Travel Scuba Diving World, Snokerling too

Putraskyline
post Jan 31 2013, 12:07 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jan 31 2013, 11:12 AM)
Mares X Stream looks good! I like Seawing Nova's bungee strap la, easier to wear hehe.  laugh.gif
But Mares X Stream got more colors.. ahhhh..

Nvm still got time to decide before my next dive trip haha. You said delivery time just around 72 hours after you made payment? That's fast.
Yes, very fast delivery. My buddy got Mares X stream, so I rated X stream almost identical to Seawing Nova. X stream are better if you used to flutter or modified flutter kick but Seawing Nova better for frog or modified frog. Mares have been produced bungee strap for all of their fins which have been sold separately tongue.gif
Putraskyline
post Jan 31 2013, 12:09 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Jan 31 2013, 11:24 AM)
Interested to do OWD. Not satisfy during snorkelling at pangkor last week. But honestly, I can't swim.. Haha luckily I'm snorkelling with life jacket. I'm ok with that. So any problem with me to take scuba certificate ?
I've read some of you also didn't know how to swim and manage to get ow cert. but some of dive center state on their website, "swim 100m", "snorkel 200m" Etc...
For me, its better for you to at least know how to swim. As my experience with some of the dive shop, they asked student to swim 100m at open sea. If you dont know how to swim, its hard to pass this test. But in this thread, some people said they can't swim too.
pakutekan
post Jan 31 2013, 12:25 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Jan 31 2013, 12:09 PM)
For me, its better for you to at least know how to swim. As my experience with some of the dive shop, they asked student to swim 100m at open sea. If you dont know how to swim, its hard to pass this test. But in this thread, some people said they can't swim too.
I had tried to learn how to swim. But still can't swim without aid to float/take breath during swim. So usually I'll swim with just 1 breath only.
My gf interested too, but she also can't swim. Hahaa.. Luckily both of us comfort in the water but of course with life jacket. tongue.gif
Putraskyline
post Jan 31 2013, 12:29 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Jan 31 2013, 12:25 PM)
I had tried to learn how to swim. But still can't swim without aid to float/take breath during swim. So usually I'll swim with just 1 breath only.
My gf interested too, but she also can't swim. Hahaa.. Luckily both of us comfort in the water but of course with life jacket. tongue.gif
If I take back your floatation devices, what do you feel? in open sea while your feet cannot feel the sand or bottom.
pakutekan
post Jan 31 2013, 12:50 PM

161 posts

Hahaa that one I never tried.. Hahaa
numblink
post Jan 31 2013, 12:56 PM

145 posts

I think depends on instructor?? My instructor straight bring us to home reef with equipment without asking us to swim... hmm.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 31 2013, 01:19 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Some will ask you to swim, some just want you to float on water. What I was told is that basically you'll have to be comfortable on the surface in water in case there's no floatation device and you're stranded in the middle of the ocean.

If you guys have the time and some money to spare, no harm learning to know how to swim. I believe swimming is something everyone should put an effort into learning. Get a friend to teach you also can, doesn't have to be perfect swimming techniques. wink.gif
munkeyflo
post Jan 31 2013, 01:22 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Jan 31 2013, 12:07 PM)
Yes, very fast delivery. My buddy got Mares X stream, so I rated X stream almost identical to Seawing Nova. X stream are better if you used to flutter or modified flutter kick but Seawing Nova better for frog or modified frog. Mares have been produced bungee strap for all of their fins which have been sold separately  tongue.gif
Alright, I'm like half flutter half frog haha. X Stream more expensive, andden the 'sold separately' somemore for the bungee strap. Unless I get a really good deal for X Stream and the bungee strap. Or else I think I'll go for Seawing Nova.

That's really fast. Glad to know that. Thanks for your recommendation! laugh.gif
b5n111
post Jan 31 2013, 02:01 PM

52 posts

During my OW last year, Instructor didnt ask to swim 100M...

but we ascent easily more than 100m away from the boat during 2nd OW dive..... and he said, come let swim towards the boad biggrin.gif

I did flutter, may b 80% or more... no good at frogging yet tongue.gif

cannot reverse unless drift by current biggrin.gif

b5n111
post Jan 31 2013, 02:03 PM

52 posts

Oya, my fren did his OW recently. Instructor included some basic swimming since my fren oso couldnt swim then
numblink
post Jan 31 2013, 02:26 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(b5n111 @ Jan 31 2013, 02:03 PM)
Oya, my fren did his OW recently. Instructor included some basic swimming since my fren oso couldnt swim then
2 bird one stone biggrin.gif
DrBarbarian
post Jan 31 2013, 02:30 PM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

hey.. I am thinking of getting this fins too... mine are pretty old already....
pakutekan
post Jan 31 2013, 03:44 PM

161 posts

Hurmm.. Ok.. I'll ask around 1st.. Any recommendation? I'm from Shah Alam.. Maybe want to start on march or April..
it is worth to go to ADEX only to buy fin, mask,snorkel and wetsuit?
munkeyflo
post Jan 31 2013, 03:58 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Jan 31 2013, 03:44 PM)
Hurmm.. Ok.. I'll ask around 1st.. Any recommendation? I'm from Shah Alam.. Maybe want to start on march or April..
I'm from Shah Alam too. There's a dive center in Aquatik, I've not dived with them before, but they are the ones handling the swimming pool dives there.
My instructor is based in KEC Klang (if you want then I'll PM you his contact). You can find many dive centers in Subang and PJ as well. You can start anytime if you wanna do confine water here, just go to any dive center and enquire about it. Then come March or April they'll have trip to the islands for certification dives. Or you can just go straight to the island and do a 4D3N course.

ADEX need to pay some entrance fee. Besides, have to travel all the way there. Can also check out MIDE during July.

If you're doing course, everything is provided, you don't have to buy your own fins, wetsuit etc. In Malaysia, not many people wear wetsuits as well. Many divers also don't use the snorkle but your instructor may use it when teaching you. Fins got many types, got cheap ones got expensive ones. Try to try a few first and see which type you like before getting one.
Putraskyline
post Jan 31 2013, 04:01 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Jan 31 2013, 03:44 PM)
I have been twice to Adex and will going again this year, not worth buying things there as MIDE are better in term of pricing. If you need something premium, ADEX is the best source.

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Jan 31 2013, 04:02 PM
pakutekan
post Jan 31 2013, 08:28 PM

161 posts

Interested to go to ADEX coz my hometown at JB. almost every month I go jalan2 at sg..

Munkey.. Which dive center u suggest to me?
b5n111
post Jan 31 2013, 09:39 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Jan 31 2013, 09:28 PM)
munkey dive centre tongue.gif rclxm9.gif
Putraskyline
post Feb 1 2013, 10:27 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Jan 31 2013, 08:28 PM)
Interested to go to ADEX coz my hometown at JB. almost every month I go jalan2 at sg..

Haha...Thats better. See you there tongue.gif
yelias
post Feb 1 2013, 10:42 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Jan 30 2013, 10:10 PM)
I am using Scubapro product for wetsuit and MK25/A700. I buy online from HK shop which turn out to be cheaper than Singapore even on Adex or year end sale. What is the price for MK25/S600T in SG on Xmas? May I know why you choose titanium?You don't intend to use nitrox later?
For the regulators i get Rm 1.7k. I choose the Titanium because the metal color biggrin.gif
munkeyflo
post Feb 1 2013, 11:59 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(b5n111 @ Jan 31 2013, 09:39 PM)
munkey dive centre  tongue.gif  rclxm9.gif
tongue.gif Not interested to open my own dive center heheh.

116 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:21 AM