DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

TSxtorm
post Sep 10 2008, 01:57 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

i think u mean the crazy uncle ong tongue.gif wahahahaha

3 x 8" biggrin.gif

u mean this weekend, got work to do...and my ass is still being chase after by my friend for t-amp build...

hmm will it really burn the opamp in my electronic crossover?

Added on September 10, 2008, 1:58 amanyway, im out....K.O. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by xtorm: Sep 10 2008, 01:58 AM
Y.C.
post Sep 10 2008, 01:59 AM

Casual listener
906 posts

QUOTE(ongbs @ Sep 10 2008, 01:45 AM)
"Hunting" chance to blast my little amp kaw-kaw....wife and toy keep on complaining too loud, how to burn further huh? :'(
I am downstair and they are in inside the bed room, still want to complaint?  doh.gif  Pity me sad.gif
Hahaha, burning the T-amp actually no need to blast it kaw kaw one, normal volume will suffice, unless you youself like to listen to music real loud. tongue.gif I think it's pretty normal for our wives to prefer more peaceful and quieter environment. smile.gif
ongbs
post Sep 10 2008, 02:00 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 10 2008, 01:57 AM)
And I am one of the 'old' night owl too! tongue.gif

At night the T-Amp can be really loud! In the day, the volume setting on my pre-amp would be between 9-10 o'clock position. At night, 8 o'clock is kinda loud! best part is even at 'low' volume at night, you don't lose the resolutions.. the whole spectrum of sound is still there n fact there is 'more'...

My T-Amp is also downstairs.. the consolation is, so far no complaints yet!  whistling.gif
hmm..then really a pity me sad.gif

Myself got more time to "burn" than the T-apm doh.gif

haven't blast it >48 hours liau sad.gif
jazzy939
post Sep 10 2008, 02:06 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

bro ong, you have my sympathy.. tongue.gif
please don't burnt youself out like xtorm did... wink.gif
surely hope you'll find more time for blasting.. my T-Amp is idling cold at home.. what a pity. But will catch up as soon as I am home.. yeay! rclxm9.gif
ekool
post Sep 10 2008, 03:38 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Sep 5 2008, 01:23 PM)
Probably this is already stale news but here’s my own experience with the T-amp kit:

I helped my colleague (one of the guys I managed to poison) to solder an el-cheapo RM3.00 volume potentiometer to the T-amp using JP’s 40sen per metre multistrands wire and plugged it into and bypassing the built-in amp of a JVC UX-5000 midi compo in my office.

When the sound comes about after ridding off some initial hums, viola, it sang so well. I had never heard my JVC midi to sound so complete before – the clarity, details, tone of instruments, macro dynamics, decay, the emotion factor, PRaT and not forgetting the bass I am now hearing through the 3” paper-cone speakers are awesome. I was also able to notice the recording of a particular CD was made from aged master tape, yes, the T-amp is that transparent! And all these from a RM55 kit amp? Hard to believe but it’s definitely true. So much so, when we finally took out the T-amp from the JVC midi, it was rendered not listenable anymore – blur by comparison.

The day proceeded with both guys I poisoned calling /sms-ing me at my mobile even at wee hours of the night. Boy, both are badly poisoned and excited by the unbelievable sound they are getting from their T-amps.

A finding by my friend (the other guy poisoned by me) – he has been following comments made by forumers of this thread and he experimented with some input caps himself before finally settled for my extra pieces of made-in-Portugal Vishay 2.2uF 63V polypropylene caps. He noticed that the slight pop sound to loudspeakers after changing input caps are still there even with these caps and thought perhaps the offending small caps which came standard with the T-amp kit are more to discharge off the extra charge stored in the caps and so to take care of pop sound rather than to enhance the sound quality. He felt with Vishay 2.2uF, the highs are more apparent, sweeter-sounding and more ‘flesh’ to vocals. Hmmm, ……

As for my own T-amp, I shall be fixing a 24-steps 50K ohm discreet attenuator to it and commence work after office today after having double-confirmed the input/output soldering points to it. And at rate things are progressing, I reckon I will spend my entire weekend with my T-amp.  tongue.gif
TSxtorm
post Sep 10 2008, 09:25 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Sep 10 2008, 01:59 AM)
yea but he like loud music, pity him tongue.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Sep 10 2008, 02:00 AM)

haven't blast it >48 hours liau  sad.gif
aiya bro it consume so little electricity, just let it run with your ipodlor...both consume very little electricity biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 10 2008, 02:06 AM)

you are home!!! ahhaa its more like you nvr been away thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ekool @ Sep 10 2008, 03:38 AM)
hey there, K.C. friend?

Added on September 10, 2008, 9:27 ambtw great new in the morning!!

goods for 3rd batch arrived!!! biggrin.gif ongbs, balance amping?

This post has been edited by xtorm: Sep 10 2008, 09:27 AM
jazzy939
post Sep 10 2008, 10:18 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

xtorm,
great news in the morning! thumbup.gif how many orders this time? is this the batch with an improved input caps or something? hmm.gif

yar lor.. i don't even feel guilty NOT switching the T-AMp off. It is even easier on me as there wasn't even a light to tell me that it is ON! tongue.gif I gotta do something about that! laugh.gif

Heyy.. of course I am NOT really away from this thread.. just that I am away from home and my T-Amp.. tongue.gif

Anyway I should be home soon... very very soon! rclxm9.gif

BTW, who is this ekool? first posting with 100% quotes... finger trouble I hope not.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Sep 10 2008, 09:25 AM)
aiya bro it consume so little electricity, just let it run with your ipodlor...both consume very little electricity biggrin.gif
hey there, K.C. friend?

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Sep 10 2008, 10:20 AM
TSxtorm
post Sep 10 2008, 10:25 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

haha i was trying to find hether he write something in the quote, but seems none tongue.gif

3rd batch 15 pieces, initially 11 when i place order, so i booked extra just in case, but at the end all sapu biggrin.gif

how was the trip at work?
Y.C.
post Sep 10 2008, 10:42 AM

Casual listener
906 posts

Good morning, all.

Xtorm, have all of your batch 3 stocks been snapped up, could spare me just one pc?

Yup, this ekool chap didnot even comment anything; wonder why he quoted me?

tongue.gif
jazzy939
post Sep 10 2008, 10:44 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Trip is excellent! thumbup.gif Can't wait to be back though! wink.gif

whoa.. 15! And all snapped up? Must be really poisonous this thread! With the low price you gave and excellent reviews, it is hard to say no/resist! biggrin.gif In fact it's like 'sin' to say no... hahaha laugh.gif

Any chance of a 4th. batch? What about the opamps that you mentioned earlier? What are your plans? tongue.gif
TSxtorm
post Sep 10 2008, 10:45 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

hmm all being booked, mayb 4th batch? there is 1 interested, included yours will be 2, then i need 5 to start, well yeah i can take those 3 up 1st actually, some of my friend kinda interested

ekool guy isnt your friend? just registered too

Added on September 10, 2008, 10:49 am
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 10 2008, 10:44 AM)
Trip is excellent! thumbup.gif Can't wait to be back though! wink.gif

whoa.. 15! And all snapped up? Must be really poisonous this thread! With the low price you gave and excellent reviews, it is hard to say no/resist! biggrin.gif In fact it's like 'sin' to say no... hahaha laugh.gif

Any chance of a 4th. batch? What about the opamps that you mentioned earlier? What are your plans? tongue.gif
haha thanks to you guys for being so supportive!

yea i will try without input cap this weekend biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by xtorm: Sep 10 2008, 10:49 AM
Y.C.
post Sep 10 2008, 10:53 AM

Casual listener
906 posts

If all fully booked, it's okay-lah, batch 4 may be a bit long to wait, let's see how it goes, will let know in due course.

Yet to check, merely concuring with fact that he didn't comment on anything nor expresses any thoughts.

Jazzy, you in S'pore or any neighbouring countries? Do pick up more softwares as they're cheaper there.

jazzy939
post Sep 10 2008, 11:10 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
Nahh am not in SIN city.. hehe but merely 2 1/2 hours by flight to the east. 1 hour time difference wink.gif I think you have a fair idea where biggrin.gif
Yes, did get some last nite.. 'cheaper' yes biggrin.gif Wish I brought more 'dough' tongue.gif

If you're commenting about ekool.. maybe he's a TAFC wannabe ? Finger trouble since he's a 'newbie' with a single posting.. hmm.gif
ongbs
post Sep 10 2008, 11:13 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Sep 10 2008, 09:25 AM)
hey there, K.C. friend?

Not really loud lah...maybe my ears "kong" or they have ultra sensitive ears brows.gif
My T-amp is On all the time bro, but "without" singing lah tongue.gif
Standby mode only 65mA, you can't even "feel" it printed on the E.bill laugh.gif

Added on September 10, 2008, 11:14 am
QUOTE(Y.C. @ Sep 10 2008, 10:42 AM)
Good morning, all.

Xtorm, have all of your batch 3 stocks been snapped up, could spare me just one pc?

Yup, this ekool chap didnot even comment anything; wonder why he quoted me?

tongue.gif
I kept on "refleshing" 3 times early morning, try to figure out what he want to "write" hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Sep 10 2008, 11:14 AM
TSxtorm
post Sep 10 2008, 11:15 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

haha u goto let it sing to burn in lah...
ongbs
post Sep 10 2008, 11:18 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Sep 10 2008, 11:15 AM)
haha u goto let it sing to burn in lah...
Whenever I back the volume is at "MIN" position, how to burn? cry.gif

Added on September 10, 2008, 11:19 am
QUOTE(xtorm @ Sep 10 2008, 10:45 AM)

Added on September 10, 2008, 10:49 am
haha thanks to you guys for being so supportive!

icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif (another times, I can't add any extra words doh.gif )

Added on September 10, 2008, 11:23 am
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 10 2008, 11:10 AM)
Y.C.,
Nahh am not in SIN city.. hehe but merely 2 1/2 hours by flight to the east. 1 hour time difference wink.gif I think you have a fair idea where biggrin.gif

hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif (3rd times? doh.gif )

This post has been edited by ongbs: Sep 10 2008, 11:23 AM
jazzy939
post Sep 10 2008, 11:26 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

xtorm,
I gotta wait for this! Good luck! tongue.gif

ongbs, 65mA is like nothing eh? What about the power consumption of the SMPS?

Question: In the stock form, a polarised 1uF is connected in parallel with a NP 1uF(the yellow coloured one) right?
Why a polarised cap is used? hmm.gif I'd say this has got something to do with the DC biased input design of the T-Amp, no? Refer to evaluation board schematic. It's there at the input.

I hope ekool will be back.. I'm a curious why quoting the whole post without any comments.. lost for words? laugh.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Sep 10 2008, 10:45 AM)
QUOTE(ongbs @ Sep 10 2008, 11:13 AM)
Not really loud lah...maybe my ears "kong" or they have ultra sensitive ears  brows.gif
My T-amp is On all the time bro, but "without" singing lah tongue.gif
Standby mode only 65mA, you can't even "feel" it  printed on the E.bill  laugh.gif

Added on September 10, 2008, 11:14 am

I kept on "refleshing" 3 times early morning, try to figure out what he want to "write"  hmm.gif
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Sep 10 2008, 11:28 AM
ongbs
post Sep 10 2008, 11:32 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 10 2008, 11:26 AM)
ongbs, 65mA is like nothing eh? What about the power consumption of the SMPS?

Question: In the stock form, a polarised 1uF is connected in parallel with a NP 1uF(the yellow coloured one) right?
Why a polarised cap is used?  hmm.gif I'd this has got something to do with the DC biased input design of the T-Amp, no?

I hope ekool will be back.. I'm a curious why quoting the whole post without any comments.. lost for words?  laugh.gif
Aiya...can't be quite this time tongue.gif doh.gif
bro, I totally "ter-ignored" that SPMS liau....hmm...should be around 5W I think hmm.gif

But most of the T-amps designs didn't have this DC caps right...?
Maybe they thought different types of cap materials made different characteristic when "transfer" signal brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
Like my 2nd patient huh? whistling.gif

this is call The Lost World (minus "L") doh.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Sep 10 2008, 11:38 AM
jazzy939
post Sep 10 2008, 11:42 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

hahaha.. no worries! 5W? Really?
Hmmm my lenovo laptop PSU here (output 20V 3.25A) is stamped 65W.. biggrin.gif
Still I would consider 'negligible' eh? tongue.gif

Most maybe.. It is just the design on this TA2024 that is different I think.. hmm.gif

The Lost World(minus the "L").. I like it! laugh.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Sep 10 2008, 11:32 AM)
Aiya...can't be quite this time tongue.gif doh.gif
bro, I totally "ter-ignored" that SPMS liau....hmm...should be around 5W I think  hmm.gif

But most of the T-amps designs didn't have this DC caps right...?

this is call The Lost World (minus "L")  doh.gif  tongue.gif
ongbs
post Sep 10 2008, 11:45 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 10 2008, 11:42 AM)
hahaha.. no worries! 5W? Really?
Hmmm my lenovo laptop PSU here (output 20V 3.25A) is stamped 65W.. biggrin.gif
Still I would consider 'negligible' eh? tongue.gif

Most maybe.. It is just the design on this TA2024 that is different I think..  hmm.gif

The Lost World(minus the "L").. I like it!  laugh.gif
65W is the max output power, in standby mode without charging the lappy batteries, I believe it will only consume around 5W too nod.gif

134 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:32 AM