DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

jazzy939
post Sep 6 2008, 11:15 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
I can't decide if this is an insult or compliment to the digital medium! hahaha laugh.gif

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Sep 6 2008, 11:04 PM)
Wow, at the background, music from Jazz at the Pawnshop is sounding so un-digital-liked, in fact I would say it is almost close to analogue.  rclxms.gif
Y.C.
post Sep 6 2008, 11:34 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

Jazzy,
The pleasure is mine. Thanks for your compliment but honestly speaking you actually did it better than me. thumbup.gif
This is our passion and fine art of sharing (not being stingy in imparting what we know and how we feel). We also picked up at lot from other forums which we are not contributing members. Ever wonder whether any local audio magazine would be interested in engaging us as their part-time reviewers? icon_idea.gif hmm.gif brows.gif

Yes, I fully agree that I need to let the sound of stocked T-amp fully sink into my mind so as to appreciate and able to tell the improvements brought about by each modification later on.

Wow, how much did you pay for the Elnas? Are they Elna Cerafine 2.2uF? Good stuff thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Y.C.: Sep 7 2008, 12:08 AM
jazzy939
post Sep 6 2008, 11:51 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
You're most welcome biggrin.gif
True to the words, we're doing this, ie sharing and learning at the same time because of our passion. Yes.. time for me tocontribute after all this while just reading and learning all those great stuffs from the forums all over laugh.gif

Local mag? Engaging us? Would you accept the offer? I would! laugh.gif I got to play with the TOYS! rclxm9.gif

Nah NOT the Cerafine, just a 'normal' one.. wink.gif Will put up some pictures later.. I am 'not at home' this moment..

Can't wait to get my other stuffs for the 'upgrade'.. looks like more reviews coming up... tongue.gif

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Sep 6 2008, 11:34 PM)
Jazzy,
The pleasure is mine. Thanks for your compliment but honestly speaking you actually did it better than me.  thumbup.gif 
This is our passion and fine art of sharing (not being stingy in imparting what we know and how we feel). We also picked up at lot from other forums which we are not contributing members. Ever wonder whether any local audio magazine interested in engaging us as their part-time reviewers?  icon_idea.gif  whistling.gif  thumbup.gif

Yes, I fully agree that I need to let the sound of stocked T-amp to fully sink in my mind so as to appreciate and able to tell the improvements brought about by each modification later on.

Wow, how much did you pay for the Elnas? Are they Elna Cerafine 2.2uF? Good stuff  thumbup.gif
TSxtorm
post Sep 7 2008, 12:51 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

wow great stuff Y.C. smile.gif really nice review, i love those soundstage as well biggrin.gif and details that most people will say wow! rclxms.gif

elna cerafine are consider cheap, got those in my electronic crossover, rm8 each 4.7uf, 50v i think, but tht was very long ago..

hmm jazzy i went to jalan pasar as well today, couldnt find nixie!! where izit actually? and the shop you bought the rm55 meanwell, shop name, mayb you got the receipt...

best price i get for 3amp meanwell is rm58, more expensive than yours and lower amp....other shop is sellling more expensive than the 1 i when

This post has been edited by xtorm: Sep 7 2008, 12:51 AM
ongbs
post Sep 7 2008, 12:59 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 6 2008, 11:51 PM)
Y.C.,
You're most welcome biggrin.gif
True to the words, we're doing this, ie sharing and learning at the same time because of our passion. Yes.. time for me tocontribute after all this while just reading and learning all those great stuffs from the forums all over  laugh.gif

Local mag? Engaging us? Would you accept the offer?  I would!  laugh.gif  I got to play with the TOYS!  rclxm9.gif

Nah NOT the Cerafine, just a 'normal' one.. wink.gif Will put up some pictures later.. I am 'not at home' this moment..

Can't wait to get my other stuffs for the 'upgrade'.. looks like more reviews coming up... tongue.gif
walau bro, after read you guy's review, I am a bit "photo-shy" and "comment-shy" liau doh.gif sad.gif
jazzy939
post Sep 7 2008, 01:12 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

You did? I was there around 1230 to 2 pm.. it was drizzling. U should have called me! tongue.gif
NIXIE is not along Jalan Pasar per se.. it's off Jalan Pasar. The road is Jalan Landak laugh.gif

Most other shops selling from RM80 onwards.. some not even Mean Well! mad.gif

The name of the shop is WIZE INTELLIGENCE SDN. BHD.
Got to meet the leng-lui (Cherry) today, she's few months pregnant! hahahaha laugh.gif

RM58 is not too bad lah for a 3A laugh.gif

Elna Cerafine is affordable and sound performance is I'd say value for money biggrin.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Sep 7 2008, 12:51 AM)

hmm jazzy i went to jalan pasar as well today, couldnt find nixie!! where izit actually? and the shop you bought the rm55 meanwell, shop name, mayb you got the receipt...

best price i get for 3amp meanwell is rm58, more expensive than yours and lower amp....other shop is sellling more expensive than the 1 i when
jazzy939
post Sep 7 2008, 01:14 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Eh, don't la like that bro..
We're here to share mah... incl. pix! tongue.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Sep 7 2008, 12:59 AM)
walau bro, after read you guy's review, I am a bit "photo-shy" and "comment-shy"  liau doh.gif  sad.gif
Y.C.
post Sep 7 2008, 01:23 AM

Casual listener
906 posts

My T-amp has till this very moment clocked 11 solid hours of playing music non-stop since 14.25 on Saturday and it's time for me to hit the sack. Goodnight all.

ongbs
post Sep 7 2008, 01:28 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 7 2008, 01:14 AM)
Eh, don't la like that bro..
We're here to share mah... incl. pix! tongue.gif
Ya kah? Then my pics will come very soon liau! doh.gif tongue.gif (nah jazzy, you knew that I really like to talk nonsense right, forgive me pls?)

"Got to meet the leng-lui (Cherry) today, she's few months pregnant! hahahaha "

Nah nah....your bad jazzy, at least give some 'hope" to bro xtorm.... whistling.gif
gabanyayaya
post Sep 7 2008, 01:37 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Sep 7 2008, 01:51 AM)
wow great stuff Y.C. smile.gif really nice review, i love those soundstage as well biggrin.gif and details that most people will say wow! rclxms.gif

elna cerafine are consider cheap, got those in my electronic crossover, rm8 each 4.7uf, 50v i think, but tht was very long ago..

just find The Store supermarket, Nixie is just in front/opposite...or take a left turn at first cormer from where you first enter JP ....

'floating ground'.....that's a new term for me... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by gabanyayaya: Sep 7 2008, 01:38 AM
TSxtorm
post Sep 7 2008, 01:54 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

ohh no wonder....thx jazzy

haha the leng lui i mention is from the shop i bought the 3amp smps tongue.gif

gabanyayaya, ready to join us? hehe
gabanyayaya
post Sep 7 2008, 02:05 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Sep 7 2008, 02:54 AM)
ohh no wonder....thx jazzy

haha the leng lui i mention is from the shop i bought the 3amp smps tongue.gif

gabanyayaya, ready to join us? hehe
what's leng lui?????????

joint....will give answer tomorrow

ongbs
post Sep 7 2008, 02:08 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Sep 7 2008, 02:05 AM)
what's leng lui?????????

walau bro, only previous post lah... doh.gif tongue.gif
you ignore those thread without "T-Amp" words ah? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Sep 7 2008, 02:10 AM
jazzy939
post Sep 7 2008, 02:14 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Yes, I am beginning to notice!!! tongue.gif

I do not want xtorm to have so high hope, tongue.gif however there was another young leng lui which I did not catch her name!:P
I did asked her but.. forget lah.. laugh.gif me old oledi.. doh.gif

It is actually OPPOSITE the MAIN entrance of PUDU PLAZA!

It's just a term I use gabanyayaya.. you'll see it later wink.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Sep 7 2008, 01:28 AM)
Ya kah? Then my pics will come very soon liau!  doh.gif  tongue.gif  (nah jazzy, you knew that I really like to talk nonsense right, forgive me pls?)

Nah nah....your bad jazzy, at least give some 'hope" to bro xtorm....  whistling.gif
QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Sep 7 2008, 01:37 AM)
just find The Store supermarket, Nixie is just in front/opposite...or take a left turn at first cormer from where you first enter JP ....

'floating ground'.....that's a new term for me... hmm.gif
gabanyayaya
post Sep 7 2008, 02:15 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

leng lui is girl named Cherry who sells SMPS....
jazzy939
post Sep 7 2008, 02:16 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Eh? Only tomorrow? Hearing IS believing huh? tongue.gif

Leng lui is leng lui lorrrr laugh.gif

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Sep 7 2008, 02:05 AM)
what's leng lui?????????

ongbs
post Sep 7 2008, 03:30 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

jazzy,
What is your donut diameter?
refer to my pic, both black and green donuts about 12mm dia, with black one slightly wider.

The black one with 0.08" wire and 5 turns with no SQ distort but the green one with 12 turns of 0.09" wires still cause distortion, the uH not enough.
If your donuts about the same size then don't go for >0.09" wires. I will try 0.08" wire with the green one later.

note the twin input caps in test? It sound better to me smile.gif

update:
hmm...with 20 turns of 0.08" wires still cause distortion! sweat.gif
lower till 6 turns still the same....possible this green donut not suitable for this application?

This post has been edited by ongbs: Sep 7 2008, 04:49 AM

jazzy939
post Sep 7 2008, 11:02 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ongbs,
The ID is 8.37mm and the OD is 15.37mm.
The black one looks like it is of different material than the green one?
Mine is also painted light green but one side is painted brown.
You don't have anymore of those black donuts, no?
I think on the grren, you need more turns ler..

Are you using a linear PSU? Whats your 'tank' cap value there?

Yes yes saw that input caps! Better huh? Value?

QUOTE(ongbs @ Sep 7 2008, 03:30 AM)
jazzy,
What is your donut diameter?
refer to my pic, both black and green donuts about 12mm dia, with black one slightly wider.

The black one with 0.08" wire and 5 turns with no SQ distort but the green one with 12 turns of 0.09" wires still cause distortion, the uH not enough.
If your donuts about the same size then don't go for >0.09" wires. I will try 0.08" wire with the green one later.

note the twin input caps in test? It sound better to me smile.gif

update:
hmm...with 20 turns of 0.08" wires still cause distortion! sweat.gif
lower till 6 turns still the same....possible this green donut not suitable for this application?
ongbs
post Sep 7 2008, 07:07 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 7 2008, 11:02 AM)
ongbs,
The ID is 8.37mm and the OD is 15.37mm.
The black one looks like it is of different material than the green one?
Mine is also painted light green but one side is painted brown.
You don't have anymore of those black donuts, no?
I think on the grren, you need more turns ler..

Are you using a linear PSU? Whats your 'tank' cap value there?

Yes yes saw that input caps! Better huh? Value?
Jazzy, I got 4 black donuts.
Not sure about material but look like more ferrite contain.

Yours bigger, should be OK, my green donut with max 20 turns, can't wind more unless I overlap it.

Using SPMS.
Input caps is 2.2uF (yellow) + 0.33uF (white), gave me brighter mid/high smile.gif
jazzy939
post Sep 7 2008, 08:20 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ongbs,
why don't you use all black donuts? tongue.gif

actually you can overlap the coils..

So your input caps is 2.53uF total?

I put in a ELNA 2.2uF on Board 1.. obviously better that the yellow stock caps.. the sound is more lively! biggrin.gif

Here's the pix...

QUOTE(ongbs @ Sep 7 2008, 07:07 PM)
Jazzy, I got 4 black donuts.
Not sure about material but look like more ferrite contain.

Yours bigger, should be OK, my green donut with max 20 turns, can't wind more unless I overlap it.

Using SPMS.
Input caps is 2.2uF (yellow) + 0.33uF (white), gave me brighter mid/high smile.gif
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Sep 7 2008, 08:31 PM

134 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0256sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:00 PM