Faye Wong - Tian Kong - female vocal
Everyone favourite audiophile testing music piece. Not only Faye Wongs sings well, but I feel touched - from deep of my heart to be able to listen to celestial vocals. And again, the staging is enormous again.

Final Fantasy 9 soundtracks
FF9 soundtracks features a lot of opera, electric guitar, piano, and misc instruments. All the above BiJou characteristic really performs well in the soundtracks. Older version has some problems in nicely separating the instruments, especially when there is too much music oozing at the same time.

Other songs tested: Laura Fygi - Continental (Jazz), Jewel - Fat boy (Female vocal), Johannes Linstead - Adalucia (guitar)
Very satisfied with the results rclxms.gif

I have been listening since I uploading the pictures and typing this review, and I sell want to listen more. I don't feel fatigued from the musics.
Overall, soothing musical presentation, very good transparency and has liquid vocals. Signature went a bit dark but not losing the details.
Tight and deep bass, intimate mids but a bit of roll off at highs, not affecting much to me.
cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif

This post has been edited by walabies: Aug 29 2008, 12:50 AM
walabies
post Aug 27 2008, 09:42 PM

6,934 posts

I just posted a review on top.
The reason why no reviews is because it just came out yesterday.
I only put out 10 units of "3" "gunmetal" colour for sale for this current moment. Pricing has to check with yuheng. He will open a new sales tread.

This post has been edited by walabies: Aug 27 2008, 10:04 PM
walabies
post Aug 29 2008, 12:45 AM

6,934 posts

The level is rated as below:
1 = Xbi
2 = Lbi
3 = X3i
4 = Svi
walabies
post Aug 31 2008, 01:37 AM

6,934 posts

QUOTE(procontavia @ Aug 29 2008, 11:27 AM)
boss yuheng n boss wallabies?
i want to ask, what is the difference of this mylarone bijou with the mylartwo and mylarthree??
which 1 the sound quality better?
Get the newer one. Done some improvement and tweaks. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(vixxiee @ Aug 30 2008, 12:01 AM)
so what type we will get from the bulk?? all type 3?? n gunmetal is it??
Yeah currently I only got one colour and one level. That colour is pretty and '3' is the most hot bass level I guess.

QUOTE(shinzhizu @ Aug 30 2008, 11:53 AM)
ya..different types of level..Just hear some comment.And no.3 is just like the X3i..but the bass is overpower, song become mud...i just wonder yuheng or walabies got try the No.4 one.. brows.gif
Bijou needs quite long time to burn in. Later on the bass will turn tight and deep.
walabies
post Aug 31 2008, 07:40 PM

6,934 posts

More poisonous photo... Maybe can put in first page... brows.gif

This post has been edited by walabies: Aug 31 2008, 07:45 PM
walabies
post Aug 31 2008, 07:43 PM

6,934 posts

And more reviews from Jaben.net:

From nystalia:

Hi, I am going to do a review of this canalphone (CrossRoad MylarOne Bijou 3). Grin

First impression
New design, solid build quality, smaller in size, cables are much better and less prone to damage!
Material used now is Metal, not Plastic. Packaging box is in bigger sized now, I prefer smaller packaging.
New XS tips! good for girls that usually have small ear canal, like my smaller sister.
HippoWrap is included also, only thing that is not in the packaging is the Airline Adaptor used to have it last time, it have been removed from the package. The "Gunmetal" Color is Metalic Silver Blue. Personally, I prefer this design!

Sound Quality

Source: iPod Video 5.5G > CrossRoad MylarOne Bijou 3
Song Used:

Chinese Song (Jay Chou - 阳光宅男, 距离(我不配), 菊花台, Fish Leong - 我还记得),
English Song (The Click Five - Happy Birthday),
Japanese Song (Ai Otsuka - Hamawari, Ayumi Hamasaki - Love~Destiny~,)

Treble
It is there, does not spark but very comfortable roll off.

Mid range
Mid range is nice and smooth! Slightly forward, have the 3D holographic image. Female vocal is...... WOAH!

Bass
Deep, Mid bass is more emphasized, a little bit boomy but it TUD TUD style! Good for Techno, Trance, Chinese Songs, English Rock.

Soundstaging
Wide, more on left and right panning. Instrument separation is rather good.

Overall Verdicts
It is a fun sounding Canalphone.You can listen for long period without fatigue.
Emphasized more on Mid and Bass, Sound signature is similar to UM1s but stronger bass.
Price/performance is Fantastic for its similar priced canalphones!
Bulid quality has improve a lot from previous X3i, sound quality is better overall also.
Ultimately, let your ears decides! (Poison, hehe. Grin)

walabies
post Sep 2 2008, 09:30 PM

6,934 posts

It's stainless steel/aluminium. I can feel the icy cold earphones when u first wear them in an aircon room.
walabies
post Sep 14 2008, 08:43 PM

6,934 posts

QUOTE(Blackhart @ Sep 13 2008, 10:48 PM)
Oh no kena poisoned a bit already blush.gif
Is the improvement good enough compared to the previous X3i to warrant paying again for this new one?Opinions please smile.gif
Dont just get poison... Hehe...
Btw, for those who gets poisoned, drop me a PM. I think yuheng is quite busy so better let me deal with u guys for the Bijous.
I normally do postages.
walabies
post Sep 28 2008, 09:55 PM

6,934 posts

The new Bijous will come soon, please be patient. smile.gif
walabies
post Oct 6 2008, 11:25 PM

6,934 posts

yuheng is saying what I wanted to say.
Bijou is an improvement from the previous mylars, to appreciate music we have to look at the whole picture, not just crystal clear vocal = good. This Bijou has already reached another level, good to have it.
walabies
post Oct 23 2008, 10:04 PM

6,934 posts

QUOTE(m4a1rifle @ Oct 13 2008, 08:00 PM)
After about 300 hours of burn in........  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
it is kinda magic. i didn't notice it at first because i always use bijou in office.
Today i take bijou home to try with my FiiO amp. When compare side by side with PMX60, really feel the difference now.
sound stage and clarity is now much better than my Sennheiser PMX-60! PMX60 sounds FLAT compared to bijou, like the instruments and voice cramp together (aka Staging), bass response is definately better than PMX-60 because bijou is in-ear.

Well, it took 300hours to realize it's potential for me. smile.gif

too bad FiiO amp didn't work too well for bijou.
Time to get a better amp!

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Oct 17 2008, 04:29 PM)
very noob question,

is the bijou single or dual drive? and how does it affect the sound?
Single, dual driver are up from RM800. You can start with Q-jays.

QUOTE(m4a1rifle @ Oct 17 2008, 04:35 PM)
It's single driver. dual driver is implemented property can improve the details because each driver have limited frequencies to respond to. if only 1 driver, it has to produce all the frequencies.
but if dual driver not implemented properly, it will have resonance.. sound loudness not equal across the spectrum. IMO.

btw.. 1 downside with bijou.. the ear tip sux. lol. any recommendations?
Get the comply tips. hehe...
walabies
post Oct 29 2008, 10:28 PM

6,934 posts

Hi John, if the problem still exist, maybe the postage has done some damage to it. I do a replacement for you after burn in.
walabies
post Nov 19 2008, 09:30 PM

6,934 posts

Looks like mostly iphone user will need it biggrin.gif
I want one... drool.gif
walabies
post Nov 20 2008, 10:12 PM

6,934 posts

@moniqee
Still burning in yours

QUOTE(lee831219 @ Nov 20 2008, 01:26 AM)
great to heard tat. is it available in malaysia? too bad, Asus P535 is 2.5mm audio jack. any converter for it?
I think it isn't hard to get at pda stores.
walabies
post Nov 23 2008, 10:44 PM

6,934 posts

Hehe, thx for the support sis.

This post has been edited by walabies: Nov 23 2008, 10:45 PM
walabies
post Nov 25 2008, 09:55 PM

6,934 posts

Hackezkk, try the BoA fans club here. smile.gif
walabies
post Dec 21 2008, 11:31 AM

6,934 posts

QUOTE(-Nintedo Wii- @ Dec 18 2008, 11:06 PM)
Are the bijous iPhone compatible?
will fit iphone

QUOTE(roticanai92 @ Dec 19 2008, 01:51 AM)
no discount meh.. anywhere can get cheaper for this baby??
over my budget, but get poison by the reviews leh~~
walabies!!
aiyo bro, the price is the same in singapore and malaysia. and it does not worth traveling both ways just for a few ringgit discount.
btw, you can get in garage sales if you want.
walabies
post Jan 10 2009, 04:46 PM

6,934 posts

Hurry I have limited silver, and green ones.
walabies
post Jan 12 2009, 06:21 PM

6,934 posts

Poor genocide, PM us we shall discuss how are going to make you happy. smile.gif
walabies
post Jan 24 2009, 02:12 AM

6,934 posts

Earpump, EP630 is for bass lover. You need to appreciate teh details.

This post has been edited by walabies: Jan 24 2009, 02:13 AM

0.0264sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:26 PM