129 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Hobbies BONSAI MALAYSIA, here we talk abt bonsai art

zabel8484
post Jan 2 2013, 11:10 AM

Sure, I will post the photos when I get back from work.
I already got so inspired by bonsailelong n poisoned too..lol
Bonsailelong
post Jan 2 2013, 09:57 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

BONSAI -OFF TOPIC

Taken a day off from works and drove to & fro over 500 KM just to see this.

Attached Image The "leaning tower of Pizza" in Malaysia. Guess where...Telur Intan in Perak.

...and saw this... the biggest and oldest "bonsai" I have ever seen in my life. drool.gif

A big Bayam Tree !

..Very old Junipers

Guess how old could them be? hmm.gif wink.gif

.. probably the same age ???

Ooop! shocking.gif

Spotted something of our interest !

But over the fence.

Attached Image Attached Image A master of Juniper bonsai is here.

Some thing interesting along the street.

Attached Image Attached Image The master at "works"

Attached Image a fancy bike..

Attached Image This town has got lots of good landscapers.

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Jan 2 2013, 10:38 PM
zabel8484
post Jan 2 2013, 10:26 PM

omg, how come i cannot see the photos?

Bonsailelong
post Jan 2 2013, 10:37 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(zabel8484 @ Jan 2 2013, 10:26 PM)
omg, how come i cannot see the photos?
thumbup.gif

See them now?
zabel8484
post Jan 2 2013, 10:37 PM

can see d...
Bonsailelong
post Jan 3 2013, 01:31 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(zabel8484 @ Jan 2 2013, 09:44 AM)
G400g400,

He is so generous that he gave me a couple pots. I got a
serissa! I can't take any photos coz it started to rain... Haih...
thumbup.gif

Hi Zabel,

Thanks for dropping by. The heavy down pour spoiled the time but we still able to talk about bonsai in my "Pondok"
with rain water flooding our legs. wub.gif

Feel free to drop by again.
zabel8484
post Jan 3 2013, 01:47 PM

Thank you so much, maybe the next visit I bring my sui lian hua n juniper to you.
seriously I don't know wat to do with the juniper. U mentioned about cutting the top off.
g400g400
post Jan 3 2013, 02:09 PM

"HiTech Gadget Lover"
1,381 posts

QUOTE(zabel8484 @ Jan 3 2013, 01:47 PM)
Thank you so much, maybe the next visit I bring my sui lian hua n juniper to you.
seriously I don't know wat to do with the juniper. U mentioned about cutting the top off.
zabel8484.... you are very lucky to have bonsai sifu to give you hands-on ... rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

Added on January 3, 2013, 3:01 pmSince i am into bonsai, i have not gone for overseas holidays, cos there is no one to help me water the bonsai everyday... sweat.gif
So i am planning to get an automated watering system to do the job while i am await for a week or two.
Do you guys think these automated watering system will work or not?? I dun want to come back after two weeks all my bonsai dried off.. cry.gif

Please share if you have comments on these. BTW how you all water your bonsai if you are away from home for a couple of days? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by g400g400: Jan 3 2013, 03:01 PM
Bonsailelong
post Jan 3 2013, 04:57 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(g400g400 @ Jan 3 2013, 02:09 PM)
zabel8484.... you are very lucky to have bonsai sifu to give you hands-on ... rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif

Added on January 3, 2013, 3:01 pmSince i am into bonsai, i have not gone for overseas holidays, cos there is no one to help me water the bonsai everyday... sweat.gif
So i am planning to get an automated watering system to do the job while i am await for a week or two.
Do you guys think these automated watering system will work or not?? I dun want to come back after two weeks all my bonsai dried off.. cry.gif

Please share if you have comments on these. BTW how you all water your bonsai if you are away from home for a couple of days?  shocking.gif
I got a neighbour helping me to water my bonsai while I was away.
But still I got to put all of the pots together under the shade in difference groups so to enable watering work can be easily done.
And got to buy a good present when I returned.

In your case, if no neighbour available, auto sprinkle water system should be fine. But got to group all your pots together and test out before leaving.

g400g400
post Jan 3 2013, 10:10 PM

"HiTech Gadget Lover"
1,381 posts

QUOTE(Bonsailelong @ Jan 3 2013, 04:57 PM)
I got a neighbour helping me to water my bonsai while I was away.
But still I got to put all of the pots together under the shade in difference groups so to enable watering work can be easily done.
And got to buy a good present when I returned.

In your case, if no neighbour available, auto sprinkle water system should be fine. But got to group all your pots together and test out before leaving.
i am no so lucky to have such a good neighbour, i was quoted price about rm500 for automated system for 50pots, c/w timer, dunno whether its worth the price or not... rclxub.gif hmm.gif
zabel8484
post Jan 3 2013, 10:19 PM

rm500 to save 52 pots of bonsai, worth it lor...

Added on January 3, 2013, 10:20 pm
QUOTE(Bonsailelong @ Jan 3 2013, 01:31 PM)
thumbup.gif

Hi Zabel,

Thanks for dropping by. The heavy down pour spoiled the time but we still able to talk about bonsai in my "Pondok"
with rain water flooding our legs. wub.gif

Feel free to drop by again.
the pondok memang a place for relaxation! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by zabel8484: Jan 3 2013, 10:20 PM
Bonsailelong
post Jan 3 2013, 10:30 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(g400g400 @ Jan 3 2013, 10:10 PM)
i am no so lucky to have such a good neighbour, i was quoted price about rm500 for automated system for 50pots, c/w timer, dunno whether its worth the price or not... rclxub.gif  hmm.gif
thumbup.gif

Maybe you should think of sending all your bonsai to a plant nursery where the owner is willing to take care for you for a cheaper price.

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Jan 3 2013, 10:40 PM
zabel8484
post Jan 4 2013, 08:45 AM

Since i'm into bonsai,
My friends are very weird, they try to investigate what made me so into it. So i'm the only one within my friends to be so into bonsai. It's hard to have friends tag along to nurseries. lol have to find and go on my own.
But after have this new hobby, i don't drive as fast as i used to. I will drive slowly and can't stop looking at the trees around.
Guessing how old they are, appreciating the nebari of the big giant trees and it makes me happy for some reason...lol(funny)
And while driving in tamans, I will try to look what people have in thier small gardens...
Don't know if other bonsai lover share the same experince.

I bought some seeds over ebay, when i started bonsai and can't find a good nusery.
Chinese elm, 50+seeds for rm15, all the way from the USA.
The ad of the seed is something like this,

So i got last 2 weeks and started sowing.
I put them in water for about 2 days, when i see the "kaki" coming out, i sow them.
Will post the photos later...

Happy Friday!!! Weekend is coming!!! time for bonsai!! icon_rolleyes.gif
g400g400
post Jan 4 2013, 08:54 AM

"HiTech Gadget Lover"
1,381 posts

QUOTE(zabel8484 @ Jan 4 2013, 08:45 AM)
Since i'm into bonsai,
My friends are very weird, they try to investigate what made me so into it. So i'm the only one within my friends to be so into bonsai. It's hard to have friends tag along to nurseries. lol have to find and go on my own.
But after have this new hobby, i don't drive as fast as i used to. I will drive slowly and can't stop looking at the trees around.
Guessing how old they are, appreciating the nebari of the big giant trees and it makes me happy for some reason...lol(funny)
And while driving in tamans, I will try to look what people have in thier small gardens...
Don't know if other bonsai lover share the same experince.

I bought some seeds over ebay, when i started bonsai and can't find a good nusery.
Chinese elm, 50+seeds for rm15, all the way from the USA.
The ad of the seed is something like this,

So i got last 2 weeks and started sowing.
I put them in water for about 2 days, when i see the "kaki" coming out, i sow them.
Will post the photos later...

Happy Friday!!! Weekend is coming!!! time for bonsai!! icon_rolleyes.gif
You lucky to have bonsai nursery in your place, here in my town, no such nursery.. rclxub.gif
OMG, bonsai from seeds?? does it gonna take long long time to grow into something like that??? doh.gif
Anyway, good lucky, do post up photos of their progress to share.

Added on January 4, 2013, 8:56 am
QUOTE(Bonsailelong @ Jan 3 2013, 10:30 PM)
thumbup.gif

Maybe you should think of sending all your bonsai to a plant nursery where the owner is willing to take care for you for a cheaper price.
Transporting the pots to nursery will involve too much time and effort... i guess i will settle for the automated watering system, i think its not a once off thing, can used everytime i am not around. I will place an order for it... will share when i received the items and tested them... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by g400g400: Jan 4 2013, 08:58 AM
zabel8484
post Jan 4 2013, 09:01 AM

Yup very long time , but when I'm 50 and the trees still survives,
then they will be about 20+ years old...LOL!
Actually I bought it without knowing how long it takes.
but sudah beli, then just plant lor.
Bonsailelong
post Jan 4 2013, 12:52 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(zabel8484 @ Jan 4 2013, 09:01 AM)
Yup very long time , but when I'm 50 and the trees still survives,
then they will be about 20+ years old...LOL!
Actually I bought it without knowing how long it takes.
but sudah beli, then just plant lor.
thumbup.gif

Bonsai grow from seed is called Misho Bonsai in Japanese.

I do have some Wrightia - "shui mui" grown from seed long time ago and still surviving.

Will take some photos and post up this weekend.

At the mean time hope you guys don't mind to go back to my older post 138 dated 11/11/2010 to check out.

You realise something, there are only 3 of us here in this topic !!! Hope more bonsai kaki can join in to give more icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Jan 4 2013, 01:02 PM
g400g400
post Jan 4 2013, 07:25 PM

"HiTech Gadget Lover"
1,381 posts

This evening follow wife to 'tamu' market, wife buy vege..
Then i spotted an old lady selling potted plants... look what i got here...

A Serrisa !! drool.gif

Not a bonsai yet, but maybe with time and training can become one...

Rm10...just for the sake of buying.. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by g400g400: Jan 4 2013, 08:44 PM
Bonsailelong
post Jan 5 2013, 02:59 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Bonsai grown from seed - Chinese Bonsai Style mainly mini and shohin size.

Here's some of my collections for sharing

Small Wrighthia "shui mui" group

Attached Image ...lots of twisting movement.

Attached Image formal upright group.

An old Chinese style

Attached Image front Attached Image back

Another old Chinese style

This one with "powerful" trunk movement

Fukien Tea grown from seed.

This post has been edited by Bonsailelong: Jan 5 2013, 03:15 PM
Bonsailelong
post Jan 5 2013, 03:35 PM

37 posts

thumbup.gif

Potting a Jude plant - Botanical name known as Portulaca Oleracea.

This Jude plant has been neglected in one corner of the garden for quite some times.
but it has grown up to a size and natural semi cascading style that make me decided to transfer it to a pot. hmm.gif

... then dug up..

.... then...

A healthy, succulent plant. Will let it grows in this pot for sometimes before changing to a tall thin bonsai pot.

zabel8484
post Jan 5 2013, 07:41 PM

Suddenly wanted to go to Ho min Yuen today.
and it looks like It's gonna rain.
but manage to get a premna

Then trim it become like this. Keeping bonsailelong's
advice of trimming.

129 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:09 PM