Hi-Fi Sonus Faber, The artisan of sound

ah liew
post Apr 12 2009, 12:33 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Apr 11 2009, 12:06 AM)
well. i am one of the audio buff you describe then.
i carried my NAD to hifi shop to test the speaker before i buy.

because i think it's the best and most direct way to know how it sound rather than asking opinion over internet. and ppl give opinion, then we won't believe it, and still thinking "are you sure what you said is correct? what if my taste different with yours?"
so what's the point of asking opinion while already choose not to believe. then directly go and test is the best way. After asking a lot of question in the internet, in the end still won't get an answer that is satisfied. or even got ppl answer also choosed not to believe. so why wasting energy asking? if seriously want to buy. really go straight and test.
because for this kinda of low budget hifi entry level speaker. i don't think any hifi shop willing to borrow this speaker for you to take home and test it. unless you are very very close with those hifi shop.
oh yes, there was this borrow-borrow trend also to audit at your own home.
& there is the lepak trend at your favorite hifi store tongue.gif go there just to talk crap w/o buying anything biggrin.gif haha!
PcWork
post Apr 12 2009, 09:47 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

not neccessery everytime ppl go shopping will definitely confirm they wanna buy somethings. those shop are welcome enough for ppl to lepak as quite a big number of their business are come from ppl who lepak. very seldom customer are so aware until they went there. say " i want sonus faber toy" and grab it straight away and go home.
for hifi shop. lepak lepak time is the best time to see their altitude and their after sales service.
i personally doesnt see that as a problem though.

unless the customer really talk too much of crap. asking heavily discount price pretending wanna buy, although don't intended to buy at all, and not interested even to buy, but go to the shop pretend like he know everythings, and pretending he is very rich and wanna buy the things. asking hell a lot of question as if wanna know everythings about the design. while he himself don't sure what he actually want.
then the shop are really headache to face this kind of customer.

most of the time i often see that in hifi shop based in shopping complex.
for hifi shop located not in a shopping complex. ppl who went there actually clear about what they want. else they won't even going to there purposely just to lepak.

hushymushy
post Apr 13 2009, 09:31 AM

1,708 posts

usually i dont ask questions about products if i dont hv intention to buy
dont like to give high hopes to sales guy knowing the fact that i dont hv the cash in my wallet

by my recent visits to Perfect HiFi did poison me
now.....i'm interested to get d Grand Piano....hehehehe but again wallet does not permit
Cremona is definitely good...but price lagi dahsyat

d only thing lacking from my concertino is low bass
when i auditted at perfect hifi...the low bass was really amazing for the concertino
but dunno y at my home not as good
tested with the same amp, same cdp and same cables

any concerto owners can share their input?
does it come with the ori stands?
etteoh
post Apr 13 2009, 10:03 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Apr 13 2009, 09:31 AM)
dont like to give high hopes to sales guy knowing the fact that i dont hv the cash in my wallet

now.....i'm interested to get d Grand Piano....hehehehe but again wallet does not permit

when i auditted at perfect hifi...the low bass was really amazing for the concertino

It is the listening room that plays a big part in the differences that you are hearing, especially bass. Apart from the room, speaker placement and the distance between you and the speakers all play a very big role. Moving the speakers (or yourself) forward or backward as little as half a feet can make a lot of difference. At the end, it is all about finding that compromise between good low end bass and airy soundstage/dynamics.

It takes a lot of time and patience to get there but it is very rewarding when you get it right. Good luck mate smile.gif
TarePanda
post Apr 13 2009, 10:26 AM

989 posts

hushymushy,

From my experience, you will get a better bass when you place your speaker:

1.) nearer to wall
2.) 'Hard environment"
3.) 'Close space'

Correct me if i'm wrong blush.gif

This post has been edited by TarePanda: Apr 13 2009, 10:28 AM
etteoh
post Apr 13 2009, 10:48 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Apr 13 2009, 10:26 AM)
hushymushy,

From my experience, you will get a better bass when you place your speaker:

1.) nearer to wall
2.) 'Hard environment"
3.) 'Close space'

Correct me if i'm wrong blush.gif
These are the basis for getting better bass response but speakers placed too close to the wall can yield some very nasty bass booms (sonic boom if you will), which are very unpleasant to the ears. Where you sit in regards to your room/hall is extremely important. Try walking back and forth while the music plays...you will very likely hear how the bass notes vary at different lengths.

In my case, I achieved the best compromise not by moving the speakers but by adjusting the sitting distance. The problem, for a number of people is not where their speakers are placed but where they sit, relative to their room/hall.

Hi Fi is such a bi*ch but in a good way smile.gif
dlyz
post Apr 13 2009, 10:58 AM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

I put my speaker (not sonus T.T) close to wall in my bedroom (7m x 4.5m), 1.5 m apart, 1m from left wall, far from right wall and 15cm from rear wall, i sit 2m away.

I notice when i sit 4m away on my bed, i can hear deep low bass that i cant hear when sitting 2m away. Anyone experience this? I believe could be room accoustics at play here.

This post has been edited by dlyz: Apr 13 2009, 11:15 AM
etteoh
post Apr 13 2009, 11:17 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Apr 13 2009, 10:58 AM)
I put my speaker (not sonus T.T) close to wall in my bedroom (7m x 4.5m), 1.5 m apart, 1m from left wall, far from right wall and 15cm from rear wall, i sit 2m away.

I notice when i sit 4m away on my bed, i can hear deep low bass that i can hear when sitting 2m away. Anyone experience this?
This is an excellent example...bass frequencies, while being non-directional, travels. "Good" bass response are replicated/audible at certain distances (again relative to your hall/room), which makes where you sit very, very important. We all know the basic fundamentals of how speakers should not be placed too close to the side and rear walls and that they should be allowed to "breathe" so that the lower notes do not overpower the imaging quality. What a lot of people don't realize is that the listening position sit is just as crucial as speaker placement. People spend hours, days, weeks moving their speakers all around, so much so that they forget the problem is likely their listening position.

Ideally the room should be rectangular-ish in shape. A longer room allows good bass response to travel and be heard at the right distance. A longer room also means you don't have to sit right at the end of the other side, next to the wall, which can create a lot of reflection in an untreated room. Understanding the boundaries, advantages and limitation of our rooms is equally important as that of our hi-fi equipment. How you "use" your room/hall can and will play a BIG part in the quality of your sound/music.
hushymushy
post Apr 13 2009, 11:22 AM

1,708 posts

mine is placed about 3 feet from the back wall
since d ported hole is in front of the speakers, any issue if i push back to 2feet?
my speakers r 6 feet apart
i'm sitting about 5 feet away..which i think its quite ok
i hv alot of room issues
in fact...its not a room, its in the hall
so yes.....alot of acoustic issues
staging, imaging, depth and transparency....i'm totally amazed and i find it very good for me..in fact didnt expect that much
just tat the low kicks r not sufficient
i came to this comparison because i'm comparing with my car
so with d woofer in d car...definitely the frequency is pretty complete
friend of mine asked me to put granite slab under the speaker stand..
wonder y would that help
my current floor is marbled terrazo...very old stuffs...bout 35yrs di
hehehehehehehe
etteoh
post Apr 13 2009, 11:29 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Apr 13 2009, 11:22 AM)
since d ported hole is in front of the speakers, any issue if i push back to 2feet?
i hv alot of room issues
staging, imaging, depth and transparency....i'm totally amazed and i find it very good for me..in fact didnt expect that much
wonder y would that help
hehehehehehehe
Some front-ported speakers aren't in favor of being too close to the rears. I can't immediately tell you if moving them back by 2 feet is a good idea. You might want to experiment moving half a feet at a time. When you do, give yourself time to listen to a variety of songs and see if you like the new change. You can also try moving your listening position back or forth a little. 5 feet can be ok for some and not others. Again, your room/hall decides that smile.gif

Yes, it takes a lot of time and patience but good things come to those who wait smile.gif

Hope to hear back from you on your quest smile.gif

Added on April 13, 2009, 11:32 am
i hv alot of room issues
wonder y would that help
hehehehehehehe
Oh, and I wouldn't worry too much about the granite slab. I personally do not think it has any (very little if any) influence over what you're trying to achieve.

Last but not least, I hope you're not trying to replicate the bass from your car's woofer on your Sonus smile.gif

This post has been edited by etteoh: Apr 13 2009, 11:32 AM
hushymushy
post Apr 13 2009, 11:59 AM

1,708 posts

sort of....but obviously not fully replicate though
hehehehehehe
but my car is not the boom boom type
its a musical sub
etteoh
post Apr 13 2009, 12:11 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Apr 13 2009, 11:59 AM)
sort of....but obviously not fully replicate though
hehehehehehe
but my car is not the boom boom type
its a musical sub
Cool...I thought it was one of those "goyang-kepala" kind of sub smile.gif You can't blame me, I see (or hear rather) lots of those boom box going around and man if there's one thing they're really good at is...killing the music.
PcWork
post Apr 13 2009, 01:22 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Apr 13 2009, 09:31 AM)

i hv alot of room issues
wonder y would that help
hehehehehehehe
lol. that's what i face exactly when my last visit to perfect hifi. i though concertino memang don't have nice bass.
however. when i visit them. the concertino over there produce a bigger and fast bass although they sing in a room twice the size of my room.
so after that. i spend a lot of time in repositioning the speaker. and viola.. got it..
do use ruler to measure the accurate position.
for my case. as i sit very near to the speaker. hence each 0.5cm makes a different.
and by the way. my speaker is 2 feet from the back wall. i think i kinda like how it sounds. in perfect hifi they are placing it 4 feet away from rear wall. but their room is very quiet. hence the bass can easily come out.
and changing preamp of my amp also makes the sonus much more better in bass.

if ur floor is already marbled terrazo. adding the granite don't really gives much influence on the bass. i tried it once before. borrowed from hifi shop. and the granite only improve a little bit on the treble only compared to solid marble floor.
hushymushy
post Apr 13 2009, 01:36 PM

1,708 posts

is.....
yesterday was a good day experience
was playing around the the tightness of the screws on the speaker stand
it really makes a difference between flat stage and well bodied stage
but i hv to admit with the rest....even if i change speakers....it will be another SF

do u guys think that those speaker stand spikes rest makes a difference?

i recently put in those bcoz d spikes were scratching my floor badly
PcWork
post Apr 13 2009, 07:33 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Apr 13 2009, 01:36 PM)
is.....
yesterday was a good day experience
was playing around the the tightness of the screws on the speaker stand
it really makes a difference between flat stage and well bodied stage
but i hv to admit with the rest....even if i change speakers....it will be another SF

do u guys think that those speaker stand spikes rest makes a difference?

i recently put in those bcoz d spikes were scratching my floor badly
i am using one that i buy from perfect hifi. quite not bad. it's metal body with rubber underneat.
the spike shoe initially i was using 5 cents money, after that i swap to full copper things buy from cmy audio.
then i change again when i heard the different in perfect hifi.
each is about RM 20 if i remember correctly.
so 8 spike shoe = RM 160.lol
but it's background is much much much more quiet after i use it.
hushymushy
post Apr 14 2009, 04:11 PM

1,708 posts

perfect hifi keep pushing harmonix to be ler
TSgrandspy
post Apr 14 2009, 10:52 PM

The Mothership is here!
1,339 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Apr 13 2009, 07:33 PM)
i am using one that i buy from perfect hifi. quite not bad. it's metal body with rubber underneat.
the spike shoe initially i was using 5 cents money, after that i swap to full copper things buy from cmy audio.
then i change again when i heard the different in perfect hifi.
each is about RM 20 if i remember correctly.
so 8 spike shoe = RM 160.lol
but it's background is much much much more quiet after i use it.

Can post some pictures of the thingy? The ones that you bought from perfect hifi.
PcWork
post Apr 14 2009, 11:19 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

camera not on my hand now. tomorrow night i post up a photo. =)
it's black things. with a metal to form a } shape. then fit in a rubber ring in it.

so the rubber is the things to touch the grond. while the metal is contact with spike.

hushymushy
post Apr 15 2009, 12:12 PM

1,708 posts

aft u put in....impact alot?

PcWork
post Apr 15 2009, 08:32 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

very much quiet than before.
in my setup lah.. very very quiet background after i put in.
much better than usual metal type.
i gave away the metal one already.

92 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:10 PM