112 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

GUINEA PIGS CORNER V3, Kiut~kiut~Kawaii...

bonai
post Jul 21 2008, 12:45 AM

1,254 posts

wah gp thread finally discussing serious topics..
this is cool!

way to go piggies!!!

p/s- emino showing off his big gerbil there..

gchin_st, check out the vet list thread, give them a call...
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 21 2008, 12:49 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Vaseline is quite safe..... so shouldn't be a problem. It is just a type of oil.... people even apply on their lips like a lip balm.
Janice613
post Jul 21 2008, 01:43 AM

51 posts

Hi all guinea pig lovers , my bf bought gerbil from a petshop and the petshop owner introduce him guinea pig food =.= . However , after one time feeding and reading from articles and net we knew it is a wrong way ! and now , the guinea pig food just left it there... it is Sluis brand , stated for guinea pig . Anyone want? It is Opened , and only consumed 2% .. anyone stays in Setapak area? or KLCC ? plz PM me .
limie
post Jul 21 2008, 09:32 AM

538 posts

QUOTE(bonai @ Jul 21 2008, 12:45 AM)
wah gp thread finally discussing serious topics..
this is cool!
lol...
my GPs eat alot now... haiz...they are growing... oh my flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif
adriane_1707
post Jul 21 2008, 12:35 PM

215 posts

What its the proper procedure to manage open hays.. we pack in plastic or tupper ware? or put in box?
muchan86
post Jul 21 2008, 02:18 PM

1,523 posts

Hi guys smile.gif
few days no see!!! hehehe
btw, seems like Leon starting to trust emino now... can eat from his hand also... just hope both Teddy n Vicky don't jealous with Leon biggrin.gif

Sharil : how's luna? delivered yet? tongue.gif

Rumi : have u help me to see n check pet shop around ur house? hehe..

btw, I'm not gonna online so often thou.. just can online when I'm back at my old house. My new house got no line...
Chinchillas
post Jul 21 2008, 02:21 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Jul 20 2008, 10:38 AM)
Hun, how do you treat guinea ringworm, what treament drug?

Get something that treat ringworm from pharmacy should do the job for you GP. smile.gif
adriane_1707
post Jul 21 2008, 03:18 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 21 2008, 03:21 PM)
Get something that treat ringworm from pharmacy should do the job for you GP. smile.gif
in cream form? its wont be poison for gp?
Chinchillas
post Jul 21 2008, 03:57 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

In powder form. If in cream form can apply a thin layer on the infected place.
adriane_1707
post Jul 21 2008, 04:23 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Jul 21 2008, 04:57 PM)
In powder form. If in cream form can apply a thin layer on the infected place.
ok 10q any recommended brand or any brand i can get

This post has been edited by adriane_1707: Jul 21 2008, 04:52 PM
Chinchillas
post Jul 21 2008, 07:00 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

brand not sure, there is many, you can just go pharmacy look around.
TSsharil_routh
post Jul 22 2008, 05:25 AM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

QUOTE(adriane_1707 @ Jul 21 2008, 12:35 PM)
What its the proper procedure to manage open hays.. we pack in plastic or tupper ware? or put in box?
My way i will put my hay and pellet in tupperware.
Vor
post Jul 22 2008, 03:29 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jul 22 2008, 05:25 AM)
My way i will put my hay and pellet in tupperware.
Same here, air-tight tupperware smile.gif that way the hays and pallets won't "masuk angin" hahahah and will stay dry and fresh.
adriane_1707
post Jul 22 2008, 09:22 PM

215 posts

Any expert here that i can PM regarding gp problem?
Vor
post Jul 22 2008, 09:28 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(adriane_1707 @ Jul 22 2008, 09:22 PM)
Any expert here that i can PM regarding gp problem?
Like what problem?
Jamien
post Jul 22 2008, 09:30 PM

2,647 posts

There are many factors and ways to keep your hay fresh.

Firstly, how lasting the hay is in the point of freshness, depends on the quality. Good quality hay deteriorates much more slowly than those cheap ones.

Secondly, the hay must be kept dry. Moisture and warm temperatures (like Malaysia's weather) will deteriorate the hay's quality fast. Moisture and warm temperature encourages the growth of mold which is bad for your GPs if they eat it. I feel the best way to keep the moisture low is to keep the hay in plastic bags.

Keeping in air tight containers also work lar but if you open and close it a lot then the moisture will go in. That's why I use 1 plastic bag of hay for feeding while the other is sealed. When it's finished, I refill the one and keep opening only that one bag. The other bag of hay remains fresh lor.

adriane_1707
post Jul 22 2008, 09:38 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Vor @ Jul 22 2008, 10:28 PM)
Like what problem?
the nvr ending problem ... my gp run away from cage and then her eyes start 2 have flakes and then i bring see vets at tmn segar and he take sm sample of her skin and hair 2 check on microscope and then cant find anything (fungus or mites) and then now nearly 2 wks she kept scratching the same spot and its botak.. when see doctor time he cut her hair half botak. now half of her face botak. Try use the medication drops that doctor give and its getting worse so stop using and then give her vaseline.. 2 stop her itchyness. today cm back see she scratch again and its bleed the same spot.

Added on July 22, 2008, 9:39 pm
QUOTE(Jamien @ Jul 22 2008, 10:30 PM)
There are many factors and ways to keep your hay fresh.

Firstly, how lasting the hay is in the point of freshness, depends on the quality. Good quality hay deteriorates much  more slowly than those cheap ones.

Secondly, the hay must be kept dry. Moisture and warm temperatures (like Malaysia's weather) will deteriorate the hay's quality fast. Moisture and warm temperature encourages the growth of mold which is bad for your GPs if they eat it. I feel the best way to keep the moisture low is to keep the hay in plastic bags.

Keeping in air tight containers also work lar but if you open and close it a lot then the moisture will go in. That's why I use 1 plastic bag of hay for feeding while the other is sealed. When it's finished, I refill the one and keep opening only that one bag. The other bag of hay remains fresh lor.
box can ar?

This post has been edited by adriane_1707: Jul 22 2008, 09:39 PM
Jamien
post Jul 22 2008, 10:10 PM

2,647 posts

Ok, can members of the piggy thread spot something that is not a flower but looks just as pretty in the picture? Hehe... wub.gif

This post has been edited by Jamien: Jul 23 2008, 01:58 AM
limie
post Jul 23 2008, 11:12 AM

538 posts

can i use their original plastic bag to keep the HAY?
i saw there are some small holes upside there... should be noproblem right?
babydugong
post Jul 23 2008, 01:33 PM

115 posts

This is a article in my friend blog, just forward it here.

Hay can last a very long time, years even, when stored properly. Here are some pointers for proper storage of hay, shared by hay experts across the internet:

* choose a well ventilated, dry area for storage.
* avoid exposure to sunlight, as this will cause hay to lose its nutritional value.
* fresh hay stores moisture, and can become moldy without proper ventilation.
* therefore, don’t store hay in plastic, as plastic draws moisture, leading to mold and rot. Use a container made of materials which are able to ‘breathe’, such as a cardboard box, wooden box or woven nylon feed sack.
* if a cardboard box is used, make holes around the box to allow for better airflow.
* for wooden boxes, choose untreated wood. Chemicals from the sealant used to treat wood could contaminate hay, and also prevent the wood from ‘breathing’.
* don’t store hay on concrete ground, this draws moisture. Wooden grounds are fine, though.
* if hay is bought in bales, don’t break up the bale unnecessarily. This helps to keep the center of the bale fresh.

112 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:19 PM