8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Blu ray players: Recommendations please, Blu ray players, which one ?

rthj
post Jan 14 2009, 08:02 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 14 2009, 02:45 PM)
don't have to be so anal retentive..  biggrin.gif
somehow i knew ar188 gonna say this.....which is exactly why i revised my comment in the first place...hehehehe

IR is an abbreviation for 2 words...Ir is short for 1 single word.

it makes a difference to an Ir.
rthj
post Jan 15 2009, 04:18 PM

1,048 posts

my DMP-BD35K is FINALLY here!!!
rthj
post Jan 15 2009, 04:55 PM

1,048 posts

felt like forever......actually less than 1 month from day of order.
but had to wait for someone to swim the channel
rthj
post Jan 15 2009, 05:53 PM

1,048 posts

friend who brought me the BDP told me the free national treasure 2 is not in the box.....i reported that to Amazon UK...and in less than 2 hours....they responded....giving me 2 options

1. they refund me 10% of the purchase order...that is about 20GBP
2. I order the national treasure bd and to contact them when it is ordered..and the charge will be reversed.

that is really good customer service.

rthj
post Jan 15 2009, 06:29 PM

1,048 posts

1st time i had to report something to amazon UK.....all previous were done with Amazon US.

then again, they probably shared the same customer care center. but there is a difference in service level if you call them up and depends on which center you call to.
rthj
post Jan 16 2009, 06:05 AM

1,048 posts

seems that the SQ improved significantly when I have the new BDP bitstream it to the AVR.

oh, another thing, brief reading through the manual...it didnt really tell that one would need to insert the SD card in order for the BD35 to use the BD live function. worried me for a few minutes when it says 'you need to be connected to the internet and the bd player needs to be BD-Live compliant...bla bla' when i tried to access BD live without SD card inserted
rthj
post Jan 16 2009, 12:54 PM

1,048 posts

PQ improvement is not that significant...but the SQ....i guess that also depends on the AVR.....the marantz is not really that 'tame' when its doing the work itself..hehe

that bluraymods sell mod chips for stand alone bdp....but do read the difficulty level to mod them. i have not found anyone willing to do it here..because its quite new..the only place i found with ppl experienced enough to do this is the chip supplier themselves in Stockholm Sweden.....cost another 100euro to do this.....plus anouther 45euro for shipping....your unit back to you.
rthj
post Jan 16 2009, 04:31 PM

1,048 posts

BD55 has the 7.1 analog output.....think that's the major difference btwn the two...and 80 to 100euro extra
rthj
post Jan 16 2009, 05:58 PM

1,048 posts

the european BD35 supports DivX
rthj
post Jan 17 2009, 01:04 AM

1,048 posts

good thing i said the PQ improvement wasnt significant...otherwise ar188 gonna launch assault again
rthj
post Jan 17 2009, 01:19 AM

1,048 posts

word assault lah...hehehe....
rthj
post Jan 17 2009, 04:38 PM

1,048 posts

i also tried bitstreaming and pcm mode on the bd35....audio bitstreaming to my AVR seems clearer and brighter compared to pcm.

This post has been edited by rthj: Jan 17 2009, 09:11 PM
rthj
post Jan 18 2009, 08:35 PM

1,048 posts

as far as i know....none of the bd players are region free...unless you buy them from the retailers listed on bluraymods.com which probably void the manufacturer's warranty

keep your region A ps3..buy a region B bdp...no need to worry abt the voltage transformer as well

rthj
post Jan 19 2009, 12:40 AM

1,048 posts

S350 and S550 utilize USB port for the BD live thing....BUT, this USB port is behind the unit...PLUS it is recessed into the casing...thus making it almost impossible for average USB sticks to fit in there...sony wants you to buy their micro vault, transcend has these also....the fact it is behind the unit makes it a pain in the butt.

I was looking at S350 before i decide on the BD35...BD 35 is smaller....if that is a concern.

yes, S350 can (only) bitstream HD audio to the avrs....it doesnt do onboard decoding at all
rthj
post Jan 19 2009, 12:56 AM

1,048 posts

well, for those who needs the analog output and the onboard decoding..then should go for the S550 or BD55.
rthj
post Jan 19 2009, 03:28 PM

1,048 posts

its not PLUS 10 BD for that price..the way i understood it is....you buy either S350 or S550 or PS3 and you BUY 1 BD and you get another BD free. limit of 10BD....i guess that means you can buy 10 BDs and you get another 10BDs for free.
rthj
post Jan 19 2009, 04:24 PM

1,048 posts

oops...10Bds too many from my intrepretation...sorry
rthj
post Jan 24 2009, 03:07 PM

1,048 posts

you can set permission to disallow the BD-Live to activate.

usually the lag is due to the internet speed
rthj
post Jan 28 2009, 02:35 PM

1,048 posts

for those pioneer lovers out there...check out these MSRP.

http://www.engadgethd.com/2009/01/26/pione...lu-ray-players/
rthj
post Jan 29 2009, 09:22 PM

1,048 posts

one can only get a VAT refund if he/she is visiting as a tourist. if the person is residing in UK, then the person is not eligible for VAT refund.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:05 AM