University Welcome to UTM...., How was your MHS week? @_@

MyKy44
post May 6 2009, 01:03 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 5 2009, 06:26 PM)
i am everywhere tongue.gif. architecture have schools in both campuses, and in the future, in bandar penawar as well. so the staffs normally travel between these campuses. my family is in shah alam but i'm working in skudai. so i'm practically on both.

on another note, i'm not aware if there is a UTM hostel outside the KL campus. there are other hostels, but i'm not sure who it belonged to.
There's another one ma, er, siswa jaya i think. Near Wangsa Maju wan. Stayed there for debate training camp of some sort

QUOTE(Rizzy91 @ May 5 2009, 10:15 PM)
which is better stay at hostel or outside? XD
stay outside la... more freedom can bring girls/drinks back to your room

QUOTE(cottonkandy @ May 5 2009, 10:17 PM)
is it hard to get in UTM if i don't do good for my SPM? hmm.gif
:/
If by SPM, it'll be application for Diploma. Try look back few pages, then can try to pm the guys who applied instead

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ May 5 2009, 11:43 PM)
Food fully sponsored by UTM or we need to buy it from their cafeteria or something?

Althought im Klian,but im also having quite trouble with the expense here,scare not enough  $$$ to live there later.

My last resort will be PTPTN if i cant get any scholarship...T.T
doh.gif
where got free food wan... unless u go to some ceramah (which are plenty...), they'll give u free food. Bihun goreng. Without fail doh.gif
azarimy
post May 6 2009, 01:07 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ May 5 2009, 03:43 PM)
Food fully sponsored by UTM or we need to buy it from their cafeteria or something?

Althought im Klian,but im also having quite trouble with the expense here,scare not enough  $$$ to live there later.

free food? kau ingat ni asrama penuh? hahahhaa!

MyKy44
post May 6 2009, 01:16 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

^eh tapi kalo kat UM, diorang provide food tau (tapi kena bayar ah, dah masuk dalam fees skali)
Muhammad Syukri
post May 6 2009, 01:33 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 6 2009, 01:07 AM)
free food? kau ingat ni asrama penuh? hahahhaa!
QUOTE(MyKy44 @ May 6 2009, 01:16 AM)
^eh tapi kalo kat UM, diorang provide food tau (tapi kena bayar ah, dah masuk dalam fees skali)
Thats what i thought lar,the fees also include the food or not,then u laugh at me back doh.gif

So the answer is no then,thanks.
MyKy44
post May 6 2009, 02:00 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

laugh.gif tarak la... don't ever think that it is goof if they provide food.. it's gonna suck.
pcboy
post May 6 2009, 08:45 AM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ May 5 2009, 11:43 PM)

avoid PTPTN as u can.. coz by the time u graduate, u already have debt to pay.. if your course is 3years, i guess u have to pay approx. Rm150 monthly... i assume ur starting salary is around Rm1500.. of course u're going to buy car (pay car loan), house rent, girls, clubbing etc.. u're KLian, accommodation and food already free maaaa... why want PTPTN some more?

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ May 6 2009, 01:16 AM)
that kinda system is really not worth.. u have to pay the food included with the hostel fees but the food sucksss big time!! better buy your own food, u can eat KFC or McD anytime u want.. biggrin.gif
vixxiee
post May 6 2009, 12:09 PM

Super size me!!
1,294 posts

PTPTN should help things out a bit...coz not so many ppl can get scholar and not that rich to pay the univ fees
MyKy44
post May 6 2009, 01:34 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

i'm not taking PTPTN though...
Muhammad Syukri
post May 6 2009, 03:29 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ May 6 2009, 01:34 PM)
i'm not taking PTPTN though...
emm,im thinking to do part time job while pursuing Diploma,do i have the time to do the part time or its gonna effect my studies??

Im really having financial problem right now.
zellleonhart
post May 6 2009, 03:56 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ May 6 2009, 03:29 PM)
emm,im thinking to do part time job while pursuing Diploma,do i have the time to do the part time or its gonna effect my studies??

Syukri, why not taking PTPTN loan? PTPTN loan is very easy to get, I can say as long as you apply you can get it FOR SURE...
I heard that PTPTN will loan you RM7000~RM8000 per annum if you are studying in local government university!
After deducting each semester's fee, I calculated around RM500 extra wang saku every month. But of course this RM500 need to be used in the hostel rent, food, transport etc but as long as you use it carefully, I think it's just enough. If it's not enough, getting some extra from parents (let say rm 100 extra) isn't very melampau right...

If you worry about the payback when you are working, don't worry, it's only Rm100~150 per month, you can easily afford it in the future... Moreover, if you still havent found your job, you no need to pay until u get your job =) I am getting PTPTN loan for sure...

This post has been edited by zellleonhart: May 6 2009, 04:37 PM
zellleonhart
post May 6 2009, 04:37 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Just received my surat tawaran via pos. Really no buku set tawaran T_T wan waste ink already...
BTW, if i print it out black and white (using black and white laser printer) without colour can? The form acceptable? I dont have color printer leh..
pcboy
post May 6 2009, 05:03 PM

1,2,3,4.... Hi-5
800 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ May 6 2009, 03:29 PM)

Then PTPTN is recommended for you.. i am one of PTPTN borrowers.. i pay Rm200 monthly since 2004.. dunno when its going to end sweat.gif
azarimy
post May 6 2009, 05:42 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 6 2009, 08:37 AM)
Just received my surat tawaran via pos. Really no buku set tawaran T_T wan waste ink already...
BTW, if i print it out black and white (using black and white laser printer) without colour can? The form acceptable? I dont have color printer leh..
i dont think anybody gonna reject u if u print B/W. would be very trivial. probably a good ground for u to sue UTM, if anything happens hahaha
zellleonhart
post May 6 2009, 05:55 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 6 2009, 05:42 PM)
i dont think anybody gonna reject u if u print B/W. would be very trivial. probably a good ground for u to sue UTM, if anything happens hahaha
Oh ok then I print B/W la... BTW, i saw someone in LYN saying that last time he got 3.2 CGPA for his diploma and cannot enter degree. So even I get 3.2+ CGPA I am not secured a place in degree?

EDIT: azarimy, I saw your reply in the thread "huaaa cammane nk apply utm neyhh"... I got it already, but must I have working experience to have better merit? Why cant I like people study form 6 or matriks, after finishing form 6 then straight away enter degree (if good result and get the offer)? After my 3 years of diploma, I can't enter degree just because "tak cukup tempat kosong" or "tak pernah bekerja"? I thought I can just study all the way and the graduate... If it's like this I need to think over it whether to accept this UPU or not...

This post has been edited by zellleonhart: May 6 2009, 06:02 PM
Rizzy91
post May 6 2009, 06:41 PM

239 posts

does kediaman siswa jaya really that far from utm?
we need to take bus then?
or can we bring cars ^^

thanks notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Rizzy91: May 6 2009, 06:45 PM
Muhammad Syukri
post May 6 2009, 06:48 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(Rizzy91 @ May 6 2009, 06:41 PM)
does kediaman siswa jaya really that far from utm?
we need to take bus then?
or can we bring cars ^^

thanks notworthy.gif
Its 3 kilometre from the Main Campus.

Im not sure if u dare enough to break the rule,but 1st year student prohibited from bringing their vehicle.

Yesterday i go survey also the main campus already full parked with car & moto,plus the road to go there always jam during peak hours because got Sekolah Menengah near the campus.
azarimy
post May 6 2009, 06:48 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 6 2009, 09:55 AM)
Oh ok then I print B/W la... BTW, i saw someone in LYN saying that last time he got 3.2 CGPA for his diploma and cannot enter degree. So even I get 3.2+ CGPA I am not secured a place in degree?

EDIT: azarimy, I saw your reply in the thread "huaaa cammane nk apply utm neyhh"... I got it already, but must I have working experience to have better merit? Why cant I like people study form 6 or matriks, after finishing form 6 then straight away enter degree (if good result and get the offer)? After my 3 years of diploma, I can't enter degree just because "tak cukup tempat kosong" or "tak pernah bekerja"? I thought I can just study all the way and the graduate... If it's like this I need to think over it whether to accept this UPU or not...
merit comes from lots of ways. but working experience gives the biggest non-academic merit. meaning if u're not top scorer (mind u, 3.20 is not exactly stellar), u can easily boost ur merits by working experience.

to secure direct intake via academics alone, u need to be in the top 10% of ur graduating batch. look around u. if there are more people scoring 3.80-4.00, u should understand what a chance a 3.20 has. so do note: there IS a direct intake, but it requires a lot. university co-curriculum is a bonus too.

the study diploma+degree straight from several years ago is the integrasi programme, which is different. integrasi is technically a 5-6 year degree course that automatically takes u in without having to go through UPU. it's like a 5-6 year degree, but with a break in the middle and u're awarded a diploma. this system have been phased out already, i dont think there are any integrasi programmes left in UTM.

so if u wanna study straight from diploma to degree, score 4.00. simple!
zellleonhart
post May 6 2009, 06:58 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 6 2009, 06:48 PM)
merit comes from lots of ways. but working experience gives the biggest non-academic merit. meaning if u're not top scorer (mind u, 3.20 is not exactly stellar), u can easily boost ur merits by working experience.

to secure direct intake via academics alone, u need to be in the top 10% of ur graduating batch. look around u. if there are more people scoring 3.80-4.00, u should understand what a chance a 3.20 has. so do note: there IS a direct intake, but it requires a lot. university co-curriculum is a bonus too.

the study diploma+degree straight from several years ago is the integrasi programme, which is different. integrasi is technically a 5-6 year degree course that automatically takes u in without having to go through UPU. it's like a 5-6 year degree, but with a break in the middle and u're awarded a diploma. this system have been phased out already, i dont think there are any integrasi programmes left in UTM.

so if u wanna study straight from diploma to degree, score 4.00. simple!
The CGPA is calculated since the first exam in diploma? Means if in one of my exams I get B or C (like got anything happened or only on that particular exam) will it affect my CGPA? And what actually included in diploma... I know A levels and Form 6 have subjects like Physics, Chemistry, Math, general paper, then diploma is straight to the "mechanical engineering" syllabus?

Forgive me for asking so many questions in a moment but I am in confusion T_T thanks anyway
azarimy
post May 6 2009, 07:04 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 6 2009, 10:58 AM)
The CGPA is calculated since the first exam in diploma? Means if in one of my exams I get B or C (like got anything happened or only on that particular exam) will it affect my CGPA? And what actually included in diploma... I know A levels and Form 6 have subjects like Physics, Chemistry, Math, general paper, then diploma is straight to the "mechanical engineering" syllabus?

Forgive me for asking so many questions in a moment but I am in confusion T_T thanks anyway
CGPA is calculated since the first exam, yes. and yes, if u screw up one exam even with an A-, u can say bye bye to 4.00.

diploma syllabus is course specific. check on the websites, usually they publish a rough guide to the subjects. and it normally is very different from A-levels or STPM, although they might share the same topics.
Muhammad Syukri
post May 6 2009, 07:12 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 6 2009, 06:58 PM)

here it is all about UTM diploma mechenical engineering

UTM Mechanical Engineering

126 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0293sec    1.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:19 PM