5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

(WTA) stay in johor, work in singapore, Some question about transport and living

Lester1987
post Jan 9 2011, 12:27 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(syamsulstar @ Jan 8 2011, 11:16 PM)
This thread is really informative. Thanks everyone. I just moved in to a 2+1 hdb flat in ang mo kio. The rent is unbelievably high it makes me want to consider renting in JB and commute daily to work. my work place is by Raffles Place MRT station. i m not familiar with either jb or sg. I ve heard daily commute during peak hours is really bad, but since a lot of people are doing it, I thought maybe it is not as bad as it sounds??? I have to be at Raffles Place MRT station by 8:20AM (as it takes roughly 10 minutes to walk to my office from the train station). So by what time do i have to leave for work? Would really appreciate any tips/comments from anyone. Thanks a lot. cheers!
not recommended to take public transport if you are working in CBD. I tried commuting from my friend house using public transport previously, From his house in Taman Sentosa (3KM from Causeway) to Kranji MRT, it took us nearly 2 hours (leave his house at 5:30, reach kranji around 7:30). and from Kranji to Raffles, it will take around 1 hour. so you need to spare 3 hours for it. Now i am living in Johor Jaya (16KM from causeway) and i am traveling on Bike, I normally leave house at 6:45am and i can reach office(AMK area) at 8am. Of course it is a little expensive if you compare to taking public transport but it really save a lot of time. Rental wise i just pay RM300 for a 3 rooms low cost flat here. My friend paying RM400 for a room in Taman Sentosa, Previously i stay in SG and paid $400 for a common room there.
SUSkl87
post Jan 9 2011, 01:20 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jan 9 2011, 11:15 AM)

Necessary expenses (SG)
Rental = S$480 (aircon, high speed internet)

Saving = >S$2000

*PS: Seriously, most of the food here overrated by locals and sucks.
hmm.gif wao, u can find a room with a/c in sg with rental of 480 ! damn cheap notworthy.gif

n ur salary is so high ,salute.

n totally agree with u , food are the worst thing in sg. if i want to move back to malaysia, the food is the main reason cry.gif
syamsulstar
post Jan 9 2011, 07:54 PM

17 posts

Thanks toughnut and lester! I agree with kl87. I starting to see that food is not good here. Havent found my favorite spots yet. will definitely keep looking...
GloryKnight
post Jan 9 2011, 09:59 PM

1,770 posts

recently thru jobstreet, theres job for phone banking officer 2.3k to 2.7k. Guess its enough to cover your rental expenses + other misc stuffs..and still some savings actually! haha...
toughnut
post Jan 9 2011, 10:21 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Jan 9 2011, 01:20 PM)
hmm.gif wao, u can find a room with a/c in sg with rental of 480 ! damn cheap  notworthy.gif

n ur salary is so high ,salute.

n totally agree with u , food are the worst thing in sg. if i want to move back to malaysia, the food is the main reason  cry.gif
I found the room via agent, so need to pay half month rental as agent fee. Location is quite convenient but I wish it's nearer to MRT station rather than bus stop.

Not high compared to others I know laugh.gif Soon you will have the same too.

Food is still bearable due to cheap price, so cant complaint much.
LLCHIN
post Dec 15 2011, 03:58 PM

204 posts

need some advice on income tax related employment in Singapore. Currently, I'm in negotiation/discussion with a potential employer in Singapore for a sales role for mal/sig. The possible arrangement would be my salary will be paid in Singapore but my work will be home base in Malaysia. I'll be required to travel across ASEAN min 50% of my working time. I need help on the income tax contribution. How would i be taxed? Will i be taxed in Singapore or Malaysia if the salary is paid in Singapore? If paid in Singapore,

Lester1987
post Dec 15 2011, 04:30 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(LLCHIN @ Dec 15 2011, 03:58 PM)
need some advice on income tax related employment in Singapore. Currently, I'm in negotiation/discussion with a potential employer in Singapore for a sales role for mal/sig. The possible arrangement would be my salary will be paid in Singapore but my work will be home base in Malaysia. I'll be required to travel across ASEAN min 50% of my working time. I need help on the income tax contribution. How would i be taxed? Will i be taxed in Singapore or Malaysia if the salary is paid in Singapore? If paid in Singapore,
if paid in Singapore, then u will be tax in Singapore. and if ur pay is high, its better to be tax in Singapore compare to Malaysia.
snow_xueli
post Dec 15 2011, 04:35 PM

265 posts

Wah! Have to wake up so early to go to work ar? TORTURE! +1

tsunjinmica
post Dec 20 2011, 04:24 PM

where do u guy search 4 jobs frm internet or godown singapore and find the job personally??
i really need a job in singapore i have kitchen experince in malaysia

7up
post Feb 17 2012, 12:08 PM

129 posts

i recently got a job in singapore in CBD starting soon, i am planning to stay near second link as i heard less waiting time in the custom compare to causeway. for better convenience, i plan to ride my motor bike to office, anyone know roughly how long it will take? how much cost for toll or to enter singapore? what is requirement to ride my malaysia bike to singapore?
stanley99
post May 2 2012, 04:50 AM

52 posts

Hi all,

I am currently working in Jurong for almost 2 years, commuting everyday by CW3 bus through 2nd link. i am staying at bukit indah. It tooks me around 1 hr to reach Jurong East MRT. so far so good.

But now i was offered another job in paya lebar area. the salary is higher but its around 35km from tuas to there and 25km from woodland.

Therefore, i am also considering riding a malaysia motorbike everyday from jb to singapore for work. Estimated cost are as follows:

Distance: 114km (57km from bukit indah to paya lebar)
bike petrol : $41 (RM5/day, estimated)
2nd link my toll : $18 (RM2.2/day, fixed)
2nd link sg toll : $90 ($4.50/day, fixed)
TOTAL: $149

Correct me if i am wrong.

Can anyone experience person share to us the cost and timing ? is it wise for doing this ? cos the singapore renting is very expensive.
tkhoo
post Oct 15 2012, 03:25 PM

700 posts

Guys, may I know currently how much average to rent a room in JB area?

Anyone play badminton?

Lester1987
post Oct 15 2012, 03:47 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Oct 15 2012, 03:25 PM)
Guys, may I know currently how much average to rent a room in JB area?

Anyone play badminton?

depends on area. the nearer to the causeway/checkpoint, the more expensive the room. from RM300-RM800 also got.
tkhoo
post Oct 15 2012, 04:06 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Oct 15 2012, 03:47 PM)
depends on area. the nearer to the causeway/checkpoint, the more expensive the room. from RM300-RM800 also got.
IC....300 must be very normal and 800 must be with air-cond......

May I know around Pelangi how much?
WIN4ever
post Oct 15 2012, 04:08 PM

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jan 9 2011, 10:21 PM)
I found the room via agent, so need to pay half month rental as agent fee. Location is quite convenient but I wish it's nearer to MRT station rather than bus stop.

Not high compared to others I know laugh.gif Soon you will have the same too.

Food is still bearable due to cheap price, so cant complaint much.
Where u stay for SGD480 with internet access? Any more such room available? I want to rent lah.... smile.gif
tkhoo
post Oct 15 2012, 04:15 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(WIN4ever @ Oct 15 2012, 04:08 PM)
Where u stay for SGD480 with internet access? Any more such room available? I want to rent lah.... smile.gif
Bro, that was Jan 9, 2011 reply........Now I don't think can find vmad.gif vmad.gif
Lester1987
post Oct 15 2012, 05:31 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Oct 15 2012, 04:06 PM)
IC....300 must be very normal and 800 must be with air-cond......

May I know around Pelangi how much?
Pelangi u can't get RM300, even 400 the room must be in quite bad condition. If you have own transport, i suggest you to stay further down like in Permas or Mount Austin area.
WIN4ever
post Oct 15 2012, 09:30 PM

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Oct 15 2012, 04:15 PM)
Bro, that was Jan 9, 2011 reply........Now I don't think can find  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Oic, just barely 1 year ago, what is the rate right now lah?
angelgemini
post Oct 16 2012, 09:21 AM

1,751 posts

rental a room now at nearby sembawang mrt cost SGD700 (include aircon, PUB and internet).

Plan to move out and stay at JB. too crazy already. the rental will go out because gov now limit the PR own hdb to rent the whole house out. this will reduce the house and room availability in the market.
Crazy, really need to plan.

May plan to drive in to SG. (car pool?)

john the great
post Oct 18 2012, 03:38 AM

Hi all, may i know the tax on malaysia worker in sg? quite confusing some of my frd said 20%, some said few %

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0219sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:33 PM