UMS 2008/2009, UMS new students pls joins us !!!

Latios
post Dec 18 2008, 12:29 AM

193 posts

Haha... If you are coming, what course are you going to take?
ooi33
post Dec 18 2008, 01:56 AM

80 posts

wow this thread still alive? hehe so nostalgic, the 2nd time i visit this thread I am 2nd year student in UMS T_T
Latios
post Dec 18 2008, 08:20 PM

193 posts

Woo... Nice to meet ya. I am also 2nd year student from UMS. Can I know what course are you taking?
MauveMarionette
post Jan 28 2009, 12:14 AM

70 posts

Is this thread still alive? T^T Please reply if any of you are reading.

I plan to take on a degree in TESL there. What I would like to know is the lecturer's and course quality. Is it up to par? And, from the bottom of my soul, I sincerely do not mean to offend in any way.

And how is the campus lifestyle?
ooi33
post Jan 28 2009, 02:20 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(MauveMarionette @ Jan 28 2009, 12:14 AM)
Is this thread still alive? T^T Please reply if any of you are reading.

I plan to take on a degree in TESL there. What I would like to know is the lecturer's and course quality. Is it up to par? And, from the bottom of my soul, I sincerely do not mean to offend in any way.

And how is the campus lifestyle?
Okay I am from UMS school of education (though I m not taking any education related course)....
From my observation and interaction with some tesl student there, I am pretty against it if you have already a band 5 or 6 students since some of them just get band 2 in muet yet they able to enrolled in the course, for lecturer quality, I would said when we r uni, we shall no longer depend on spoon feeding, lecturer just give us guideline, the rest we shud find it ourselves...

p.s.: if any tesl students passby, don't be offended ohh... this just my opinions~~~~
MauveMarionette
post Jan 30 2009, 12:49 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(ooi33 @ Jan 28 2009, 02:20 AM)
Okay I am from UMS school of education (though I m not taking any education related course)....
From my observation and interaction with some tesl student there, I am pretty against it if you have already a band 5 or 6 students since some of them just get band 2 in muet yet they able to enrolled in the course, for lecturer quality, I would said when we r uni, we shall no longer depend on spoon feeding, lecturer just give us guideline, the rest we shud find it ourselves...

p.s.: if any tesl students passby, don't be offended ohh... this just my opinions~~~~
I'm so screwed. XD
Thank you so much for replying! Yes, I received a high band 5 in MUET but I'm quite determined to continue something in English or English Literature. T^T I'm sure the course quality has nothing to do with the student's quality... right? sleep.gif;

Yeah, form 6 was an eye opener to not be spoon fed, so I don't expect lecturers to be any different. Don't mind me asking but what course are you in? What's your point of view in UMS campus life so far?

lwsn
post Jan 30 2009, 09:45 AM

46 posts

No worries, points not taken. However, do allow me to express my thoughts on what I've learnt in UMS so far. Indeed, there are quite a number of students among us who scored unpleasant MUET results but some of them had improved a lot ever since the semester started.

Meaning, people do change to improve themselves. Even if your coursemates did badly in their exams, you have to make sure that you don't because at the end of the day, you are on your own.

Having a Band 5 in MUET doesn't guarantee you a 3 pointer above in the uni exams. In fact, some of my friends who scored 3.7 in STPM, scored lower than 2.7 during previous semesters in UMS. The TESL lecturers are at their best in supporting and helping us only if we ask, but many didn't (shy perhaps).

Anyway, why so serious?!?! Come join us la!

This post has been edited by lwsn: Jan 30 2009, 09:48 AM
MauveMarionette
post Jan 30 2009, 01:08 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(lwsn @ Jan 30 2009, 09:45 AM)
No worries, points not taken. However, do allow me to express my thoughts on what I've learnt in UMS so far. Indeed, there are quite a number of students among us who scored unpleasant MUET results but some of them had improved a lot ever since the semester started.

Meaning, people do change to improve themselves. Even if your coursemates did badly in their exams, you have to make sure that you don't because at the end of the day, you are on your own.

Having a Band 5 in MUET doesn't guarantee you a 3 pointer above in the uni exams. In fact, some of my friends who scored 3.7 in STPM, scored lower than 2.7 during previous semesters in UMS. The TESL lecturers are at their best in supporting and helping us only if we ask, but many didn't (shy perhaps).

Anyway, why so serious?!?! Come join us la!
Indeed, people do improve themselves from time to time. And yes, I'm almost tempted to just join in the bandwagon. T^T First I need to surpass the evil UPU system. Huhuhu.

ken_zie
post Jan 30 2009, 02:58 PM

830 posts

why there's no UMS - KAL students in this thread??

by the way, coming to UMS is not that bad... if you try to look at the +ve side. at least you get to travel to many places like mount KK, kundasang, sarawak or even to brunei... it only take 45 mins to go to brunei from labuan.. so much nearer compared going to KK (which will need 3 hours)...

i still remember the 07/08 thread... now i'm in 2nd year d.... haiz...
MauveMarionette
post Jan 30 2009, 03:23 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Jan 30 2009, 02:58 PM)
why there's no UMS - KAL students in this thread??

by the way, coming to UMS is not that bad... if you try to look at the +ve side. at least you get to travel to many places like mount KK, kundasang, sarawak or even to brunei... it only take 45 mins to go to brunei from labuan.. so much nearer compared going to KK (which will need 3 hours)...

i still remember the 07/08 thread... now i'm in 2nd year d.... haiz...
I'm actually a KK-ian. XD so its not really about going away from my comfort zone you see, its staying! Hahaha.
UMS-kal specialized in giving economics and business related courses, no? I'm trying to take TESL.

ooi33
post Jan 30 2009, 10:47 PM

80 posts

Hmm, I am in sport science, strictly not physical education or any education related programme tongue.gif
Actually I do agree student's quality have nothing with course's quality, but I feel more excited to study in a competitive enviroment~~~
Campus life so far so good, why don't try to challenge yourself by selecting other Unis?
MauveMarionette
post Jan 31 2009, 11:47 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(ooi33 @ Jan 30 2009, 10:47 PM)
Hmm, I am in sport science, strictly not physical education or any education related programme tongue.gif
Actually I do agree student's quality have nothing with course's quality, but I feel more excited to study in a competitive enviroment~~~
Campus life so far so good, why don't try to challenge yourself by selecting other Unis?
I agree. Environment does play a role, but it is also up to you to decide whether you excel or plummet, XD Sports science! I find the subject very interesting, but it's just not my cup of tea. biggrin.gif I took them as a subject in form 4-5.

Well its more of a personal reason that I don't go out to another university. Of course, that doesn't mean I'm settling for something less than the best. ;D Or at least, I'm trying.
UNDERGROUND
post Mar 9 2009, 07:57 PM

█ REMEMBER MY NAME █
2,308 posts

Anybody know the entry requirement for Marine Science course at UMS ? Please let me know, thanks ! notworthy.gif
thahirah
post Mar 14 2009, 03:31 PM

276 posts

i think it should be above 2.5
err life in ums would be sucky without a car
but ums is actually very good in term of the place
very near to kk
easy to go lintas , damai, penampang to eat
lot of good food for chinese and indians
sadly abit of good malay food
lot of good expensive restaurants
all this is possible with a car
so buy one and be happy
the rooms have no internet thought

UNDERGROUND
post Mar 14 2009, 10:56 PM

█ REMEMBER MY NAME █
2,308 posts

Buy car ar? Rent stil oka lah tongue.gif

Already applied, Nautical Science @ UMT is my first choice, so i have to say sorry to all the UMS-er here tongue.gif
Latios
post Jul 2 2009, 12:21 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(thahirah @ Mar 14 2009, 03:31 PM)
i think it should be above 2.5
err life in ums would be sucky without a car
but ums is actually very good in term of the place
very near to kk
easy to go lintas , damai, penampang to eat
lot of good food for chinese and indians
sadly abit of good malay food
lot of good expensive restaurants
all this is possible with a car
so buy one and be happy
the rooms have no internet thought
It is true that having a car will be enjoyable but it is not affordable for students... We go to study at Uni already wasting our parent's money, should not add the burden by asking for a car...

Rent is more than enough, and sometimes you will realize that if you go out often, your money wastes more too.

The rooms do have internet, but you will need to pay -.-'
shuanggie
post Nov 12 2009, 02:09 AM

I agree wholeheartedly, being in UMS and having no car sucks. Lol. What more when you're staying in KF. Hey...didn't know there's a thread for UMS 2008/2009 intake. smile.gif I'm 2nd year, Industrial & Organizational Psychology.
Latios
post Dec 1 2009, 11:25 AM

193 posts

And now I am third year, starting thesis at next semester -.-
Quite miss this thread (and eventually found it when I am helping my friend to find UMS song as I am not using my laptop now)...

18 Pages « < 16 17 18Top

0.0170sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:52 AM