Food Fine Dining Recommendations, Romantic, Birthday & special occassions

Putraskyline
post Nov 24 2008, 09:14 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(ohho_poon @ Nov 24 2008, 12:31 AM)
next month is the anniversary day with my love one.
would like to go places which is romantic or candle light dinner those kind of ambient.

but still no idea about it, what i know is preferrable places in Klang valley, budget wise RM100 per person like that.

any recommendation from all of you?

have doing some research but no idea about their food and ambient.

Tamarind
http://www.tamarindrestaurants.com/tamarindhill/location.php

Top Hat
http://www.top-hat-restaurants.com/locationmap.html

Maredo´s Steakhouse
No: 1, Jalan Telawi 5, Bangsar Baru
59100, WP Kuala Lumpur

Prime Steak Restaurant
http://www.starwoodhotels.com/lemeridien/p...propertyID=1840

Added on November 24, 2008, 12:38 amrepeat thread moderator please help to close one
Tamarind : Great ambience, amazing indochinese food. A bit pricey around 200++ for two.

Tophat : I never been into this restaurant yet.

Maredo : Good steak, simple . Around 80 per head. Steak price was a bit above any popular steakhouse.

Prime : Great steak I've ever tried. I like the ambient and of course they can do romantic dinner for you if you mentioned on your reservation. On the other side, the price are totally cost you bomb. Expect 500++ for middle class meat.

Other restaurant that I'm suggested :

Angus Steakhouse, Pavillion. (Western)
Fisherman Cove, Starhill (Exotics Seafood)
El Amar, Pavillion. (Middle East)

Added on November 24, 2008, 9:16 am
QUOTE(812799 @ Nov 24 2008, 12:45 AM)
tbh i wanna hijack this thread as well ... mine is on the 14th next month , i was thinking "the ship" ... any1 tried b4 ?
I was tried before. I can places this steakhouse at my last list to go. Nothing special.

Added on November 24, 2008, 9:17 am
QUOTE(812799 @ Nov 24 2008, 12:55 AM)
hotel restaurants normally cost 1001 bombs when the bills arrives ... i was thinking either "the ship" , "san francisco steakhouse" , "victoria station" ...
Topup your budget a bit and enjoy your steak at Maredo. Its better than your list there.

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Nov 24 2008, 09:17 AM
Putraskyline
post Nov 25 2008, 08:56 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 25 2008, 02:59 AM)
right. at least this gives us better view of what you want.

usually Hotels cater pretty well. I just had lunch at Westin KL and it was nice. No idea about the restaurants but I heard it's good.

personally, if I were you I'd top up the budget a bit more cos those places offer you what you had in mind are almost always more pricey.
dark and dim, one secluded corner of the building.

http://kyspeaks.com/2008/06/20/ky-eats-bru...bar-at-jaya-33/

wanna try?
Which restaurant do you lunch at?Mind to describe more? I never been other restaurant in Westin except Prego.

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Nov 25 2008, 08:56 AM
Putraskyline
post Dec 26 2008, 12:50 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Dec 18 2008, 09:55 PM)
That day I saw Tamarind Hill restaurant at Jalan Sultan Ismail, just beside the Wisma KFC. They open a branch there, or they move there?
Yeah Tamarind Hill have moved to Jln Sultan Ismail. Tamarind Spring place remain the same.
Putraskyline
post Feb 7 2009, 10:50 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

I tried Gaucho Grill which serves Argentinian Steak today at Chulan Square. Very great ambient/setting and this restaurant can fight Maredo in term of food quality. In term of price, Rm100++ per person is great enough. My bill come Rm 240++ and Amex CC holder would enjoyed another 15% off on 1 Mains. Total Bill including 2 mains, salad/soup, 1 dessert and 2 drinks.

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Feb 7 2009, 10:51 PM
Putraskyline
post Feb 8 2009, 08:57 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Feb 8 2009, 04:27 PM)
i wonder where u guys plan to spend valentine's day  hmm.gif
I'm going to try shook!
Putraskyline
post Mar 6 2009, 12:43 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(terryykf @ Mar 6 2009, 11:32 AM)
JOGOYA,i been thr,sounds ok.
Ya,Cafe Cafe I would like to have a try also,i heard the comments for this restaurant not bad.
Kampachi located in Pavilion right?
Kampachi = Equatorial Hotel and Pavillion

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Mar 6 2009, 12:43 PM
Putraskyline
post Mar 24 2009, 08:29 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(eric^jeff @ Mar 24 2009, 08:00 AM)
the curve hav any nice food? i know there's a lot... duno which one is cheap and nice, budget RM 50 for 2.

Italliannies still have the pasta promotion? 4 choices = RM 29.90++ ??

how about "the apartment"?? i cant look at the pricelist......as the website...
Dunno about Italiannies but Rm50 for 2 at "The Apartment" are not enough.
Putraskyline
post Jul 23 2009, 10:31 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(eric^jeff @ Jul 21 2009, 02:14 PM)
Anyone know the menu of federal hotel revolving restaurant?

looking forward to hav a dining place with new experience. Can move 1 le..... only 2 in KL, kl tower & federal hotel.

I know penang have 1 also.... but too far for me.
How about Putrajaya Cruise Dinner? Can move also. tongue.gif
Putraskyline
post Aug 7 2009, 10:02 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(Cas @ Aug 6 2009, 07:33 PM)
Dahling, it's next to Dewan Pustaka KL, Jalan Maharajalela. It's like a slice of Paris in KL smile.gif You can opt for the set (soup, main course, 2 types of dessert) from RM79 onwards to RM120 over. There's also a small selection of pasta approx RM28 each dish. Their famous dish is the lamb. Drinks are on the steep side and they're not even alcoholic drinks mind you.

This is the place to go to propose someone, lol coz it's very romantic. Just google and check out the pictures and review but of course nothing beats like being there.

Btw they're also the same owners of The Banquet in Bangsar Village. Also highly recommended - they serve chinese and western, the baked fish is to die for! And the avocado juice, yum yum
The Banquet in Bangsar Village are awesome. Food is great but I don't like their setting.
Putraskyline
post Aug 7 2009, 12:51 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Aug 7 2009, 10:51 AM)
i like opus and cava. i dunno why but its a place that keeps attracting me back. food is constantly good too.
Where is that? hmm.gif
Putraskyline
post Aug 7 2009, 07:51 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Aug 7 2009, 06:22 PM)
jalan bangkung, bangsar. go try. i rekomen these 2 , same owner, side by side. 1 italian and 1 western fusion dunno cham wat. but both is fine dining, both oso servis u wine for connoiseurs and both is A1 class.
btw opus is more western asian cham cham dunno what. cava is italian and they got 1 more also same row i forgot wat name. that one u dont go waste time.
we bring vkeong to spesial dinner in puchong next time at the golden mile. got 30 van to choose from .
Got it. Will try this weekend. Wine is out for me tongue.gif
Putraskyline
post Oct 23 2009, 01:07 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 23 2009, 12:31 AM)
how can The Apartment be good food la? You're the first person I see saying it has good food. smile.gif what's good there?
Ermmm....I'm having good free dinner there tongue.gif Their dessert awesome lar.
Putraskyline
post Oct 30 2009, 03:24 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Oct 25 2009, 11:00 PM)
victoria station serves pretty decent steaks for a cheap price. ambience is pretty much king's cross style
Its not fine dining. Its cowboy dining
Putraskyline
post Oct 31 2009, 07:23 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(santana @ Oct 31 2009, 06:52 PM)
Thanks for the infomation..
Most probally I'll choose Frangipani since Tamarind full of mosquitos and Lafite food has deteriorate...any comments or reviews bout the place?
For me, food are not deteriorate. They are different in style and food served. But Lafite are more famous under Kevin Cherkas with his molecular cuisine.
Putraskyline
post Nov 1 2009, 10:02 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(santana @ Nov 1 2009, 12:30 PM)
So, is Kevin Cherkas still available?
Comparing ambience between Lafite and Frangipani?
He's moved to Shangri La S'pore. Now changed to Canadian Chef but I forgot his name. I would choose Lafite over Frangipani because food quality is about the same but I like Lafite ambient more.

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Nov 1 2009, 10:05 PM
Putraskyline
post Nov 2 2009, 02:23 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(santana @ Nov 2 2009, 12:23 PM)
the pricing between Lafite & Frangipani almost the same right?
Any website on Lafite?
Not the same. Lafite cost more. Google Shangrila KL and Lafite is under them.
Putraskyline
post Nov 3 2009, 06:08 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Nov 3 2009, 05:31 PM)
I prefer Damon to Kevin. Didn't enjoy Kevin's cooking as much, but Damon's was a breath of fresh air. Damon seems like a pretty funny guy. He told me to let him know next time I go to Lafite, so he will prepare something different instead of the same old things in the tasting menu. Made me want to book el Bulli but was put off by the 3-year long waiting list. Went to Bacchus in London instead, where a former student of Ferran Adria was plying his trade. Nice decent meal, but fine dining Bacchus closed down early this year and turned into a pub.

So what are your favourite fine dining restaurants that you've tried (worldwide, not just in Malaysia)?
Mine are (number of Michelin stars that I know of; may be out of date):
KL - Frangipani, Lafite, Zipangu, Iketeru
Hong Kong - Zuma, Pierre (1)
London - Galvin at Windows, Fifteen, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay (3), Gordon Ramsay @ Claridges (1), Marcus Waering @ the Berkeley (2), Bluebird, Aubergine (1), Zuma, Nobu (1), Chez Bruce (1), Assagi (1)
Pauillac - Cordeillan-Bages (2)
Vienna - Vincent,  Steirereck (1), Fadinger
Prague - Pravda, and another whose name I can't remember (located in the basement, near Wenceslas Square)
Brno - Brabander
Wow...Excellent taste. Would like to know if you get to dine in at el Bulli though. Update me if you are through their 2-3 years waiting list tongue.gif

Added on November 3, 2009, 6:09 pm
QUOTE(santana @ Nov 2 2009, 05:27 PM)
Thanks for the info bro..how much more expensive?
for dinner guys have to wear suit?
Expect 250+ per person while 150+ for Frangipani.

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Nov 3 2009, 06:09 PM
Putraskyline
post Nov 10 2009, 12:14 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 10 2009, 12:06 PM)
any restaurants in kl has michelin rating?
I doubt any.
Putraskyline
post Dec 16 2009, 02:13 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Dec 16 2009, 10:02 AM)
med.@marche how ar? interested to go there wif my meleis gf
They are closed as I try to reserve last weekend. They told me they will relaunch after renovation near the Xmas.
Putraskyline
post Dec 19 2009, 11:44 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(dripinrain @ Dec 19 2009, 11:31 AM)
Oh no.. i came in looking for recommendations for taking my family for dinner gathering but found the last 2pg consisting of arguments over language & chinese/western food.

Can we have arguements over which is the best food outlet instead ?
Yeah I know that. What type of food you are interested in? At the 1st pages, there are a list of recommendation of great restaurant but chinese cuisine are not there.

Added on December 19, 2009, 11:51 am
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Dec 19 2009, 08:57 AM)
hm...talk about chinese fine dining, i never been to loonsing before, but oversea, ah yatt those got , but they consider fine dining ar?

went to some restaurant in HK before, sadly to say they disappoint me sad.gif

i still like normal chinese restaurant or hawker style, which is always awesome tongue.gif

Added on December 19, 2009, 8:59 ambesides chynna, KL selangore area where got serve fine chinese food ar....maybe should go try try tongue.gif
There are a lot of fine chinese in M'sia .

Tai Zi Heen - Prince Hotel (Great food)
Toh Yuen - Hilton PJ
Celestial Court - Sheraton Imperial
Lai Po Heen - Mandarin Oriental (The Best of Chinese Cuisine I've ever eat)
Dynasty - Renaissance KL
Maju Palace - Maju Junction (Food is okay but on expensive side)
Li Yen - The Ritz Carlton (Cantonese Style)

Added on December 19, 2009, 11:54 am
QUOTE(vey99 @ Dec 19 2009, 11:43 AM)
happy and makeke pls go back RWI.

vkeong pls go back singapore eat ur crab.

and others pls rekomen me nice halal dining for bring my meleis gf, thnx.
Your Med@Marche will open on 24th December with new menu. Why not give it a try tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Dec 19 2009, 11:54 AM

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:46 PM