post Jun 8 2008, 09:14 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(faris21 @ Jun 7 2008, 08:56 PM)
this what he already done
-he never win UCL while Mourinho,Ferguson,Benitez already done it biggrin.gif
thank you.

QUOTE(disco333 @ Jun 7 2008, 09:10 PM)
Wenger built an entire team for less than what Ferguson spent on one player. He has built a squad capable of winning the league by forming a group of young and talented players for a very small amount of money. Name me a manager who could have done that?
SAF.

QUOTE(Pisanggoreng @ Jun 7 2008, 10:12 PM)
has SAF won the world cup???? lol
Nope. Wenger hasn't done so. You're kind of an idiot, aren't you?

QUOTE(disco333 @ Jun 7 2008, 11:14 PM)
Back in the day £1.2 million was lot of money.....
it still is a lot of money to me. Heck, I can quit my job and support my whole family at the same time with that amount of money.

To TS, don't be so thick. You wanted a valid argument. Here's one. I applaud Wenger for his unbeaten run. I applaud Mourinho for his achievements in EPL despite of his 22 star players. Heck I shouldn't have said that. It would contradict to my opinion. To me, everything is simple. Credit is given where it is due. Despite of Wenger's and Mourinho's achievement, I am bold enough to say that they can't even match what SAF has done over the years.

What worries United's fans the most is the day that SAF wanted to step down and enjoy his life without United. How significant he is? Now, tell me. TS, your knowledge on SAF about a thing or two doesn't makeup your excuses to say "Wenger is the best and SAF is not" plus keep on arguing on the same thing repetitively. Achievements is being count on how many trophies you've won and how you bring the club to be known to the world.

SAF is brilliant. He took Ji Sung and Dong to market United in Asia. I would say that Dong is merely a marketing tool but Ji Sung is an unsung hero in United. He plays well. And talking about nurturing talents out of nothing, SAF has done that a lot of times. Class of 92 is the best example. They won the Treble. Heck, most of them are local players. Beckham, Butt, Neville Bros, Scholes and The Welsh Wizard, Giggs. Does Wenger nurture local talents as SAF does? Hmmm .. let me count. None? Maybe you can enlighten me on this? And I would like to highlight that this idea and concept was brought in way back in Busby, Paisley, Shankly(and the list goes on) era. Liverpool and United are among the first ones to deploy this plan.

And don't bring in the issue of "SAF has big transfer kitties .. Wenger has none." As a matter of fact, Wenger does have tranfer kitties. And I believed that he doesn't wish to use them. Again, SAF is brilliant when he purchases the likes of Ferdinand, Rooney, Carrick, Owen Hargreaves, Anderson, Nani and next to be tipped as a World Player of The Year, Cristiano Ronaldo to complete his current team. With the mixture of experience and youth, a team can go far and you wouldn't have to worry about pressure or whatsoever in some tournaments i.e. Champions League, FA Cup and so on.
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 09:49 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Jun 8 2008, 09:46 AM)
Nobody mentioned that SAF has managed Aberdeen before?

When he did that he broke the top 2 which usually controlled by Celtic and Rangers. He won the Cup Winners Cup against REAL MADRID.

I think that shows Alex managing pedigree don't ya TS?
Oh ya. I forgot about that. Hell, I'm too focused on TS's hatred on United. Thanks bro.
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 10:27 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

When you count in the title 'Sir' in front of his name. It says it all. Don't you think?
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 10:43 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Jun 8 2008, 10:31 AM)
Then TS will say that the Queen is a Man Utd Fan user posted image tongue.gif
I thought she's an avid fan of Arsenal?
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 10:59 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(zickey @ Jun 8 2008, 10:55 AM)
TS claimed that Wenger would be a dream manager for a small team. Then after he resign/sack at arsenal why dont ask him coach our national team? The best manager in our time is the manager that can bring Malaysia to World Cup tongue.gif
You're funny. laugh.gif
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 12:53 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Jun 8 2008, 12:45 PM)
Initially I voted for Wenger, then a few people asked me why and said that Ferguson would be the correct option because he has won more trophies and so on. I did what was natural and responded by stating the reasons why I think Wenger is the superior manager, however all the United fans seem to think that any opinion which clashes with theirs are arrogant. Besides, can United fans get the over the idea that United were a small club when Fergie took over out of their heads, he took over a team that were favourites for the title that season but were unable to live up to the hype. They were under preforming and Ferguson got the best out of them and kudos to the man. To compare what Wenger and Ferguson has done is near impossible so let us leave it that. I say Wenger, you say Ferguson it is all about opinion. Don't batter me and call me a child because I have an opinion.

Grow up for heavens sake.
Nah TS. There you go again. You're saying us to grow up but at the same time you remained childlish. We fought for our believes and yeah even a Barca fan agreed with us. If you don't want such opinions you better not created this kind of threads. Things are simple, credits are given where it is due. Don't be so thick. shakehead.gif
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 01:16 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Jun 8 2008, 01:06 PM)
Firstly, no one is relating money spent in football to our daily life.

The last time I checked taking advantage of people for your own gain is selfish. Park has been a good player, as for Dong the sole purpose of his purchase was more marketing. Besides Ferguson didn't sign Dong, the board told Fergie that they would sent scouts to China to look at a few players, Ferguson had no say. Fergies never been great at picking up real bargains and turning them into stars. I can't think of anyone who you could see as an example of how he's done well since the Fergies Fledglings era. He was convinced the likes of Kleberson and Djemba Djemba were the next big stars.

Ferdinand (£28 million), Rooney (£28 million), Carrick (£18.6 million), Owen Hargreaves (£17 million), Anderson (£21 million), Nani (£17 million) and Cristiano Ronaldo (£13 million). He didn't spot these players, he just bought the best players available in the market. Wenger doesn't have that luxury, he has to constantly be on the look out of hidden gems.

Ferguson is a great manager and what he has achieved is unrivaled but in my opinion Wenger is the better manager. As I said before, don't call me a child because I disagree with you.
Hey, maybe I should dig up SAF's history with Aberdeen? Oh no, you might wanna dig up Wenger's experience. I'm not calling you childish because of your disagreement with our opinions. I'm calling you childish on how you created this thread and want everyone to agree to your opinion.

As all of the previous posts, you might want to change all of the options to Wenger.

And like I've said. Credits are given where it's due. Mourinho achievements with Chelsea was great. I thought he's great at Chelsea. And all of the mind games he played with other managers. Juande Ramos managed to bring Spurs to win a cup last year after their long spells of trophy-less seasons? Not to mention his achievements with Sevilla.

Okay, I'm out of this discussion. Thanks a lot. It was fun. laugh.gif
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 02:11 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

I just read this in an article by Jonathan Northcroft in the Times today

"Having just banked £32m for winning the Champions League, United are getting richer and their total wage costs are only £50,000 a week more than Arsenal’s."

Oh no! What is this? We are the most spent club?
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 02:16 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

"Wenger! Wenger! Wenger! Wenger!"

I just chanted for Wenger.
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 02:22 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

I'm just taking the piss out of you. laugh.gif

And yeah, you're still childish. I don't see any of my opinions aimed towards Arsenal. Funny how you pointed yourself being a child.
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 02:35 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Jun 8 2008, 02:31 PM)
I remember the Graham years when discipline & a defensive style won us games. It surely didn't win us fans and it was torture watching them but they won.

Did i get lasting pleasure from it? To be honest after two three - months , and having to go back to watching the same dull football afterwards, no it didn't. Yes I was still a fan, yes I still shouted screamed and swore watching the games, living every kick , playing every pass but it was not fufilling

Now compare this style against how we have played in the past three unsuccessful years. We played some unbelievable football with the likes of Henry, Rosicky, Clichy, Hleb, & Fabregas that has been a delight to watch. Some of the CC performances with Traore, Walcott, Nick etc have also been of the highest quality. Yes we have been unsuccessful, but we have been brought in the main, pleasure from the style and panache with which the club has played.

When our youth beat Everton & Balckburns full strength side in the Carling Cup we boasted to our Man United and LIverpool supporting mates that they couldnt do same. Take last season when we beat Liverpool twice with the Reserves - who didnt feel a surge of pride? Didnt the win feel all the sweeter? Or take the Carling Cup Final against Chelsea - watching our young players play Chelsea off the park for 60 minutes, with some breathtaking football. Yeah we lost but for me seeing the style and future of the club playing so exquisitely it felt almost like a win.

Why do we watch football? Because it brings us pleasure. Simple so far but bear with me.

What is wrong with supporting a team not because they are successful, not because our fathers brothers mothers or mates support them - but because they bring us genuine pleasure watching them. I think genuine Chelsea fans will admit - as two have to me - that in a way winning the League twice under Moaninho didn't feel as good as they expected. Left them ecstatic for a while but they kinda felt slightly empty at times. They had to listen to taunts of buying the League. Theyve had to ensure bandwagonjumpers & fair weather fans. And all the while playing football that was oh so effective but oh so ugly.

I guess that changed my outlook. Yeah I still want success. Yeah I hurt inside when we fall at final hurdle as we did this year. After Pool game in CL I was physically sick for weeks after. But I'm still proud of the way we play. Of how neutrals envy us. Of how we gain fans not because we're successful but because we play the beautiful game, the way football should be played. Of how when I sit down to watch the Gunners I know i'm gonna be entertained.

Would I sacrifice all that pleasure just to see us win Cups and Leagues while playing like United or Chelsea? No my friends - because then I'd be no better than the bandwagon jumpers I despise.

So here's to style, quality and sexy football in 08/09 - AND success

Say what you like about our lack of success, most Arsenal fans don't give a rats ass! We play the Wenger way and we are satisfied!
Your post says it all. laugh.gif

Okay mods, time to clean this 'mess' up.

boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 02:39 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Jun 8 2008, 02:37 PM)
This coming from a boy with a cartoon as his avatar whistling.gif
No no. This is a response to a 'wanker'. laugh.gif
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 02:55 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Jun 8 2008, 02:46 PM)
I never claimed to be better than anyone. So basically, it is alright for a United fan to personally attack an Arsenal fan but for him to stand for himself is unacceptable.
To be honest, I gave my valid arguments and you started it off. When did I attack you? Aww.. come on man.
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 03:16 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 8 2008, 03:09 PM)
there's a cantonese saying sounds like this, "if a cow doesn't wish to drink water, u can't force it to lay down it's head" (*no flame intended, there's is really such sayin if u know cantonese). it's pointless to debate here as there's no judges to decide who's gonna win, all these will only lead to flame bating which will make us (united fans) look like  we are forcing ppl to agree w/ us that SAF is d best among all managers listed.  smile.gif

remember, one can get respect from others by earning it, not by forcing.  wink.gif
@all
As a United fan and a person, I apologise.

@TS
Again, sorry. Keep on discussing.

I'm out.
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 07:03 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Jun 8 2008, 04:31 PM)
Most United fans are fake and just jump on the bandwagon. United is like a trend and sooner or later trends go out of fashion.
QUOTE(Pisanggoreng @ Jun 8 2008, 05:48 PM)
manu fans will be manu fans........they only like trophies and duno wat's beautiful football...i call tis materialistic..
remember, usually girls who won miss universe is not beautiful u noe...same as football, winning trophies not necessarily will be the best..
dun call me an idiot like the guy which has a cartoon as his avatar.....hehe
You can't be more ignorant can't you? for all of the time that I'm here, I've never seen both of you making good posts on football. Not even in Arsenal's thread. Looks like the ABU brigade got nothing but resorted to personal attacks. WTF is wrong with having an avatar of Gokou and WTH does that got anything to do with my football knowledge and passion towards United?

Sheesh. Grow up.
boxsystem
post Jun 8 2008, 08:09 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Panda @ Jun 8 2008, 08:03 PM)
Why not Aston Villa? tongue.gif

because the other team are more successful? drool.gif
Oh no. You shouldn't argue that with him. He's an adult and he is wise.
boxsystem
post Jun 12 2008, 11:37 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Jason_T @ Jun 12 2008, 09:06 AM)
i prefer to say it that way... laugh.gif

Added on June 12, 2008, 9:12 am
I do agree that maintaining different sets of playes is fundamental.
But still, the standard of BPL and SPL is totally different.
The likes of celtic and rangers can be champion in SPL, can they do it at BPL?
The same heres.
Take an ori kit compared with thailand handmade ciplak kit...there must be certain difference between those 2.
Winning titles in aberdeen in 80's doesnt mean you can win the title again with aberdeen now.
The football nowadays is totally different from what football is in the past.
The standard of football varies by league.
It is the truth.
Hence, the best manager shouldnt just solely depends on the numbers of trophy..
Many things have to come to consideration.
and to me, there is no such thing as THE BEST MANAGER.
Everyone loses at least 1...BEST MANAGER should never lose  whistling.gif

Added on June 12, 2008, 9:19 am
Trophies doesnt mean anything...
especially those winning with small gap...there isnt anything actually to proud of at all...
Luck do play some part.....if u ask me laugh.gif

Added on June 12, 2008, 9:27 am
if u take mourinho's porto, then is comparable...but chelsea?
doh.gif
how much they spent in the past and how much arsenal spent?
for the past few years, i can only see them selling their star and buying 2-3 players which cant even compared to 1 31m shev..
and you said the achievement is comparable?
doh.gif
speechless
your statements contradicts to each other. first you said, spl is nothing like epl, then you asked us to compare JM's time in Porto? Awww, come on. And yeah, luck does play part in everything. same can be said when Liverpool winning the UCL in 2005?

QUOTE(Jason_T @ Jun 12 2008, 09:42 AM)
before man u winning cl, where is MU when chelsea qualify for semi? laugh.gif
Given JM the same amount of time, he will deliver the same number of trophies for chelsea as well..

SAF took 10years+(since he joining since 80's) before winning in 1999(CL..which is called STEADY while liv 2005 is called LUCKY) give JM 10 years..ops...nono..just compare the years..hw  many years JM in porto before winning CL? you do the maths.. laugh.gif

Added on June 12, 2008, 9:45 am
hmm.gif I remember mANU fans telling me that quality counts before quantity.
They said every year liv signed quantity players and mANU signed quality players...

now now, take back the words, eh? laugh.gif
I wonder quality or quantity should come 1st...

Comparing the achievement in SPL with BPL/La Liga/Serie A is totally nuts, if u ask me.. laugh.gif
don't you think, same can be said as, where was Chelsea before they win the EPL? or, since you like to banter so much, I can say something like where's Liverpool for this 18 years?

QUOTE(Jason_T @ Jun 12 2008, 09:47 AM)

Added on June 12, 2008, 9:49 am
so did AW, AG,JM...I did never hear their fans say the cabinet is going to be full...
That's typical arrogant, if u ask me  smile.gif
It's just banters. If you can't take it. Ignore it. One thing, I did noticed a couple of Liverpool's fans having their siggy like "Moscow, UCL Final : Liverpool vs ?" or "United fans now can see the UCL trophy in Anfield". Learn to give and take.

QUOTE(Jason_T @ Jun 12 2008, 09:55 AM)
so, cant the same thing applies to Liv?
In 2007 cl final, ac milan might be setting up the match as well since they was caught the same years...and surprisingly they still get the chance to play. doh.gif
Hails rafa then?
Nono..There is nothing to do with it.Won means won it.
There is no such thing as they set up the match and so on cos even if they did, they r not going to return the trophies, are they? whistling.gif

Added on June 12, 2008, 9:56 am
i cant sense the joke...maybe abu  laugh.gif
So, won is won eh? same can be said by winning the league with 2 extra points of the runners up?

You're totally unbelievable. shocking.gif

Credit is given where it is due. SAF has maintained to head United's for 22 years and still counting. It's not easy to keep your job especially these days. I pity JM for being sacked because he didn't managed to win UCL. I've always think he is a master of tactician and he's good at playing mind games. Credits to Rafa for having a total go in UCL. It's consistency to reach UCL semifinals numerous times in just a short period. He even almost win it twice. Arsene is not being called 'The Professor' for nothing. He made superstars out of nothing. Two of most gifted players he has created, Henry and Fabregas.

As someone has asked, what are the criteria for best managers? And what are the measurements of a best manager? How to measure?

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Jun 12 2008, 11:44 AM
boxsystem
post Jun 12 2008, 02:34 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Jun 12 2008, 01:26 PM)
i must say managers should be credited based on his success..well, unlike football players, who have their missions or tasks on the field varied depending on their positions, managers meanwhile have only a single task..to WIN!!
if a manager didnt win enough honours, then he should be counted out..as that may suggest that throughout a single season, he might have done bad tactical decisions or bad transfer decisions etc..
some may say certain managers doesnt have the luxuries of big money generated by some oil derricks or whatever..err b4 u say this, please check how much villareal have spent each summer in recent years, and they got 2nd place in la liga, continuously in top 10 placings since 2003/2004 season and even reached the UCL semis several years back..
their signing of the season all was signed through free transfer..and do you know how small is villareal c.f??fyi, villareal is a port city where its whole population won't fill up old trafford(wikipedia: 49,045 (2007))..and their stadium is just a 23000 capacity stadium..for me Manuel Pellegrini have done really well here, his achievements is admirable considering the size of his club

guys, managers are appointed to bring continuous glories to their club and country, and whoever have done exactly that, then he should be considered..for me, this award should go to only this 2 persons Sir Alex ferguson(manhester united) and Marcelo Lippi(juventus and italy)

i am barca's fan, and i hate the way SAF play his team against us in UCL semis, especially in the 1st leg, really  mad.gif , but i must say his achievements are simply incredible..i wont make my judgements based on my interest on my club..and i think all LYN voters should do so too..

i bolded that name bcoz if arsene wenger have his name in our shorlist, that guy with that bolded name should also be on our list
Thanks. And yeah, I hate our approach against Barca in UCL's semifinal. I'm with your and DukeRed's sentiments.
boxsystem
post Jun 13 2008, 10:20 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Jason_T @ Jun 13 2008, 12:53 AM)
I ask to compare CL cup..and u r telling me cl cup differ every year? OMG!!!! shocking.gif
Thats what I mentioned earlier din I?
mANU 1999 is called STEADY and ours is called lucky..
Thats typical self defence by some arrogant fans... icon_rolleyes.gif
so, u r telling me u r taking N95 to compare with the Tai Ko Tai phone?
shocking.gif
you guys got owner that willing to spend...RICH owner
and we got kiam siap owner...
how much u guys spend and how much we spend?
and this is not mere excuse...
To compare,thats is HOPE from fans rather than arrogant.and please if such post is called BANTERS or jokes, i wonder what happen to sportsmanship nowadays..and hell yeah, u r telling me those idiots jumping over fences to post " glory2 mu" is banters as well?  whistling.gif

and for the 2 points, i did say...won is won...but luck do help, din i say that earlier? wink.gif

Thx  thumbup.gif  I knew that since ages ago  whistling.gif

Added on June 13, 2008, 12:57 am
Thats mere example that I wish to highlight NUMBER OF TROPHIES not the main factors of deciding whos the best manager around.
Can those manage U12 and U18 included in the best manager list if they won them over 30times?
thats what i m trying to highlight  icon_rolleyes.gif

QUALITY OF THE LEAGUE SHOULD DECIDES
How the hell does "United fans can now see the real UCL trophy at Anfield" is a hope? How does "UCL FINAL, Moscow : Liverpool vs ?" is another one? Funny, as I remember, no one mentioned that 1999 is a steady team. Even SAF said "Football, bloody hell". Where's the statement of steady or even arrogant in it?

And you were criticizing regarding our 2 points advantage over Chelsea in last season's BPL. You did said "What can be so proud of that?" Clearly, you don't even know what banters are and simply saying that United fans are arrogant. How's UCL Moscow Final statements is not arrogant? Surprising. Hell, I bet you wouldn't even mentioned regarding the 2 points advantage if Liverpool is on top. You'll probably say something like "Win is still a win. I can be proud of that."

It's pretty simple, if you can't take some, so don't give some. And, I can really sense you hatred towards United. Well, what to be expected?
boxsystem
post Jun 18 2008, 11:52 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

Chill guys. we are WAY off topic. heck, I would like to know what's the true story as well(same situation with our govt, don't you think?) Anyways,

To United fans, please know when to shut up.
To Non United fans, please don't add fuel to the fire.
To dream5518-, it is best to ask mods and admins regarding this. Open up a forum and I'll support you.

0.0593sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:43 AM