Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

kazasho
post Sep 23 2008, 10:47 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

I also use wired lan. lucky near. got security error bla bla. so just jolok wire baru diam laugh.gif

nway, I notice, at least register 2 PSN. 1 US, 1 SG. SG to play games online(maybe faster?), US to download demo coz got many demos than SG.

kazasho
post Oct 7 2008, 02:20 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

wat is folding@home?
kazasho
post Oct 16 2008, 11:29 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

FAT32 smile.gif Recognise by mac and windows smile.gif and ps3
kazasho
post Oct 19 2008, 11:17 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(riziger @ Oct 19 2008, 10:29 PM)
Guys, would there be any reason that I should not buy a 40gb ps3 instead of 80gb?

Apart from the HDD which can be upgraded, it's cheaper and basically performs the same duties right?

Want to buy a ps3 asap but not much money so looking for the cheapest option.
I'll help u for this

1 = warranty

PS3 40gb is either HK set, or SG set, thus if the PS3 got problem, have to send to HK or SG. Some PS3 have problem with BD lens, some shop owners can repair it themselves at a price. U never know if they change a non ori/not good lens, or change something inside when repair. Like my friend case, got problem with wifi, have to send to SG for 1 month.

If 80gb = Malaysia set, just send to Sonystyle to repair it. and Sonystyle ONLY ACCEPT MALAYSIAN set

cheers wink.gif
kazasho
post Oct 24 2008, 09:13 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(shindenv @ Oct 24 2008, 02:37 PM)
Anyone registered with Malaysian PSN yet?  brows.gif
Just walk to KLCC's sony shop and saw a brochure showing how to register a Malaysian PSN  thumbup.gif
I think most ppl register alrd. but the network still zero.
kazasho
post Oct 27 2008, 01:35 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

dvd pirate dvdr/dvdrw? so boleh la.
tapi dvd pirate ps2 iso, tak boleh la
kazasho
post Oct 28 2008, 03:05 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

no worries. he just asking wether can or not. so they word is CAN. but its up to you wether you want to use it or not to use it smile.gif
kazasho
post Oct 28 2008, 03:57 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

yup. can play. tested smile.gif if external hdd, make sure it is in FAT32 format
kazasho
post Oct 28 2008, 04:17 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

movie file as in hd file or with hdtv?

I played my camprock .avi in my external hdd(mybook) in FAT32 format. played through hdtv
kazasho
post Oct 29 2008, 12:00 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

dunno. if u bought from sonystyle(I know u use ur voucher) brows.gif
bring to sonystyle la. remember bring the package/box as well.

sorry havent encounter this problem

This post has been edited by kazasho: Oct 29 2008, 12:01 AM
kazasho
post Oct 29 2008, 12:16 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

me u dont love? brows.gif

if a sticker block, then it will void warranty
but in this case, no, it will not void because no sticker blocking it
kazasho
post Oct 29 2008, 09:15 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Oct 29 2008, 07:54 PM)
To all bro, help me
I want to ask. Issit possible to use Computer Monitor (eg:samsung wide scree) to play PS 3?? what should i need to do it?
you need vga box. av component cable( red green blue + audio(red white) )
kazasho
post Oct 29 2008, 10:16 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Oct 29 2008, 10:13 PM)
where can i get the vga box? how much does it cost?
come shah alam. local shop said that they will get another latest vga box for ps3. they also gonna exchange for me free( I bought it yesterday) price around 150.
kazasho
post Oct 30 2008, 12:11 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Oct 29 2008, 11:56 PM)
Guys,i bought a VGA box (unknown brand-magic box) and tried to hook it up to my PS3 with my samsung 943NWX and i couldnt get a picture. The samsung light was blinking blue but when i changed the box setting to PC,it shows my computer being on. When i switch it to monitor (meaning PS3,nothing happens-light blinks).

Any idea whats wrong..? Is there a better way to connect my PS3 to my monitor? My monitor only has the VGA function btw.I connected the PS3 with the component cable and the component cable into the VGA box,then from VGA box to the monitor... What am i doing wrong?

Any good brands I could try for the VGA box? Any other cables im missing out? Is there something i must do to the PS3 before trying? Must i change PS3 settings before connecting?

Thanks in advance. smile.gif
u must change ur ps3 display setting first before hook it up with vga box

Added on October 30, 2008, 12:13 amI'll be exchange another vga box. dunno what brand, but the shop owner said its the latest for ps3. tmrrw night I'll update

u must change the display setting---display--choose component

This post has been edited by kazasho: Oct 30 2008, 12:13 AM
kazasho
post Oct 30 2008, 12:22 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Oct 30 2008, 12:15 AM)
Uh-oh...already left the PS3 in my condo...No TV to change with...

But if i remember correctly,the setting was already the lowest. However,i think it was : composite/standard NTSJ...
hmm.gif

in my case, I hook and the display doesnt show anything, after check with the manual (surprise a cap ayam brand manual is useful), have to change the display setting first as in used to use my HDTV with HDMI cable. thats why it didnt detect. so I change it with my HDTV , ps3 display setting to use component cable, then my lcd monitor detect it smile.gif
kazasho
post Oct 30 2008, 12:48 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Oct 30 2008, 12:42 AM)
Yours makes sense because you are reducing from a higher resolution. But mine upgrading from the lowest ,shouldnt be a problem tongue.gif

But thanks for the reply,hope you'll update with your VGA box brand tomorrow biggrin.gif
heh
welcome. sure. if everything goes nice, I'll update with pics and some notes
kazasho
post Oct 30 2008, 12:26 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(duo412 @ Oct 30 2008, 11:57 AM)
hey guy .... want brand u buying for ur vga box ??? cause im going to buy a vga box also ...
update tonite. current no brand but same in page 1
kazasho
post Oct 31 2008, 12:47 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

ok guys, to whom who want to use vga box

this model is VGA BOX 2198P, bought for RM120

inside got vga cable, y-splitter audio, power cable, vertical stand, manual

Im using a VGA LCD monitor, I need the vga box as a converter

Since Im using HDTV with HDMI cable before, so I need to change the display output setting first using HDTV + HDMI cable, then connect with component cable

component + audio cable with av multi in the other end

input to ps3

for audio setting

vga box

kazasho
post Oct 31 2008, 01:25 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Oct 31 2008, 01:08 AM)
^thanks for the informative post + pict  notworthy.gif

i'll C+P into front page so others can find it easily
welcome rclxms.gif

a guide like this should be good for beginners. just like me when I first dont know how to use a vga box. hopefully my pics help wink.gif
kazasho
post Oct 31 2008, 02:00 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Oct 31 2008, 12:41 PM)
Wow,nice post bro. Im gonna get mine in the evening,hope it works...
Thanks for the guide biggrin.gif
biasa-biasa saja post. hehe. Im using with ugly lenovo lcd. but still can use 720p. quite nice playing mgs4. huhu.

0.0443sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:33 AM