Medical degrees from Manipal Uni not recognised, Quoted from The Star Malaysia

wgy589
post Aug 8 2008, 10:31 AM

759 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 8 2008, 12:27 AM)
For an institution to be listed as "recognized" in IMED, it must first be recognized by the country where it is situated. There's no such thing as a school being listed in IMED as "recognized" while it is not recognized by the country of origin. The last time when KMC was de-recognized, its status in the IMED was written as "de-recognized".

Link 1 Link 2
As listed in IMED, both schools' graduation years are "current", which means they are recognized by the country of origin. As i have stated before, the final verdict lies in the Indian Ministry of Health (damn, i am beginning to sound like a broken radio).

As funny as it sounds, but India only recognizes medical institutions which have a sizable amount of Indian nationals. I am not sure how the recognition in India works but i am pretty sure that MMMC is not recognized by India. Also, many western institutions are not recognized by India.

Degree from PMC is not recognized by Ireland. Under IMED, PMC is listed as a distinct institution, which means that PMC's degree is actually a degree of its own. That's also the reason why PMC is not recognized by Singapore Medical Council, while the partner schools are recognized. In addition, Irish medical council only recognizes 5 Irish institutions, of which PMC is not included. The 5 schools are:

University of Dublin
Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
University College Cork
University College Dublin
National University of Ireland, Galway

Also, you are wrong about MMMC's degree. It is a Malaysian degree, i can assure you, and MMMC is listed under Malaysia in IMED. Link Therefore, even though KMC is de-recognized, MMMC will still be recognized by Malaysia. You can call/email MMMC or Malaysia Medical Council regarding this matter.

I am not defensive about this matter, it's just that you have the wrong concept of the whole thing. I am here to correct you.

Btw, are you going to reveal where you graduated from? I wonder why are you so secretive about it? rolleyes.gif
erm, Singapore Medical Council does not recognise PMC bcos PMC clinicals is done outside Ireland,
But if clincials is done in the country where the medical degrees are recognised, eg UK, Ireland, then the degree will be recognised by SMC lor. that's the case for IMU-PMS.

This post has been edited by wgy589: Aug 8 2008, 10:35 AM
hypermax
post Aug 8 2008, 01:45 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 8 2008, 08:49 AM)
i dunno why i bother............maybe i should just let you all wallow in your own misconceptions and misinformation.........

i wish you should leave that crutch called the imed, and stop thinking that being listed there is all important.......

as far as manipal is concerned, this thing just happened days ago.........you expect imed to delist it immediately? you obviously don't know how this thing works.......

pmc does NOT award any degree.....graduates gets the MB BCh BAO degrees of the National University of Ireland (NUI) as well as with the Licentiates of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland and the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland. They are registerable of course in Ireland.......pmc homesite is down so alternatively, nah: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Penang_Medical_College

and you are 'correcting' me??!

Yes, i am correcting you. So you think you are always right and no one is qualified to correct you? rolleyes.gif

IMED is a directory where the status of medical schools are being listed upon recognition by the countries of origin as well as approval from WHO. In order to take PLAB and USMLE, one's school has to be listed and its graduation year must be current. Therefore, being listed as recognized in IMED means the school is currently recognized by the country of origin as well as WHO.
IMED is pretty prompt about the recognition status. Back in 2005, when both KMCs were de-recognized, it was listed so in IMED immediately, even before the media reported it. It was, however, overturned by the Indian Ministry of Health. Therefore, as long as Indian Ministry of Health still recognizes KMC, graduates from KMC are still registrable in India. We shall see in the upcoming days any change in the IMED listing, then we will know who's right.

No, PMC's degree is not registrable in Ireland, as it is not a full degree from its partner schools. Unlike IMU twinning, the degrees awarded are full degrees from the partner schools, and are virtually indistinguishable from those of the full course. This is what i've been told by a student from PMC. If you can find a concrete evidence about PMC being registrable in Ireland, pls post here. rolleyes.gif

Also, all this while, you have been b****ing about how bad local med schools and those of the 3rd world are. It makes people wonder where are you from exactly. If you are from a 3rd world medical school, whatever you said will have more weight, as you have been through the system and you know its loopholes and weaknesses.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 8 2008, 03:38 PM
limeuu
post Aug 8 2008, 03:04 PM

12,292 posts

eh.........you are saying the pmc website is lying through it's teeth.......?
hypermax
post Aug 8 2008, 03:37 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 8 2008, 03:04 PM)
eh.........you are saying the pmc website is lying through it's teeth.......?
Is it stated anywhere on the web site that its degree is registrable in Ireland?
Also, if Moscow state medical can lie about their school being ranked no. 2 worldwide, why not PMC?
Oh, btw, the article on Wiki is not reliable, as the article does not cite any references or sources.
Btw, where did you graduate from?

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 8 2008, 03:42 PM
limeuu
post Aug 8 2008, 05:35 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 8 2008, 03:37 PM)
Is it stated anywhere on the web site that its degree is registrable in Ireland?
Also, if Moscow state medical can lie about their school being ranked no. 2 worldwide, why not PMC?
Oh, btw, the article on Wiki is not reliable, as the article does not cite any references or sources.
Btw, where did you graduate from?
now you are accusing pmc of deliberately lying......wow........talk about badmouthing rivals......

the pmc site is down, so this will have to do, if you don't trust wiki.....http://www.rcsi.ie/index.jsp?1nID=93&pID=97&nID=1118

the degree is irish......so you will have to show us where is it ever stated the pmc pathway one is NOT recognised in ireland......

I can however show you that the pmc pathway is NOT recognised by smc........just go to the smc website.......
hypermax
post Aug 8 2008, 06:04 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 8 2008, 05:35 PM)
now you are accusing pmc of deliberately lying......wow........talk about badmouthing rivals......

the pmc site is down, so this will have to do, if you don't trust wiki.....http://www.rcsi.ie/index.jsp?1nID=93&pID=97&nID=1118

the degree is irish......so you will have to show us where is it ever stated the pmc pathway one is NOT recognised in ireland......

I can however show you that the pmc pathway is NOT recognised by smc........just go to the smc website.......
Nah, i never view them as my rival. In fact, training there should be better than Manipal, since the students there spent their pre clinical years in Ireland. I was just saying that even if they lied, there's no big deal to it, as according to you, Moscow state medical also lied about being ranked 2nd worldwide on its web site.

As i have stated before, i was told as such by a PMC student. Also, i have provided the list of Irish schools being recognized and registrable in Ireland, of which PMC is not included. Just go and check out Irish Medical Council web site yourself if you dun believe.
About the entry in wiki, it is stated by the wiki that the article is not reliable as it doesn't cite any sources or references. I didn't say those words.

Yeah, i know that PMC is not recognized by SMC, as i have stated that in my previous post. Pls dun repeat what i have stated.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 8 2008, 06:19 PM
limeuu
post Aug 8 2008, 06:11 PM

12,292 posts

imc site says NOTHING about not recognising the irish degree from the pmc pathway.....in fact there is NO SUCH THING AS A PMC DEGREE.....

you did not say anything about smc not recognising, wgy589 said it just a few posts above...
hypermax
post Aug 8 2008, 06:21 PM

2,524 posts

Dude, pls read my post properly. doh.gif

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 8 2008, 12:27 AM)
For an institution to be listed as "recognized" in IMED, it must first be recognized by the country where it is situated. There's no such thing as a school being listed in IMED as "recognized" while it is not recognized by the country of origin. The last time when KMC was de-recognized, its status in the IMED was written as "de-recognized".

Link 1 Link 2
As listed in IMED, both schools' graduation years are "current", which means they are recognized by the country of origin. As i have stated before, the final verdict lies in the Indian Ministry of Health (damn, i am beginning to sound like a broken radio).

As funny as it sounds, but India only recognizes medical institutions which have a sizable amount of Indian nationals. I am not sure how the recognition in India works but i am pretty sure that MMMC is not recognized by India. Also, many western institutions are not recognized by India.

Degree from PMC is not recognized by Ireland. Under IMED, PMC is listed as a distinct institution, which means that PMC's degree is actually a degree of its own. That's also the reason why PMC is not recognized by Singapore Medical Council, while the partner schools are recognized. In addition, Irish medical council only recognizes 5 Irish institutions, of which PMC is not included. The 5 schools are:

University of Dublin
Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
University College Cork
University College Dublin
National University of Ireland, Galway

Also, you are wrong about MMMC's degree. It is a Malaysian degree, i can assure you, and MMMC is listed under Malaysia in IMED. Link Therefore, even though KMC is de-recognized, MMMC will still be recognized by Malaysia. You can call/email MMMC or Malaysia Medical Council regarding this matter.

I am not defensive about this matter, it's just that you have the wrong concept of the whole thing. I am here to correct you.

Btw, are you going to reveal where you graduated from? I wonder why are you so secretive about it? rolleyes.gif
There are two possible reasons why the web site says nothing about PMC:
1. It is not recognized
2. Its degree is full degree from its partner schools.

If it is option 2, how come SMC doesn't recognize PMC?

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 8 2008, 06:26 PM
limeuu
post Aug 8 2008, 06:26 PM

12,292 posts

i stand corrected......

but the fact remains, there is NO pmc degree......its the Mb BCh BAO from NUI.........
hypermax
post Aug 8 2008, 06:27 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 8 2008, 06:26 PM)
i stand corrected......

but the fact remains, there is NO pmc degree......its the Mb BCh BAO from NUI.........
If there's no degree from PMC, why it is listed as a distinct entity in IMED? How come IMU's PMS program is not listed in IMED as a distinct entity?
blackrobin
post Aug 8 2008, 06:38 PM

semi-hardcore mobile enthusiast!!
998 posts

stop arguing would be wise a move now. heh.
PMC= rich dudes
MMMC= average-income dudes+ some are good,some are average,some are just lousy
1st world med schools (hate that labeling)= rich dudes+majority of them are good
But all will graduate as doctors that are equally competent,inquisitive, and caring. smile.gif
We shud instead share amongst ourself what we've learnt in our respective colleges so we can know what's lacking in us.
you may be complete, but u'r not perfect smile.gif

limeuu
post Aug 8 2008, 06:39 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 8 2008, 06:27 PM)
If there's no degree from PMC, why it is listed as a distinct entity in IMED? How come IMU's PMS program is not listed in IMED as a distinct entity?
there is NO degree from pmc......

School Name
PENANG MEDICAL COLLEGE
University Name
National University of Ireland
School Address
PLEASE REFER TO CONTACT INFORMATION
IRELAND
Phone
Data not currently available.
Fax
Email
Contacts
DEAN
4, JALAN SEPOY LINES
10450 PULAU PINANG
MALAYSIA
+60-4-226-3459 (phone)
+60-4-227-6529 (fax)
medfaculty@pmc.edu.my

DEAN
C/O UNIVERSITY COLLEGE DUBLIN
EARLSFORT TERRACE
DUBLIN 2
IRELAND

Website
http://www.pmc.edu.my
Former Official Names of Medical School/University
Not Applicable

Degree Title
MB, BCh, BAO
Graduation Years
1996 - Current
Year Instruction Began
Language of Instruction
English
Duration of the Curriculum
5-6 years
Entrance Examination Requirement
No
Foreign (Non-National) Students Eligible
Yes
Total Enrollment
Notes
Penang Medical College, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) and University College Dublin (UCD) offer the Irish Medical Program of Penang Medical College. The program combines pre-clinical training in Ireland at either RCSI or UCD with clinical training at Penang Hospital, Malaysia. The medical degree is awarded by the National University of Ireland.

hypermax
post Aug 8 2008, 06:44 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 8 2008, 06:39 PM)
there is NO degree from pmc......

School Name
PENANG MEDICAL COLLEGE
University Name
National University of Ireland
School Address
PLEASE REFER TO CONTACT INFORMATION
IRELAND
Phone
Fax
Email
Contacts
DEAN
4, JALAN SEPOY LINES
10450 PULAU PINANG
MALAYSIA
+60-4-226-3459 (phone)
+60-4-227-6529 (fax)
medfaculty@pmc.edu.my

DEAN
C/O UNIVERSITY COLLEGE DUBLIN
EARLSFORT TERRACE
DUBLIN 2
IRELAND

Website
http://www.pmc.edu.my
Former Official Names of Medical School/University
Not Applicable

Degree Title
MB, BCh, BAO
Graduation Years
1996 - Current
Year Instruction Began
Language of Instruction
English
Duration of the Curriculum
5-6 years
Entrance Examination Requirement
No
Foreign (Non-National) Students Eligible
Yes
Total Enrollment
Notes
Penang Medical College, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) and University College Dublin (UCD) offer the Irish Medical Program of Penang Medical College. The program combines pre-clinical training in Ireland at either RCSI or UCD with clinical training at Penang Hospital, Malaysia. The medical degree is awarded by the National University of Ireland.
Yes, it is awarded by NUI, but not a full degree from RCSI and UCD as stated above. MMMC's degree is also awarded by Manipal University, but not a full degree from KMC.

If you are working in a gov hospital, you would have noticed that people from PMC actually have stamps which look like this:
MB, BCh, BAO (PMC) instead of MB, BCh, BAO (RCSI)

As for graduates of MMMC
MBBS (MMMC), not MBBS (KMC)

Back to the topic of Manipal, there are several points I like to clarify:
1. Both KMC Manipal and Mangalore have yet to be officially de-recognized by the Indian Government. The final verdict lies in the hands of Indian MoH, not Indian Medical Council.

2. De-recognition due to excessive foreign students (mostly Indian from USA), not lack of facilities. For those of you who have been to Manipal or have friends there, you would know that the facilities are top notch, even superior than that of Malaysia from certain aspects (but definitely better than Melaka GH). The quota set for foreign students is only 40%, yet currently there are more than 60% of foreigners in both KMCs.

3. Degree from MMMC is not affected at all, as MMMC is a separate school, with its quality and syllabus being approved by Manipal University, as well as MMC and LAN.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 8 2008, 06:57 PM
limeuu
post Aug 8 2008, 06:57 PM

12,292 posts

one of the issues for parents of potential students at pmc is whether the pmc pathway awards in any way, a different category of degree from the home uni........and it is clearly stated in the prospectus that the degree is the same, and there is nothing on the paper itself indicating which pathway the graduate comes through......and it is registrable with the mci......

it is the same for the monash malaysia mbbs, it will be silent as to the campus (they have 3 for medicine), and is fully recognised by the amc.........

i know all this because i have examined all these options very carefully for a relative who is considering the options......

there is no need to argue.....

i don't know about mbbs(manipal), as it was not on our short list, it would however make little difference, since both pathways don't get you very far anyway internationally......
hypermax
post Aug 8 2008, 07:00 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 8 2008, 06:57 PM)
one of the issues for parents of potential students at pmc is whether the pmc pathway awards in any way, a different category of degree from the home uni........and it is clearly stated in the prospectus that the degree is the same, and there is nothing on the paper itself indicating which pathway the graduate comes through......and it is registrable with the mci......

it is the same for the monash malaysia mbbs, it will be silent as to the campus (they have 3 for medicine), and is fully recognised by the amc.........

i know all this because i have examined all these options very carefully for a relative who is considering the options......

there is no need to argue.....

i don't know about mbbs(manipal), as it was not on our short list, it would however make little difference, since both pathways don't get you very far anyway internationally......
Then perhaps you should give a call/email to PMC and ask properly. If not, your relative might end up like you, can't go far internationally.
But of course, if your relative ever consider to join PMC, better join RCSI or UCD straight away. Although more expensive, it's worth the price if you can afford it. wink.gif

Oh btw, if PMC degree is registrable in Ireland, how come almost all the fresh grads of PMC join local hospitals for housemanship instead of internship in Ireland? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 8 2008, 07:08 PM
limeuu
post Aug 8 2008, 07:09 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 8 2008, 07:00 PM)
Then perhaps you should give a call/email to PMC and ask properly. If not, your relative might end up like you, can't go far internationally.
But of course, if your relative ever consider to join PMC, better join RCSI or UCD straight away. Although more expensive, it's worth the price if you can afford it.  wink.gif
no need........decision is quite easy actually.......the only fail-safe programme locally is the imu-pms pathway......i am skeptical of pmc's 2 entry pathways, one directly to year 1, and if you don't make the cut off (eg ter 85-90), you can do a pre-med year (in ireland or penang)........

monash msia mbbs, while fully recognised, cannot enable one to work in oz, as one has to apply for pr first, since one has not studied onshore there for at least 2 years.........

anyone in the same boat, who needs advise, i can help....... smile.gif
hypermax
post Aug 8 2008, 07:18 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 8 2008, 07:09 PM)
no need........decision is quite easy actually.......the only fail-safe programme locally is the imu-pms pathway......i am skeptical of pmc's 2 entry pathways, one directly to year 1, and if you don't make the cut off (eg ter 85-90), you can do a pre-med year (in ireland or penang)........

monash msia mbbs, while fully recognised, cannot enable one to work in oz, as one has to apply for pr first, since one has not studied onshore there for at least 2 years.........

anyone in the same boat, who needs advise, i can help....... smile.gif
Yes, agree, IMU's PMS is the safest programme which will get one far internationally. Of course, the fee is blink.gif but not as expensive as direct entry though.

Btw, pls answer my question, if PMC degree is registrable in Ireland, how come almost all the fresh grads of PMC join local hospitals for housemanship instead of internship in Ireland?
wgy589
post Aug 8 2008, 07:31 PM

759 posts

hmm, i think PMC graduates can work in Ireland, but Irish housemanships are rather hard to get, and the Irish people prefer those with clinical experience in Ireland.
Btw, some of the PMC graduates did stay in Ireland.

"the first 14 students returned from Dublin to Penang in March 1999 and graduated in 2001. They now work in hospitals throughout Malaysia as well as Ireland and further afield"

from http://www.imt.ie/news/2008/07/malasian_do...ured_by_rc.html
limeuu
post Aug 8 2008, 07:46 PM

12,292 posts

ireland is not a favourite destination for work and training, there are fewer hospitals and vacancies, compared to uk itself.........and unfortunately, irish degree does not qualify one to automatically qualify to register with gmc.......so most would stay back in msia.....the other factor is, non familiarity with ireland after being back in msia for 3 years......knowing people and having good references is VERY important in getting jobs in that part of the world.........

in any case, the question has been answered...the lesson is do not presume......

it will be interesting to see how the first monash batch turn out in 2010......will they change the immigration rules to allow these new doctors to work in oz?....the 1st batch now in year 4 is certainly hoping for that......
hypermax
post Aug 8 2008, 08:24 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 8 2008, 07:46 PM)
ireland is not a favourite destination for work and training, there are fewer hospitals and vacancies, compared to uk itself.........and unfortunately, irish degree does not qualify one to automatically qualify to register with gmc.......so most would stay back in msia.....the other factor is, non familiarity with ireland after being back in msia for 3 years......knowing people and having good references is VERY important in getting jobs in that part of the world.........

in any case, the question has been answered...the lesson is do not presume......

it will be interesting to see how the first monash batch turn out in 2010......will they change the immigration rules to allow these new doctors to work in oz?....the 1st batch now in year 4 is certainly hoping for that......
Nope, did not presume, but learned the fact from talking to my friend and a doctor in Melaka GH. I dun think they will lie or be misinformed about their own college right? Or perhaps what they meant was like what wgy589 had said, that ireland prefer people with clinical experience?

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 8 2008, 08:27 PM

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0249sec    1.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:45 AM