DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

ekool
post Sep 10 2008, 03:38 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Sep 5 2008, 01:23 PM)
Probably this is already stale news but here’s my own experience with the T-amp kit:

I helped my colleague (one of the guys I managed to poison) to solder an el-cheapo RM3.00 volume potentiometer to the T-amp using JP’s 40sen per metre multistrands wire and plugged it into and bypassing the built-in amp of a JVC UX-5000 midi compo in my office.

When the sound comes about after ridding off some initial hums, viola, it sang so well. I had never heard my JVC midi to sound so complete before – the clarity, details, tone of instruments, macro dynamics, decay, the emotion factor, PRaT and not forgetting the bass I am now hearing through the 3” paper-cone speakers are awesome. I was also able to notice the recording of a particular CD was made from aged master tape, yes, the T-amp is that transparent! And all these from a RM55 kit amp? Hard to believe but it’s definitely true. So much so, when we finally took out the T-amp from the JVC midi, it was rendered not listenable anymore – blur by comparison.

The day proceeded with both guys I poisoned calling /sms-ing me at my mobile even at wee hours of the night. Boy, both are badly poisoned and excited by the unbelievable sound they are getting from their T-amps.

A finding by my friend (the other guy poisoned by me) – he has been following comments made by forumers of this thread and he experimented with some input caps himself before finally settled for my extra pieces of made-in-Portugal Vishay 2.2uF 63V polypropylene caps. He noticed that the slight pop sound to loudspeakers after changing input caps are still there even with these caps and thought perhaps the offending small caps which came standard with the T-amp kit are more to discharge off the extra charge stored in the caps and so to take care of pop sound rather than to enhance the sound quality. He felt with Vishay 2.2uF, the highs are more apparent, sweeter-sounding and more ‘flesh’ to vocals. Hmmm, ……

As for my own T-amp, I shall be fixing a 24-steps 50K ohm discreet attenuator to it and commence work after office today after having double-confirmed the input/output soldering points to it. And at rate things are progressing, I reckon I will spend my entire weekend with my T-amp.  tongue.gif
ekool
post Sep 12 2008, 01:20 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Sep 10 2008, 10:42 AM)
Good morning, all.

Yup, this ekool chap didnot even comment anything; wonder why he quoted me?

tongue.gif
Sorry guys. I was toying around as to what to post when something odd happened. Maybe some of you can highlight to me what happened. I wads typing some comments. Halfway I stopped and went to get a drink. When I returned my screen froze. Refreashed it and all those I hv typed just disappeared. Since it's late I've decided to switched and went to bed. Next morning my friend sms me and asked why I posted a blank message. Now this is something new to me. Anyone knows why? rclxub.gif

Anyway the message I am trying to post is as follows:

Y.C. you certainly served some sweet poison to your friends to make then join the t-amp game. If there are any more of those sweet poison please count me in, ya? tongue.gif
Looks like I'm a bit late and missed Y.C. new poison. - the Sansui CDP. cry.gif Any stocks left? As I can remember you can't go wrong with any hi fi equipments from Sansui. They are one of the best in those days. I am sure this cdp should not have much complain and I bet it can match any branded cdp in the market. icon_rolleyes.gif

Yes. Y.C. I do own a t-amp and at this moment I am listening to it. will postt my comments later.

Nice to know you guys and thanks for welcoming me.

This post has been edited by ekool: Sep 12 2008, 01:51 AM
ekool
post Sep 12 2008, 01:55 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Sep 12 2008, 01:51 AM)
hey there welcome smile.gif

hmm what kind of setting being done to the t-amp of yours?
I have only changed the input caps. Next will be the power caps and finally the inductors. Others may not touch b cos too small to play with and need more tools to get the job done.
This are my observation about the board.
As per original the overall sound is good. As good as some other branded entry levels amps. This t-amp cam match with most speakers incl el cheapos fr china. At full vol the sound does not even distort. The moment the input caps are changed it is a different story.
With 3.3uf caps I noticed only slight difference in sound quality. Using 6.8uf the bass stand out more but the mid and hi seems to be lost. Brightness gone. The vocals does not stands out. You can hear a big difference. Even more bass if use with 8uf caps but again sscrifice on the brightness and vocals. At full vol your speakers may even distort. Maybe need to add a 3-10uf back for the hi.
Finall I put in 2.2uf vishey caps and mannn what a beauty the sounds is. rclxm9.gif Both low and hi and vocals jump at you. Audio sounds soooo good that it can beat any brand amps in the market from entry to mids level. (RM6000.00) rclxms.gif It is like upgrading your wheels from 1.3 to 1.8cc. No distortion at full vol. I must add that after changing the in caps you must use branded speakers - bookshelf as least. If you want bass do not use the cheap entry level ones as these speakers are very bright. Use at least 100k or higher vr. The sound is much smoother. Anyone knows where to find one in KL? Other than that happy listening. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ekool: Sep 12 2008, 01:59 PM
ekool
post Sep 12 2008, 02:34 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Sep 12 2008, 02:05 PM)
wow great!! yea those input cap, is alot obvious compare to changing valve in valve amp, this small tiny amp is easy to play with and very affordable! biggrin.gif

btw what type of brand and model you compare so far...
I'm bad with model nos. Amps compared with nad 3225/325, yamaha, marantz, a friend even told that it is as good as the exposure or roksan.
ekool
post Sep 12 2008, 02:58 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 12 2008, 02:36 PM)
ekool
great start! thumbup.gif
Agreed, you need a decent speaker to realize the full potential of the T-Amp! tongue.gif

Anyway, happy tuning and listening! biggrin.gif

Will post the kind of music I use with the t-amp. smile.gif
ekool
post Sep 14 2008, 02:30 AM

42 posts

hi jazzy
great pixs and instructions. thks for sharing. thumbup.gif you're the mann.
ekool
post Sep 15 2008, 02:18 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 15 2008, 01:11 AM)
Heyyy..! tongue.gif Thats my tagline wakakaka.

Or just stop at TA2024 and life moves on...  icon_rolleyes.gif

I mean what else can beat the "best bang per buck" of the T-Amp?
Instead of the buffer amp why not move on to the gainclone. this way we can now have two different board to compare and play with. anuone game?
ekool
post Sep 15 2008, 12:44 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 15 2008, 10:31 AM)
ekool,
I did mentioned it earlier and I have actually bought all the necessary components to build one except the power supply part.
Using a torroid transformer would be most recommended to feed the GC, initially the price seems too prohibitive but its no longer as such..

Maybe a GC would be the next thing to jump in to.. wink.gif
jazzy,
great that you have the gainclone. but what about others incl me. anyone wants to start the ball rolling on the gainclone. i'm in.
ekool
post Sep 16 2008, 12:47 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 15 2008, 12:46 PM)
ekool,
the parts are all easily available even from Jalan Pasar.
May be till then we can start a GC thread separately.
If I were to start now.. I will be on my own. tongue.gif
Jazzy
Great! Any idea how much does the board and parts cost. I think for the passion and interest sake the cost should be below rm100 or the same price as the t-amp. Yes! We can certainly start another thread. If the price is not too high I'm with you, mannnn! rclxms.gif

xstorm
Does this means you're in too?

y.c.
your poison works again!! my sansui cdp arrived this afternoon. hv just listen to it and i shared your views. thumbup.gif all i can add is for the price there is no fault and it beats any cdp on the makt ranging fr rm1k to rm2.5k. i wanted to get the nad cdp after the kliav 08 srp at rm900 but luckily did not. this sansui cdp beats the nad both in price and sound. thanks mannnn!! rclxms.gif yam cha tongue.gif i also agreed with you, for less than rm1500 we can hv a very very good hifi system - t-amp (mod of course), sansui cdp and good branded speakers (q-acoustics or equivelent). if you check out cash converters they sometimes has cheap used branded spks. need i say more?? drool.gif

Added on September 16, 2008, 1:31 am
- It rendered almost ALL my local CD pressing 'useless/hopeless'
I couldn't bare listening to any of these CD.. can't even last a whole song! doh.gif
Lack of dynamics, terribly bright, compressed,poorly mixed and badly mastered. One after another I put into the tray.. 5 seconds later I had to press the EJECT button... The local music industry had robbed from us the 'music' that we're supposed to get and enjoy... vmad.gif

- How can our neighbour, produce a better sounding CDs at a fraction/cheaper price than our local CD? ohmy.gif
No more local CDs for me. They're good to be played on the minicompo. Period.

Hi Jazzy
If i remember correctly locals cds can be produced at less than rm3 including printing on the cd surface plus jewel case. Why the records co sells them at rm42+ is anybody guess. mad.gif Mastering is also done locally. How they do is probably from the original cd they got fr their hq. As far as i know their hq did not sent them the master copy. That is why locals cds sound like ???? vmad.gif Before universal used to import cds and selling them at rm42+ but now they are also produced locally. I too try not to support them but hv you seen the price of imported cds now? Around rm68+. Maybe we should start importing them in ourselves. I m sure we could get enough orders fr our fellows t-ampers. They ship by weight and with enough orders it may be cheaper. I hv a friend who buys vinyls fr overseas and frieght them back to m'sia. He said it is much cheaper than buying locally. Something to think about, eh?

This post has been edited by ekool: Sep 16 2008, 01:31 AM
ekool
post Sep 16 2008, 01:51 PM

42 posts

jazzy
yeah, i too kena that y.c. poison. real powerful stuff. but mann i have no complains. tongue.gif
thanks for the gc info and circuit diagram looks simple enough. thumbup.gif i saw on one site that the board only was selling for us9/us14. according to xtorm it looks like the gc is not as simple and cheap as the t amp. you agree? can you give me the shopping list?

y.c.
yeah sansui cdp is great. mine have no complain. everything is working fine. rclxms.gif too bad for your friend. but hey that's the risk we have to take at this price and model.

paired the sansui cdp to the t-amp and my old faithful jpw sonata and wow! drool.gif my speakers have never sounded soooo good rclxm9.gif

notable songs so far samba pa ti -santana. his guitar playing sound so musical now
take it easy-eagles. the backing acoustic guitar is more prominent
tequila sunrise-eagles. the overall feel base and acoustics is soo???. need to listen to feel mann.
the load out/stay- jackson brown. this guy rocks with this system
grover washingtom jr - winelight album. played a few times . just could not believe the smoothness of his music.

my system have not even burn in yet.
at this moment i am only playing commercial cds and not audiophiles series. if these musics turned out great, the others will definitely be fanstatics.

till then happy listening. back to my music and burn in. cool.gif

This post has been edited by ekool: Sep 16 2008, 03:00 PM
ekool
post Sep 17 2008, 12:01 AM

42 posts

[quote=jazzy939,Sep 16 2008, 08:12 PM]
ekool,
-shopping list can be based on the given circuit diagram mahh.. tongue.gif
as I mentioned earlier, no board is necessary as point-to-point wiring is possible/better! But if you still want a board for it, that can be done also wink.gif

thanks bro,
i was actually in a hurry today and just took a quick browse. i have not paid full attention to your diagram. doh.gif thanks.

good idea. i see you gc is almost complete. cant't wait for your comparasion. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by ekool: Sep 17 2008, 12:04 AM
ekool
post Sep 19 2008, 03:04 PM

42 posts

hi all
wow so much happening over the past few days. what happen! this is suppose to be play play and experiment yourself amp/project. looks like we are waiting for each other to try/start first and when it is safe we follows. hahaha. hey! where's the fun mannn?? icon_idea.gif
ekool
post Sep 20 2008, 12:33 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 19 2008, 04:05 PM)
heyy.. you're supposed to update us too!
where are your pictures? tongue.gif
hi jazzy,
sorry for the bit delay. too much work. pics below are what my final KISS amp. up till now have not change anything except the input caps. next maybe this weekend will change the power caps. tot of sharing my initial casing choice. 1st tot of using wood but found the internal space too cramp and the walls too thick. don't like the idea of having an external psu. next, the mini box looks cute and just nice. only one and half inch high and can accomodate my small psu. problem is when i change the power caps then it will be too low. finally i found an old metal casing lying in my store. looks perfect. nice height and lots of internal space including psu.

This post has been edited by ekool: Sep 20 2008, 01:02 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Attached image(s)
ekool
post Sep 20 2008, 01:01 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Sep 19 2008, 10:03 PM)
RM200 is shipping cost for all units, cos sea shipping they are not calculate based on weight, they are base on size. First 1m cube it's RM200 smile.gif So if 10 units, each unit shipping it's just RM20, if 5units then each unit is RM40 smile.gif
guys
the amp may sounds like a good buy. careful. is there any custom and excise taxes if brought in such quantities?

ekool
post Sep 20 2008, 01:06 AM

42 posts

ekool,
Hello friend, is forum not a place for us to share our thoughts, gather information, seek others' view and inform all what we have done?
These are what we've been doing all these while; we got excited over something which we read / came across and then solicit for others' opinion before we commence our actions mahh!
Or you meant we should just go ahead to remove the C23 and C24 capacitors and after realising their removal is not warranted in the first place, we regret our actions in silence? shakehead.gif

hey friend
yes the forum is a place for us to share and gather each other tots and info. sure get excited and drool over something new. i'm all for it. what i meant is that instead of waiting for someone to start experimenting and then posting we could start and experiment it ourselves and then share the results. isn't that what we've been doing. of course if something goes wrong or not warranted for we shouldn't regret. afterall this is our passion and play play. why should there be any regrets. for rm55 (t amp) would you regret if the amp is not up to your expectations? icon_idea.gif

jazzy
thanks for your concern.
ekool
post Sep 24 2008, 01:36 AM

42 posts

[quote=Y.C.,Sep 23 2008, 09:04 PM]
Hey, you guys are not helping me at all and if anything scaring the xxxx out of me. cry.gif

hey friend
if you have shaky hands, go find some used/spoilt boards to practice on like our bros said. or if you prefer you can try out on your t amp and see how it goes. if you burn the boards, well that's the price we pay for experience. please do not be like some of my friends. for them buying cig tht cost rm9 a pack is no problem but spending m3 for ele parts to experiment is too expensive. just can't understand them. doh.gif
ekool
post Sep 24 2008, 01:41 AM

42 posts

hi jazzy
great mod pics. i've downloaded and saved them for references. maybe you could also complied your earlier pics including the diagrams, this way i think you the whole t-amp story is more or less complete. you're the mann!!! rclxms.gif
ekool
post Sep 24 2008, 02:09 AM

42 posts

[quote=Y.C.,Sep 23 2008, 11:49 PM]

If the TA2020 chip is pretty much the same design as you mentioned and its size is more or less same, I will go figure how to do it although I may not succeed; see how it goes from here.

y.c.
if soldering of the ta 2020 is much easier for you, go for it. in fact based on the numerous review the ta2020 could be better than the t amp. it is a 20 watter. if you decided to start this 2020 poison, i'm with you brother. maybe this can be our next diy project and a new thread after the t amp. what says you guys. shall we get y.c. to start the ball rolling??? rclxm9.gif
ekool
post Sep 24 2008, 02:20 AM

42 posts

[quote=jazzy939,Sep 24 2008, 01:42 AM]

Thanks for dropping in... we hardly see you nowadays...

hi jazzy
nice to be back again. sorry i disappeared for a while. i was busy with work and over the weekend started on my 2nd mod phase - replacing the power caps. found something interesting while experimenting. will fill it in later. still testing.

the pics i'm referring are your earlier mod. board 1 and 2 i think. there are in the earlier pages. either before you showed your casing or after. can't really remember. also yes, it will be nice to show your parts list. tq. once again great job. rclxms.gif

ekool
post Sep 26 2008, 12:43 AM

42 posts

[quote=Y.C.,Sep 24 2008, 01:17 PM]

I assume you have a pair of steady hands, game to join me?

For info of all, the TA2024 chip alone could be bought in PRC for as low as RM6 each piece. And if I were to replace all SMDs including diodes, I mentioned that I might as well use a new through-hole board altogether.

y. c.
yes, i will definitely join you once i have all my components. if you need an extra pair of hands feel free to let me know.
it ever you are interested inbringing in the ta2024 chip and do a whole new design/pop shouldering/new through hole board, etc please include me. in fact get me three chips if ever you are ordering.

0.0519sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:24 AM