DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

jazzy939
post Aug 24 2008, 09:42 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Oops! Its a center tap.. silly me! tongue.gif
Yes, can increase current when connected in parallel.
Thanks for the correction bsl! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Aug 24 2008, 09:37 PM)
That tranny secondary side is single winding with center tap. Its not dual output. Dual output will have TWO secondary windings, which one end of each winding can be tied for center tap and proceed with full wave rectification. Two windings with same voltage can be connected in parallel to increase the current output, and a center tap will not exist in this case.
jazzy939
post Aug 24 2008, 09:54 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

NO.. only two. But you can 'parallel' the other connection to increase the current. This is what bsl meant.
I think this is confusing you ler... hahaha laugh.gif

There are only two AC connections to the bridge rectifier. The balance two is the full wave DC output voltage.

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 24 2008, 09:46 PM)
hi bsl555 is this mean I need to connect all three pin to the bridge retifier?
jazzy939
post Aug 24 2008, 10:04 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Ipoh huh? Hmmm don't see them here in Jalan Pasar.. tongue.gif

Heyy.. its just the way they name the kit/board. Its AC/DC SUPPLY.
And its a 'low' voltage/current supply.. you can see that from the 'small' 1000uF capacitor...

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 24 2008, 09:57 PM)
Oh, I get it jazzy939. For the casing I get it in Ipoh.

Added on August 24, 2008, 10:00 pmHi jazzy939 the picture of the bridge retifier(post 383). show AC/DC Sub??? not very clear. Can you complete it for me.
jazzy939
post Aug 24 2008, 10:15 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Normally, the bigger the smoothening capacitor, the better! biggrin.gif

But it'll get more expensive lah! tongue.gif

I think that board costs me RM10.. but it's a 9V regulator, k. NOT 12 V.

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 24 2008, 10:06 PM)
Hi jazzy939, you mean bigger uF capacitor will be better?

Added on August 24, 2008, 10:07 pmOh AC/DC supply. How much it cost you?
jazzy939
post Aug 24 2008, 10:32 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Ipoh should have ler! tongue.gif Otherwise I can get it and post to you...
Make sure the board/kit can take your 3A transformer k. I think your good looking casing can accommodate both the T-Amp and PSU.. err maybe not. Transformer too big! Then need separate casing for that too! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 24 2008, 10:18 PM)
Ok, I find the 12V board. Don't know whether here got or not.
jazzy939
post Aug 24 2008, 10:57 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
Thanks for the confidence but I am only doing this for fun! Just like all of you here! laugh.gif

I was away down south, taking the family for a holiday, just one day and night away, hence my absence. wink.gif

Any more 'mods' on your side?

jazzy939
post Aug 24 2008, 10:59 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Heyy thats look pretty neat! thumbup.gif
I can tell you, the T-Amp board is small! should fit that case nicely!!
I want that casing too! hahahaha

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 24 2008, 10:49 PM)
I hope the t-amp not too large so I can put all the thing inside. more screen shot biggrin.gif
jazzy939
post Aug 24 2008, 11:08 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Thats very kind of you! Thanks. Will inform you... wink.gif
Anyway to make you feel better, the 12V transformer that I got, is only 500mA/5VA capacity, hence the cheaper price! biggrin.gif
Just checked just now. This is solely to power my DIY pre-amp kit.. a lower current/power requirement...

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 24 2008, 11:03 PM)
Ha ha if you want I can get it for you. and sent it to you.

jazzy939
post Aug 24 2008, 11:15 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
I'd say every husband/father is one, one way or the other! biggrin.gif We try to be the best, in our own way.
The wife, kids need a break from the routine. Me too. Spending time away together among other things, improve the bond... wink.gif This what build a good family, and later my children's family... Leadership by example eh? tongue.gif

A complete step attenuator from Hong Kong? Expensive? tongue.gif
Not to discouraged you, I read somewhere, can't recollect where, is that stepped attenuator is kinda 'dry' in sonics.. I guess it is MORE expensive that the T-Amp, right? biggrin.gif

Counting the days when the T-Amp is arriving ya... whistling.gif

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 24 2008, 11:06 PM)
jazzy,

A very responsible husband and father indeed of you to bring your family out for outing although it may be a short one.

Me? None other than having drilled 2 more holes on the rosewood casing. Now, awaiting to receive my T-amp board and a 50k ohm step attenuator from Hong Kong.

Any further improvement to the sound of your T-amp?
jazzy939
post Aug 24 2008, 11:26 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Yours I saw is a Teletron OT-1203... Dunno what it means... hopefully the number 3 is for 3 Amperes! biggrin.gif
EKK, Teletron are quite a familiar name. Teletron make a lot of PSUs, inverters and the like...
You get back to me if you cannot find a suitable 12V regulator kit, k.

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 24 2008, 11:17 PM)
Oh, EKK brand. Saw this in brand in one of the shop. My transformer didn't state 500mA. The box only state 12V-0-12V 3A. Hope I can get all the things done. and sitting there to enjoy the music.
jazzy939
post Aug 24 2008, 11:33 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Not a problem. For you and any other T-Amp fans here! laugh.gif

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 24 2008, 11:32 PM)
Yup, if I cannot find hope you can help me to find it for me. Thanks.
jazzy939
post Aug 24 2008, 11:49 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

mysghooi,
This a link to FUTURE KITS. Some of my kits are made by them and they have a website!

Variable Regulator

This is a similar one that I used for my Bench PSU.

The board is big, therefore you need a separate casing for it, like what I did.
But in my case, its for general purpose power supply function.

I'd say this is high quality. It's your call. biggrin.gif

I can look for a dedicated 12V regulator KIT or DIY option tongue.gif

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 24 2008, 11:32 PM)
Yup, if I cannot find hope you can help me to find it for me. Thanks.
jazzy939
post Aug 24 2008, 11:54 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
I read a lot about the Alps blue.. mostly good. However I have never used them in any of my applications! tongue.gif
Yes, I did read about the carbon pots too...
Liquid midrange eh..? Hmmm hmm.gif
Guess I'll wait for your reports/findings.. I am in no rush.. having a commercial pre-amp is a blessing!, Not to mention a DIY pre-amp too! wink.gif

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 24 2008, 11:39 PM)
jazzy,
As the Alps blue carbon would cost me RM70, I decided to pay slightly more and opt for step attenuator at RM110 instead. It is more expensive than the T-amp in stock form but I may also replace the capacitors and resistors later. I also read about other diy forumers preferring carbon pots of lesser value of 10k ohm / 20k ohm than discrete pots and was hoping I would be able to tweak the sound around to my taste.

Years ago, I built the Audio Note kit 1 amp. I just could not forget the liquid midrange sound of it using a discrete pot which was later lost when I have to replace it with Alps carbon.
jazzy939
post Aug 25 2008, 12:05 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Whats stopping you? tongue.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 25 2008, 12:03 AM)
i do have AudioSource pre one pre-amp (previously pair with my Ampzilla), haven test it with t-amp yet.
jazzy939
post Aug 25 2008, 12:15 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Ahhh.. That is always a problem eh? tongue.gif Me too sometimes! hahahaha.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 25 2008, 12:08 AM)
"jazzy"....oops...LAZY to solder the input cable...biggrin.gif
jazzy939
post Aug 25 2008, 12:22 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
I normally would try to answer most if not ALL questions directed to me... tongue.gif
I think that would be normal, right? Part of net ettiquette?
BTW, I hope I DID addressed all your queries? If I don't, please, do remind me.. biggrin.gif

Yes, I have heard about Ms. Monheit voice. In fact I have heard one or two numbers..
Thanks for the recommendation! I would certainly give this album a closer look, a listen rather.. hehe.
Time to hit the sack for me too.. It had been a long day to me too.. long drive from the south.. wink.gif

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 25 2008, 12:13 AM)
jazzy,

You're supposed to be the moderator but as I observe, all questions and comments including those from me are all directed at you and you need to answer them one by one. Hmmm a thankless job indeed. Before I go offline, let me recommend you a great jazz album which I just discovered last weekend - Jane Monheit's Taking A Chance on Love album, her 4th released in 2004, with a duet number of I Won't Dance with Michael Bubble plus a bonus track of Over the Rainbow. Her style is really jazz, very refreshing and she has a powerful voice of a soprano singer. And through my system now with a solid state integrated amp, I'd say her voice sounded so liquid and enchanting! Check it out.

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 25 2008, 12:24 AM
jazzy939
post Aug 25 2008, 01:57 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

xtrom,
whoa you came in and post to all issues.. tongue.gif
'cutting cost' eh wink.gif

jazzy939
post Aug 25 2008, 07:43 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

yes! yes! DETAILS please! nod.gif
jazzy939
post Aug 25 2008, 12:16 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
Just curious. What integrated amp are you using now? You reckon the T-Amp gonna beat the daylights out of that amp, eh? tongue.gif

Anyway, following your recommendation, I did have another listen to Jane Monheit.. she's definitely will be in my collection, however I also found another vocalist; Renee Olstead! Jane is a bit laid back and mellower, Renee is more 'energetic' wink.gif
I guess it's a matter of preferences.. Ithink I like Renee more... wink.gif

Minor update:

After more than 35 hours of burn in, I thought I have heard the last of any improvements but I was wrong... tongue.gif
It was late last night and I wasn't even infront of the 'HiFi' which is in my main hall. I was in my dining room when I heard something 'different'.. I knew this song very very well.. I paused, listened and went back to the hall trying to pick up what I heard...

It was very subtle, but the mid-bass now has a fuller body and weight.. a test with another album verified this new improvement.. thumbup.gif
I am also running the T-Amp at a slightly higher voltage of 12.6VDC than my usual 12.0VDC... biggrin.gif

There you go! I bet you're be counting by the hours now... laugh.gif

NB: bsl555 is our sifu esp. in TT.. me nothing ler.. just an audio/electronic nut tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 25 2008, 12:20 PM
jazzy939
post Aug 25 2008, 02:19 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Thank god we are blessed with such an ear.. any more than that we're in trouble laugh.gif

ongbs, me be you need to 'burn in' your ears too.. or it has been (over) burnt? tongue.gif Can't help it, just a joke ler.. biggrin.gif

As I found out, a three inches of unshielded cable lenth is also responsible for introducing some humming noice in my system, but thank god not intrusive enough to affect the musical enjoyment. Will be improved when the whole kit is in a proper casing... wink.gif

Whoa! MD as a source! Real rare like the dinosaur! laugh.gif

Heyy, any chance of seeing the pix of your set up? tongue.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 25 2008, 01:45 PM)
Walau, really envy u guys all got "sensitive" ears!
My ears can't tell slightly improvement of SQ, like after burn in 30 hrs etc....

Anyways, I do impress by the SQ of this little amp!
What I can say now is I listen to music more then ever tongue.gif

update: I solder the input with RCA connectors and now hook up to my AudioSource pre-amp, the SQ just great like before.

No humming noise or hsss noise at all, even my ear touch the speakers  thumbup.gif

My setup:
Sony MD>Pre-amp>T-amp>FS Speakers
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 25 2008, 02:22 PM

47 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0556sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:34 PM