Nokia Nokia E71, Messenger of Steel!

Superman7
post Nov 2 2008, 07:16 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(Tookia @ Nov 2 2008, 05:54 PM)
My E71 behaved weird again today..I turned on the camera and a message came out saying 'another application is using the camera" and I can't use the camera. Had to turn it off using the red power button and restart the phone to use the camera. Went to the Nokia centre again and the tech guy checked my phone memory. Said its free memory was low .. down to 10 MB from the 120 MB built in RAM..filled with downloaded GPS maps, pics, etc. Sort of told me that if it behaved funny check the phone's free  memory. He transferred the offending files to my memory card (except contacts which cannot be moved) and freed the memory. Hopefully the phone won't behave "weird" again. Can check Ram usage by going to settings > option > memory details to see how much free memory your phone has. Mine is using 13 MB at the moment with 110 MB free. Hopefully it remains OK.
You should keep your phone memory usage as low as possible. Dump all pics, videos, programs, maps, etc all on the memory card. Access of programs installed on the memory card is as fast as in the phone memory. I have no problems with the phone having all the programs installed onto the memory card.
Pennywise
post Nov 2 2008, 10:34 PM

5,796 posts

Does it make any sense for me to jump to E71 from N82? Both are very very good phone on their own.
mervynrwtw
post Nov 3 2008, 12:10 AM

56 posts

anybody had thier E71 fail to load the "Menu" ? Sometimes when i press the Menu , the screen does not change, it stays on the Home screen
ViRaViRa
post Nov 3 2008, 02:13 PM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

QUOTE(mervynrwtw @ Nov 3 2008, 12:10 AM)
anybody had thier E71 fail to load the "Menu" ? Sometimes when i press the Menu , the screen does not change, it stays on the Home screen
Yeah, I used to have that problem often when I newly bought my E71. I suspect there may be some application clashing & I 100% formatted my phone (including formatting the memory card). Since then I do not have such problem.
Pennywise
post Nov 3 2008, 05:42 PM

5,796 posts

Ok. Just got my own e71 for 1600 ringgit.. Its really nice to type and no setup required for 3G.
ah_heng
post Nov 3 2008, 07:28 PM

505 posts

My E71 dropped from 5ft high and still working!! wink.gif goshh... My heart stopped for a sec looking at that shinny little piece drop. wink.gif

And thanks for the cClock thingy... Have been looking for an Apps telling Lunar dates....
crayzee
post Nov 3 2008, 07:29 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 3 2008, 05:42 PM)
Ok. Just got my own e71 for 1600 ringgit.. Its really nice to type and no setup required for 3G.
congrats, welcome to E71 club.

By the way i had just achieved standby of 7 days with some wifi, sms-es, took a few pics and also messing around with the menus. Still got 2 bars left. flex.gif
ah_heng
post Nov 3 2008, 07:37 PM

505 posts

Errr... Just installed CClock, and my phone not showing chinese fonts!! ;( hmmm... Any guidance fr the floor? wink.gif

Thanks....
Pennywise
post Nov 3 2008, 10:24 PM

5,796 posts

Quick questions: How to setup e-mail? Hotmail can or not?
We should have an owner list + an recommended application list.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Nov 3 2008, 10:38 PM
Superman7
post Nov 3 2008, 11:23 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 3 2008, 10:24 PM)
Quick questions: How to setup e-mail? Hotmail can or not?
We should have an owner list + an recommended application list.
Hotmail may not be possible as Hotmail does not support POP account.
Gmail is possible..
Pennywise
post Nov 3 2008, 11:47 PM

5,796 posts

Ok, how about Yahoo Mail?
Hope you dont mind answering even though its probably asked before. Reason being, I dont use much of a Gmail.
ah_heng
post Nov 3 2008, 11:50 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 3 2008, 11:47 PM)
Hope you dont mind answering even though its probably asked before. Reason being, I dont use much of a Gmail.
time to switch to Gmail wink.gif It supports IMAP, which is better than POP. I heard Yahoo Mail also can, but not an user of Yahoo.
Pennywise
post Nov 3 2008, 11:52 PM

5,796 posts

Alrighty - thanks a lot!

Now, I have installed Garmin Mobile XT version 5 with a free map. I've been wondering should I turn off A-GPS so I dont get charge for data rate? Or it doesnt affect anything since I'm using GMXT rather than Nokia Maps?

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Nov 4 2008, 12:05 AM
Superman7
post Nov 4 2008, 10:01 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 3 2008, 11:47 PM)
Yahoo mails also does not support POP account. There's a widget call Yahoo 2Go! but I'm not a fan of widget. You could use Opera to view Hotmail though but I don't think that's what you want anyway. I tried ProfiMail on Hotmail but not able to get it to work. At the moment it's safe to say that Gmail is your best option.

Added on November 4, 2008, 10:04 am
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 3 2008, 11:52 PM)
Alrighty - thanks a lot!

Now, I have installed Garmin Mobile XT version 5 with a free map. I've been wondering should I turn off A-GPS so I dont get charge for data rate? Or it doesnt affect anything since I'm using GMXT rather than Nokia Maps?
I would suggest you to turn off the A-GPS all the time unless you are having an unlimited data plan otherwise it would be like what the iPhone users are facing..

This post has been edited by Superman7: Nov 4 2008, 10:04 AM
gaigene
post Nov 4 2008, 11:09 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 3 2008, 11:52 PM)
Alrighty - thanks a lot!

Welcome to the club....Can I know where you got the Garmin Mobile XT installed? How much did it cost you? Thanks.
jon_jai
post Nov 4 2008, 07:03 PM

184 posts

Hey guys, i'm not from malaysia so can someone appoint me somewhere to purchae the E71? somewhere with warranty and original phone not AP set?

thxxxxxxx
Pennywise
post Nov 4 2008, 10:56 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Nov 4 2008, 10:01 AM)
Yahoo mails also does not support POP account. There's a widget call Yahoo 2Go! but I'm not a fan of widget. You could use Opera to view Hotmail though but I don't think that's what you want anyway. I tried ProfiMail on Hotmail but not able to get it to work. At the moment it's safe to say that Gmail is your best option.

Added on November 4, 2008, 10:04 am

I would suggest you to turn off the A-GPS all the time unless you are having an unlimited data plan otherwise it would be like what the iPhone users are facing..
Yea, it comes with Yahoo 2Go! but I am kinda tempted to download version 3 available on the net instead.

Is having A-GPS enabled so dangerous? With it, I can still get signal in a moving car but without it, I can barely get any signal even while standing still in the middle of the road.

I take it as none of you has any A-GPS enabled?

QUOTE(gaigene @ Nov 4 2008, 11:09 AM)
Welcome to the club....Can I know where you got the Garmin Mobile XT installed? How much did it cost you? Thanks.
I installed it myself.
FOC.

QUOTE(jon_jai @ Nov 4 2008, 07:03 PM)
Hey guys, i'm not from malaysia so can someone appoint me somewhere to purchae the E71? somewhere with warranty and original phone not AP set?

thxxxxxxx
Where are you from and why would you want to buy from Msia when you're not from here then?
ante5k
post Nov 4 2008, 11:07 PM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

this phone got chinese word support?
eyeball
post Nov 5 2008, 12:16 AM

481 posts

I got it yesterday !!!
Superman7
post Nov 5 2008, 12:28 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 4 2008, 10:56 PM)
Yea, it comes with Yahoo 2Go! but I am kinda tempted to download version 3 available on the net instead.

Is having A-GPS enabled so dangerous? With it, I can still get signal in a moving car but without it, I can barely get any signal even while standing still in the middle of the road.

I take it as none of you has any A-GPS enabled?
I installed it myself.
FOC.
Where are you from and why would you want to buy from Msia when you're not from here then?
I personally disable the A-GPS. But of cos without the A-GPS support, to get signal it'll take around 5~10mins..
That's the sad part.. sad.gif

Added on November 5, 2008, 12:29 am
QUOTE(ante5k @ Nov 4 2008, 11:07 PM)
this phone got chinese word support?
yes.. it does support chinese character ...

Added on November 5, 2008, 12:30 am
QUOTE(eyeball @ Nov 5 2008, 12:16 AM)
I got it yesterday !!!
Congrats! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Superman7: Nov 5 2008, 12:30 AM

124 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0334sec    1.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:05 AM