13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Hi-Fi Sonus Faber, The artisan of sound

PcWork
post Jun 4 2009, 09:01 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jun 4 2009, 03:23 PM)
hey hey hey.... you guys really ar...
My face and body already turned green and purple by the poisons...  rclxub.gif

But really have to take out calculator for many times...
Not small amount of money...  moneyflies.gif
as i said. sonus never fail to impress me.. now i shall add one more sentences "although i had already use ES11."

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jun 4 2009, 04:16 PM)
That's why..
They are not bad too..  blush.gif
ES11 are big and nicely made too.
Mine are not black colour and they have ori stands.  smile.gif
Bought them so many years back when I was still a secondary schoolboy.  biggrin.gif 

I just need to know the gap between SFCD and ES11.
Have to find a time to check it out.  brows.gif
speaker aren't talk about big or small leh.
i change from floorstander (NAD made in denmark, rare stuff), B&W 601, Acoustic Research dunno wat model. Jamo... Celestion Tannoy...
in the end Sonus Faber..

QUOTE(etteoh @ Jun 4 2009, 06:32 PM)
EPOS speakers are good. I have listened to a few different setups with them too and yeah, I'll testify to that. I have also listened to a few ProAcs and damn, those are some pretty impressive stuff.

I'm going to have to say this - SF fan notwithstanding - but of so many speakers I have brought back to my home, only the SFs are able to give me that full indulging sound that I soooo long for. Even until today, I can play the same track I just played yesterday and I will still be awe'ed.

I cannot explain why this is but the SFs bridges the gap in my needs...and nicely at that.
the point is. sonus sometime tend to loose out in AB test.
for bookself of sonus, bass not impressive as the competitor. say proAc.. which can get floorstander at same price range already.. treble not as high as epos / harberth.. yada yada..
but in the end. if u have longer time to use those speaker. then the good point of sonus will be appriciate..
buying speaker ain't trying to impress anyone. but to listen to music comfortly. ,and sonus is comfort..
buying some speaker with impressive spec like USHER which utilise beryliuim tweeter at the price point of concertino domus. and that USHER is much bigger than the sonus. while USHER win all sort of "magazine" review.....
in the end. it's still sucks to me. listening to it is very impressive.. wide dynamic range.. fast respond.. but heck i don't even can finish listen to one album.

in the end. smooth mid and superb quality mid by sonus still win for a nice afternoon / night listening session.. sonus use nice combination of the tweeter and midbass to ensure the frequencies respond remains flat throughout it's effective frequencies respond. mid bass and tweeter characteristic and phase had been take into consideration, hence the sonus can really produce a smooth frequencies respond. especially MID which imho is the hardest part to do. and it's also the hardest part to detect at short period of time. the intergration of the mid bass VS tweeter is so far one of the BEST i ever heard.
listening piano recording can still produce significant thickness when the tune were play at higher notes.. playing flutes from lowest notes to highest notes doesn't change the flute to wistle. lol..

PS : all those were MY OPINION.. might or might NOT be suitable for you. your milage might vary.. =P believe at your own risk.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Jun 4 2009, 09:14 PM
PcWork
post Jun 4 2009, 10:31 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

DON"t WAIT LIAO.. the longer you wait. the higher possible it will gone...
PcWork
post Jun 4 2009, 10:42 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

i am in this situation before
playing all sub RM 2k bookshelve
suddenly folk out RM 5K for sonus. that time i buy without stand..
wah really scared. like throwing money.. if dun like then *** loh...
but luckily i am happy until now..
really worth.. this is the best spend in my life.. spend the money 1 year already still feel worth.. lol.
everytime i on it.. i still feel "really nice..."
PcWork
post Jun 4 2009, 11:01 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

apollo??
mark and daniel???
PcWork
post Jun 5 2009, 12:00 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jun 5 2009, 01:34 AM)
mine is the Domus Concertino..black piano finish
just finish running in......
after auditting the grand piano......phewwwww....kena blown away man!
2 month already finish burn in?
i on everyday also at 5th month baru the speaker sound characteristic start to improve leh.
major improve .
PcWork
post Jun 5 2009, 09:43 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

i am using customised DIY class A preamp for driving NAD3020A and i use the NAD as pure power amp only.

PcWork
post Jun 6 2009, 01:01 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

lol.. even if u on CLASS A power amp 24 hours non stop..
a 150 WATT class A probably equal with 4 florescent light in house.
that's assuming you on it on max power.
normal time. it might only consume 20-25 watt. which is less than a florescent light..
on one aircon anytime takes 800-1000 watt, water heater and so on cost at least 10-20X the power consume by amp..
lol.

PcWork
post Jun 7 2009, 12:37 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jun 7 2009, 12:04 AM)
Yes.. bro.. read that before..

Well, I am comparing to my friend's MF A3.5.  laugh.gif
So much more power and manage to drive the highs out of the speakers.
The vocals are just so much livelier...

Comes the headache part..
I am pretty sure that I will have to upgrade my amp if grab the SFCD.  nod.gif
put it this way pals..
if you don't buy sonus faber. will you forget it? or it going to stay in your heart and keep reminding you .... until one day you finally get it home?
i tried before. i decided wait until i graduate only i buy that sonus.. but it keep ring in my ear "sonus faber sonus faber" i can't hold myself go online and search for the speaker.. read the review. or even search beautiful picture of it. just look at it also feel happy.
then i have the product catalog of the sonus.. also quite often take a look at it...

if it is this way. then yourself already know the answer for to buy or not to buy..

if it is not this way. then i will really suggest you stay with your current setup and forget about sonus since it will involve major upgrade in your system.

My Sonus Faber Concertino Domus...

This post has been edited by PcWork: Jun 7 2009, 12:38 AM
PcWork
post Jun 7 2009, 12:51 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jun 7 2009, 12:11 PM)
I am still waiting for some diffusers.  blush.gif
I have managed to find the 1st refection point.
Now, using the book rack to place at the points.

Those noisy boomy bass has disappeared after tweaking the speakers and adding absorption materials.
Apart from that, I also tuned my listening positions.

Oh ya.. I have shifted my speakers so that they are not having the same distances from side and rear walls.
Not so much of a difference maybe because of the minimal shifts.

if u ever change ur speaker.
pls do remove all those absorbing material and then add them in one by one.
else u might overkill as different speaker sounds different in ur room. those absorbing material suitable for ES11 might not suitable for other speaker.

PcWork
post Jun 7 2009, 02:41 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Jun 7 2009, 02:36 PM)
IMHO, why not invest a better speaker that you like 1st?

I heart that the most imperative part of a hifi chain is:

Speaker-->Amplifier-->Source--->others

True?
agree. some more. there's about which to get first if the speaker is out of production and it's only left 1 single pair in the shop.
while other things are fairly easy available.
replacement model for concertino is way too expensive compare to concertino. so no point.. unless very loaded.

spend on acoustic foam... diffuser... a lot. then in the end it not suitable to the speaker.. wasting those money..
like when i have my NAD floorstander speaker, epos ES11. i stick my room with corner bass trap. acoustic foam.. all sort of things. spend more than RM 1K on the acoustic material. in the end when i changed to concertino. i realise that without those things. the sound is more alive..
so i took them all down and don't know what to do with them..
now i am keeping them behind my kitchen..
lol.

Added on June 7, 2009, 2:51 pmuser posted image
last time i buy this foam for 1X1 feet = RM 30
anyone interested can PM me.
no ridiculous offer pls. this foam material is made of very high quality. if u touch by hand it's very smooth. and if u rub it also it still smooth. high density foam. which the foam itself won't drop off when u rub it.

the round shiny things in the picture is a CD.
so roughly u know the size of it.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Jun 7 2009, 02:51 PM
PcWork
post Jun 7 2009, 03:02 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jun 7 2009, 02:56 PM)
Left only single pair?  hmm.gif
My room still has very minimal absorption foams.
I guess I have lots more furniture instead.
Anyway, those foams that I bought were not so expensive either..  biggrin.gif

Bro TarePanda,

I have seen some friends' hifi chain are like this:  doh.gif

Speaker-->Amplifier-->Source--->Cables--->Speaker-->Amplifier-->Source--->Cables--->Speaker-->Amplifier-->Source--->Cables..................
thats who want the best of the best..
no ending one. unless u are happy with what u want
and u found what you want.
some ppl. they just wish to have the best out of the best.
camera also mah..
body.. lens. body lens.. flash.. body lens.. flash..
lol..
it's depend on urself. if u are happy with what u have. then enough loh.
no one ever force u to upgrade.. some one blame hifi world for making them ugprade. some one blame hifi magazine for making them upgrade.. imho that's BS. if they themself don't wanna upgrade. what for they go and read the magazine / online review?
in the end the simply neglected that they themself is the one who wish for better sound. and put the blame on other ppl for making them upgrade.. how ironic. lol.

PERHAPS they trying to see those review hoping that other praise what they bought is the best.. but after they read it.. they were F*cked that their equipment ranged at lowest range.. then they try to upgrade to impress other ppl.. "see my gear is recommended by what hi-fi" and keep the magazine. every time ppl visit their house. they will show the book. they just simply want ppl to acknowledge their speaker is the best... or "got taste".

just face urself. make a decision. want it. take it. don't want it . leave the whole audio world out of ur life.. say "i have equipment that i already appreciate.. so no point upgrade."

This post has been edited by PcWork: Jun 7 2009, 03:06 PM
PcWork
post Jun 8 2009, 10:38 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

lol.. i smells new member in this thread...
=P
PcWork
post Jun 9 2009, 01:06 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

sweet................. beauty eh..
glad u enjoyed ur music straight 10 hours.. lol....
i am yet to break the record..
it's like feel wanna hear each CDs again... it's so different from ES11. lol

PcWork
post Jun 9 2009, 06:06 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jun 9 2009, 05:37 PM)
The speaker stands are really expensive.
I also took quite sometime to think about them.

I listened the SFCD at the shop that day for around 3hrs with a friend.
Then, went to take a cup of tea.
During that tea time, I kept discussing with my friend about the stands.
My friend was amused and asked "Why need such a long thought about the speakers?"

I told him that the stands are almost half the price of the speakers.
He gulped his coffee and choked, looked at me with his eyes almost popping out..   laugh.gif

He said "the price of the cow's chain is almost half of the cow!!"   laugh.gif
why don't u try to remove the speaker from it's original stand. and find one most expensive stand available in the market. and try place ur sonus on top of it. see if u still say the same word in describe the sound or not.
i also choked by the price. but when i really buy it. i tell myself.. if i don't spend this RM 2K... the RM 5K i spend for the speaker is just wasted by not performing at full potential...
then this 2K is worth to make another 5K more valuable.
if i don't spend this 2K. my sonus don't sounds like a 7K speaker.. but just like a 3K speaker. lol
and it's more safe too since it has screw beneath it. the speaker won't fall down easily.

before this i am using original B&W stand.. made by aluminium. and the sound is just not right.
so i come to a conclusion that all stand is the same.. but when i give the stand to my brother which he using my B&W 601.. he told me the improvement is unbelievable just by one stand. the speaker sounds bigger. like a floorstander...

Nicholas. i though u already has an answer yesterday??
u heard the sound of it when moved out from my room right?
=P i think tha'ts the real potential.

imho.. the real chain is the cable. lol if sonus is the cow..
the stand is the toe..

auronthas, by the way.. i had confirmed information just now that perfect hifi no longer has it's original stand. and will not plan to carry them in anymore as SG there also almost out of stock. and the last batch stand price seems to hike up. car_o_scope had taken the last pair of stand in both ioimall and mpl perfect hifi.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Jun 9 2009, 06:11 PM
PcWork
post Jun 10 2009, 01:20 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(grandspy @ Jun 9 2009, 09:36 PM)
car_o_scope, congratulations and welcome to the club!!
the next natural thing to do (after you get amp) is to get a turntable..  brows.gif

Y.C, the ori stands for SF Concertino Domus and Concerto Home are not the same?
not the same.
even the screw holes are different.
the home screw is further apart.
so can't even screw the speaker on the stand.

by the way.. anyone know who this guy is??

on the left is me.. lol.
PcWork
post Jun 10 2009, 02:44 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(kkthen @ Jun 10 2009, 08:44 AM)
HE is  Mr. Kazuo Kiuchi of Combak Corporation. Did He come to Malaysia Before?? I love his tuning  product which Very musical. Even the cheapest accessories like Ac enacom, RF900 spike base will make your system smile.  biggrin.gif
Pcwork bro , do you use any harmonix product for tuning?? Try to put some harmonix  RF900 or RF909 under your speaker stand, this will give you big surprise.
infact... he came to perfect hifi by monday by invitation. and those guess who attend his talk also by invitation. damn pressure , all the owner there at least owned amati / Revel salon / guarneri memento.. cheapest setup oso about 350K+
only me using cheapo setup compare to them. lol.

he talk a lot about tuning.. theory.. and practical.. he did show us with a pair of Auditor M speaker as seen in the back ground.
i am start to use some harmonix product.. but they are too damn expensive.. i am save up for RF909 infact. =)

Added on June 10, 2009, 3:08 pm
QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jun 10 2009, 09:42 AM)
How peculiar...
When I simply put my SFCD in room with extreme toe in, the boomy basses were totally gone. Poof.. disappeared..  biggrin.gif
I also dont know why or how.

I played back the same songs which have problems previously.
Really have no more such problems with the SFCD.
Everything is the room remains in same arrangement.
Why har?  hmm.gif
better control of the driver motor system to the diaphram can cure the boomy effect.
such as Dynaudio is famous that it will sound almost the same even though u place the speaker directly sticking to wall VS on stand.
due to it's motor system aka coil can have a very powerful control to the membrane itself.

meaning. have accelerator.. and have brake also.
usual driver. which not properly designed.. only can accelerate.. go faster is better. but on some corner. the diaphragm tend to loss control. hence the coil has to provide enough damping / braking to the membrane so it sounds accurate..

like car to climb hill .. a 4 wheel drive car.. without brake...
when go up. very powerful.. when comes down.. too powerful..until cannot stop.
lol..

This post has been edited by PcWork: Jun 10 2009, 03:08 PM
PcWork
post Jun 10 2009, 07:09 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

i think i am mistake about the model. it shall be the cheapest one.
lol
can't afford the most expensive one.
the great things about harmonix is. the more u use. the more neutral it is..
it don't overdone the sound.
and i kena poison kao kao by alvin liao leh... the effect.. is seriously like changed an DAC / AMP..
while just put the small little things under the speaker only.

PcWork
post Jun 11 2009, 01:22 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Jun 10 2009, 10:52 PM)
I'm great admire of Mr. Kazuo Kiuchi of Combak Corporation...in fact, the gombak stand is my dream stand...read a lot of his stuff from hifi magazine...but I still consider lucky by not invited coz no temptation...for sure PcWork will not forget and impress the effect of his tuning stuff
hm.. actually he talks about music a lot by that day..
why his DAC cost so high..
several recording done by him market under his company..XRCD.. perfect hifi will have them soon..
and then only the tuning stuff.

PcWork
post Jun 11 2009, 06:13 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Jun 11 2009, 02:35 PM)
Only DAC cost hight?  doh.gif

XRCD..you mean those K2 technology generated cd?

I have 2 XRCD from K2 technology...
1.) 1st drum in world (Chinese) - comment: not so nice, maybe b'coz of my bookshelf speaker
2.) Jazz in the Pawnshop - this is absolutely outstanding, the sound so real even i using very very cheap sound card (I think every hifi kaki must buy it!!)
not those normal XRCD.
his XRCD is analogue recording. and analogue mastering. normal XRCD /SACD which cost about RM 150 i have plenty.. but his XRCD is really really sounds different.. much better. if i am not mistaken. the price is about RM 300 per pcs.

QUOTE(kkthen @ Jun 11 2009, 04:40 PM)
Reimyo DAP-999EX is  dream Dac, if no mistake cost rm30k or more sweat.gif , one of the best dac in the world, although is spec only 24bit 44.1khz.

This dac original feet  is RF 600  tuning base.
i don't think it's 30K..
the transport alone is more than RM 78K
i seriously don't think the DAC is less than 50K.

Added on June 11, 2009, 7:11 pmFinally i got myself WHOLE set of concertino domus..
speaker.. stand.. even spike shoe is original.. lol

Full metal construction... while atacama i use previously is just a thin layer of metal..

Two parts of metal sanwished a rubber ring. so totaly isolating the vibration. while the inner metal ring is the one that contact with floor.

Added on June 11, 2009, 7:17 pmuser posted image

should be like this.
weight wise very heavy.. at least 3X of atacama that i use previously.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Jun 11 2009, 07:17 PM
PcWork
post Jun 11 2009, 09:28 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jun 11 2009, 08:40 PM)
Now you deserve a listening room!  laugh.gif

How much is the whole sets of original spike shoes?  I am going to order original speaker stand from Perfect Hifi soon.  smile.gif
the spike shoe they told me it's not for sale. i beg them kao kao only can find one set brand new... but i paid almost RM 500 for it.
still cheaper than harmonix.

where u order the stand?
perfect hifi still got?
ioi mall or mpl perfect hifi?

This post has been edited by PcWork: Jun 11 2009, 09:47 PM

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0520sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:52 PM