Food Fine Dining Recommendations, Romantic, Birthday & special occassions

goldfries
post Mar 1 2010, 11:43 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

overseas considered chinese fine dining meh?
kons
post Mar 2 2010, 12:22 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Mar 1 2010, 02:23 PM)
Haha....yeah. Now I revealed edi my secret why I always go Prime. 1kg of Prime ribs only cost RM125 if you have card. It can be shared for 3-4 people lor. I can lend to you too but make sure you fulfill "starbucks grande + potato chip + cake + salad also can"  tongue.gif

Added on March 1, 2010, 2:25 pm
Understood already. Will try it after Phuket Trip since this Saturday Cynna already full house.
4 people only get 25% off..
2 people get 50% off..
I lub new york sirloin...
blynn123
post Mar 2 2010, 01:04 AM

221 posts

planning on a 18-year-old birthday bash . but the problem is , i couldn't settle on a good restaurant at penang .
could anyone give me advice ?

how's the pricing on 32 the mansion , sire ?

SUSSyedBrix
post Mar 2 2010, 01:31 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 1 2010, 11:43 PM)
overseas considered chinese fine dining meh?
when your bill per table is above RM8k, could it be considered as fine dining ?
10 pax - RM 8,888++ = RM888.88++ per person

some gwailou fine dining dun reach that price wor

mikecmy
post Mar 2 2010, 01:52 AM

734 posts

planning to celebrate my gal's bday tmr, any place to intro for 10 pax?
SUSSyedBrix
post Mar 2 2010, 02:16 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(mikecmy @ Mar 2 2010, 01:52 AM)
planning to celebrate my gal's bday tmr, any place to intro for 10 pax?
euro deli
samlee860407
post Mar 2 2010, 08:30 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(blynn123 @ Mar 2 2010, 01:04 AM)
planning on a 18-year-old birthday bash . but the problem is , i couldn't settle on a good restaurant at penang .

suffolk house better than 32 the mansion imho

never try sire before, but seems nice from what i read

suffolk house pricing - RM90 to Rm125 for a 7 course set

32 the mansion is a bit cheaper than suffolk, around rm20 lo....

many blog you can refer ma for those 3 place, what2seeonline, lingzie, and mine lol
goldfries
post Mar 2 2010, 03:27 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(SyedBrix @ Mar 2 2010, 01:31 AM)
when your bill per table is above RM8k, could it be considered as fine dining ?
10 pax - RM 8,888++ = RM888.88++ per person

some gwailou fine dining dun reach that price wor
is that a special package or something?

cos i tot their like tai thong only wan. hrmrmr............. need to check further.

fine dining is more than just price, no?

vey99
post Mar 2 2010, 03:40 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

chinese fine dine is not same as angmoh fine dining.

angmoh one is dark dark and got wine one

cina is got x.o one
stimix
post Mar 2 2010, 03:50 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For me fine dining is more lik you paying for the decor, the professional chef & sometime imported chef & etc.

You sometime pay for the environment & romantic setting etc rather than the food quality (Well certain restaurants for sure nice-lah) but still..the pricing.....That's not to the average M'sian income earner reach liao...

goldfries
post Mar 2 2010, 03:54 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah, i find it like that also.

the food is ok la but generally i find not eat until satisfied full type. sad.gif

basically you pay for the chef, as if he's an artist decorating the food nice nice with very tiny portion of high quality stuff.

like this one. look soooooo big but hor, each item 1 bite mostly can settle. sad.gif

this one also

you see the prawn you can agak how big it is la?

cincai 8 course meal those so-so prawn also bigger. tongue.gif
Putraskyline
post Mar 2 2010, 05:05 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 2 2010, 03:50 PM)
For me fine dining is more lik you paying for the decor, the professional chef & sometime imported chef & etc.

You sometime pay for the environment & romantic setting etc rather than the food quality (Well certain restaurants for sure nice-lah) but still..the pricing.....That's not to the average M'sian income earner reach liao...
Sometime the skill need to prepare the dish are important. One plate = 3 bite but take hefty time to prepare.
goldfries
post Mar 2 2010, 05:07 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

it's for those who appreciate it to pay for it. biggrin.gif i must admit the one I had at Xenri was interesting. The dished i find to be special, and i had fun playing with that tiny igloo they presented with the food, holding the beef or whatever it was.
JL0492
post Mar 2 2010, 05:18 PM

QUOTE(blynn123 @ Mar 2 2010, 01:04 AM)

worked in penang for sometime so here is my advice.

Restaurant 32: Very good fine dining restaurant. If you have the money and can spend for good wine, this is the place. You might want to reserve a room
for you and your guests.

Deluxcious Spa and Restaurant: Just almost across 32, this restaurant has an extensive menu at various price range for your budget. The spa is located in the 2nd floor while the restaurant is on the 1st floor. You can contact the restaurant owner and cook himself (Keith) if you want to design your birthday menu.
I'm sure he is more than willing to do it for you. Of course, they also have good wines for your enjoyment.

I hope the above helps smile.gif

Happy Birthday! party.gif bday.gif
samlee860407
post Mar 2 2010, 05:24 PM

4,631 posts

chinese fine dining and western too different d

chinese fine dining IN MALAYSIA is like using those super mahal food to cook, dint really care how the food looks like when served, and the environment

its diff like western style, food used might not be super mahal, but looks very very cantik, and portion macam super duper small also

besides, 1 more thing is chinese fine dining is usually 1 plate everyone share, western style is u eat ur own. although now some chinese restaurant also learn ang moh way liao

goldfries
post Mar 2 2010, 06:22 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

order 1 dish with some power crab and power fish also set you back few hundred already. biggrin.gif
ivern
post Mar 3 2010, 12:28 AM

20 posts

Hi all,

I am planning to celebrate my gf's bday 2 weeks from now..

Is there any recommendation for western dinner for 2 person? Hopefully less than RM1000 la..

I am planning to propose to her that night..

TQTQ
goldfries
post Mar 3 2010, 12:31 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

define western a bit more. tongue.gif I think you go order those lovely cuts at Prime could already reach quite some sum. add some wine to the dining experience. chaching (to the restaurant) already.
Putraskyline
post Mar 3 2010, 12:32 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(ivern @ Mar 3 2010, 12:28 AM)
Hi all,

I am planning to  celebrate my gf's bday 2 weeks from now..

Is there any recommendation for western dinner for 2 person? Hopefully less than RM1000 la..

I am planning to propose to her that night..

TQTQ
Wow.....hefty budget smile.gif Head on 5 course romantic French at Lafite.
SUSSyedBrix
post Mar 3 2010, 04:40 AM

51 posts

castell's @ sek 16 pj

105 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:11 AM