112 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

GUINEA PIGS CORNER V3, Kiut~kiut~Kawaii...

limie
post Jul 23 2008, 04:40 PM

538 posts

i see@ thx thx thx...

Added on July 23, 2008, 4:53 pmthen why the store can keep with their original plastic bag...?

thats mean whatever hay we bought could be 60% nutrient left..

This post has been edited by limie: Jul 23 2008, 04:53 PM
Vor
post Jul 23 2008, 06:19 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Jul 23 2008, 04:40 PM)
i see@ thx thx thx...

Added on July 23, 2008, 4:53 pmthen why the store can keep with their original plastic bag...?

thats mean whatever hay we bought could be 60% nutrient left..
Store usually seals the hay air tight and the plastic is not open till a buyer buys them. The rule is only applied when you keep the hay in a plastic and opens it frequently I suppose smile.gif
11Jan
post Jul 23 2008, 07:44 PM

584 posts

hay is probably stored in plastic bags because that is a cheaper option.. if you notice, most brands of hay have holes in the plastic bag for the hay to breathe

but it shouldn't be stored in the plastic bag for too long. i always see the hay slowly turning yellow in petshops. i store my hay in cardboard boxes like this: http://furrybutts.wordpress.com/2008/06/25/how-to-store-hay/

the hay remains fresh. none have turned yellow yet.
adriane_1707
post Jul 23 2008, 08:40 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(11Jan @ Jul 23 2008, 08:44 PM)
hay is probably stored in plastic bags because that is a cheaper option.. if you notice, most brands of hay have holes in the plastic bag for the hay to breathe

but it shouldn't be stored in the plastic bag for too long. i always see the hay slowly turning yellow in petshops. i store my hay in cardboard boxes like this: http://furrybutts.wordpress.com/2008/06/25/how-to-store-hay/

the hay remains fresh. none have turned yellow yet.
wanna ask if feed veggie 2 gp do u all put in fridge and then give it or store outside?
11Jan
post Jul 23 2008, 10:12 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(adriane_1707 @ Jul 23 2008, 08:40 PM)
wanna ask if feed veggie 2 gp do u all put in fridge and then give it or store outside?
i don't keep GPs.. but for my bunnies, i buy 1 week's supply of vege, and store in fridge without washing (wash only before i cut and feed to my bunnies). washing the vege first, or storing it outside, makes the vege go soft very fast.. not fresh anymore
adriane_1707
post Jul 23 2008, 10:30 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(11Jan @ Jul 23 2008, 11:12 PM)
i don't keep GPs.. but for my bunnies, i buy 1 week's supply of vege, and store in fridge without washing (wash only before i cut and feed to my bunnies). washing the vege first, or storing it outside, makes the vege go soft very fast.. not fresh anymore
wud it make them diarhea coz of the cold veggie?
limie
post Jul 23 2008, 10:58 PM

538 posts

okok special thx all...

adriane_1707: i always gave them cold vege... don seem any problem...
Jamien
post Jul 23 2008, 11:00 PM

2,647 posts

I usually give from straight out of the fridge too. no problems.

And my mum says that washing the vege before putting in the fridge will cause the vege to rot faster, which defeats the purpose of putting it in the fridge mar. I wash it before I feed to my pigs.
limie
post Jul 23 2008, 11:00 PM

538 posts

11Jan: can i mix alfafa hay and timothy hay and store them in a box?
11Jan
post Jul 23 2008, 11:01 PM

584 posts

diarhea wouldn't be caused by cold vege.. but certain vege, e.g. white lettuce, and other vege which are very light green or white in colour, have higher water content. this will cause diarhea

Added on July 23, 2008, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(limie @ Jul 23 2008, 11:00 PM)
11Jan: can i mix alfafa hay and timothy hay and store them in a box?
can, i mix many types of hay together because different types of hay require different chewing motions.. so feeding a mix of hay helps to wear the teeth down more evenly.

the only thing is whether your GP should be eating as much alfalfa hay as timothy hay? for me, i keep my alfalfa hay separately because my rabbits are adults already and they mustn't eat a lot of alfalfa hay which is high in protein (too much protein can cause obesity and also sometimes, digestive issues). so i only give them one handful of alfalfa hay twice a week as treats.

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jul 23 2008, 11:04 PM
limie
post Jul 23 2008, 11:05 PM

538 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jul 23 2008, 11:00 PM)
I usually give from straight out of the fridge too. no problems.

And my mum says that washing the vege before putting in the fridge will cause the vege to rot faster, which defeats the purpose of putting it in the fridge mar. I wash it before I feed to my pigs.
yeah yeh... sure wash 1st... rclxms.gif

Added on July 23, 2008, 11:06 pmi give them more... vege than hay la...
it is ok?

This post has been edited by limie: Jul 23 2008, 11:06 PM
limie
post Jul 23 2008, 11:38 PM

538 posts

can i store like this???

but the air flow wont make the hay's smell gone?
11Jan
post Jul 24 2008, 09:03 AM

584 posts

don't think so.. can still smell mine hehe

limie
post Jul 24 2008, 09:38 AM

538 posts

thats mean i can store like that?
like the pix that i post up?
11Jan
post Jul 24 2008, 10:40 AM

584 posts

yea, can smile.gif a bit more holes in the sides of the box would allow hay to breathe better smile.gif
adriane_1707
post Jul 24 2008, 11:20 AM

215 posts

Where to get spray mites or fungus for gp? in kl AREA.. roughly how mch?
Juztiny
post Jul 24 2008, 11:21 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(11Jan @ Jul 24 2008, 10:40 AM)
yea, can smile.gif a bit more holes in the sides of the box would allow hay to breathe better smile.gif
If that's the case, then put in laundry basket would be better lor?
Jamien
post Jul 24 2008, 02:46 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(adriane_1707 @ Jul 24 2008, 11:20 AM)
Where to get spray mites or fungus for gp? in kl AREA.. roughly how mch?
I notice your GP have a lot of health trouble. Why don't you bring to a vet? It might not be a simple infection you know.
adriane_1707
post Jul 24 2008, 07:59 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jul 24 2008, 03:46 PM)
I notice your GP have a lot of health trouble. Why don't you bring to a vet? It might not be a simple infection you know.
i bring 2 segar pet and the vet botak kan my gp hair and gv her medication and etc and tell me ntg wrong wit my gp; i wan knw hw long till her fur will go grow back.

Jamien
post Jul 24 2008, 08:09 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(adriane_1707 @ Jul 24 2008, 07:59 PM)
i bring 2 segar pet and the vet botak kan my gp hair and gv her medication and etc and tell me ntg wrong wit my gp; i wan knw hw long till her fur will go grow back.
When my Girl Girl was barbering herself, after 1 week of nmite infection and a single time of fungus cream by the vet, her fur grew back in a little more than 1 week. I mean fur that can see more than a stubble.

If your vet doesn't help it's time to seek a second opinion.

112 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:12 AM