153 Pages « < 143 144 145 146 147 > » Bottom

Car Detailing, How I did mine....

KrisMas
post Jan 18 2013, 10:38 PM

QUOTE(GreenJellyBean @ Jan 18 2013, 07:56 PM)
KrisMas: I read from autogeek that aggressive clay doesn't cut but will introduce marring instead. However, I do think it is that visible or maybe my standard of acceptable gloss is lower. Haha..

Usually i only use mild clay because the aggressive clay is very soft and I find it very sticky.

I was using PG clay, so you know my level of acceptance la. haha
I think the 'marring' that they meant is clay residue...like u said...cuz it's 'soft and sticky'. The possibility of scratches might also occur since the aggressiveness of the clay might just shear off and pick up a relatively largher 'chunk' of the contaminant and, if not careful, you'd be wiping that 'chunk' to and fro on the paint. That is just my theory through the limited experience I have with aggressive clay. I say 'limited' cuz I've only clayed a whole car using an aggressive clay twice, ever.

I wouldn't say PG clays are bad. My bad experience with them is when they tend to deteriorate and 'crumble' on me half way through a claying session. It may just be me using wrong choice of lub or some other faults of mine, but the same has not recurred with the rest of the other 'branded' clays that I bought afterwards, namely from Soft99, Meguiars, 3M, Bilt Hamber, Optimum and Riccardo.

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 18 2013, 08:24 PM)
Even clay also have different types, so if I use PG Clay and clay twice, will it clean better??
I think PG also has different grades, from mild to aggressive. I can't remember which number is which. Some brand even market them as for different paint colour when, in fact, they're actually of different aggressiveness.

Will claying twice clean better? I'm not sure. But I did test out claying with a mild clay until nothing more is being picked up and, when changing to a more aggressive clay, I can still get some more dirt/grit off the paint.
mobeus
post Jan 19 2013, 11:21 PM

51 posts

How long to wait for a wax to dry? Is there any method to know?
GreenJellyBean
post Jan 20 2013, 09:29 AM

779 posts

I am using pg clay number2. But changing to 3m when my stock arrive. For car detailing you will need to try a lot and experiment, that is part of the fun. I like reading autogeek and then trying those highly recommended product. There are stuff that works but take too much effort haha and I end up giving it to my gang to try.

Recently I used dura gloss 501 and it really make the metallic flakes in the paint pops. I feel a lot of satisfaction seeing all the dirt in the paint get picked up in the applicator pad
idunnolol
post Jan 20 2013, 10:10 AM

1,044 posts

Hi Guys

Will Sierra glow be good enough for my car? According to some people. It still look like showroom unit after 5 year of application, Really a shocking.gif
GreenJellyBean
post Jan 20 2013, 04:03 PM

779 posts

5 years with careful hand wash gua.
KrisMas
post Jan 20 2013, 10:33 PM

QUOTE(mobeus @ Jan 19 2013, 11:21 PM)
How long to wait for a wax to dry? Is there any method to know?
errmm....dry as in ready to be buff off (residue) or dry as in for the car ready to go out? oh...and which wax?

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jan 20 2013, 10:10 AM)
Hi Guys

Will Sierra glow be good enough for my car? According to some people. It still look like showroom unit after 5 year of application, Really a shocking.gif
Good luck. I haven't seen any 5 years old cars, as of yet, that 'looks like showroom unit', unless it's just after been detailed by a pro.....
idunnolol
post Jan 21 2013, 12:30 AM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(GreenJellyBean @ Jan 20 2013, 04:03 PM)
5 years with careful hand wash gua.
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jan 20 2013, 10:33 PM)
errmm....dry as in ready to be buff off (residue) or dry as in for the car ready to go out? oh...and which wax?
Good luck. I haven't seen any 5 years old cars, as of yet, that 'looks like showroom unit', unless it's just after been detailed by a pro.....
Ok bro, Then what is the realistic result from sierra glow?
KrisMas
post Jan 21 2013, 09:35 AM

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jan 21 2013, 12:30 AM)
Ok bro, Then what is the realistic result from sierra glow?
I've learned/heard that 2 years is the max for most of the coatings available in the markets before they start to degrade. And I'm just talking about degradation of the coating itself, and not defects caused by improper maintenance (eg. swirls, wash marring, scratch, scuffs, etc.).
mobeus
post Jan 21 2013, 06:05 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jan 20 2013, 10:33 PM)
Dry as in ready to be buff off. Ermm..i dun remember..but it is meguiars, came along with the clay kit. Cleaner wax or sumtin.
junbecks
post Jan 21 2013, 10:32 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(mobeus @ Jan 21 2013, 06:05 PM)
Dry as in ready to be buff off. Ermm..i dun remember..but it is meguiars, came along with the clay kit. Cleaner wax or sumtin.
swipe your finger over the haze, if it comes off nicely and theres no smudge, should be ready. Normally at this point I'd give it another 5 minutes. But cleaner wax is so basic and simple to use. Other waxes or sealants can be a PITA.
KrisMas
post Jan 22 2013, 10:03 AM

QUOTE(mobeus @ Jan 21 2013, 06:05 PM)
Aiyo...not the Meg's Cleaner Wax that comes in a reddish/maroon color bottle is it? That one you need to work it until it dissapear then, after finishing the whole car, go over another round with a soft mf cloth to remove any leftover residue (shouldn't be much of it left). But, to tell you the truth and sorry to say, the Meg's Cleaner Wax is not much of a cleaner nor a wax...just an average of both.
mav3rick
post Jan 22 2013, 01:17 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jan 22 2013, 10:03 AM)
Aiyo...not the Meg's Cleaner Wax that comes in a reddish/maroon color bottle is it? That one you need to work it until it dissapear then, after finishing the whole car, go over another round with a soft mf cloth to remove any leftover residue (shouldn't be much of it left). But, to tell you the truth and sorry to say, the Meg's Cleaner Wax is not much of a cleaner nor a wax...just an average of both.
from my minimum experience, it is more polish, less wax tongue.gif but it doesn't really do either job well. From the MO forums, some are using the Cleaner Wax on the underside of their bonnet.. biggrin.gif talk about being car crazy ...
GreenJellyBean
post Jan 22 2013, 02:35 PM

779 posts

Actually for the price you are paying (RM60++) for a 2 in 1 combo in Malaysia, I think it is a good deal la, as it saved you lots of time from applying twice.

Just an advice, try not to buy a wax with cleaner properties. Sometimes you have sealant already and you just want to top up some wax, the cleaning properties will eat into the sealant. Its good to get a all in one with sealant or polish, but not wax.

Try to get a wax which is easy on and easy off which do not require buffing, saves you the time and you will be more motivated to apply it smile.gif

mobeus
post Jan 22 2013, 03:55 PM

51 posts

Owh..thanks for all the reply. The wax come with the kit..so i thought might as well use it. Hehe. I saw some beading effect (betol ke term ni). I never knew it gives sooo much satisfaction when seeing it.

BTW..do we need to rinse off / wipe dry the car after rain. Or just let it be
KrisMas
post Jan 22 2013, 04:24 PM

QUOTE(mobeus @ Jan 22 2013, 03:55 PM)
BTW..do we need to rinse off / wipe dry the car after rain. Or just let it be
DO NOT WIPE DRY if the car's been driven. Just rinsing with water alone also won't remove much of dirt on the car so, on both occasions, when you wipe, you'll be picking up dirt with your cloth and moving it around the paint....SWIRLS!!!

Best would be, if you're really anal, proper wash with shampoo or blow (with a blower or course) the water off. This is where a healthy protection/wax comes in handy as the water beads would/could be blow off and leaves the surface *almost* dry....
KrisMas
post Jan 22 2013, 04:25 PM

....but personally, I'd just let it be and wash the car properly in my free time.
GreenJellyBean
post Jan 22 2013, 04:30 PM

779 posts

lol, just let it be la. There are more important things in life that this.

Its the tree sap, bird droppings that you have to worry about.
KrisMas
post Jan 22 2013, 04:41 PM

^^^GreenJellyBean had just put it better than me...there's plenty of other commitments thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Quazacolt
post Jan 22 2013, 08:30 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jan 22 2013, 04:25 PM)
....but personally, I'd just let it be and wash the car properly in my free time.
^

this. lol thumbup.gif
MyWifeCar
post Jan 22 2013, 09:16 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jan 22 2013, 04:24 PM)
DO NOT WIPE DRY if the car's been driven. Just rinsing with water alone also won't remove much of dirt on the car so, on both occasions, when you wipe, you'll be picking up dirt with your cloth and moving it around the paint....SWIRLS!!!

Best would be, if you're really anal, proper wash with shampoo or blow (with a blower or course) the water off. This is where a healthy protection/wax comes in handy as the water beads would/could be blow off and leaves the surface *almost* dry....
How long can a wax last? Just realize my spray wax only for 3 weeks, in between 1 wash with ONR.

Or my method of application not thorough enough?

153 Pages « < 143 144 145 146 147 > » Top

0.0398sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:08 PM