lex
post Jun 23 2008, 07:52 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jun 23 2008, 06:50 PM)
Hi , lex and other experts.
I'd like to know how to know there is a dead ,stuck pixel or bright spot or other kind of defected pixel on the LCD screen ? how to test ?
You can use the following recommended (free) software...

Eizo Monitor Test (direct download) thumbup.gif

Dead Pixel Tester

Dead Pixel Buddy

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jun 23 2008, 06:50 PM)
Before buying one I sure will test one so what way to test for it ?
Some shops will test on the spot for you, usually after you have made the purchase.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Jun 23 2008, 08:09 PM
Maxieos
post Jun 23 2008, 08:17 PM

3,752 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Jun 23 2008, 07:52 PM)
You can use the following recommended (free) software...

Eizo Monitor Test (direct downloadthumbup.gif

Dead Pixel Tester

Dead Pixel Buddy

Some shops will test on the spot for you, usually after you have made the purchase..  blush.gif
Thank you , but I mean test on the spot.How look or what way or technique to test ?
lex
post Jun 23 2008, 10:16 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jun 23 2008, 08:17 PM)
Thank you , but I mean test on the spot.How look or what way or technique to test ?
The only way to know is to switch it on and hook it to a PC and display a blank fullscreen of primary colors (red, green, blue), white and black... Some shops uses dead pixel testing software. wink.gif

TSkianwee
post Jun 23 2008, 10:40 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(juine @ Jun 23 2008, 05:11 PM)
If you have enuff budget the Dell 2408wfp is highly recommended as it used S-PVA panel if i'm not wrong. Just don't buy those non-ultrasharp Dell. You can try to check Eizo HD2441W or NEC LCD2470WNX which used high quality panel as well.

If you're looking for a cheaper solution go for those model that used TN panel.

I'm also like you now hunting for a lcd panel but was waiting to see how Dell 2709wfp perform on ps3 if not i will end up with Dell 2408wfp as well. Seem like not much choice to choose when limited by budget.  : D Earlier today I was looking at Samsung 2493HM, it is currently in my consideration list and it is cheaper than Dell 2408wfp.\\

you gfx can support but if you want to play some high end games then need to upgrade.

Added on June 23, 2008, 5:22 pmsome 24" lcd info review, but seriously you need to see it yourself.

NEC MultiSync LCD2470WNX http://www.trustedreviews.com/displays/rev...c-LCD2470WNX/p1

Eizo FlexScan HD2441W http://www.trustedreviews.com/displays/rev...-LCD-Monitor/p1

BenQ FP241W http://www.trustedreviews.com/displays/rev...reen-Monitor/p1

Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP http://www.trustedreviews.com/displays/rev...-LCD-Monitor/p1

Samsung SyncMaster 245T http://www.trustedreviews.com/displays/rev...cMaster-245T/p1
There's no point recommending monitor like NEC and Eizo to him because it is not available locally. Unless he is willing to import it in, I imported a 24" NEC 2490 yrs ago and the total cost is nearly 4.5k. Think about it.
Thunderbolt
post Jun 23 2008, 11:08 PM

Tonight We Dine In Penang!
1,191 posts

QUOTE(boris @ Jun 23 2008, 06:06 PM)
Yes, but 720p will make the game look weird (for example Gran Turismo 5 Prologue) so I want to use 1080p.
The message goes away after 60seconds, so I hope there's a way to turn it off. sweat.gif

Btw, thanks for helping. smile.gif

I'm using the same model. Press the 'Menu' button on your LCD to make that annoying message go away. Set back your display to 1080p, this model can support it. But for Blu-Ray playback, this model can only do 720p. I'm on the 2nd final boss of MSG 4 laugh.gif
TSkianwee
post Jun 23 2008, 11:20 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(Thunderbolt @ Jun 23 2008, 11:08 PM)
I'm using the same model. Press the 'Menu' button on your LCD to make that annoying message go away. Set back your display to 1080p, this model can support it. But for Blu-Ray playback, this model can only do 720p. I'm on the 2nd final boss of MSG 4 laugh.gif
I think I should clarify things regarding this issue. 226BW accepts 1080p input resolution, but it will downscale it back to the LCD's native resolution, so it is not actually running at 1920x1080. A lot of the latest 32" HD ready LCD TV accepts 1080p resolution, but when displaying it downgrades back to it's native resolution which is 1366x768. Accepts and displaying 1080p is totally different. Only a FULL HD panel can display 1080p, which in LCD monitor's case, any LCD that has a resolution of 1920x1200 and above.
Aquariusdenz
post Jun 23 2008, 11:41 PM

1,533 posts

NEC monitor sure is good but then hard to find distributor here.... sadly... anyway dont talk about the price... NEC LCD are made in Japan or other places?
songbo
post Jun 24 2008, 11:18 AM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ 爽吗 ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

QUOTE(Aquariusdenz @ Jun 23 2008, 11:41 PM)
NEC monitor sure is good but then hard to find distributor here.... sadly... anyway dont talk about the price... NEC LCD are made in Japan or other places?
yeah, i like NEC product also. hehe
Intrigue
post Jun 24 2008, 11:44 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ Jun 23 2008, 07:50 PM)
Or you could get a 40" Samsung 400DX DiD panel lcd display  laugh.gif btw doesnt come wit tv tuner ar haha.
QUOTE(kianwee @ Jun 23 2008, 11:20 PM)
I think I should clarify things regarding this issue. 226BW accepts 1080p input resolution, but it will downscale it back to the LCD's native resolution, so it is not actually running at 1920x1080. A lot of the latest 32" HD ready LCD TV accepts 1080p resolution, but when displaying it downgrades back to it's native resolution which is 1366x768. Accepts and displaying 1080p is totally different. Only a FULL HD panel can display 1080p, which in LCD monitor's case, any LCD that has a resolution of 1920x1200 and above.
yea... certain LCD just downgrades the whole resolution that renders it pretty useless sweat.gif
damnman
post Jun 24 2008, 01:38 PM

13 posts

Hi, I'm a newbie here. Recently I decided to buy a 22" HP monitors for playstation 3 gaming. Anyone can tell me more about current 22" hp monitors selling in LOWYAT PLAZA? with HDCP function of course, and please tell me the best price.
xanxanlol
post Jun 24 2008, 04:01 PM

Hi fellas this is my first post in this sub-forum, I'm in Penang and in the market for a new LCD. I want to get a Samsung 22" and found that the current models available in Malaysia are 2232BW, 2253BW and 226BW. Which one is the latest and that you guys recommend I should buy? Also, I find that the shops here only carry 2232BW which I suspect is not the latest model, anyone can recommend shops in Penang which carry the latest?
Thunderbolt
post Jun 24 2008, 04:22 PM

Tonight We Dine In Penang!
1,191 posts

Thanks for the clarification. I felt odd because 226BW can accept 1080p. I was prepared for 720p since i bought my PS3.

QUOTE(xanxanlol @ Jun 24 2008, 04:01 PM)
Hi fellas this is my first post in this sub-forum, I'm in Penang and in the market for a new LCD. I want to get a Samsung 22" and found that the current models available in Malaysia are 2232BW, 2253BW and 226BW. Which one is the latest and that you guys recommend I should buy? Also, I find that the shops here only carry 2232BW which I suspect is not the latest model, anyone can recommend shops in Penang which carry the latest?

2253BW is the latest one. You can try Prangin Mall for this model.
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 24 2008, 04:58 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jun 23 2008, 05:24 PM)
I was thinkng if the price surge above 3K.. why not get a 32" LCD TV FULL HD right? I still had yet to check out those LCD connectivity but is it wise to get it?
Kinda off topic here, its there even a 32" LCDtv FULLHD available locally here?.. so far i only noticed 37" ones has FullHD... which cost like abt rm4k.

Ditto!, thats why it stated "support" 1080p instead of saying displays or resolution up to...

Not to mention if referring to LCDtv HDTV (supports 1080p) prices its abt rm1k difference compared to Full-HDTV.. lol...

Its like USB1.0-ports supports USB2.0 flashdrive, but of course the flashdrive can't run at hi/full-speeds (vice-versa).

@kianwee, imo better post the "support 1080p" facts up in the first post oso...

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 24 2008, 05:07 PM
dantwt
post Jun 24 2008, 05:07 PM

OverD
1,308 posts

wats the best option for me if i were to choose a decent 22" lcd

dell ultrasharp 22"
Samsung 2253?

any other suggestions for best LCD in the market?

sbd18
post Jun 24 2008, 06:08 PM

300 posts

hi there...

am looking into buying a 19 inch lcd monitor...been looking at these 2...would like your advises...

Samsung SyncMaster 931BW
ViewSonic VX1940w

which would u choose? or do u have some other recommendation within the same price range...which is around RM700...

thanks!
Intrigue
post Jun 24 2008, 06:13 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 24 2008, 04:58 PM)
Kinda off topic here, its there even a 32" LCDtv FULLHD available locally here?.. so far i only noticed 37" ones has FullHD... which cost like abt rm4k.
Ditto!, thats why it stated "support" 1080p instead of saying displays or resolution up to...

Not to mention if referring to LCDtv HDTV (supports 1080p) prices its abt rm1k difference compared to Full-HDTV.. lol...

Its like USB1.0-ports supports USB2.0 flashdrive, but of course the flashdrive can't run at hi/full-speeds (vice-versa).

Cheers smile.gif
yea.. there's a 32" from Sony one but not in best series if i'm not wrong. Unless SEN-Q website wrongly posted. keke

QUOTE(sbd18 @ Jun 24 2008, 06:08 PM)
hi there...

am looking into buying a 19 inch lcd monitor...been looking at these 2...would like your advises...

Samsung SyncMaster 931BW
ViewSonic VX1940w

which would u choose? or do u have some other recommendation within the same price range...which is around RM700...

thanks!
i would go for viewsonic. Though many will opt for samsung. Because i'm a Viewsonic user

This post has been edited by Intrigue: Jun 24 2008, 06:16 PM
Maxieos
post Jun 24 2008, 06:30 PM

3,752 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Jun 23 2008, 10:16 PM)
The only way to know is to switch it on and hook it to a PC and display a blank fullscreen of primary colors (red, green, blue), white and black... Some shops uses dead pixel testing software.  wink.gif
oh... but if the shop don't have software to test so the only way to test is use a black wallpaper fullscreen and white wallpaper fullscreen right ?
Sorry what do you mean red, green, blue ? need to test red, green, blue fullscreen wallpaper too ?

Added on June 24, 2008, 6:34 pmforgot , can someone tell me what brand got 19 inch fullscreen LCD selling ? and the price too ? unsure.gif
Because I am using very old graphic card cannot display widescreen one , and 19 inch widescreen not tall enough as 17 inch. Must need 22 inch to have same height as 19inch fullscreen and very expensive also.

This post has been edited by Maxieos: Jun 24 2008, 06:34 PM
Aquariusdenz
post Jun 24 2008, 09:07 PM

1,533 posts

@Intrigue
what a weird reason... then i will opt for samsung because im samsung user... zzz....
juine
post Jun 24 2008, 11:09 PM

618 posts

BenQ Intros the World's First 21.5-inch 16:9 Desktop LCD with Full 1080p Support

With 1080p rapidly becoming the new standard in display content BenQ released E2200HDA, the world’s first 21.5” Full HD 16:9 LCD monitor featuring 100% mapping to 1080p content. With 100% dot-for-dot matching to Full HD materials, BenQ’s new 16:9 large screen delivers immaculate rendering of 1080p content without losing any detail. The screen provides native resolution of 1920x1080, 10,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio, 300 cd/m2 brightness and a fast 5ms response time. Benq also pack E2200HDA with integrated speakers and its Senseye technology. Five new 21.5” and 24” Full HD 16:9 models will further pioneer 1080p displays later on, spreading across BenQ’s E Series and M Series LCD displays. BenQ 16:9 1080p Full HD LCD displays will be available in China and select countries in Europe, Asia Pacific and Latin America in Q3.

http://www.techpowerup.com/63774/BenQ_Intr...0p_Support.html

really world first???

This post has been edited by juine: Jun 24 2008, 11:10 PM
TSkianwee
post Jun 24 2008, 11:11 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 24 2008, 04:58 PM)

Cheers smile.gif
1K difference? At least 3K difference I would say. =D

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jun 24 2008, 06:13 PM)
yea.. there's a 32" from Sony one but not in best series if i'm not wrong. Unless SEN-Q website wrongly posted. keke

i would go for viewsonic. Though many will opt for samsung. Because i'm a Viewsonic user
Misleading info. Sony S400 series below 40" all HD Ready. Not FULL HD. Looks like Sen-Q trying to con consumer.

123 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0159sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:06 PM