Sport RIM Talk, Sport Rim + Tyers

SkylineFreak
post Oct 10 2016, 10:39 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(usop8290 @ Oct 10 2016, 10:20 AM)
dont worry. its still can launch like normal myvi at traffic light..roughly 10% more heavier than stock. 1st month is noticable. but after that the ''heavy'' feeling is gone.  laugh.gif
In your opinion, the benefits far outweigh the disadvantages?

Benefits: stability, grip, looks

Disadvantages: acceleration, braking, comfort, fuel consumption

Rims are kind of the 'last' mod that I will do to my car. Already did:

Full braking system (steel-braided hose, slotted rotors, performance pads)
Stage 1 UR bars
Full exhaust system mod (extractor, piping, bullet, muffler, tip)
Low-resistance cables
Voltage stabilizer
Stiff rings (front and back)
usop8290
post Oct 10 2016, 11:26 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(SkylineFreak @ Oct 10 2016, 10:39 AM)

Stage 1 UR bars
Low-resistance cables
Voltage stabilizer
i think for 15'' the disadvantages is very minimal unless you go for 16'' and above. on the other hand, you can get wider selection of tyre with 15'' rim such as UHP tyre at a very reasonable price. tyre selection also important since it can influence the handling,braking, and comfort level. thumbup.gif

after change rim you also can consider changing the suspension biggrin.gif

SkylineFreak
post Oct 10 2016, 12:26 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(usop8290 @ Oct 10 2016, 11:26 AM)
i think for 15'' the disadvantages is very minimal unless you go for 16'' and above. on the other hand, you can get wider selection of tyre with 15'' rim such as UHP tyre at a very reasonable price. tyre selection also important since it can influence the handling,braking, and comfort level. thumbup.gif

after change rim you also can consider changing the suspension  biggrin.gif
Planning to put Michelin XM2 on the 15" rims if I'm getting them. Either that or PS3, since the difference is only RM10 per donut.

Currently already using XM2 on my stock 14" rims.

Suspension is definitely in my list but I'll wait until my OEM shocks start to die first.
leehernandez
post Oct 10 2016, 02:10 PM

QUOTE(SkylineFreak @ Oct 9 2016, 05:11 PM)
Hey guys, can anyone tell me what would the advantages and disadvantages of changing from stock 175/65/R14 to 195/55/R15 on a Myvi 1.5?

Planning to get Advanti Storm S1 series rims.

The only thing kinda holding me back is worrying whether the car would feel too heavy after changing.
wont feel apparent.since the rim is so light.below 5kg for a rim.
its lighter than the original 14 inch rim.better stability/handling etc
SkylineFreak
post Oct 10 2016, 02:28 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Oct 10 2016, 02:10 PM)
wont feel apparent.since the rim is so light.below 5kg for a rim.
its lighter than the original 14 inch rim.better stability/handling etc
Even with 195/55/R15 tyres, it won't feel apparent?

The extra contact surface and rolling resistance is kinda offset by the lightweight rims right?
6UE5T
post Oct 10 2016, 05:18 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(SkylineFreak @ Oct 10 2016, 02:28 PM)

The extra contact surface and rolling resistance is kinda offset by the lightweight rims right?
Kinda but that's the whole point of it, enabling you to use bigger and higher grip tires for better handling and yet not compromising much on performance as you compensate using lighter rims.
leehernandez
post Oct 10 2016, 05:51 PM

QUOTE(SkylineFreak @ Oct 10 2016, 02:28 PM)

agreed with what bro 6ue5T said.
SkylineFreak
post Oct 10 2016, 06:06 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 10 2016, 05:18 PM)
Kinda but that's the whole point of it, enabling you to use bigger and higher grip tires for better handling and yet not compromising much on performance as you compensate using lighter rims.
Thanks bro. Now I'm really tempted to change my rims already. thumbup.gif

Final decision is just choosing between XM2 or PS3 only. Difference is only RM10 per donut. XM2 is really quiet and lasts super long while providing adequate grip for my type of driving. Tried PS3 in my friend's swift and found it to be really noisy, and probably wears out faster too since it's a performance tyre. hmm.gif
6UE5T
post Oct 10 2016, 08:21 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(SkylineFreak @ Oct 10 2016, 06:06 PM)
Thanks bro. Now I'm really tempted to change my rims already.  thumbup.gif

Final decision is just choosing between XM2 or PS3 only. Difference is only RM10 per donut. XM2 is really quiet and lasts super long while providing adequate grip for my type of driving. Tried PS3 in my friend's swift and found it to be really noisy, and probably wears out faster too since it's a performance tyre.  hmm.gif
If I were you, no brainer already I'll choose PS3 coz the price difference between the 2 is very minimal yet the PS3 is a much higher performance category and I don't feel it's noisy at all. To me XM2 is just not worth it unless it's like rm50 cheaper per tire.
raayeop
post Oct 11 2016, 11:38 AM

Final decision is just choosing between XM2 or PS3 only. Difference is only RM10 per donut. XM2 is really quiet and lasts super long while providing adequate grip for my type of driving. Tried PS3 in my friend's swift and found it to be really noisy, and probably wears out faster too since it's a performance tyre.  hmm.gif
the two are not really comparable.. one is green tyre and another is performance tyre... just my opinion...
chephren
post Oct 18 2016, 11:12 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(SkylineFreak @ Oct 10 2016, 10:39 AM)

Stage 1 UR bars
Low-resistance cables
Voltage stabilizer
Mind sharing what is your ride?
Is the mod listed in the order of importance? hmm.gif
cooljik93
post Oct 18 2016, 11:19 AM

just go for PS3 since the difference is just rm10. 1 is high end tyre 1 is eco tyre. I would pick PS3 with no doubt.

This post has been edited by cooljik93: Oct 18 2016, 11:20 AM
SkylineFreak
post Oct 18 2016, 02:09 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(chephren @ Oct 18 2016, 11:12 AM)
Mind sharing what is your ride?
Is the mod listed in the order of importance?  hmm.gif
Just a 2012 Myvi 1.5 SE.

Nah, just listed the mods down as I could remember them.

QUOTE(cooljik93 @ Oct 18 2016, 11:19 AM)
just go for PS3 since the difference is just rm10. 1 is high end tyre 1 is eco tyre. I would pick PS3 with no doubt.
Yup, already went for it. Advanti Storm S1 + Michelin PS3 195/55/R15

Loving them so far despite the sacrifice in comfort.
cooljik93
post Oct 18 2016, 02:40 PM

QUOTE(SkylineFreak @ Oct 18 2016, 02:09 PM)
Just a 2012 Myvi 1.5 SE.

advanti not a bad choice ma. Low weight rims. haha. how's the grip and road noise? rclxms.gif
chephren
post Oct 18 2016, 03:05 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(SkylineFreak @ Oct 18 2016, 02:09 PM)
Just a 2012 Myvi 1.5 SE.

How much is the cost for the stiff ring installation and items?
SkylineFreak
post Oct 18 2016, 04:00 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(cooljik93 @ Oct 18 2016, 02:40 PM)
advanti not a bad choice ma. Low weight rims. haha. how's the grip and road noise? rclxms.gif
Yeah actually pretty good. Looks awesome too. I haven't tried the grip properly yet, but I tried it in rainy conditions and it's really really good compared to stock 14" 175 tyres. The steering is heavier now and the road noise is pretty loud compared to my previous XM2. Need to get used to that also. smile.gif

QUOTE(chephren @ Oct 18 2016, 03:05 PM)
How much is the cost for the stiff ring installation and items?
It was about RM580 nett for me, including installation and GST.

Front set is about RM300, rear set about RM200, then installation around RM50.

Totally worth it IMO. I had a lot of doubts but decided to YOLO and try it anyways.
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Oct 18 2016, 05:05 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

Currently Vios NCP 42, realize one of the rim bengkok abit, really abit only during balancing process. But after done the alignment, the handling still good at 130km/hr. So until now I don't bother...

Till that during one traffic jam, got one fella duno is sleeping or playing phone, bang to rear, my rear bumper on the right hand side drop around 2 cm, with no external damage, but internal part (below brake light) break already, and the bracket also break already. And eventually the bumper also paint come out abit. Lastly able to fix it by forcely pull up by hand not machine. But left a 1cm gap just below the right break light.

I planning to change the rear bumper at SC because have to go SC to replace the airbag.

Since going to SC, I just want to ask regarding the rim.... Is anyone here change their rim at SC before. I mean, I wish to buy rim at SC and ask them to fix for me too. If yes, do I need to know what to worry? Because I am afraid that the nut placing isn't same? Like NCP 150 have diff length between to nuts compared to NCM 42? But I am wondering is it ok to remove tyre from old rim and into the new rim? Will it affect the quality of the tyre?

Interested in the current new vios GX rim... BTW, there is term, for the nuts placing...

** edit: the term is PCD

This post has been edited by [Ancient]-XinG-: Oct 18 2016, 05:10 PM
6UE5T
post Oct 19 2016, 12:17 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 18 2016, 05:05 PM)
... I mean, I wish to buy rim at SC and ask them to fix for me too. Do you mean you want to buy 1 new rim to replace it or just fix that bent one? If just fixing the bent one, better just go to a tire shop which should be cheaper. If want to buy, might as well change the whole set with better setIf yes, do I need to know what to worry? Because I am afraid that the nut placing isn't same? Like NCP 150 have diff length between to nuts compared to NCM 42? If jsut buy 1 rim to replace that bent one, of course buy the same rim and will have the same PCD. If buy another new set, then just choose those with the same PCD lor! But I am wondering is it ok to remove tyre from old rim and into the new rim? Will it affect the quality of the tyre? No issues

Interested in the current new vios GX rim... BTW, there is term, for the nuts placing...

** edit: the term is PCD
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Oct 19 2016, 12:28 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

New set. I mean new set. I want the latest GX set...
lsm1991
post Oct 19 2016, 12:43 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 19 2016, 12:28 PM)
New set. I mean new set. I want the latest GX set...
eik now i realize you are also lurking here.....

you mean these?? the non 'sports' sports rims
if yes, you might have some issues.... i understand you want to run your rubbers? There might be a problem.... urs are 14"s these are 15"s~~~ yeah.....

again~~ cheapo after markets whistling.gif good enough to pakai~

107 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 88 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:13 PM