34 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Martial Arts Schools / Classes, List of Martial Arts Schools / Classes

bez0406
post Jul 23 2012, 11:21 AM

QUOTE(frankzane @ Jul 22 2012, 11:35 PM)
Ok, so what's the diff between judo & jujutsu?
First of all I have to clear the air here, I am talking about the traditional jujutsu, not BJJ, we are indeed completely different. Jujutsu was the art used by samurai centuries ago to fight in the war when they were stripped from their katana. Judo branched out from jujutsu years ago in modern Japan. That's the history of it.

In the fighting system, what I understand is, Judo improvise their techniques from Jujutsu and became an art based majority on throwing and joint locks. Judo gradually becomes a sport since then, although there are still traditional schools in Japan that teach traditional Judo, but sadly a lot of Judo schools train Judo as a sport today rather than as a martial art. Jujutsu kept a lot of deadly and lethal techniques in our syllabus. Those techniques are forbidden now because they kill and we do not simply kill ppl nowadays isn't it? So if you ask me what's the difference, I would say Jujutsu has more techniques other than throwing or locks, and the way we throw are different from Judo. The style of throwing, position of body, something like that.

I am not here to make a comparison by saying Jujutsu is better than Judo or what, I would say in fact they moved on to a different path. Every martial art is a good art, it depends on how well you understand your own art. rclxms.gif
jimncf
post Jul 23 2012, 12:45 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(bez0406 @ Jul 23 2012, 11:21 AM)
First of all I have to clear the air here, I am talking about the traditional jujutsu, not BJJ, we are indeed completely different. Jujutsu was the art used by samurai centuries ago to fight in the war when they were stripped from their katana. Judo branched out from jujutsu years ago in modern Japan. That's the history of it.

In the fighting system, what I understand is, Judo improvise their techniques from Jujutsu and became an art based majority on throwing and joint locks. Judo gradually becomes a sport since then, although there are still traditional schools in Japan that teach traditional Judo, but sadly a lot of Judo schools train Judo as a sport today rather than as a martial art. Jujutsu kept a lot of deadly and lethal techniques in our syllabus. Those techniques are forbidden now because they kill and we do not simply kill ppl nowadays isn't it? So if you ask me what's the difference, I would say Jujutsu has more techniques other than throwing or locks, and the way we throw are different from Judo. The style of throwing, position of body, something like that.

I am not here to make a comparison by saying Jujutsu is better than Judo or what, I would say in fact they moved on to a different path. Every martial art is a good art, it depends on how well you understand your own art.  rclxms.gif
Interesting. Thanks for the insight. I was thinking that only wushu is teaching martial arts as a sports form.

By the way, what is 'katana'?
Valentineday
post Jul 24 2012, 09:38 PM

478 posts

hihi...anyone learning shaolin kempo at japan club? wan heard some comment
wongmunkeong
post Jul 24 2012, 09:43 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(jimncf @ Jul 23 2012, 12:45 PM)
Interesting.  Thanks for the insight.  I was thinking that only wushu is teaching martial arts as a sports form.

By the way, what is 'katana'?
Sorry to jump in - a Katana is a Japanese sword.
One heckuva weapon if the Fight Science documentary is anything to go by.
dark saber
post Aug 3 2012, 09:16 AM

Hi, I am new here, nv learn martial arts before but wish to learn since my uni time,

Can I ask
1) I am 24 now, am I too late to learn martial arts?
2) If my age still aceeptable, anyone can recommend any places to learn martial arts around KL city center?

Thx thx
bez0406
post Aug 3 2012, 09:48 AM

QUOTE(dark saber @ Aug 3 2012, 09:16 AM)
Hi, I am new here, nv learn martial arts before but wish to learn since my uni time,

Can I ask
2) If my age still aceeptable, anyone can recommend any places to learn martial arts around KL city center?

Thx thx

It is never too late to learn martial arts, determination is the only thing that matters. If you are interested in jujutsu, you can drop by Kuchai Lama to visit our training session every mon and wed at 8pm. Call up Michael sensei through the phone number 019-3191643 to ask for more details.

Or else you can try aikido or karate.
bonzaimy
post Aug 4 2012, 12:38 AM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(dark saber @ Aug 3 2012, 09:16 AM)

Can I ask

Thx thx
24 still ok ma.. Im 26 this year. After puasa baru mau join muay thai.. smile.gif
dark saber
post Aug 4 2012, 11:15 PM

QUOTE(bez0406 @ Aug 3 2012, 09:48 AM)
It is never too late to learn martial arts, determination is the only thing that matters. If you are interested in jujutsu, you can drop by Kuchai Lama to visit our training session every mon and wed at 8pm. Call up Michael sensei through the phone number 019-3191643 to ask for more details.

Or else you can try aikido or karate.
Hi, thx so much for ur suggestion, but Kuchai lama too far for me after work...

Added on August 4, 2012, 11:31 pm
QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Aug 4 2012, 12:38 AM)
24 still ok ma.. Im 26 this year. After puasa baru mau join muay thai.. smile.gif
Is there any muay thai course available at within KL golden triangle area?

This post has been edited by dark saber: Aug 4 2012, 11:31 PM
jurusilat
post Aug 9 2012, 02:13 PM

176 posts

This gym is in golden triangle, i think. They have Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.

Monarchy Gym

QUOTE(dark saber @ Aug 4 2012, 11:15 PM)
Hi, thx so much for ur suggestion, but Kuchai lama too far for me after work...

Added on August 4, 2012, 11:31 pm
Is there any muay thai course available at within KL golden triangle area?
moonstone13
post Aug 22 2012, 11:22 PM

509 posts

Dear Taikos,

Am looking for a spot that satisfies the following (in order of priority):

1. Walking distance from KLCC/Golden Triangle area.
2. Practical self-defence in real-world situations.
3. Preference if it helps to build upper body strength more.

Any pointers most appreciated!

Kamsia Kamsia...
SylvainKL
post Aug 29 2012, 11:37 PM

Hey

I am french and I am looking for Karate club or something like that, in the nearby of KLCC or Changkat Bukit Bintang.

I have made several researches but failed each times sad.gif

Can you help me, do you know something ?

lot101
post Aug 30 2012, 10:05 AM

Apa got sing sing one......
603 posts

QUOTE(SylvainKL @ Aug 29 2012, 11:37 PM)
Hey

I am french and I am looking for Karate club or something like that, in the nearby of KLCC or Changkat Bukit Bintang.

I have made several researches but failed each times  sad.gif

Can you help me, do you know something ?

Goshin-Ryu

Shitoryu

they take homo sapiens, bien

Someone mentioned Kempo in the Japan club........what are the requirements ? I have been practising free-form for XX years (no affiliation to anyone) and am looking to streamline my skills.

Added on August 30, 2012, 10:17 am
QUOTE(moonstone13 @ Aug 22 2012, 11:22 PM)
Dear Taikos,

Am looking for a spot that satisfies the following (in order of priority):

1. Walking distance from KLCC/Golden Triangle area.
2. Practical self-defence in real-world situations.
3. Preference if it helps to build upper body strength more.

Any pointers most appreciated!

Kamsia Kamsia...
1. to long to list

2. it would take you a long time with religious like training to achieve it, that is if you find a committed trainer

3. go lift weights or do plyometrics

With regards to no.2 , you are looking at too large a scope.

Knife is the most popular weapon for a felon. Can you work with that ?

if there are 4-5 guys what would you do ? The people I know who can take down 4-5 guys have the killer instinct. Do you want that ?

This post has been edited by lot101: Aug 30 2012, 10:17 AM
moonstone13
post Sep 2 2012, 06:08 PM

509 posts

QUOTE(lot101 @ Aug 30 2012, 10:05 AM)
Goshin-Ryu

Shitoryu

Someone mentioned Kempo in the Japan club........what are the requirements ? I have been practising free-form for XX years (no affiliation to anyone) and am looking to streamline my skills.

1. to long to list

2. it would take you a long time with religious like training to achieve it, that is if you find a committed trainer

if there are 4-5 guys what would you do ? The people I know who can take down 4-5 guys have the killer instinct. Do you want that ?
Taiko,

Thanks for the feedback (in a way).

1. Since it's an exhaustive list. Perhaps you can recommend three?

2. I guess the key is to disarm assailants with the minimum amount of effort and get to safety ASAP, plausibly in a 1 vs 1 or 1 vs 2 scenario.

3. Ok.

lot101
post Sep 2 2012, 10:40 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(moonstone13 @ Sep 2 2012, 06:08 PM)
Taiko,

Thanks for the feedback (in a way).

1. Since it's an exhaustive list. Perhaps you can recommend three?

2. I guess the key is to disarm assailants with the minimum amount of effort and get to safety ASAP, plausibly in a 1 vs 1 or 1 vs 2 scenario.

3. Ok.
sleep.gif''''''

Even with the most violent MA, it would take you two year and the first year you will curse and follow that up with my nick. sweat.gif

so its akido, ninjutsu and silat. shop around (or google)

there's kalari payat and akido in Brickfields. Ninjutsu is PJ, Damansara, SJ area (same group). silat kampung pandan and getting to be in 'health' sorry gym studio's too so keep an eye out and ask around. this one I cant help you. Silat focus on knife work.

why are you focused on 1 to 1 and 1 to 2 ??????

SylvainKL
post Sep 5 2012, 12:45 AM

QUOTE(lot101 @ Aug 30 2012, 10:05 AM)
Goshin-Ryu

Shitoryu

1. to long to list

Ok thank you.

And are there Boxe clubs in the nearby ?
lot101
post Sep 6 2012, 08:36 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(SylvainKL @ Sep 5 2012, 12:45 AM)
Ok thank you.

And are there Boxe clubs in the nearby ?
cant help you there....sorry. The trend now is Muay Thai and MMA/anything related to JJ

All I know is that there are a few in KL.
kwackers
post Oct 9 2012, 05:47 PM

350 posts

Just to add another Wing Chun school to the list:

KL Academy of Combative Arts

Courses Offered: Wing Chun and Jun Fan Kung Fu

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/282851401750241

Tel: 012-234-0742

Address: Bangsar Sports Complex, Jalan Terasek 3, Bangsar Baru, KL

(can't seem to embed the YouTube video, but here's the link)

Chiam Kiu with some applications performed Sifu Austin Goh: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-mvROerPp2s

Upcoming events: Seminar with Sifu Austin Goh at Twin Towers Fitness Centre, KLCC on October 13th and 14th.

Grandmaster Austin Goh is the international Wing Chun master who has over 40 years of teaching Wing Chun.

He was the first Malaysian to teach Wing Chun to the West. He is also the successor of the late renowned Wing Chun Grandmaster Lee Shing.

Grandmaster Austin Goh was known in 80's and 90's as the Iron Man of Wing Chun due to his famous breaking feats and tough fighting skills.

This post has been edited by kwackers: Oct 9 2012, 05:51 PM
frankzane
post Oct 11 2012, 11:03 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(bez0406 @ Jul 23 2012, 11:21 AM)

I am not here to make a comparison by saying Jujutsu is better than Judo or what, I would say in fact they moved on to a different path. Every martial art is a good art, it depends on how well you understand your own art.  rclxms.gif
thanks! jujutsu=jiujitsu?
bez0406
post Oct 11 2012, 11:22 PM

QUOTE(frankzane @ Oct 11 2012, 11:03 PM)
thanks! jujutsu=jiujitsu?
Different translation only, it is the same, as long as it is not BJJ.
frankzane
post Oct 12 2012, 12:02 AM

664 posts

thanks!

34 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:32 PM