128 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

c3rl3n
post Feb 15 2012, 12:12 AM

46 posts

Hello smile.gif I have a few questions about law studies (related), hope someone can help me out here...

I'm currently a STPM leaver waiting for results, and I'm aiming for either local u's or NUS (if my results are >3.8 then I'll give NUS a try). Here are the q's:

1) Must law students be the debate-ish type to succeed? I can (and love) to read and write, and generally tend to notice fine prints, but I've only debated twice inter-class and I wasn't the most confident or outstanding one (that was in form 6...before that in F5 i wanted to join inter class debate but my teacher rejected me for those 'already good ones', sigh)

2) For NUS law, besides the stellar results, if I didn't have any outstanding CCAs beyond school level will there be high chances that they won't even look at my application? Is there anything that I can put in the CCA and essay section that can be of some worth? Does the same criteria hold true of scholarship applications? Heard their law is super2 competitive.

I've been to an old folks home, a blind fellowship (we organized a Christmas play for them) and a refugee school before, but both were under church activities (meaning: no cert), and also this outdoor camp for uniformed bodies in school where there was a participation cert...I also write for a local webzine.

No spectacular achievement though.

*my fault lo, I didn't start young...only got active in form 4, but just ahli aktif, no national level stuffs...in form 6 I tried very, very hard to redeem myself, and got elected to quite a few top posts in school, but nothing beyond school, maklumlah my school is a kampung school, nice but not one of those schools. NUS seems to be fond of ppl who were in the Olympiads...

right now I'm interning for a law firm doing property/conveyancing law...good experience but this also means no time to do some national level stuff etc...*

3) For the UPU form, according to the new format, if I want to apply to research u's then I have to make a minimum of 8 choices (that's how I understand it...correct me if I'm wrong)...there's not enough law degrees in M'sia to make 8 choices lah..the remaining choices have to put other courses...as far as I know only UM, UKM, UUM and UniSZA got...UiTM forget it as I'm not Bumi...

* it can feel funny when one tells everyone that I want to do law but end up doing something else...it's like 'aiya, why I say it so fast?'

Thank you...and I'm sorry if there's too many unrelated stuff here ya...
qazhang
post Feb 16 2012, 05:25 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(c3rl3n @ Feb 15 2012, 12:12 AM)
Hello smile.gif I have a few questions about law studies (related), hope someone can help me out here...

I'm currently a STPM leaver waiting for results, and I'm aiming for either local u's or NUS (if my results are >3.8 then I'll give NUS a try). Here are the q's:

1) Must law students be the debate-ish type to succeed? I can (and love) to read and write, and generally tend to notice fine prints, but I've only debated twice inter-class and I wasn't the most confident or outstanding one (that was in form 6...before that in F5 i wanted to join inter class debate but my teacher rejected me for those 'already good ones', sigh)

2) For NUS law, besides the stellar results, if I didn't have any outstanding CCAs beyond school level will there be high chances that they won't even look at my application? Is there anything that I can put in the CCA and essay section that can be of some worth? Does the same criteria hold true of scholarship applications? Heard their law is super2 competitive.

I've been to an old folks home, a blind fellowship (we organized a Christmas play for them) and a refugee school before, but both were under church activities (meaning: no cert), and also this outdoor camp for uniformed bodies in school where there was a participation cert...I also write for a local webzine.

*my fault lo, I didn't start young...only got active in form 4, but just ahli aktif, no national level stuffs...in form 6 I tried very, very hard to redeem myself, and got elected to quite a few top posts in school, but nothing beyond school, maklumlah my school is a kampung school, nice but not one of those schools. NUS seems to be fond of ppl who were in the Olympiads...

right now I'm interning for a law firm doing property/conveyancing law...good experience but this also means no time to do some national level stuff etc...*

3) For the UPU form, according to the new format, if I want to apply to research u's then I have to make a minimum of 8 choices (that's how I understand it...correct me if I'm wrong)...there's not enough law degrees in M'sia to make 8 choices lah..the remaining choices have to put other courses...as far as I know only UM, UKM, UUM and UniSZA got...UiTM forget it as I'm not Bumi...

* it can feel funny when one tells everyone that I want to do law but end up doing something else...it's like 'aiya, why I say it so fast?'

1) A law student must have necessary analytical skills (picking holes in arguments, seeing things from another point of view and considering other arguments), Discursive Skills (fits into the previous one, but the ability to express yourself well on paper and vocally is important), Intelligence (you dont need to be a super genius for this), hard Working (it is one of the most demanding and work-intensive degrees you can do). back to your question, yes it important to possess however you could develop these traits as you go along. (eg mooting). You do need to attend interviews (if im not mistaken). NUS law program for example.The program tutors will be interviewing you.

2) With regards to NUS application: please bear in mind that your Personal Statement in the application is very very important. (cant stress this enough, it is similar to UCAS personal statement). It is like first impression to them; it also reflects who you are.) This is where you need to write about why you chose to study law, what do you do, why you choose to study in NUS.
And yes, you will have a heck of a competition. competing against Singapore student's alevels. At the end of the day, ITS ALL ABOUT BETTER RESULTS. icon_rolleyes.gif

3) I am unable to help you on this matter. Sorry. sweat.gif

(please correct me if Im wrong)

qazhang
post Feb 16 2012, 05:30 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(almond94 @ Feb 10 2012, 08:55 PM)
So if I did really bad in AS, I must study my butt off to get the a good grade in A2 right? Even if I fail in AS, its ok as long as the overall AS+A2 meets the requirement right?
shakehead.gif I would rather recommend you to resit your AS. please bear mind A2 is advance level while AS is subsidiary level. Different difficulty. And the chances for you to fail whole papers are even higher if you dont do well in A2 level. It is highly recommended for you to resit. If you have poor grades, you can carry forward the marks. The examination body will choose the highest marks for the whole ALevel paper. icon_rolleyes.gif

qazhang
post Feb 16 2012, 05:37 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 1 2012, 09:21 PM)
It meets the basic requirement of all passes to enter for LLB. Cant answer you whether if it's ok for such result to take up law. Reading law requires one to put in a lot of efforts. I might be wrong but judging by your A level result, I must say you didn't put in enough effort?

If you cant cope well with degree, you have no hope of passing CLP. So this is the part you have to consider.
As for your question of which colleges/universities good for law, it depends on which type of programme you doing. External or twinning?

Added on February 1, 2012, 9:36 pm
When I mention "internationaly recognize" I meant to point to the fact that you can work in other countries other than Malaysia. This does include Singapore.

List of approved universities by Singapore Bar:

And yes, answering your question, with local university cert, you certainly cant practice in Singapore.
True that their syllabus are almost the same as I heard of.  However, I cant answer you whether you will be getting better job prospect with different cert from these two universities because I am not an employer myself. laugh.gif

Anyway, results come secondary when it comes to getting a job. There is something more important than result and it's you. We clearly dont need nerds who memorize everything and score in every exam but cant do a thing in real life. Personality and capability stand out more if you ask me.
Well your friend is half right then. They got their exemption renewed this year. However, this is not permanent. The exemption is subjected to another review every 2 years. Your friend might be a bit misleading here because it is not "confirmed exempted" because when it is "confirmed exempted" it's permanent exemption and this isn't.

So, did you come up with any plan now? Go for UoL or local universities?
talking about UoL, as far as im concerned, isnt the UoL (LLB) is not recognised in Singapore? eventhough it is an internationally recognised degree (except in Singapore). sweat.gif
solstice818
post Feb 16 2012, 11:27 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(qazhang @ Feb 16 2012, 05:37 AM)
talking about UoL, as far as im concerned, isnt the UoL (LLB) is not recognised in Singapore? eventhough it is an internationally recognised degree (except in Singapore).  sweat.gif
I heard that from my colleague before that they only accept NUS graduates but their own bar council website state otherwise.
qazhang
post Feb 16 2012, 08:52 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 16 2012, 11:27 AM)
I heard that from my colleague before that they only accept NUS graduates but their own bar council website state otherwise.
Now, NUS and Singapore Management University (But UoL LLB is still not recognised if im not mistaken.) http://app2.mlaw.gov.sg/UsefulInfo/Practic...64/Default.aspx
refer to the "Full Time Candidate" requirement.
fivewinning
post Feb 18 2012, 07:49 PM

70 posts

anyone took UOL international programme but do self-study here? i have some questions regarding the registration and also if it's recognised if we didn't go through colleges like BAC or ATC. Thank you.

on another note, i was checking on atc's fees and i was really confused by the way they put it on their website. just wondering if i decide to do part time study instead of doing distance learning, anyone could tell me how much i gotta pay in total in 3 years, assuming that i pass all the papers with one sit?

This post has been edited by fivewinning: Feb 18 2012, 11:29 PM
Ryan19920
post Feb 24 2012, 02:32 AM

46 posts

Hello!

I was just wondering about the importance of attachments/internships during the study period.

I know it's good to have an attachment of some sort to gauge what kinda law you're into and what its like to work in a firm etc

but is it important resume wise? Does it make a difference to the potential firm you will be working in where or whether you have done an attachment before?

Err..does it also affect the compensation you'll be getting?

Many thanks!
zone3310
post Feb 24 2012, 06:50 PM

44 posts

hey guys ,i wanna know how to get into King's college LLB? Because i heard that some other people who took UOL also gain the entry into King's while they were at 2nd year. What is the way and if i'm taking UK transfer degree programme will it works that way too?
gnitney
post Feb 24 2012, 11:11 PM

hi there, i need u guys some help..i am going for intermediate exam this coming may
and that i intend to do self study for my 2nd and 3rd year as i hope to go out and work to complete my 3 years acca experience
so i hope ppl out there can advise me on how should i self study to pass my llb ??
jhong
post Feb 24 2012, 11:45 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(zone3310 @ Feb 24 2012, 10:50 AM)
hey guys ,i wanna know how to get into King's college LLB? Because i heard that some other people who took UOL also gain the entry into King's while they were at 2nd year. What is the way and if i'm taking UK transfer degree programme will it works that way too?
1st: score straight As in your A-levels.
2nd:You could try applying via your intermediate result. Securing King's scholarship is the alternative.
There's no room for you to gain entry into King's via any UK transfer program.

Added on February 24, 2012, 11:47 pm
QUOTE(gnitney @ Feb 24 2012, 03:11 PM)
hi there, i need u guys some help..i am going for intermediate exam this coming may
and that i intend to do self study for my 2nd and 3rd year as i hope to go out and work to complete my 3 years acca experience
so i hope ppl out there can advise me on how should i self study to pass my llb ??
Well, i still see many doctors, engineers while being tied up with their works but still show up in the part time class? Commitment is the key. Anyway, self study is possible but relatively harder?

This post has been edited by jhong: Feb 24 2012, 11:47 PM
zone3310
post Feb 25 2012, 12:45 AM

44 posts

[quote=jhong,Feb 24 2012, 11:45 PM]
2nd:You could try applying via your intermediate result. Securing King's scholarship is the alternative.

[QUOTE]
uh i think u misconcieve my question buddy.Let me state 2 examples :

1)I'm currently enrolling UOL LLB external at Malaysia's University and i want to do my 2nd year at KIng's .Would that be possible transferring to king at my 2nd year by applying its application and scolarship?

2)I'm currently enrolling UK degree transfer program at my 1st year and maybe i'm going Cardiff for my 2nd or 3rd year (Let's say).BUt suddenly i want go to King's for my 2nd year or 3rd year.Would that be possible to transfer to king by applying its application and scolarship?

Lastly , do you have the link for King's scholarship application?I might have a glance of it .Thanks.
LightningFist
post Feb 25 2012, 09:18 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(c3rl3n @ Feb 15 2012, 12:12 AM)

Certificates don't mean f***-all. It is a Malaysian or Pan-Asian mentality (in general, about pieces of paper). Yes, good results are sometimes an important factor when getting entry into university or a good job. So they require papers to prove. But procuring many certificates about extra-academics is not as important as having quality experiences which you can actually talk about.

If you're results are very good, you'll get an interview from NUS. It'll come down to that - and if you interview well they'll review your credentials and profile, but if you interview really well you'll get in. Keep a few weekends free (some time after applying) as you'll need to go to Singapore.
jhong
post Feb 25 2012, 11:01 PM

685 posts

[quote=zone3310,Feb 24 2012, 04:45 PM]
[quote=jhong,Feb 24 2012, 11:45 PM]

[QUOTE]
uh i think u misconcieve my question buddy.Let me state 2 examples :

1)I'm currently enrolling UOL LLB external at Malaysia's University and i want to do my 2nd year at KIng's .Would that be possible transferring to king at my 2nd year by applying its application and scolarship?

2)I'm currently enrolling UK degree transfer program at my 1st year and maybe i'm going Cardiff for my 2nd or 3rd year (Let's say).BUt suddenly i want go to King's for my 2nd year or 3rd year.Would that be possible to transfer to king by applying its application and scolarship?

Lastly , do you have the link for King's scholarship application?I might have a glance of it .Thanks.

[/quote]

Oops, sorry for that man. haha
1) I'm not quite sure about KCL but, you could try LSE ? Please be noted that they accept only 2nd year transfer though.
2) No, they will not accept your application.

You'll automatically be considered for King's scholarship if you are the best student in the world/malaysia for your intermediate via uol international prog.
solstice818
post Feb 26 2012, 10:32 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(jhong @ Feb 25 2012, 11:01 PM)
Oops, sorry for that man. haha
1) I'm not quite sure about KCL but, you could try LSE ? Please be noted that they accept only 2nd year transfer though.
2) No, they will not accept your application.

You'll automatically be considered for King's scholarship if you are the best student in the world/malaysia for your intermediate via uol international prog.
Nah, best student in Malaysia is enough to entitle to the scholarship. It's hard to get though. laugh.gif
zone3310
post Feb 26 2012, 10:53 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 26 2012, 10:32 AM)
Nah, best student in Malaysia is enough to entitle to the scholarship. It's hard to get though. laugh.gif
May i know how hard is it?Explain THx notworthy.gif
jhong
post Feb 27 2012, 12:16 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(zone3310 @ Feb 26 2012, 02:53 PM)
May i know how hard is it?Explain THx  notworthy.gif
To be the only one in M'sia to secure that scholarship, that should have explained the extent of its difficulty?
My friend who got it actually told me that she did not follow any answer guide provided by the college. She merely followed the study guide and worked out her own answers.
zone3310
post Feb 27 2012, 01:23 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(jhong @ Feb 27 2012, 12:16 PM)
To be the only one in M'sia to secure that scholarship, that should have explained the extent of its difficulty?
My friend who got it actually told me that she did not follow any answer guide provided by the college. She merely followed the study guide and worked out her own answers.
Really?But from some university's brochure such as A** and B** ,they are quite a few person got it instead of one and is it harder than get first class honour ?
Khyra_abigale
post Feb 28 2012, 01:58 PM

QUOTE(zone3310 @ Feb 24 2012, 06:50 PM)
For the King's Scholar under the LLB scheme by UOL, you need to attain the best overall marks in whole of Malaysia, which means, your average scores for your inter subjects, Criminal Law, Contract Law, Common Law and Reasoning and Public law has to be the highest among all the other candidates taking the Inter paper smile.gif So your answer has to stand out, and averagely most of the King's scholar;s results are ranges from 2:1 to 1st answer.
solstice818
post Feb 28 2012, 02:51 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(zone3310 @ Feb 27 2012, 01:23 PM)
Really?But from some university's brochure such as A** and B** ,they are quite a few person got it instead of one  and is it harder than get first class honour ?
They are from different years I guess cos I remember it was one person getting it every single year. Might be wrong though since I haven't keep in touch with these things for ages.

128 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0365sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:18 AM