University Curtin University of Technology, Sarawak Campus

bluhound
post Jan 20 2009, 08:26 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(raymones89 @ Jan 20 2009, 05:30 PM)
which accomodation will be there best over there? the lakeside apartment, villa or village?
Village is the most comfortable of all three. Next step down is Villa.
Lakeside...err... Based on my opinion I do not find it comfy at all. blink.gif

However, if you want to know which one is the most convenient, it is definitely Villa. The bus stop is just outside (just like Village) and the shops are just opposite the road (NOT like Village. Walking to the shops is okay for the first few weeks. Soon, uber laziness kicks in and you know the rest...)

For first year first semester students, it is recommended to stay with the Uni's lodging so it is easier to make new friends as well as a first step to get used to Miri. Thats what I did. First sem stay in Village then second sem move out. Now proceeding in 2nd year.
BTW, it is also a big plus if you have a car. Most of the *cough* activity *cough* are closer to the city centre. Senadin is well, to be frank, quiet, minus off the car accidents and the sound of modded car exhausts... tongue.gif

bluhound
post Jan 21 2009, 12:09 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(raymones89 @ Jan 21 2009, 12:00 AM)
what if i ride bicycle to college either from villa or village?  Will it be friggin far? hahahhaa...
Bicycle is fine. You can lock your bike behind Curtin's bus drop off point. I've got friends who use bikes to Uni. However, prepare to bring along a poncho.....
The rain can be a hassle, especially when you wake up for lectures assuming you take the bike and skip the bus. There was once a friend who rode to Uni under the rain. One hand on the bike's handlebars and the other hand holding the umbrella.
It worked.....somewhat... sad.gif

This post has been edited by bluhound: Jan 21 2009, 12:10 AM
bluhound
post Feb 1 2009, 10:00 PM

192 posts

Yes, I am currently taking BTech, 2nd year. I am not sure whether having a diploma will take you directly to 2nd year.

I do only know that a friend of mine who has a diploma in Mechanical Engineering was given an advance of 150 points. If I am not mistaken, it depends on the coordinator.

As for intake dates, refer to the link below:-
http://www.curtin.edu.my/current/calendar2009.htm
bluhound
post Feb 14 2009, 10:11 PM

192 posts

It depends. Its not exactly that Curtin is boring, its more like the surrounding area. Some of them say its relaxingly nice and some the opposite.
To me, compare with Miri and my hometown KK, well KK is way better for me of course. Miri has 3 shopping centres and 1 major cinema. KK beats Miri by several fold. What more if compared to KL... sweat.gif
Car traffic is the opposite though. Way more relaxing to drive in Miri..... No car park woes in city centre tongue.gif

jupiter_9, since you're heading there tomorrow, try find it out yourself...
*cross fingers*, hope you enjoy the O'Week.. *cough*
bluhound
post Feb 26 2009, 11:12 PM

192 posts

I know. It freaked me out too. Thanks goodness I was in a middle of a lecture when this happened....
bluhound
post Apr 24 2009, 12:05 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Lazycat @ Apr 23 2009, 11:26 PM)
i did hope i could, but i dun have a single fren goin thr, or even frenz that studied mechanical engineering thr..so, its really sux
Err, try to make new friends?? whistling.gif
All of us have to go through that stage one way or another.....
bluhound
post Apr 28 2009, 12:59 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Lazycat @ Apr 28 2009, 12:25 AM)
well, its a stage that everyone have to go through anyway, so, come on, bring it one !! XP
thz ya, babyblue and bluhound...^^
no prob. biggrin.gif
bluhound
post May 1 2009, 09:23 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(hikashi @ May 1 2009, 07:17 PM)
dine at annie's kitchen above super save.
the lady do cater cheaper healthy mommy's food for the student. just ask her ^^
That or cook at home.
Well, occasionally.... if you know what I mean. tongue.gif
bluhound
post Jun 9 2009, 10:36 PM

192 posts

Right after exiting the baggage collecting area, head to the right side that shows car rentals. One of the booth is the place to book a taxi. Just say Curtin University. You pay at the booth and they will give you a coupon then head outside and pick your taxi. Give the taxi driver the coupon.
Now most airports in M'sia uses the coupon system.

Or you can arrange Curtin's Airport Reception Service.
http://www.curtin.edu.my/international/int_office/ARS.htm
bluhound
post Jul 12 2009, 08:57 PM

192 posts

Sigh, this came as a shock to me.. sad.gif
Got a phone call this morning. Some damn idiots broke into my house in Miri. Literally looted the whole place upside down.
Like as if a hurricane went past it. cry.gif

House locked and armed but still managed to break the glass and cut the grille...
Current and new Curtin students..BE EXTRA VIGILANT when you're in Senadin.
Can't f*k'n believe it. mad.gif

Two cases of human stabbings, gang robbery, multiple break-ins around the area, others pets got stolen and now this, all within the first half of this year..... cry.gif
Its really getting me paranoid, safety's at risk....

Got the cops on a tail now...crossing fingers for answers.
*speechless*
sigh....
bluhound
post Jul 24 2009, 03:47 PM

192 posts

Both places are just as bad as staying outside.
Village "pecah masuk"...happened number of times already even when the students are inside the house. To the exent there was one time, the management hired guards and had German Shepard guard dogs on patrol.
They closed the Village gates and heavily restrict the movement of cars in the premises.

Now they removed the dogs but kept the gates closed but one "pecah masuk" is already enough to threaten the security over there.
Sames goes to Villa. I heard that there was one case where a person tried to sneak in via the Villa drains into the premises.

Cut it short, as long you're staying in Senadin, the risk is just too high to stay comfortably.
bluhound
post Dec 11 2009, 11:50 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Xangel08 @ Dec 11 2009, 11:15 PM)
Hello there! Im gonna take foundation next year so i was wondering,the orientation thing..They spend the WHOLE week talking ab0ut what? The school?
Check out Curtin's O'week page. http://www.curtin.edu.my/oweek/about.htm
O'week Programmes are available on that page but it is for 2009. However, it is similar for every year.
I attended mine back in '08. Only went for the first few days for some enrollment stuff and car sticker registration as in between the days the organisers had organised some group ice breaking activities which I was not interested at.... sweat.gif
bluhound
post Dec 19 2009, 04:41 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Xangel08 @ Dec 12 2009, 09:23 AM)
So do they have clubs or something? What group ice breaking activities?

Added on December 12, 2009, 8:46 pmoh and also,i go for orientation first before buying the books right?
Yes, they do have clubs. Just think of what clubs you have back in high school and most probably you'll find it there, with some extras.

Ice-breaking activities as in a type of "get to know you" activities. There are actually many types of ice breaking activities however while I was there (no flaming pls, it's just my own point of view.) the organisers pick the activities that are more suited for a much younger age group (early teens)......

As for buying books, you can them at any appropriate time as there is a dedicated bookshop selling books all week. You will only know what books you need once you attend your first lectures (or for those who do not attend them, the 'unit outline' via Curtin's web site will mention it).

FYI, books are kinda pricey. I bought books with prices ranging from RM90 to a hole burning RM600!... shocking.gif There are photocopies around but *cough* 'officially' *cough* they are not allowed to be used in lectures. Something about breach of copyright or something like that......
However, if you're taking a unit with an open book exam, only original copies allowed...

QUOTE(Agent 47 @ Dec 18 2009, 01:30 PM)
I'm a A-Levels student, does this mean that I cant study here?
Yes, you can. I entered Curtin with my A-Level results.

To enter foundation, you'll need SPM or equivalent.
To enter a degree course, you'll need either STPM, A-Levels, UEC or equivalent.
If you need more info, check the Curtin 2010 prospectus.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Dec 19 2009, 04:43 PM
bluhound
post Jan 12 2010, 11:25 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(JYKY @ Jan 12 2010, 11:13 PM)
What are the entry requirements for ENG courses using A-levels? isit reli 9 points? o there is no cut-off score?
If I am not mistaken, yes. I was told that starting from 2010 onwards, minimum points to enter Engineering will be 9 points which is an increase of 2 points from last year. Below is how credits is calculated from your A-Level grade (as of 08-09).

E - 1 point
D - 2 points
C - 3 points
B - 4 points
A - 5 points
bluhound
post Feb 22 2010, 10:20 PM

192 posts

Yep... smile.gif
Already starting to miss the holidays... sad.gif
bluhound
post Mar 8 2010, 10:37 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Mar 8 2010, 10:29 AM)
Hey guys!
I wanna ask you guys something...
How is the broadband service over there?
If you stay at the hostel there, does the internet provided?
If yes, how was it? Bad all the time?
Thanks ~
If you stay at the hostel, free WiFi is provided (DeConnexion - free registration required). Max speed depends on the numbers of users online. Last time I used it it was only average with predictable downtimes (aka A LOT).

Streamyx is available over there but only max of 1Mbps. However, it depends on which housing phase you are going to stay at. Some areas only get max speed of 100KB/s but I usually get 170KB/s-ish.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Mar 8 2010, 12:42 PM
bluhound
post Mar 8 2010, 10:28 PM

192 posts

Right now its Celcom. I had to call out a couple of times before I can get a successful call. I either get hang ups, robot sounding voice, no sound from both parties or voice mails.... =(

I suspect that there are quite a number of Celcom Broadband users there, causing congestion. If I head down to the city centre, all is fine.
bluhound
post Mar 9 2010, 07:39 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Mar 9 2010, 07:19 PM)
Well, i did tried to call digi number there, phew it was hard to get....
and yea, celcom broadband is famous there huh? Lots of them are using there...haha!
Yeah, because of that my calls kept on dropping off and 3G video calls become terrible. The other party's face became jumbled squares.
Last year it was just fine.
sigh......

I guess it bad news for me but good news for Curtin, it means more students have enrolled to Curtin... unsure.gif

0.0310sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:49 AM