Can I bring my own lock? Because I have to bring everything during first week as I'm staying far..
University Welcome to UTM...., How was your MHS week? @_@
Jun 20 2008, 09:49 PM
1,336 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Can I bring my own lock? Because I have to bring everything during first week as I'm staying far..
Jun 20 2008, 09:51 PM
39 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
wow is it? is kolej perdana very good place to stay? is it new? what facilities does it have?
by the way anyone has pictures of the room itself? i would like to see... if can submit a few of the pictures around the room like the hall way would be good..thanks |
Jun 20 2008, 09:52 PM
9,275 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL. Best place in Malaysia. Nuff said |
Jun 20 2008, 09:55 PM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
QUOTE(chicky86 @ Jun 20 2008, 01:48 PM) well... not fair for guys? hahaha...for those who stay in kp, congratz... coz not easy to get into kp... the thing good about kp is it has wired lan... so u can dota n share files.... other den dat, i dun find anythin good at kp.... but damn... it has onli 1 block for guys... so, unfair for guys... for girls, u all dun hav to worry... u all get to choose to saty in da apartment shared wit ur fren.... 4 person in 1 apartment... if not, u all can stay in normal hostel... it has 2 hostels n an apartment for girls.... so guys, u r surrounded by girls... haha.... i should tell u that back in my days (late 90s), there was only ONE kolej for girls, that is KTF (tun fatimah). yes, only ONE kolej for girls and 4 kolej for guys. hahaha... |
Jun 20 2008, 09:57 PM
436 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(ryukario @ Jun 20 2008, 07:19 PM) hi there, anyone from mate ind ?? Sorry bro the field is not same...can you give me the information of this course?? i a little bit bluur of this course.... please....... QUOTE(hokuan @ Jun 20 2008, 08:34 PM) Hi all! i'm entering UTM too! Mechanical(industry) Engineering course. Really have a lot of questions, but most of them answered when I browse thru this thread Only have few more question: 1)I get KOLEJ TUANKU CANSELOR, is it safe there? I need to bring my laptop during first day, will it be any problem? 2)We can apply ptptn during Orientation week right? 3)My roommate will be senior or newcomer? <--- are you wishing a senior to be your room mate ???? 4)Anybody here from the same faculty as me? Share share experience QUOTE(hokuan @ Jun 20 2008, 09:49 PM) Please bring the laptop locker because even the cupboard locker can be easily vandalized.... from my experience being a fasi last lear alot of people lost their handphones during orientation... so you guys maybe can bring a cipalang HP first then swap it when you guys balik kampung later ... This post has been edited by kanabalize: Jun 20 2008, 09:58 PM |
Jun 20 2008, 09:58 PM
ermm i am new student too at UTM. but currently i am studying at UTAR, electronic engineering.
i am offered UTM computer science software engineering. so is it worth switching? why? teachers are good? |
Jun 20 2008, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(serpentskin @ Jun 20 2008, 09:58 PM) ermm i am new student too at UTM. but currently i am studying at UTAR, electronic engineering. i am offered UTM computer science software engineering. so is it worth switching? why? teachers are good? I dont want to brag but the best faculty in UTM is the Electrical and some mechanical faculty .... So i guess my advice is dont.... change... seriously.... |
Jun 20 2008, 10:04 PM
If got laptop locker, scare they still can grab the laptop and runaway. I will bring a lock, and also get a laptop locker
Jun 20 2008, 10:05 PM
983 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Selangor |
QUOTE(kanabalize @ Jun 20 2008, 09:57 PM) Sorry bro the field is not same... HOW come can lost HP..?? i thought HP, Purse, valuable small stuff, should be always with us (in pocket/small handy bag).... Please bring the laptop locker because even the cupboard locker can be easily vandalized.... from my experience being a fasi last lear alot of people lost their handphones during orientation... so you guys maybe can bring a cipalang HP first then swap it when you guys balik kampung later ... How to change the Door Lock?? which type of lock?? Picture?? If want to change lock, have to apply from who, OR call ppl outside change it??? |
Jun 20 2008, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(kanabalize @ Jun 20 2008, 10:01 PM) I dont want to brag but the best faculty in UTM is the Electrical and some mechanical faculty .... So i guess my advice is dont.... change... seriously.... isn't software engineering is consider as engineering at UTM? |
Jun 20 2008, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(hokuan @ Jun 20 2008, 10:04 PM) If got laptop locker, scare they still can grab the laptop and runaway. I will bring a lock, and also get a laptop locker better yet ... bring laptop only after the orientation ..because during orientation ..you will not stay at your room at all..only for bathing,praying and sleeping... its very dangerous...QUOTE(shinichi88 @ Jun 20 2008, 10:05 PM) HOW come can lost HP..?? i thought HP, Purse, valuable small stuff, should be always with us (in pocket/small handy bag).... Because the same reason as azarimy said... previous students made duplicate keys...BTW you dont bring your valuable stuff to toilet rite... it just that it is too dangerous...How to change the Door Lock?? which type of lock?? Picture?? If want to change lock, have to apply from who, OR call ppl outside change it??? You have to inform the kolej authority... QUOTE(serpentskin @ Jun 20 2008, 10:07 PM) kanabalize, you mean that the teachers in UTM or not really good in computer science software engineering? and i should stay at UTAR? Sadly ... no ... as far i can see people who join there are the leftovers from other engineering faculty...we call the faculty as fsksm - Faculty of Computer Science and Information Systems - website : http://web.utm.my/fsksm/..... you can see for your self....isn't software engineering is consider as engineering at UTM? This post has been edited by kanabalize: Jun 20 2008, 11:05 PM |
Jun 20 2008, 10:18 PM
I cant bring it after orientation because i'm don't live near UTM. So can only depends on the lock..
Jun 20 2008, 10:51 PM
51 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Hi there, I'm also going to UTM soon
Wanna ask, I just get my sspn account today, am i late for the ptptn? Because i read d sspn faq and find that sspn should open 2weeks before for the ptptn. Then what i should do? |
Jun 20 2008, 10:55 PM
75 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(ryukario @ Jun 20 2008, 07:19 PM) hi there, anyone from mate ind ?? Mate ind referring to Industrial Mathematics?can you give me the information of this course?? i a little bit bluur of this course.... please....... Hah, i got offered for this course. What i can say is, after reading the info in UTM abt the syllabus of this course, u'll be studying mainly maths, and some C++ programming. For more info, u can refer to the following : http://web.utm.my/tncap/images/stories/FS/SSM.pdf Hope it helps. This post has been edited by vxeon: Jun 20 2008, 10:56 PM |
Jun 20 2008, 10:56 PM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
here's a tip about valuable things:
most thefts occur bcoz an opportunity presents itself. others occur bcoz a target presents itself. only a small fraction of theft occur randomly. so to be safe, u must deny the first two situations: deny the opportunity of theft. keep ur doors, lockers, drawers, cupboards locked at all times. even if u're going to the toilet, keep it locked! make sure ur roommate understands this too. the other thing is to not make urself a target. dont flash ur handphone around or parading ur ipod or laptop around. people cant make u a target if they dont know what u have. to me, the safest place to be is to live next door to a person who has all the fancy stuffs. why? bcoz they're a bigger target than i am |
Jun 20 2008, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(xen14 @ Jun 20 2008, 10:51 PM) Hi there, I'm also going to UTM soon I think better you call PTPTN...because you will be broke if you dont get PTPTN....Wanna ask, I just get my sspn account today, am i late for the ptptn? Because i read d sspn faq and find that sspn should open 2weeks before for the ptptn. Then what i should do? |
Jun 20 2008, 11:29 PM
157 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
Please keep your stuff safe. When going out from the room, please close the WINDOWS and LOCK the door.
There were incidents, where the thief took the items from your table(cause your windows was open) and just open your unlocked door to take your stuff. When going out from the room for a long time, do keep all your valuables in the cupboard and lock it. Prevention is the key. Guys and gals, this is good time for you all to get to know all the students in the bloc and at least at your floor. They can help you out when in need and you can help them out too =) When I was in M16 (KTDI), I got to know everyone I can in the bloc. Especially, in on my level 2. (then I became the Ketua Aras) It was great even though most of them on my level were from a different course, we got along great. Had a lot of interesting stuff to talk about daily including when in the toilet before brushing teeth/ waiting to use the toilets. Great memories... Hope you guys will make many friends and beautiful memories at UTM =) |
Jun 20 2008, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(xen14 @ Jun 20 2008, 10:51 PM) Hi there, I'm also going to UTM soon Me also apply SSPN today morning... wat can i do bout it.. i don know weather i get offer form UNI until 1 week b4 the MHS...Wanna ask, I just get my sspn account today, am i late for the ptptn? Because i read d sspn faq and find that sspn should open 2weeks before for the ptptn. Then what i should do? How can i sure tat i WILL get offer 2week b4..? Of course i don want to waste money + time to apply SSPN.. later if i realise i didn't get any offer... I need to be sure tat i can surely enter UNI only i will apply... BTW., i haven receive the OFFER LETTER yet... where is the letter la..?? |
Jun 20 2008, 11:47 PM
75 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(shinichi88 @ Jun 20 2008, 11:43 PM) Me also apply SSPN today morning... wat can i do bout it.. i don know weather i get offer form UNI until 1 week b4 the MHS... I also haven't receive the letter of offer. Most prolly it'll reach within next week. Well, there's nothing to worry abt the letter of offer. Cuz even if u didn't receive it through mail, u can still print it out online as stated in the UTM intake website, and the registrar department will sort things out that time. How can i sure tat i WILL get offer 2week b4..? Of course i don want to waste money + time to apply SSPN.. later if i realise i didn't get any offer... I need to be sure tat i can surely enter UNI only i will apply... BTW., i haven receive the OFFER LETTER yet... where is the letter la..?? |
Jun 20 2008, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(vxeon @ Jun 20 2008, 11:47 PM) I also haven't receive the letter of offer. Most prolly it'll reach within next week. Well, there's nothing to worry abt the letter of offer. Cuz even if u didn't receive it through mail, u can still print it out online as stated in the UTM intake website, and the registrar department will sort things out that time. We should go green bout it.. Don waste paper... don waste electricity... Every1 will be happy.. |
| Change to: | 0.0183sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:40 AM |