aww.. if we wanna talk about youth and winning Cl. van Gaal. his stint at Ajax in the 90's was nothing short of great. and with the squad he had. young homegrown talents.
Best manager of our time?, Best manager
Nov 17 2008, 05:09 PM
249 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
aww.. if we wanna talk about youth and winning Cl. van Gaal. his stint at Ajax in the 90's was nothing short of great. and with the squad he had. young homegrown talents.
Nov 17 2008, 05:49 PM
1,573 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Nilai, Negeri Sembilan |
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 17 2008, 02:44 PM) I think he meant that Mourinho started winning trophies at a younger age than Ferguson, not that Mourinho has won using young players. Yup. my mistake. Lol.But the debate went on when he did mentioned Lampard and co? Mourinho can achieve more than SAF, that is no doubt. Given his age and the team he's managing. No disrespect to Mourinho or Scolari, the team that they inherited are teams that are full of talents. Take Shankly for an example, or Busby and maybe Paisley. Like SAF, they built this team from core. United was nowhere a threat before SAF came in and after the Busby babes. United was a mid-table team back then. Heck, United isn't as famous as they are now back then. He has turned Manchester United into arguably the biggest football club in the world. He has re-built the side several times over and is still successful to this very day, even when folk were questioning him a few years back. And of course, everybody knows his record with Aberdeen as well and how he managed to break the stranglehold that Celtic & Rangers had on the Scottish League, not to mention how he led them to a European victory over Real Madrid. I can't see his record ever being bettered by anyone else again. This post has been edited by boxsystem: Nov 17 2008, 05:50 PM |
Nov 17 2008, 05:51 PM
101 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: KL |
Best manager of our time is B.satianathan
Nov 17 2008, 06:12 PM
780 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Seri Kembangan, Serdang |
QUOTE I think he meant that Mourinho started winning trophies at a younger age than Ferguson, not that Mourinho has won using young players. this what i mean..heheh |
Nov 18 2008, 08:20 AM
53 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
i think the vote is based on the club/country u support ie: man utd fans voted for fergie, arsenal fans for wenger bla bla bla bla
Nov 18 2008, 08:59 AM
1,461 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(devil_nick87 @ Nov 18 2008, 08:20 AM) i think the vote is based on the club/country u support ie: man utd fans voted for fergie, arsenal fans for wenger bla bla bla bla No...its obvious the greatest manager is Sir AlexThe trophies he had show how great manager is and also the player that he develops.. Gary Neville,Beckham,Giggs,Scholes,Ole,RoyKing and many more..they all respectable not only for clubs but their country as well |
Nov 18 2008, 09:10 AM
780 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Seri Kembangan, Serdang |
Capello also good, win titles with every team that he managed, that what we called great managers
Nov 18 2008, 11:54 AM
6,112 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Earth |
QUOTE(boxsystem @ Nov 17 2008, 05:49 PM) Yup. my mistake. Lol. As I've said before there is no doubting Ferguson's contribution to the clubs history. Even back before you won the Premiership, he had already assembled a decent squad. The injection of the class of 92 did give him a major boost though. The question I've been asking myself is, will any other manager be given the time that Ferguson was given in this day and age? Some clubs go through 2 and maybe even 3 managers a season. But the debate went on when he did mentioned Lampard and co? Mourinho can achieve more than SAF, that is no doubt. Given his age and the team he's managing. No disrespect to Mourinho or Scolari, the team that they inherited are teams that are full of talents. Take Shankly for an example, or Busby and maybe Paisley. Like SAF, they built this team from core. United was nowhere a threat before SAF came in and after the Busby babes. United was a mid-table team back then. Heck, United isn't as famous as they are now back then. He has turned Manchester United into arguably the biggest football club in the world. He has re-built the side several times over and is still successful to this very day, even when folk were questioning him a few years back. And of course, everybody knows his record with Aberdeen as well and how he managed to break the stranglehold that Celtic & Rangers had on the Scottish League, not to mention how he led them to a European victory over Real Madrid. I can't see his record ever being bettered by anyone else again. A lot of the clubs fame must also be attributed to the upper management team who made great strides in marketing the team worldwide. Of course the two must work hand in hand, I mean what is the point in marketing a team with no titles and whose matches are hardly televised? To some extent, I can't help imagine what might have happened had Liverpool abandoned our traditions years ago and started marketing ourselves to the world during the 80's. Well times were different than I suppose and the old English 1st Division didn't have the same reach as today's Premiership. |
Nov 18 2008, 05:25 PM
0 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
sir alex ferguson in my humblest opinion..
im an everton supporter so... |
Nov 18 2008, 06:12 PM
358 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Oxpod |
QUOTE(GrandElf @ Nov 17 2008, 09:53 AM) lolz.....are you sure about it??dun tell me nani, anderson, carrick, hargreaves come in FREE?? each of these player cost almost 10mill each.....tats also not call big spending?? QUOTE(gry @ Nov 17 2008, 03:22 PM) are u sure? nani, anderson hargreaves cost 50million, berbatov 31million, rooney 25million, carrick 21million, tevez will cost 30 million, ferdinand record signing for defender at his time, veron 20 million, so united still not spend much????? QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 17 2008, 03:44 PM) I think he meant that Mourinho started winning trophies at a younger age than Ferguson, not that Mourinho has won using young players. All above i agreed...if J Mourinho..take over MU...still he is the best... |
Nov 18 2008, 06:21 PM
1,573 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Nilai, Negeri Sembilan |
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 18 2008, 11:54 AM) As I've said before there is no doubting Ferguson's contribution to the clubs history. Even back before you won the Premiership, he had already assembled a decent squad. The injection of the class of 92 did give him a major boost though. The question I've been asking myself is, will any other manager be given the time that Ferguson was given in this day and age? Some clubs go through 2 and maybe even 3 managers a season. The thing is Duke, we can't really compare the old English 1st Division with EPL these days. Back then, clubs had to compete with tight budgets and develop local talents onto world class players. A lot of the clubs fame must also be attributed to the upper management team who made great strides in marketing the team worldwide. Of course the two must work hand in hand, I mean what is the point in marketing a team with no titles and whose matches are hardly televised? To some extent, I can't help imagine what might have happened had Liverpool abandoned our traditions years ago and started marketing ourselves to the world during the 80's. Well times were different than I suppose and the old English 1st Division didn't have the same reach as today's Premiership. Nowadays, cash injections are factorized onto winning titles. Take Chelsea for an example. And yes, with the right person at the helm, successes could be sustained. We might see either City or Spurs to follow suit. That is why, IMO, managers wouldn't be given ample time to do what has SAF or Wenger did. Cost effective, as they'd say. QUOTE(Ichighost @ Nov 18 2008, 06:12 PM) I don't really welcome him if he remains that "effective football" formation/tactics. Doubt that any United supporters would agree as well. But he is a great manager. Neither greater than Wenger nor SAF because of the football team he inherited. |
Nov 18 2008, 06:28 PM
205 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(aiyish @ Nov 17 2008, 01:47 PM) Scholari is my choice. everything he touches turns to gold. SAF may won a lot but he manage just 2 clubs i guess and was successful in one of it. Scholari on the other hand has coach many clubs and guiding his country to the world cup glory. How can you gauge how successful a manager is by the number of clubs that he has managed? So Scolari has managed more than 2 clubs and he is the most successful manager around? Granted he did guide Brazil to world cup glory, but for goodness sake, saying that SAF is not as successful because he only managed 2 clubs? Well, i guess that greats like Jock Stein, Paisley, Busby and Shankly are all inferior to Scolari because they only managed 1 club? FYI, SAF managed 3 clubs and was also asst manager to Jock Stein in the 86 WC when Stein tragically died of a heart attack during a game. He managed St Mirren and Aberdeen in Scotland, with Aberdeen he broke the duopoly of the old firm and managed to beat Real Madrid 2-1 to win the Cup Winners Cup. He was succesful in all the clubs he was at Honours won by scolari: Luis Felipe Scolari: 3 Brazilian Cups, 2 Copa Libertadores, 1 Recopa Sudamericana, 1 Brazilian championship, 1 Mercosur Cup, 2002 WC Honours won by SAF: IN SCOTLAND - Scottish First Division: 1976-77 (St Mirren) - Aberdeen (1978–1986) - Scottish Premier Division: 1979-80, 1983-84, 1984-85 - SFA Cup: 1981–82, 1982–83, 1983–84, 1985–86 - Scottish League Cup: 1985-86 - UEFA Cup Winners' Cup: 1982–83 - UEFA Super Cup: 1983-84 That's a total of 12 in Scotland IN ENGLAND (MANCHESTER UNITED) - Premier League: 1992–93, 1993–94, 1995–96, 1996–97, 1998–99, 1999–2000, 2000–01, 2002–03, 2006–07, 2007–08 - FA Cup: 1989–90, 1993–94, 1995–96, 1998–99, 2003–04 - League Cup: 1991–92, 2005–06 - UEFA Champions League: 1998–99, 2007–08 - UEFA Cup Winners' Cup: 1990–91 - UEFA Super Cup: 1991-92 - Intercontinental Cup: 1999 That's a total of 22 in England You are entitled to your opinion but for goodness sake to judge a manager based on the number of clubs he has managed is just Oh, and SAF wins my vote not as the greatest but one of the greatest, in the same league as Stein, Busby, Shankly and Paisley. This post has been edited by beycont: Nov 18 2008, 06:30 PM |
Nov 18 2008, 06:35 PM
358 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Oxpod |
1976-2008...hmmm........
Nov 18 2008, 06:58 PM
4,017 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Mont Kiara, KL |
QUOTE(aiyish @ Nov 17 2008, 01:47 PM) Scholari is my choice. everything he touches turns to gold. SAF may won a lot but he manage just 2 clubs i guess and was successful in one of it. Scholari on the other hand has coach many clubs and guiding his country to the world cup glory. So taking a mid table side and knocking off the two dominating sides in Scottish football (Rangers and Celtic) is not labeled a success? I might be wrong, but Scolari's club record as a coach isn't exactly something to brag about. |
Nov 18 2008, 07:09 PM
1,089 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
I'm a Liverpool supporter for life.. But I have to admit, the best manager (in our time) is SAF.. Maybe I can include Marcello Lippi and Guus Hiddink as well..
Well, Marcello Lippi has won the World Cup and Guus Hiddink bring South Korea to the fourth place.. SAF never manage any International team yet.. But in club management, SAF is in the same league as Shankly, Paisley and Busby.. No argument there.. |
Nov 18 2008, 07:32 PM
205 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Nov 18 2008, 07:36 PM
3,557 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
joe kinnear!!!! who can swear more than him during ONE press conference??? joe FTW!!!!!
Nov 19 2008, 12:27 PM
6,112 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Earth |
QUOTE(boxsystem @ Nov 18 2008, 06:21 PM) The thing is Duke, we can't really compare the old English 1st Division with EPL these days. Back then, clubs had to compete with tight budgets and develop local talents onto world class players. You're right and it's the reason I get tired when fans lament that the manager needs more time before going into how much time Ferguson or whoever was given in the past. As you have just quite rightly said, teams back then did not receive huge cash injections from out of the blue and money only came in when you win things. I always use Man Utd as an example because Ferguson built a team that won trophies without receiving a significant cash injection from a bored rich man looking for a hobby. The team won on the pitch and the marketing department did the rest which is why Man Utd is one of the biggest clubs, if not the biggest in the world today. Nowadays, cash injections are factorized onto winning titles. Take Chelsea for an example. And yes, with the right person at the helm, successes could be sustained. We might see either City or Spurs to follow suit. That is why, IMO, managers wouldn't be given ample time to do what has SAF or Wenger did. Cost effective, as they'd say. I don't really welcome him if he remains that "effective football" formation/tactics. Doubt that any United supporters would agree as well. But he is a great manager. Neither greater than Wenger nor SAF because of the football team he inherited. So why don't managers deserve as much time these days? Simply because some of them are blessed with huge wads of cash. You don't need to spend time developing players when you can go out to the store to buy a plug and play product. With this luxury, it's fair to assume that you will achieve success sooner. I urge fans to consider this before referring to the past again citing how long managers were given back then. QUOTE(Ichighost @ Nov 18 2008, 06:35 PM) QUOTE(beycont @ Nov 18 2008, 07:32 PM) All I know is that if I die this year, that would appear on my tombstone |
Dec 10 2008, 12:01 PM
931 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
what the f has wenger done? played attractive football, cant really count othat as a success compared to fergie. True, his accent sux, but then u cant have everything.
Dec 10 2008, 12:16 PM
1,279 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: behind you... |
sir alex ferguson n marcelo lippi got my vote....
sir alex ferguson - well everybody know his achievement... marcelo lippi - he led juventus n italy into the glory...can u find other manager that win both ucl n world cup??? |
| Change to: | 0.0517sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:36 AM |