37 posts

thumbup.gif

A Simple Serrisa Bunjin.

Bonsailelong
post Oct 30 2014, 10:18 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(hosoonhee @ Oct 29 2014, 08:33 PM)
Can help to advise on this plant as well? Should i wire some of the middle branches and tilt them upward to cover up the empty area to complete a dome shape? Or should i leave it alone first and wait for all leaves to appear before deciding on the next move?
thumbup.gif

I suggest don't do anything, let it grows as freely as it can for 2-3 months, then defoliate again and do the 2nd shaping.
Bonsailelong
post Oct 30 2014, 03:11 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(hosoonhee @ Oct 30 2014, 11:09 AM)
Ok noted..2-3 mths a bit long sia...must find something to keep myself occupied....buy more plants and trim... rclxm9.gif
thumbup.gif
Hi Buddy,

I suggest you get a house with garden land area of at least 3k+ ft2, put up benches, visit around S'pore and M'sia bonsai plant nursery including
those crazy bonsai kaki's places, and start your multi hundreds to thousand collection. You will sure to be occupied trough out all the day light hours.
Bonsailelong
post Oct 30 2014, 03:19 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(cjloong @ Oct 30 2014, 11:07 AM)
Bonsailelong, just wanna check with you regarding buxus harlandii. Is it pruned like the regular decidious plants? ie. if I prune to branch with no leaves, will that branch die back? If so, what is the best technique to shorten the branch.
Don't ever defoliate until botak, just trim like hair cut.
Bonsailelong
post Oct 31 2014, 04:55 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Hi soonhee,

By looking at the photo of your place, it seen to be perfect for Ficus species.
I suggest you Google to find out the difference species of Ficus and start a series of collections.

Aahhhh... good that you found what you want, that's a mirten, Okinawa holly or Singapore holly.
I believe you can have a better initial shaping to your mirten. If you don't mind to show some photos of your
plant with the main trunk vertical and branches open up. I might be able to give you some suggestion if you wanted to.

Bonsailelong
post Oct 31 2014, 08:25 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Hi soonhee,

Your mirten suit literati style. Do Google and look for literati bonsai image that close to your plant.
Your wiring Technic is not exactly right. Mirten with pencil thick size trunk is not difficult to bend but
must do it properly to prevent breaking. If you can post up clearly photos taken both sides of the plant
like below, I might be able to give some suggestions.

Bonsailelong
post Nov 1 2014, 05:40 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

A simple literati style initial shaping.

I've this half pencil thick asam jawa Tamarind with all the side lower branches cut off.

Needed 2 difference thickness of wire, the main to allow easy bending is usually double the size of the coil around one.
Always push about an inch of the one end of the wire into the soil before coiling around the trunk.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Now start the snake bend and twist but always bear in mind that do not over do or you can break the trunk.
The bending or twisting process can be done a little at a time ( bend a bit now and bend again one week later ) pending on the flexibility of the trunk.

It should be allowed to grow freely for sometimes before anything to be done to it.
Bonsailelong
post Nov 1 2014, 05:52 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Well, Abgpcx

What I suggest is do some cutting including 2 exposed roots. and post a clear photo again if you wanted to.

Bonsailelong
post Nov 1 2014, 10:23 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Abgpcx @ Nov 1 2014, 06:29 PM)
Done as your suggestion bro. I got medium size rock can I do root over rock style.
thumbup.gif

You can do roots over rock style if you wanted to.
If plant is grown over the rock from seeding, it will look perfect but that might take a decade.

Alternatively, you can dig your shui mei up, remove all the soil, cut away any roots right under the main stem,
put a rock under and tie round and round with raffle string. Re plant it by burring 2/3 of the rock with soil materials.
To me I think is no so advisable for a novice.

Your shui mei have quite a unique root. My suggestion is to add and top up soil to the roots to level as indicated.
wire the side small branches into a mushroom shape, cut a little more to the 3 bigger branches.

The shape of your shui mei I'm suggesting is something like below. Since your shui mei have a unique root, it can be developed
into a better looking shape than mine in time to come.

Bonsailelong
post Nov 2 2014, 01:44 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Potting a wrightia.

This one dug up from one corner of the planting yard.

Did some brushing and cleaning to the stem, then planted in quite a tall rectangular training pot.

Bonsailelong
post Nov 2 2014, 01:56 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Hi soonhee,

Can't see clearly from your photo, but it looks like a Chinese Jasmin or something close to that.
It has already has a prebonsai look.
I suggest you cut according to indication, don't give straight cut but try to break with your hand to get a natural breaking look.
Do not defoliate.
Re pot it to an oblong pot say about 12 ins long and 2-3 ins height.

Bonsailelong
post Nov 6 2014, 03:37 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Bonsailelong @ Oct 11 2014, 09:35 PM)
thumbup.gif

When you are forties...
You are resourceful..
You are still energetic..
You are experience...
You are your boss's assets..

Now you are sixties...
You are forgetful....
You are slow...
You are fault ful ...
You are your boss's burden ...

SO FIRE YOUR SELF TO SAY YOU ARE RETIRING
BEFORE YOU ARE FIRED !   vmad.gif
     [attachmentid=4167173]
doh.gif

After forced to fire my self from job, now sitting at home vmad.gif mad.gif
And what can I do??? And so what can "YOU" Do? hmm.gif

Oh poor me! cry.gif cry.gif Am I going to be like this doh.gif

No no no no NO.

So bros, if u're interest in bonsai or find Sunfong's bonsai is like an atomic bomb, kindly pm me. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Nov 6 2014, 03:44 PM
Bonsailelong
post Nov 8 2014, 10:36 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(hosoonhee @ Nov 7 2014, 05:09 PM)
With your huge collection of bonsai, should be enough to open a small nursery...maybe you can consider listing down the plants available for sale in a webpage...
thumbup.gif

Thanks for suggestion. Bro
Bonsailelong
post Nov 8 2014, 10:50 AM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

After a night of heavy downpour......some shots for sharing blush.gif

Bonsailelong
post Nov 10 2014, 01:53 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Abgk @ Nov 10 2014, 08:26 AM)
will go to ur house when i can find time , can cuci mata & cuci poket also  laugh.gif
thumbup.gif

Thanks bro.

Just started a Bonsai blog with first post. Hope for all your support.

http://bonsailelong.wordpress.com/

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Nov 10 2014, 01:56 PM
Bonsailelong
post Nov 10 2014, 10:00 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Nzac @ Nov 10 2014, 07:40 PM)
Bonsailelong, that is awesome. keep it up.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
thumbup.gif

Thanks bro, just updated my blog.

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Nov 10 2014, 10:01 PM
Bonsailelong
post Nov 11 2014, 10:40 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Bonsailelong
post Nov 12 2014, 07:35 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Concluding last part of Boxwood on http://bonsailelong.wordpress.com/

Your "like" is very much appreciated. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Nov 12 2014, 09:48 PM
Bonsailelong
post Nov 15 2014, 05:10 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(hekhor @ Nov 15 2014, 12:14 AM)
Hi..I'm new to bonsai ..I just start to have small juniper.All master please give some advise on my bonsai shape and how to take care it..thank you.
thumbup.gif

Hi hekhor,

Nice juniper for a starter, I suggest you loosen the wire because it has "eaten" into the branches.
Remove the stones from the pot which can cause soil hardening. Plant some mosses instead.
Bonsailelong
post Nov 16 2014, 11:42 AM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Shouldn't be difficult to find mosses especially during the present rainy season.

45 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0580sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:45 AM