128 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

alsree786
post Aug 20 2009, 12:52 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(minshuen @ Aug 18 2009, 06:09 PM)

No la..as far as i'm concerned, i dun think so.

erm...sry i cant gt you.MMU law degree holder cant take postgraduate at famous university such as UM is it?
thanks for ur help anyway.
thumbup.gif
UM? famous uni?... hmm.gif

if you're gonna take the LLB at MMU, and if you're gonna consider pursuing postgraduate courses at a good uni like UCL or Melbourne Uni or NUS, your chances may be slim unless you get a first class or a strong 2:1 imho.

QUOTE(minshuen @ Aug 19 2009, 03:28 PM)
o...i gt you.thanks all of u for the advice. thumbup.gif i am planning to go for foundation in law that offered by MMU but just worry about the future of a graduate from MMU law.erm..i would like to ask one more question. UK university graduates have to take CLP in order to practise law in malaysia,before they pass the test,can they work in a law firm or legal department?
with reference to the words "pass the test", i assume you are speaking of the clp, hence we are discussing about those who have passed their llb already...

as jhong has stated, yes you may. they may work as interns or legal executives, paralegals/legal assistants. Though most companies may prefer those who have passed clp due to the procedural nature of the course, they are not that particular. What concerns them more is your ability to speak and write well, and your ability as a potential lawyer identified through results and character.

This post has been edited by alsree786: Aug 20 2009, 12:53 PM
minshuen
post Aug 20 2009, 02:04 PM

282 posts

o...thanks for the information.by the way,may i know what is the meaning of chambering?once can only go for chambering after passed the CLP is it?
chelsh
post Aug 20 2009, 04:25 PM

124 posts

that means if i get the title barrister-in-law in uk,
then i can come back to malaysia to take my CLP?

edennature
post Aug 20 2009, 06:04 PM

294 posts

Barrister at law is equal to CLP.Hence,you do not need to register for clp after completing bar training course
finaltrooper
post Aug 20 2009, 08:36 PM

134 posts

hi all, i'll be enrolling for the LLB London External programme next year, but i'd like to start studying now prior to my intake.

i'd like to get the textbooks earlier for personal study. does anyone here have these books?

Common law reasoning and institutions [2650030]
Criminal law [2650010]
Elements of the law of contract [2650040]
Public law [2650020]

i know the importance of getting the latest edition, but for now i dont mind getting older ones, to start studying.

PM me and let me know the price if some of u here intend to sell them
d'education
post Aug 20 2009, 10:54 PM

24 posts

Hi guys,

Anyone of you plan to get your LLB within 3 years from Singapore School? The degree is a London University degree.

I will provide you all with more information later.

Cheers!

icon_rolleyes.gif
alsree786
post Aug 20 2009, 11:39 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(d'education @ Aug 20 2009, 10:54 PM)
Hi guys,

Anyone of you plan to get your LLB within 3 years from Singapore School? The degree is a London University degree.

I will provide you all with more information later.

Cheers!

icon_rolleyes.gif
hmm.gif

are you with itc, buxton, tmc or stansfield?
Xziled
post Aug 20 2009, 11:52 PM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

QUOTE(minshuen @ Aug 19 2009, 03:28 PM)
o...i gt you.thanks all of u for the advice. thumbup.gif i am planning to go for foundation in law that offered by MMU but just worry about the future of a graduate from MMU law.erm..i would like to ask one more question. UK university graduates have to take CLP in order to practise law in malaysia,before they pass the test,can they work in a law firm or legal department?
lol..u can work during ur 3 months holiday while waiting for results esp. for UOL students since UK transfer students will get their results abt 2-3weeks after the exams. Before graduating with a degree, u will work as attachment students lor..after graduating, u'll be paralegals/legal executives. Whilst chambering=chambering student/legal assistant smile.gif

QUOTE(chelsh @ Aug 20 2009, 04:25 PM)
that means if i get the title barrister-in-law in uk,
then i can come back to malaysia to take my CLP?
If u already did the BAR, u need not take CLP..+ u dun have to also doh.gif
khiahsu
post Aug 21 2009, 08:47 PM

48 posts

From an education pull-out in The Star just the other day:
HELP University College has just started offering its own LLB degree, pending approval from the LPQB to grant permission for its graduates to sit for the CLP examinations.

Hmm. Aren't we college-hunters spoiled for choice, haha.
minshuen
post Aug 21 2009, 09:06 PM

282 posts

wow,then HELP still offer twinning programme or not?
khiahsu
post Aug 21 2009, 10:43 PM

48 posts

wow,then HELP still offer twinning programme or not?

Yep, it's still offered.
Xziled
post Aug 22 2009, 12:06 AM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

Read at ur own risk tongue.gif

Cheers~

This post has been edited by Xziled: Aug 22 2009, 12:09 AM
2kia
post Aug 22 2009, 02:16 AM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

QUOTE(Xziled @ Aug 22 2009, 12:06 AM)

Cheers~
like for real? damn, so long to go!
alsree786
post Aug 22 2009, 06:04 AM

937 posts

QUOTE(Xziled @ Aug 22 2009, 12:06 AM)

Cheers~
aiyoh, why la i curious and read that.....i got an interview on the 27th, so now i'm gonna be double newvous. great...but thanks for the info anyway!!

btw, i didn't read the email they sent when i heard it wasn't the results but some notification...

This post has been edited by alsree786: Aug 22 2009, 06:06 AM
quinieleong
post Aug 22 2009, 11:55 PM

55 posts

hi may i know what kind of person would like law? because i hardly know anything about this course. can someone enlighten me about it? thanks

Added on August 23, 2009, 1:25 amalso help me answer for this topic here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1139391

This post has been edited by quinieleong: Aug 23 2009, 01:25 AM
Xziled
post Aug 23 2009, 01:44 AM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Aug 22 2009, 02:16 AM)
like for real? damn, so long to go!
very long meh? thurs lor...the wait is long only lol tongue.gif

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Aug 22 2009, 06:04 AM)
aiyoh, why la i curious and read that.....i got an interview on the 27th, so now i'm gonna be double newvous. great...but thanks for the info anyway!!

btw, i didn't read the email they sent when i heard it wasn't the results but some notification...
hahaha!!! that's y i put under spoiler ma tongue.gif
Hmm, the e-mail they sent is a notification that the results will be out on 27th August '09 lor...but they will send another e-mail to us on that day also again.
Good luck with ur interview wor..where u applying?
minshuen
post Aug 23 2009, 10:22 AM

282 posts

what are the differences between law graduates from other countries and local law graduates?
alsree786
post Aug 23 2009, 10:23 AM

937 posts

QUOTE(Xziled @ Aug 23 2009, 01:44 AM)
very long meh? thurs lor...the wait is long only lol tongue.gif
hahaha!!! that's y i put under spoiler ma  tongue.gif
Hmm, the e-mail they sent is a notification that the results will be out on 27th August '09 lor...but they will send another e-mail to us on that day also again.
Good luck with ur interview wor..where u applying?
i didn't think the spoiler would contain any info on the results...ah well!

anyway, im just applying around la for interview, nothing specific, still not sure whether i want to pursue a legal career...

hope everyone's results for the uol llb are what they hope them to be....hope you all do well!!
minshuen
post Aug 23 2009, 12:06 PM

282 posts

other than MMU,is there anymore foundation in law available in malaysia?
cutetweety
post Aug 23 2009, 01:21 PM

I've registered for the UOL (External) LLB degree after 2001 and am currently waiting for my final result. Just wondering, IF I should fail to obtain the required Lower 2nd Class degree as required to qualify for the CLP, what alternative routes can I go for in order to qualify to practice law in Malaysia?

ps: this is already my 4th year after passing my intermediate exam.

Thanks smile.gif

128 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:15 PM