153 Pages « < 144 145 146 147 148 > » Bottom

Car Detailing, How I did mine....

GreenJellyBean
post Jan 22 2013, 09:49 PM

779 posts

With the method of preparation being equivalent, sealant will normally outlast wax but wax will always look add depth while sealant only offer gloss. So if I apply too much sealant, my white car looks like a very shiny plastic (haha) while apply many layer of wax will not have the same problem.

Here is my experience with different type of product, all applied after claying (without paint cleaners). I just checked visually for beading or sheeting effect.

Mothers cleaner wax = 2-3 weeks
Meg's NXT 2.0 = 1 month
Klasse AIO top up with Klasse SG sealant = 2 months
Duragloss 501 top up with Klasse SG sealant = still beading after 2 weeks ago.

Please remember this is only my experience and it is in no way scientifically tested. Sometimes its just the weather.

my advise for a lazy guy is to apply sealant then top up with wax regularly on the horizontal panel (bonnet etc). I usually leave the vertical panel (doors) alone because not much sheeting/beading needed.

next I am gonna get a 845 insulator wax to play with smile.gif

Quazacolt
post Jan 22 2013, 11:24 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 22 2013, 09:16 PM)
How long can a wax last? Just realize my spray wax only for 3 weeks, in between 1 wash with ONR.

Or my method of application not thorough enough?
kura kura also over a month lol.
MyWifeCar
post Jan 22 2013, 11:33 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 22 2013, 11:24 PM)
kura kura also over a month lol.
Nah, I don't believe you~ tongue.gif

I realized that I washed my car with half the amount of recommended car wash shampoo for a 2 galon water, no wonder my MF pad is so freaking dirty.

Let's me try Einszett Spray Wax on the other car and will feedback on the result.

I thought KrisMas is going to be the new thread starter, what happened?
Quazacolt
post Jan 23 2013, 01:38 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 22 2013, 11:33 PM)
Nah, I don't believe you~  tongue.gif

I realized that I washed my car with half the amount of recommended car wash shampoo for a 2 galon water, no wonder my MF pad is so freaking dirty.

Let's me try Einszett Spray Wax on the other car and will feedback on the result.

I thought KrisMas is going to be the new thread starter, what happened?
few days ago stopped beading. iinm my wax was done around 10ish december.

well, the stupid label says "lasts up to 12 months" obviously bullshit w
Quazacolt
post Jan 23 2013, 01:38 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jan 22 2013, 04:41 PM)

o ya unker, that new thread apamacam? lol
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 09:19 AM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 22 2013, 09:16 PM)
How long can a wax last? Just realize my spray wax only for 3 weeks, in between 1 wash with ONR.

Or my method of application not thorough enough?
QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 22 2013, 11:33 PM)
Einszett Spray Wax....wanted very much to try this one...but budget too tight lately...saving for 'something special'.... brows.gif
Anyway, reading the descriptions, it's suppose to be just a 'topper' so 3 weeks durability as a stand-alone should be very decent. But what you can try is, after using it on the car, pull out your car under the sun to 'bake' it for a couple of hours. I find that doing this with Meg's Ultimate Quick Wax can stretch it's durability (beadings).

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 23 2013, 01:38 AM)
well, the stupid label says "lasts up to 12 months" obviously bullshit
Well...they didn't actually lie. 'Up to' 12 months can be anything between 1 day to 364 days.... tongue.gif

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 23 2013, 01:38 AM)
o ya unker, that new thread apamacam? lol
Aiyoyo...I know this would come out sooner or later. But still couldn't manage to find the free time lar. Anyway, I'm always known to be VERY slow so if anybody else want to start the new thread please go ahead la....don't mind me....
Quazacolt
post Jan 23 2013, 10:28 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jan 23 2013, 09:19 AM)
after using it on the car, pull out your car under the sun to 'bake' it for a couple of hours. I find that doing this with Meg's Ultimate Quick Wax can stretch it's durability (beadings).

Well...they didn't actually lie. 'Up to' 12 months can be anything between 1 day to 364 days.... tongue.gif

Aiyoyo...I know this would come out sooner or later. But still couldn't manage to find the free time lar. Anyway, I'm always known to be VERY slow so if anybody else want to start the new thread please go ahead la....don't mind me....
hmm wouldn't wax "melt" under heat, so baking it would actually have a reversed effect? or it works in the sense that baking it would get the wax to go deeper into the pores/crevasse of the car surface?

and yea in that sense that is true. but damn i only see 12 months lasting if the car is just put in show room/garage and never drive/sun bake at all rofl

for the thread, just create a new blank thread (of course with the titles/subtitles la lol! ) and reserve 2-3 post and leave it till you got time lo tongue.gif
MyWifeCar
post Jan 23 2013, 10:48 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jan 23 2013, 09:19 AM)
Einszett Spray Wax....wanted very much to try this one...but budget too tight lately...saving for 'something special'.... brows.gif
Anyway, reading the descriptions, it's suppose to be just a 'topper' so 3 weeks durability as a stand-alone should be very decent. But what you can try is, after using it on the car, pull out your car under the sun to 'bake' it for a couple of hours. I find that doing this with Meg's Ultimate Quick Wax can stretch it's durability (beadings).
That something special, if you mean big foot, then I am in too.

Just come up with some simple info first, then edit/add-on from there.
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 23 2013, 10:28 AM)
hmm wouldn't wax "melt" under heat, so baking it would actually have a reversed effect? or it works in the sense that baking it would get the wax to go deeper into the pores/crevasse of the car surface?
Not sure why....but I think it helps with the curing and cross-linking or something. Whatever it is, it worked for me with the 2 waxes and 1 sealant that I tried with this method.

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 23 2013, 10:48 AM)
brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
GreenJellyBean
post Jan 23 2013, 01:51 PM

779 posts

did i hear big foot? wah... where do you plan to get the Rupes stuff?
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 02:07 PM

QUOTE(GreenJellyBean @ Jan 23 2013, 01:51 PM)
Not far... tongue.gif
MyWifeCar
post Jan 23 2013, 02:51 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

Hands-on experience together with FLX too (If I see the machine correctly)

Less vibration but twice the effect. (The more experience detailer say one, I mata rabun...tak nampak pon laugh.gif)
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 23 2013, 10:48 AM)
I hope you guys realise that the Bigfoot (both the LHR15 & LHR21) would be in the four figure price range. But if trully interested, I might be able to ask the supplier to send up a few for you guys. Provided that his coming shipment/stocks aren't spoken for yet.

This post has been edited by KrisMas: Jan 23 2013, 02:58 PM
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 23 2013, 02:51 PM)
Hands-on experience together with FLX too (If I see the machine correctly)

Less vibration but twice the effect. (The more experience detailer say one, I mata rabun...tak nampak pon  laugh.gif)
Just to add. The machine you saw/tried the other day was the Flex 3401VRG vs Rupes LHR15 & LHR21. You didn't take any pictures ah?
MyWifeCar
post Jan 23 2013, 03:04 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jan 23 2013, 02:56 PM)
Just to add. The machine you saw/tried the other day was the Flex 3401VRG vs Rupes LHR15 & LHR21. You didn't take any pictures ah?
That hood is not really in a "proper" condition for me to be amazed by the effect of polishing.

If I can have 1 or pinjam me before CNY, then I can detail my friend's car.

This thing really is nice to use, handling is much better than the FLEX. Then we did managed to compare the sanding mark removal results, to me as a noob, I am impressed lar.
What more, use 1 hand also can. laugh.gif

Now the question is, who want to buy my unused wool pad, polishing pad and adapter from Detailien????

I thought the distributor got take photos ma, ask him to share lar.
GreenJellyBean
post Jan 23 2013, 03:09 PM

779 posts

Well the flex and big foot are both forced rotation DA which already retail for close to 400 in the UK.

I am more interested in DAS6Pro or G220v2, still undecided over this 2.

btw, how do you guys get most of your detailing product? Anyone selling Klasse, Poorboys or any other autogeek product in Malaysia? So far I only manage to order optimum and duragloss from local.
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 03:29 PM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 23 2013, 03:04 PM)
I thought the distributor got take photos ma, ask him to share lar.
I'll try to ask him to upload in our fb group la. That guy so secretive one....and difficult to catch.

QUOTE(GreenJellyBean @ Jan 23 2013, 03:09 PM)
I am more interested in DAS6Pro or G220v2, still undecided over this 2.

btw, how do you guys get most of your detailing product? Anyone selling Klasse, Poorboys or any other autogeek product in Malaysia? So far I only manage to order optimum and duragloss from local.
Why undecided? Let me persuade you a little la. Both machines come from the same source and you're actually paying for the brand name for the more expensive of the two, whereby it's actually the cheaper of the two. And DAS6Pro=Ultramate. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by KrisMas: Jan 23 2013, 03:33 PM
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 03:33 PM

Well the flex and big foot are both forced rotation  DA which already retail for close to 400 in the UK.
Would it be more interesting to you if I were to say that the Bigfoot *might* have a price tag of around $400 instead of £400.... brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
KrisMas
post Jan 23 2013, 03:43 PM

There are a few 'serious' kakis up there in Penang. You should hook up with them. Don't ask me how they got them but those guys have all sort of products from everywhere around the world man. Does the name Bernard rings any bell?
GreenJellyBean
post Jan 23 2013, 03:46 PM

779 posts

DAS6PRO is 800W and G220v2 is only 500W. I do not think they are the same machine. maybe DAS6 and G220v2 is, since both 500W but I am looking at both which is the same price range. I can get them from UK with sea shipping.

Local distributor thinks it takes so much effort to ship a 5kg metal that they can mark it up to RM1650..

I prefer to buy your second hand DA if you guys plan to dispose after owning bigfoot. lol. I am cheap haha.

153 Pages « < 144 145 146 147 148 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:53 AM