University Curtin University of Technology, Sarawak Campus
Feb 1 2009, 08:11 PM

Is there any current students taking the Bachelor of Technology in Curtin? I'm currently a diploma holder, i'll be finishing my study at end of june and i was thinking of joining Curtin for second year degree, I was wondering is that possible, and when will be the intake for the second year? Anyone knows?
bluhound
Feb 1 2009, 10:00 PM

Yes, I am currently taking BTech, 2nd year. I am not sure whether having a diploma will take you directly to 2nd year. I do only know that a friend of mine who has a diploma in Mechanical Engineering was given an advance of 150 points. If I am not mistaken, it depends on the coordinator. As for intake dates, refer to the link below:- http://www.curtin.edu.my/current/calendar2009.htm
raymones89
Feb 1 2009, 11:25 PM

4 years of studies in bachelor of engineering will give me a honours degree?
Feb 2 2009, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(bluhound @ Feb 1 2009, 10:00 PM) Yes, I am currently taking BTech, 2nd year. I am not sure whether having a diploma will take you directly to 2nd year. I do only know that a friend of mine who has a diploma in Mechanical Engineering was given an advance of 150 points. If I am not mistaken, it depends on the coordinator. As for intake dates, refer to the link below:- http://www.curtin.edu.my/current/calendar2009.htmWell for my college here right now is that i could proceed to my second year if i finished my diploma, so i was wondering if it would be the same, if i have to start over from year 1 it would really be a waste of time IMO, unless I want to change to a different course, otherwise i'll have to repeat the things i've studied.
raymones89
Feb 5 2009, 07:01 PM

anyone flying there this mid of february?
jupiter_9
Feb 14 2009, 07:12 PM
Hello! Flying off to Miri tomorrow afternoon!  Is Curtin really that boring? This thread scares me  Anyway I'll be doing Bachelor of Engineering (Mechanical). Anyone with me? I'll be staying in Village.
bluhound
Feb 14 2009, 10:11 PM

It depends. Its not exactly that Curtin is boring, its more like the surrounding area. Some of them say its relaxingly nice and some the opposite. To me, compare with Miri and my hometown KK, well KK is way better for me of course. Miri has 3 shopping centres and 1 major cinema. KK beats Miri by several fold. What more if compared to KL...  Car traffic is the opposite though. Way more relaxing to drive in Miri..... No car park woes in city centre jupiter_9, since you're heading there tomorrow, try find it out yourself... *cross fingers*, hope you enjoy the O'Week.. *cough*
Qrious
Feb 14 2009, 10:35 PM

hey....the degree programme - public relations in curtin izit good?
limeuu
Feb 14 2009, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(raymones89 @ Feb 1 2009, 11:25 PM) 4 years of studies in bachelor of engineering will give me a honours degree? honours in the australian context, unlike the british system, is an extra year one does at the end of the basic degree.......and often acts as a bridge towards a masters........ and engineering is always a 4 year course in oz, unlike again the brits.....you will need to study the full 4 years anyway, if you want to be eligible for consultant engineer status with iem.........
raymones89
Feb 14 2009, 11:49 PM

will be flying tomorrow also hahaha, morning flight
will be staying in the lakeside apartment XD
jingga
Feb 26 2009, 09:44 PM

Class already started for a week... huhu so many clashes damn it. Btw i just read this http://www.easterntimes.com.my/index.php?n...s_content=10623  Huhu hoping this will not happen again....
bluhound
Feb 26 2009, 11:12 PM

I know. It freaked me out too. Thanks goodness I was in a middle of a lecture when this happened....
syyang85
Apr 8 2009, 02:18 PM
miri has the most ridiculous cinema in the whole sarawak or probably malaysia
spitfire111
Apr 8 2009, 02:53 PM

ts, I've already add your thread to my official thread list
raymones89
Apr 14 2009, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(syyang85 @ Apr 8 2009, 02:18 PM) miri has the most ridiculous cinema in the whole sarawak or probably malaysia yeah quite true, last week was my first time in the cinema here, watched fast and furious. Sometimes no sound, sometimes the screen blinks. LOL. Added on April 14, 2009, 1:50 pmAll the curtin students please report in this thread! This post has been edited by raymones89: Apr 14 2009, 01:50 PM
Lazycat
Apr 19 2009, 12:11 AM
erm...if anyone still goin over this thread then can u help me with one thing ? i'm goin to take bachelor in mechanical engineering n one thing i heard from most of the student in curtin is.....the lecturer isnt that gud..and some of them only come for a very short period, maybe a subs...so any opinion ? shld i still consider curtin as my u of choice ? coz i'm still choosing btween swinburne and curtin...oh, btw, i live in miri
babyblue10
Apr 22 2009, 07:44 PM
if you 1 2 compare swinburne and curtin, what i can say is curtin is way above swinburne. I think in uni life most of the time you don't really depend on your lecturer anymore. True to say that if all the lecturer are good, then the path toward a cert would be smooth. I always treat it as a challenge of my life.
IamjustME
Apr 22 2009, 07:49 PM
Fattening food is already a challenge.
Any suggestions?
babyblue10
Apr 22 2009, 10:57 PM
what u eat till u say is a challenge? "bilin"???
This post has been edited by babyblue10: Apr 22 2009, 10:57 PM
Lazycat
Apr 22 2009, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(babyblue10 @ Apr 22 2009, 07:44 PM) if you 1 2 compare swinburne and curtin, what i can say is curtin is way above swinburne. I think in uni life most of the time you don't really depend on your lecturer anymore. True to say that if all the lecturer are good, then the path toward a cert would be smooth. I always treat it as a challenge of my life. its true maybe for some subjects, but when it comes to something that i really cant understand, i still need the lecturer to teach me that...i tried to study some subjects myself n the past, but eventually i failed...erm, well, thr are juz things that i wont understand if i dun get guidance(especially from a gud a lecturer), so, u can say that i'm pretty much dependent on the lecturer's quality of teaching..(knew it wasnt a good thing to do, but...hrm) This post has been edited by Lazycat: Apr 22 2009, 11:38 PM