127 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Blu ray players: Recommendations please, Blu ray players, which one ?

arremie
post Aug 15 2008, 11:58 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Even downscale....the PQ should be at least 3 times better than R1 DVD?
rx330
post Aug 15 2008, 11:59 AM

11,809 posts

100 times better lar thumbup.gif
once u go HD u never go SD
arremie
post Aug 15 2008, 12:01 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

ic ic. I know exactly what u meant. Then at least I don't have to think about upgrading my TV for the time being.
rx330
post Aug 15 2008, 12:02 PM

11,809 posts

aiyoh no need lar... 40 incher unless u sitting at 3 feet, u wont really notice the different btwn 720 and 1080 lar

rahter than upgrade, rather u get ur bd player and BDs
aiman04
post Aug 15 2008, 12:13 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 15 2008, 11:48 AM)
Sometimes this dude is really weird hmm.gif  laugh.gif

Anyway...my Sony is not full HD so meaning whatever sent by BD will be downscale by the tv? It does support 1080p though.
You should be able to set 720p or 1080i on the S350, just like your Pioneer DV600 (I'm using DV400).

I also took sometime to understand RX, but now I know him so well!
rx330
post Aug 15 2008, 12:15 PM

11,809 posts

blush.gif took some time meh...
i tot we think alike sad.gif
aiman04
post Aug 15 2008, 12:20 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 15 2008, 12:02 PM)
aiyoh no need lar... 40 incher unless u sitting at 3 feet, u wont really notice the different btwn 720 and 1080 lar

rahter than upgrade, rather u get ur bd player and BDs
Yup, refer to this chart again:

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 15 2008, 12:15 PM)
blush.gif took some time meh...
i tot we think alike sad.gif
I meant understand the words in your post la, always unique one laugh.gif ... Of course we think alike. wub.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 15 2008, 12:20 PM
rx330
post Aug 15 2008, 12:23 PM

11,809 posts

bro... i relly lost count how many times u posted this chart liao tongue.gif
aiman04
post Aug 15 2008, 12:24 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Yeah, and every time I took time to google it!

Well, when question arise, answer needs to come, sometimes better in charts.
arremie
post Aug 15 2008, 03:55 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 15 2008, 12:13 PM)
You should be able to set 720p or 1080i on the S350, just like your Pioneer DV600 (I'm using DV400).

I also took sometime to understand RX, but now I know him so well!
I always set my DV600 at 1080p and never bother to try others. What should I actually set for my TV?

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 15 2008, 12:24 PM)
Yeah, and every time I took time to google it!

Well, when question arise, answer needs to come, sometimes better in charts.
Tq tq...really appreciated ur effort notworthy.gif
g5sim
post Aug 15 2008, 06:29 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 15 2008, 12:20 PM)
Yup, refer to this chart again:

I meant understand the words in your post la, always unique one laugh.gif ... Of course we think alike. wub.gif
haha mine 10 or more away from tv cabinet. that is why need bigger 720p tv - pointless to get 1080p lol
sunauto
post Aug 16 2008, 12:53 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Aug 15 2008, 06:29 PM)
haha mine 10 or more away from tv cabinet. that is why need bigger 720p tv - pointless to get 1080p lol
Normally panels with 1080p have better specs, so you're not paying more just for 1080p. That was why I settled for a 1080p panel because of the better constrast and other features too. It's a win-win situation at the end whether 1080p is important or not but to me, 1080p/24fps is important if you're into BDs and HD-DVDs.
arremie
post Aug 16 2008, 03:51 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

One question...is it possible for non full HD (just HD ready) to have a 1080p panel? 10 bit panel considered 1080p?
callmevil
post Aug 16 2008, 06:00 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-100162...feed&subj=Crave

experts at CNET and Criterion Collection reference Blu-ray player is a PS3

now.. hopefully this might help any wouldbe adopters decide which player to go for..
When we checked out Joe Kane's demo of the truly awesome SP-A800B at CES, we specifically asked what Blu-ray player he thought had the best image quality, he immediately said the PS3.

arremie
post Aug 16 2008, 10:06 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

I don't think anybody has any doubt that PS3 is a good if not one of the best BD player but some of us just like a dedicated hardware player with proper remote control to do just that.
ronnt88
post Aug 16 2008, 10:43 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 16 2008, 10:06 AM)
I don't think anybody has any doubt that PS3 is a good if not one of the best BD player but some of us just like a dedicated hardware player with proper remote control to do just that.
u can buy a BD player type remote control for the PS3 & problem solved. Only RM150 for remote i think..
arremie
post Aug 16 2008, 10:58 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Even with remote, PS3 is still not a dedicated hardware BD player smile.gif
ronnt88
post Aug 16 2008, 11:01 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 16 2008, 10:58 AM)
Even with remote, PS3 is still not a dedicated hardware BD player smile.gif
that's true.. i'll be using the PS3 as the BD player for a start and was honestly thinking of getting a separate dedicated bd player as well. have same feel as u to go dedicated since we're using separate systems. cheers.
g5sim
post Aug 16 2008, 11:25 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Aug 16 2008, 12:53 AM)
Normally panels with 1080p have better specs, so you're not paying more just for 1080p. That was why I settled for a 1080p panel because of the better constrast and other features too. It's a win-win situation at the end whether 1080p is important or not but to me, 1080p/24fps is important if you're into BDs and HD-DVDs.
that is the damn problem. I want the contrast ratio and steps of gradation in the 1080p Panny but i dun wan the 1080p laugh.gif - damn ! why cant they have the same ratio and gradation feature but at 720p only for the 50" . sure selling like hot cake while mocking other CEs such as Sony who market only 1080p shakehead.gif
sunauto
post Aug 16 2008, 12:04 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 16 2008, 03:51 AM)
One question...is it possible for non full HD (just HD ready) to have a 1080p panel? 10 bit panel considered 1080p?
No, it's a different panel altogether. The full HD ones have a better panel with a very dark and non-reflective coating so the blacks are pretty plasma like, even my friend who owns a Pioneer Plasma Kuro said so when he came to my house. Of course, he is aware that Plasma can't be repaired and secondly, the brightness will decrease after a few years gradually.

Current Bravias will only spot a 10-bit panel for full HD models and the 10-bit panel is not a marketing gimmick, try playing Soul Calibur IV on it or BBC's Planet Earth BD, you'll be amazed with the colours, no banding at all.

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 16 2008, 10:06 AM)
PS3 is no doubt the best BD player out there but sadly, it's not a green machine, it consumes about 200 watts under load whereas normal dedicated BD players will only consume 30 watts or so. Since our TNB bills sudah naik, it will be costly to use a PS3 to watch DVDs and BDs non-stop. Sadly, dedicated blu-ray players are limited to just a few models and their loading times, although improved, still can't beat a normal dvd player. I prefer those players that can play the movie instantly without waiting. Of course, I have to use my PS3 temporarily to watch my BD movies. Damn ....... need 200 watts just to play a BD movie. doh.gif

127 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:44 AM