^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

yea a tt will be pretty nice

hmm im seriousl thinking of trying out the balance thing edi...hahaha

eh jazzy u got 4 boards, you can try mah...tongue.gif

Added on August 23, 2008, 1:24 am
QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 23 2008, 01:17 AM)
aiyo, then me missed a chance to meet all "T-Amper"  doh.gif  cry.gif

Ya, ini uncle Ipoh mari, or else I won't have 2 TT sessions with xtorm within 24 hours, his avatar only  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  me but for sure not he himself  laugh.gif

hmm...TT kangtau no more liau, time for uncle to go back sleep liau...
otherwise if uncle got "kidnapped", bro xtorm will be the main suspect....together with his lui pao (girl-girl lah)  doh.gif  tongue.gif
hahaha

eh bro drive safelah to hotel

just now tht place got lots of gals with the potential of my avatarmah tongue.gif

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 23 2008, 01:24 AM
TSxtorm
post Aug 23 2008, 06:28 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 23 2008, 01:29 AM)
yep. 2 boards for bi-amping wink.gif
the other two... well.......    tongue.gif

heyyy where is this place??? I need new avatar mahhh !!!  laugh.gif
haha where the 3 famous college is tongue.gif

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 23 2008, 01:33 AM)
Date, time, venue we have to decide soon.. few more days before puasa... tongue.gif
venue...hmm your place should be ok biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 23 2008, 01:36 AM)
thanks, a pek normally drive 30km/h only, dun horn me next time you follow my tail smile.gif

really time to go back liau but got a darn pretty gal, much better than you avatar (this gal can see the face mah) is sitting opposite me....
gonna go for last "peek" before go back!

God bless ah pek will sleep in the right bed tonite tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Good night to all braders here  laugh.gif
take her picturelah aiyo, or go ask her backmah...kakaka

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 23 2008, 01:40 PM)
hehe...how come so quite again huh?
me on the way back to ipoh, now just stop by Tapah R&R smile.gif
this place is quiet without you and jazzy ...sad.gif
TSxtorm
post Aug 24 2008, 01:31 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

mysghooi
when you put your ear tht near to the speaker, it is normal to have a little hissing, you mention 0.5ft away you dontt hear any hissing anymore, then its perfectly normal, no worries

t-amp does have a little hiss, unison research simply 4 does hiss too and its rm6k tht time. i mean when you put your ear next to the driver, especially tweeter.

Y.C.
they are all smd component, thts why i change mine to 1% metal film type. as for the meterial, i got no idea at all...
TSxtorm
post Aug 24 2008, 01:53 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

oi though you sleep edi.....

miss your t-amp izit tongue.gif
TSxtorm
post Aug 24 2008, 02:27 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Aug 24 2008, 12:28 PM)
Q1: Yes, Nixie Electronics (opposite Pudu Plaza) have widest range but mostly from Taiwan.
Q2: Farnell or RS Components. (RS a bit more pricy but better and more courteous service)
oh thx for the info rclxms.gif will check out nixie next time, i bought 50 pieces last time from farnell, 1% 12k, each costing rm0.20, i guess resoanable enough, but bulk buylor

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 24 2008, 01:50 PM)
bro, I double check twice....my speakers is dead silent with t-amp wor...my ear almost touch the speaker cone liau tongue.gif

Maybe the hss of your t-amp cause by your power supply.
eh sure ah...hmmm mine got abitler even without source
TSxtorm
post Aug 25 2008, 01:48 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 24 2008, 03:06 PM)
I've no need for 50 pieces, so what say you if I offer to buy some off you? Boleh? If okay with you, I will pick them up together with the T-amps I ordered after arrival of second shipment. BTW, can I expect second shipment of T-amps sometime next week?
yea why not, send you a pm then biggrin.gif
im hopping the shipmetn will arrive around tuesday, hopefully no issue at all, will pm every1 once i got it smile.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 24 2008, 03:08 PM)
aiya...you din tell me that day or else i will grab some from you as well sad.gif
aiya i also forgotten edi..paiseh, yamcharlor next time u come..

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 24 2008, 04:42 PM)
Hope to fast fast received my t-amp. Then I can used the soundstage as pre-amp and the t-amp as power amp. Hope this is the good match.

Added on August 24, 2008, 4:45 pmHi ong what cable to you wired the RCA input to the t-amp board?
yea hopefully i can 9tim this batch fast too smile.gif
soundstage is a intergrated amp right? pre-amp is power by tube?

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 24 2008, 08:32 PM)
Whoa, one day I did not log in so many postings? tongue.gif

As far as hissing noise is concerned, my T-Amp with NO input connections, is dead silent. With input cable connected very low humming sound detected when ears placed close to the tweeters.
These are picked up by the input cable and amplified by the T-Amp, as highlighted by bro ongbs. But it did not affect my listening pleasure..  biggrin.gif
hahaha..u are miss here biggrin.gif ongbs too....
hmmm something wrong with my setup then?

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 24 2008, 09:02 PM)
More screen shot. some stuff already prepared. Hi sifu anything still leave?

Added on August 24, 2008, 9:05 pmHi jazzy939 do you have any picture to show it to me. How the AC to DC convertor look like.

Added on August 24, 2008, 9:11 pmHi jazzy939. you only paid half ah. I ask the sales girls to give me some discount she also don't give.
OMG, tht casing is nice, but too many holes for 1 of the side panel, but easily fix biggrin.gif

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Aug 24 2008, 09:34 PM)
wait a while.....i'll post a picture in our pm....hehehe

question: does GC too needs DC power supply?
secret project ah tongue.gif let us see too lah icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 24 2008, 11:39 PM)
jazzy,

Yes, I fully agree that all of us need a break from the routine once a while and spending time away together improves the bond and love for one another in the family.

As the Alps blue carbon would cost me RM70, I decided to pay slightly more and opt for step attenuator at RM110 instead. It is more expensive than the T-amp in stock form but I may also replace the capacitors and resistors later. I also read about other diy forumers preferring carbon pots of lesser value of 10k ohm / 20k ohm than discrete pots and was hoping I would be able to tweak the sound around to my taste.

Years ago, I built the Audio Note kit 1 amp. I just could not forget the liquid midrange sound of it using a discrete pot which was later lost when I have to replace it with Alps carbon.
wow amp1 kit, how was the sound? hmmm mayb we can have a tt at your house then, what you say guys?

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 25 2008, 12:03 AM)
i do have AudioSource pre one pre-amp (previously pair with my Ampzilla), haven test it with t-amp yet.
eh, you dont lazy go tryler biggrin.gif should sound betterlor....
and wah you are using headphone wire as interconnect edi sounding so good? put inlah some decent 1, i think even cat5e will sound alot better....

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 25 2008, 12:13 AM)
jazzy,

You're supposed to be the moderator but as I observe, all questions and comments including those from me are all directed at you and you need to answer them one by one. Hmmm a thankless job indeed. Before I go offline, let me recommend you a great jazz album which I just discovered last weekend - Jane Monheit's Taking A Chance on Love album, her 4th released in 2004, with a duet number of I Won't Dance with Michael Bubble plus a bonus track of Over the Rainbow. Her style is really jazz, very refreshing and she has a powerful voice of a soprano singer. And through my system now with a solid state integrated amp, I'd say her voice sounded so liquid and enchanting! Check it out.

[attachmentid=569718]
yea her voice is snice! hmm downloads....downloads.... doh.gif thumbup.gif

sifu jazzy and bsl555, nice to have 2 good technical guy here biggrin.gif to correct our mistake, i belive Y.C. is good too biggrin.gif
btw i can get some 1 to wind those trans if there is enough quantity, say around 5 pieces, duno the price tho. 24v-0-24v 3amp cost around rm30 or so
TSxtorm
post Aug 25 2008, 02:21 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

yea just came back from my house and done everything then only i post...haha, done some changes to the t-amp biggrin.gif

previously was a quick check at my pm and this thread tongue.gif

going to sleep, good night
TSxtorm
post Aug 25 2008, 09:47 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

haha nothing muchlah..

change those braided cat5e to QED wire and put some cheapo 1000uf and xtra power rail for the tweeter amp like my mid amp

some how the sound is not so exciting anymore.

the soundstage b4 i change sounded like some young happy guy playing all those instruments, very happening but its noisy at time and some details are not easily heard due to it, at some point i even feel tht the music is overpowering the singer.

after the mod, it sounded like some old mature guy playing all the instruments, really steady and slow, details can be heard easily cause its not so noisy anymore, ofcos its abit dull, but the background is really quiet, they behave themself nicely, and music are at no point over powering the singer.

some how i like the way it is before moding, but ill let it burn in for a week or so and see, like ongbs said, lazymah tongue.gif

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 25 2008, 09:49 AM
TSxtorm
post Aug 25 2008, 09:03 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 25 2008, 10:42 AM)
xtorm,

Thank you so much, I will pay for those resistors together with balance of my T-amps.

Second shipment of T-amps arriving Tuesday? Wow, that is tomorrow.

The AN kit 1 stereo amp's output is only 7.5W into 8Ω per channel; I already sold it off many years ago as I listen to my system practically everyday so it would be very costly to maintain 300B valves especially when I am not using any voltage regulator at home. The amp, no doubt excellent sounding in the midrange, is a lil' slow to me who is very much after the PRaT sound. Presently, I'm only using a integrated solid state amp and if that does not deter you to have tt at my house, I welcome you with opened arms.

I only realised her voice sounded so rich and powerful recently. And she looks awesome too.

bsl555 and jazzy939 are sifus with proper technical background. I am nowhere close and only approach music playback on follow my heart basis.
oh with 300b, must sounded nice....!!! since you have quite a experiance with 300b, you must compare the t-amp to it tongue.gif

yea why not, it seems like your hose is a good candidate for our little gathering tongue.gif
a person who can built a amp1 kit wor...no technical?

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 25 2008, 12:16 PM)
Y.C.,
Just curious. What integrated amp are you using now? You reckon the T-Amp gonna beat the daylights out of that amp, eh?

Anyway, following your recommendation, I did have another listen to Jane Monheit.. she's definitely will be in my collection, however I also found another vocalist; Renee Olstead! Jane is a bit laid back and mellower, Renee is more 'energetic'
I guess it's a matter of preferences.. Ithink I like Renee more... wink.gif

Minor update:

After more than 35 hours of burn in, I thought I have heard the last of any improvements but I was wrong... tongue.gif
It was late last night and I wasn't even infront of the 'HiFi' which is in my main hall. I was in my dining room when I heard something 'different'.. I knew this song very very well.. I paused, listened and went back to the hall trying to pick up what I heard...

It was very subtle, but the mid-bass now has a fuller body and weight.. a test with another album verified this new improvement..  thumbup.gif
I am also running the T-Amp at a slightly higher voltage of 12.6VDC than my usual 12.0VDC... biggrin.gif

There you go! I bet you're be counting by the hours now...  laugh.gif

NB: bsl555 is our sifu esp. in TT.. me nothing ler.. just an audio/electronic nut tongue.gif
eh any1 can help newbie is sifu here biggrin.gif
damn your ears are good biggrin.gif btw do you hear any difference after then t-amp warm up for awhile when it is turn on?

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 25 2008, 01:39 PM)
jazzy,

I hope not, else I would be in big problem. I only wanted the T-amp to sound as good or slightly better than the entry-level NAD C315BEE at RM990. Anything more is a bonus to me.

Good to hear of improvement to sonics of T-amps even after 35 hours of running-in.
hahah what amp you have now? sharelah thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 25 2008, 01:45 PM)
Walau, really envy u guys all got "sensitive" ears!
My ears can't tell slightly improvement of SQ, like after burn in 30 hrs etc....

Anyways, I do impress by the SQ of this little amp!
What I can say now is I listen to music more then ever tongue.gif

update: I solder the input with RCA connectors and now hook up to my AudioSource pre-amp, the SQ just great like before.

No humming noise or hsss noise at all, even my ear touch the speakers  thumbup.gif

My setup:
Sony MD>Pre-amp>T-amp>FS Speakers
no improvementmeh? hahaha....damn my t-amp got problem izit....

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 25 2008, 02:19 PM)
Thank god we are blessed with such an ear.. any more than that we're in trouble laugh.gif

ongbs, me be you need to 'burn in' your ears too.. or it has been (over) burnt? tongue.gif Can't help it, just a joke ler.. biggrin.gif

As I found out, a three inches of unshielded cable lenth is also responsible for introducing some humming noice in my system, but thank god not intrusive enough to affect the musical enjoyment. Will be improved when the whole kit is in a proper casing... wink.gif

Whoa! MD as a source! Real rare like the dinosaur! 

Heyy, any chance of seeing the pix of your set up?
yea im glad my father bring me into this wonderfull world of hifi! started to love tube when im in form 5

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 25 2008, 02:30 PM)
hehe...later with T-amp located inside a casing

My ears over-burn many years back by those so call "Walkman" sad.gif
my 1st walkman was rm400!! wahlau eh....and tht was my whole holiday salary when im at form 2, daring move, even when i think about now.... well no comitmentmah tht time tongue.gif

its a sony :Dpretty famous with the slim series tht time

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 25 2008, 09:14 PM
TSxtorm
post Aug 25 2008, 09:16 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

hmm im in stuck in the middle now

cat5e = lively, something like a concert, wide open but noisy and details are not to be heard easily

QED = dull, but instrument sounded real compare to cat5e, details are good, positioning are good too, abit narrow sounding tho. somehow more mp3 (ok ok, im hoping the flac, ape player i order is good) sounded bad
TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 02:33 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

wah ongbs nice housing...get me 1 when come down next time tongue.gif

btw this sat is no good, i got work to do, mayb u guys go ahead.

no news yet from my gf side abt getting the package, hopefully got good news later this evening, else tomolo then biggrin.gif

Added on August 26, 2008, 2:35 pmijan, wana get 1? tongue.gif

ta2024 is a stereo board, within rm100 u can get a very good sounding stereo POWER amp tongue.gif

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 26 2008, 02:35 PM
TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 02:56 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 26 2008, 02:36 PM)
Alamak. T-Amp gathering without xtorm? Do we want to proceed guys?
Y.C., your view is greatly appreciated. And others too...
why not, go ahead man, im just like u guys, doing it for fun, hobby, not a leader or wat tongue.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 26 2008, 02:49 PM)
for those installing T-amp into casing, please pay note to this type of speaker terminals (refer to pic),
they are not suitable for metal casing coz it didn't c/w insulation washer like those RCA input connectors.
All the outputs of T-amp will short to casing (ground) when we tighten it !!!  sweat.gif
yep please take note for those who is doing it 1st time, also the rca female (input)

are QED 25th Silver Anniversary nice? silver plated...hmmmm, must be pretty good sounding, im using those electrical 240v blue white wire for my mids...hahahaha

Added on August 26, 2008, 2:57 pm
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 26 2008, 02:51 PM)
ongbs,
fair enough! biggrin.gif So, what is the rating of your SMPS?
I tried mine rated at 2.5A, which is quite sufficient. I however have this plan to use the PC's SMPS which is rated at 16A!  brows.gif
Don't have the time to try that out.. once the T-Amp is singing, its kinda hard to switch it off to tryout new things...  whistling.gif
nod.gif hahaha

no body try out 13.8v yet?

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 26 2008, 02:57 PM
TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 03:26 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 26 2008, 03:05 PM)
The more the merrier mahhh tongue.gif

I have tried silver/silver plated cables.. generally they sounded 'bright' but NOT metallic.. good to use to tune your bass heavy system.. some people like it because of the enhanced 'details'... biggrin.gif Then again, this is all system dependant.. not to mention your ears and listening preferences.. tongue.gif

Too much 'details' make me fatigue easily...

I thought it's 13.2VDC?
13.8 smile.gif go try it...hahaha
hmm silver plated, the QED is quite famous, i like wide open sound biggrin.gif btw just diy my coaxial interconnect, man they sound too much better then my red white rca cable...haha, those coaxial are free biggrin.gif, my rockford rm200 rca cable are no match for them

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 26 2008, 03:06 PM)
What? Today still no news of arrival of second shipment of T-amps?  mad.gif

Just pulling your legs, not to worry as we'll wait patiently.  tongue.gif

The President of TAFC not attending our first gathering? Mana boleh?

Since many of us have yet to receive our T-amps by now let alone hear it sing nor perform any mods, what say all if we postphone the TAFC get-together till after Hari Raya as it is important for Jazzy to be around will the listening session be meaningful.

xtorm, I don't think the T-amp could drive my SF Concerto Home loudspeakers.
haiya bro, i wish to collect money also mah vmad.gif
biggrin.gif rclxm9.gif

bcos of olympic lah, everything are slow there....

Added on August 26, 2008, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 26 2008, 03:12 PM)
mad.gif <-- saying, "where's my T-Amp" over and over and over again! Hahahaha laugh.gif

I am also waiting patiently for my second sets.. wink.gif

Yar lorrr.. no President, no gath!  laugh.gif

I agree to that! We'll postponed this until suitable time as this will give our members time to receive their T-Amps, modify/experiment to their heart content! Properly burn in before settling down with the FINAL version of their T-Amp! biggrin.gif

Eh? I need to be around also?  hmm.gif
ofcos you need to be...hahaha

ongbs too if he is free

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 26 2008, 03:29 PM
TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 03:32 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

hahhaa....i would say, price vs value, still t-amp...hahaha

man jazzy your t-amp are clocking so fast
TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 04:09 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

the diagram is at my 1st post

the yellow cap comes with the amp.

haha jazzy, i hope too then we have more sifu here...kakaka

rm55 cant misslah, hmm ongbs is poisoning me with money tht day we yamchar...hahahha, he say im selling too cheap tongue.gif

but like i say for the fun of all! lets enjoy music and boycut evil marketing...kakakka

btw sifu pcwork coming soon....till now only wana pickup his board rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 26 2008, 04:11 PM
TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 04:47 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

mundorf cap, i think octave have them, i found them while seaching tro my father's stuff, good stuff biggrin.gif they are 250v i think...

eh only now i notice got so many downloads edi...considering the user herelah...hahaha

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 26 2008, 04:53 PM
TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 05:53 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

haha been runing 2.2uf for mids since the begining, 1uf for high

yea, but th eboard is good till 16v, im using it in my car, some times showing 14v smile.gif

no worries
TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 08:59 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

go go go tongue.gif

i hit sweet spot!! i reach home at 7:15 but reach my room only now....hahahha

singer are singing above my meter, very stable, like they are there, i wish its in the middle but i dont think it cant be done without time aligment

background and soundstage good, instrument seperated nicely, well atleast for car smile.gif

those tht i though dull after the mod, now are making me wet...hahaha
inside the car, its all about tuning

TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 09:18 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

hahah new "level" tht nice tongue.gif

but need my friend to confirm, mayb sendiri tune sendiri shiok nialer...kakakkaa

TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 10:42 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

for this t-amp, anything you put in can easily out price it biggrin.gif

those input cap are really important, you will appreciate it smile.gif

well mayb you can get a cheap non polarise unit 1st, actually 2.2uf is the standard desing, u might wana consider 3.3 too if you like thick vocal

Added on August 26, 2008, 10:45 pmwow bill medley is nice!! love tht thick vocal! listening to damn near righteous biggrin.gif
http://www.billmedley.com/

Added on August 26, 2008, 10:50 pm2.2uf Polypropylene
http://my.farnell.com/jsp/search/browse.js...equestid=281605

2.2uf polyester, wima looks hot....hahaha
http://my.farnell.com/jsp/search/browse.js...equestid=281638

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 26 2008, 10:50 PM

19 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0579sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:48 AM