47 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

The Tomato/Victek's Tomato Firmware Club, Victek himself is here to help you !

aik457
post Jun 12 2009, 03:31 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(fillet @ Jun 11 2009, 09:21 PM)
in terms of performance...
both Victek and Tomato is about the same right?

Managed to get the QOS to work....

was hosting a Dota game and downloading with Thunder at the same time. (DL150/UL26)

no one in my game complained ... guess the firmware is really doing a great job...

even if i max out the Thunder, my mom still can surf without problem on the other computer.!

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  Thumbs up for TOMATO

Original Linksys firmware will drop my internet every once in a while for no reason(although i've set Max Idle :9999mins), and then i must restart, because the router won't redial, even after i click reconnect from the Router Config Page.

My TOMATO firmware is the latest one, v1.25 .
how you configure the qos for thunder? can you teach me?? coz i don;t know which port to set...
bsb85my
post Jun 12 2009, 05:55 PM

╮(╯_╰)╭
744 posts

QUOTE(fillet @ Jun 11 2009, 09:21 PM)
in terms of performance...
both Victek and Tomato is about the same right?

Managed to get the QOS to work....

was hosting a Dota game and downloading with Thunder at the same time. (DL150/UL26)

no one in my game complained ... guess the firmware is really doing a great job...

even if i max out the Thunder, my mom still can surf without problem on the other computer.!

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  Thumbs up for TOMATO

Original Linksys firmware will drop my internet every once in a while for no reason(although i've set Max Idle :9999mins), and then i must restart, because the router won't redial, even after i click reconnect from the Router Config Page.

My TOMATO firmware is the latest one, v1.25 .
Victek has more functions...and for me it's better than the ori Tomato.
Yes!! Indeed the ori Tomato can do the QoS for u..and it's sufficient for those who use the line for himself. But if sharing connections with others, then it's different talking..and this comes to Victek.
Indeed u can control P2P prog to lower priority. But what if other ppl surfing web with tons of stuffs to load?? for eg: Youtube, Facebook games, etc. So the Tomato is not goin to work so well as most ppl set the port 80 to the highest priority.
However, Victek can limits all ppl bandwidth, which mean limit each IP/MAC bandwidth..so u do not nid to worry abt when other ppl is surfing those "heavy" website which uses port 80.
arct
post Jun 12 2009, 10:34 PM

377 posts

regarding the tansmit and receive antenna. since im using a wrt54gl, should i set A as transmit B recieve or A recieve B transmit, or i should just leave it at AUTO and lets tomato figure and manage the trafics by itself?
bsb85my
post Jun 12 2009, 10:36 PM

╮(╯_╰)╭
744 posts

QUOTE(arct @ Jun 12 2009, 10:34 PM)
regarding the tansmit and receive antenna. since im using a wrt54gl, should i set A as transmit B recieve or A recieve B transmit, or i should just leave it at AUTO and lets tomato figure and manage the trafics by itself?
let it auto ba...no prob de.
KyleNShaw
post Jun 13 2009, 04:58 PM

i was wondering, what the fastest stable OC speed anyone has used for Linksys WRT54G/GS/GL.

Thank you
old_calculator
post Jun 13 2009, 07:28 PM

Don't go away
980 posts

too bad its not on wrt54g2 sad.gif
bsb85my
post Jun 13 2009, 08:42 PM

╮(╯_╰)╭
744 posts

QUOTE(KyleNShaw @ Jun 13 2009, 04:58 PM)
i was wondering, what the fastest stable OC speed anyone has used for Linksys WRT54G/GS/GL.

Thank you
better not to OC. if too high, KABOOM!!
fillet
post Jun 13 2009, 10:50 PM

1,925 posts

prasys dare to OC because he has installed a heatsink inside his router.
gsan
post Jun 14 2009, 06:03 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(bsb85my @ Jun 13 2009, 08:42 PM)
better not to OC. if too high, KABOOM!!
my asus w500gl v1 default speed is 260mhz and i oc to 280mhz for a few months, everything is fine. search from internet, this model can go to 300mhz without any problem.
fillet
post Jun 14 2009, 10:08 PM

1,925 posts

should i set GAMING priority above anything else... even higher than DNS?

or DNS should always be the highesT?
shitmyx
post Jun 18 2009, 04:39 AM

185 posts

Hi sifus,

Whenever I download something using Xunlei, at first I could get full speed. But after 5 minutes, the speed will drop tremendously even though the torrent has many resources.

Then I stop the task for a while/ restart my router, I could get back full speed. The after 5 minutes, the speed drops again.

I'm using:
Xunlei 5.8.6.600 No ad version
Linksys WRT54GL (flashed with Tomato 1.25)

I wonder is it the software problem or router problem. This problem has been there for quite some time. Please help! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by shitmyx: Jun 18 2009, 04:40 AM
vin123321
post Jun 19 2009, 05:42 PM

Can anyone here actually manage to open ports with Victek's Tomato Firmware mod? I was using Tomato RAF 1.23.8515.5 ND WL 4.158.4.0 and I had to *Downgrade* to Tomato 1.25 just to be able to portforward again... :\

This post has been edited by vin123321: Jun 20 2009, 08:02 AM
bsb85my
post Jun 20 2009, 05:13 PM

╮(╯_╰)╭
744 posts

QUOTE(vin123321 @ Jun 19 2009, 05:42 PM)
Can anyone here actually manage to open ports with Victek's Tomato Firmware mod? I was using Tomato RAF 1.23.8515.5 ND WL 4.158.4.0 and I had to *Downgrade* to Tomato 1.25 just to be able to portforward again... :\
y can't portforward? i've done it all the time using victek's firmware. try to enable the UPNP function and see.
vin123321
post Jun 20 2009, 05:32 PM

QUOTE(bsb85my @ Jun 20 2009, 02:13 AM)
y can't portforward? i've done it all the time using victek's firmware. try to enable the UPNP function and see.

I'm not sure man, I don't like UPnP as I run a very secure network. Azureus (A well known BitTorrent program) says I'm NAT blocked and I cannot host games with SRCDS anymore (Counter-strike Source, Team Fortress 2, etc) While I'm using Victek's modded firmware.

EDIT: Just proved it again to myself, with UPnP on Vuze asks for the ports to be opened and away it goes... mad.gif

Either my firewall settings are wrong or the ports just like staying closed, I've reset my whole connection but to no avail it doesn't work. It is as if the portforwarding tab is ignored all together :|

EDIT: Sorry guys, I'm an idiot haha works great. doh.gif

Thanks for taking the time to read this, I hope Victek releases 1.25 after he finds it stable enough. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by vin123321: Jun 21 2009, 01:58 AM
bsb85my
post Jun 21 2009, 07:03 AM

╮(╯_╰)╭
744 posts

QUOTE(vin123321 @ Jun 20 2009, 05:32 PM)
I'm not sure man, I don't like UPnP as I run a very secure network. Azureus (A well known BitTorrent program) says I'm NAT blocked and I cannot host games with SRCDS anymore (Counter-strike Source, Team Fortress 2, etc) While I'm using Victek's modded firmware.
EDIT: Just proved it again to myself, with UPnP on Vuze asks for the ports to be opened and away it goes...  mad.gif

Either my firewall settings are wrong or the ports just like staying closed, I've reset my whole connection but to no avail it doesn't work. It is as if the portforwarding tab is ignored all together :|

EDIT: Sorry guys, I'm an idiot haha works great. doh.gif

Thanks for taking the time to read this, I hope Victek releases 1.25 after he finds it stable enough.  tongue.gif
hmm..try to set the exact port in the ext ports and int ports. for eg: war3, int ports = 6112, ext ports = 6112, proto = both, int address = 192.168.1.2
i can host a dota game in G-A-R-E-N-A (GGC). btw, i've enable UPNP la..but as far as i knw, war3 doesn't run UPNP. so, i guess it's not UPNP prob la..

PS: Why is the word G-A-R-E-N-A will become "flying spaghetti monster"?

This post has been edited by bsb85my: Jun 21 2009, 07:07 AM
arct
post Jun 21 2009, 10:18 AM

377 posts

war3 uses a specific range or ports, 6112 to 6119. i think you can change that too in game to suit your needs.

for the port for your different games or applications, you can go www.portforward.com for more info.

lol, i gues ga re na has something to do with some gay vpn thingy in some other thread. my post used to get deleted for talking about gay-re-na...

This post has been edited by arct: Jun 21 2009, 10:22 AM
aik457
post Jun 24 2009, 03:35 PM

181 posts

currectly i'm using tomato version 1.23. If i want to upgrade to victek's version i juz flash it again from my currect firmware izit? and i notice that you guys gt mention b4 said that victecks version has less free ram than the speedmod version, so what is the benefits for having more free ram? sorry for the noobies question... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aik457: Jun 24 2009, 03:36 PM
meeprat
post Jun 25 2009, 08:19 PM

42 posts

I apologise if this is not the proper thread for this post but after spending the past 2 hours trying to figure out why I am unable to connect to the Interwebz using my WRT54GL that's been flashed with Tomato, I hope that folks here would forgive me.

I have attached a screenshot of the Basic>Network settings within Tomato.

As far as I can see, I think I've managed to configure it correctly although given my inability to get online using that particular router, I could very well be wrong. After plugging in the phone line to the WRT54GL, the internet LED is not lit up.

Any ideas as to what I managed to eff up royally during my attempts to configure this blasted thing? Again, I apologise if this isn't the correct thread for this post.

muok
post Jun 26 2009, 10:05 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(meeprat @ Jun 25 2009, 08:19 PM)
As far as I can see, I think I've managed to configure it correctly although given my inability to get online using that particular router, I could very well be wrong. After plugging in the phone line to the WRT54GL, the internet LED is not lit up.
The WRT54GL does not have an ADSL modem built in. How did you manage to plug in a phone line?

This post has been edited by muok: Jun 26 2009, 10:05 AM
arct
post Jun 26 2009, 10:43 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(muok @ Jun 26 2009, 10:05 AM)
The WRT54GL does not have an ADSL modem built in. How did you manage to plug in a phone line?
haha, that's what i did too when i first bought this router. i almost wanted to sell it off but later changed my mind because of the support of third party firmware. after that i got a super cheap modem from the forums and now its working like it should.

47 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:51 AM