Apr 6 2009, 12:12 PM
906 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Apr 2 2009, 04:16 PM) SF driven by "lazy" amps ... sure will sound overly laidback and boring. Unless you like laidback & boring sound Thanks bro. Still at conception that if amps are not full "high-current", they must be lazy and boring? On a side note, music through vinyl playback within the same system is very much alive and enjoyable. For CD playback, culprit could be the source or I should experiment with other cables. The sheer transparency of the mere 10W T-amp fitted with a discreet attenuator is hard to match. Enjoy the music. Cheers. |
Apr 6 2009, 02:05 PM
1,061 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
of course
QUOTE(Y.C. @ Apr 6 2009, 12:12 PM) Thanks bro. Still at conception that if amps are not full "high-current", they must be lazy and boring? On a side note, music through vinyl playback within the same system is very much alive and enjoyable. For CD playback, culprit could be the source or I should experiment with other cables. The sheer transparency of the mere 10W T-amp fitted with a discreet attenuator is hard to match. Enjoy the music. Cheers. |
Apr 6 2009, 05:30 PM
906 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Heheheh, I know where this is heading, so I refrain from commenting. I'll instead quote a comment made by another forumer at a another thread in another forum altogether, his views I could not have better worded them:
"There must be no challenge to sound and its engineering. It must be an exercise on aesthetics of music reproduction using each one's own means in best possible balance. Everything has to stay under some defined concept. For instance, real engineers know how to make very linear circuits, and know how to eliminate capacitive coupling, noise, IMD. They have a concept. To challenge Audio Precision and HP gear limits. They do that and make great machines that our heads spin 5 minutes after they begin to explain how they work. But then again a Japanese guy pops up with a handful of tubes, and a 1940's measurement results level. But he has listened hard, and he is a craftsman with great aesthetics. We listen, and many of us feel our heart touched. He has a concept too. Soul moving sound. Each device and part to its own merit, each man to his own wits, abilities, concept and system. In natural procession all find friends or indifferently getting passed by. Circuitry polemics I find boring and non noble at all. It's a hobby to us. We must leave the rest to professional interests." This post has been edited by Y.C.: Apr 6 2009, 05:46 PM |
Apr 6 2009, 08:32 PM
829 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: ☆柔弗洲 to 沙巴★ Status: Dori Dori |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « NAD is my favourite too, how about Rotel? uh... i don't wana buy 2nd hand anymore.... last time i bought a 2nd Micromega cd player for SGD700 & the cd transporter was too sensitive to play then gave up & bought a marantz instead Added on April 6, 2009, 8:34 pm » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Cambridge Audio is quite interesting, how much does it cost? lets say a Toy speaker, Cambridge amp + Cambridge cd player? This post has been edited by ah liew: Apr 6 2009, 08:34 PM |
Apr 7 2009, 01:18 AM
6,489 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Serdang |
ahliew. perhaps.. just perhaps. in my opinion. toy + cambridge audio is going to give you very very very polite sound.
Apr 7 2009, 10:07 AM
1,061 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(Y.C. @ Apr 6 2009, 05:30 PM) Heheheh, I know where this is heading, so I refrain from commenting. I'll instead quote a comment made by another forumer at a another thread in another forum altogether, his views I could not have better worded them: wah ... very deep ..."There must be no challenge to sound and its engineering. It must be an exercise on aesthetics of music reproduction using each one's own means in best possible balance. Everything has to stay under some defined concept. For instance, real engineers know how to make very linear circuits, and know how to eliminate capacitive coupling, noise, IMD. They have a concept. To challenge Audio Precision and HP gear limits. They do that and make great machines that our heads spin 5 minutes after they begin to explain how they work. But then again a Japanese guy pops up with a handful of tubes, and a 1940's measurement results level. But he has listened hard, and he is a craftsman with great aesthetics. We listen, and many of us feel our heart touched. He has a concept too. Soul moving sound. Each device and part to its own merit, each man to his own wits, abilities, concept and system. In natural procession all find friends or indifferently getting passed by. Circuitry polemics I find boring and non noble at all. It's a hobby to us. We must leave the rest to professional interests." i much prefer the Wendy's tagline: "Where's the beef? " |
Apr 7 2009, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(Y.C. @ Apr 6 2009, 05:30 PM) Heheheh, I know where this is heading, so I refrain from commenting. I'll instead quote a comment made by another forumer at a another thread in another forum altogether, his views I could not have better worded them: good one. "There must be no challenge to sound and its engineering. It must be an exercise on aesthetics of music reproduction using each one's own means in best possible balance. Everything has to stay under some defined concept. For instance, real engineers know how to make very linear circuits, and know how to eliminate capacitive coupling, noise, IMD. They have a concept. To challenge Audio Precision and HP gear limits. They do that and make great machines that our heads spin 5 minutes after they begin to explain how they work. But then again a Japanese guy pops up with a handful of tubes, and a 1940's measurement results level. But he has listened hard, and he is a craftsman with great aesthetics. We listen, and many of us feel our heart touched. He has a concept too. Soul moving sound. Each device and part to its own merit, each man to his own wits, abilities, concept and system. In natural procession all find friends or indifferently getting passed by. Circuitry polemics I find boring and non noble at all. It's a hobby to us. We must leave the rest to professional interests." |
Apr 7 2009, 11:59 PM
Apr 8 2009, 04:41 PM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
so tempting! can my Arcam drive a entry level Sonus Farber well? only when i have extra money lol.
Apr 8 2009, 10:23 PM
Apr 9 2009, 09:44 AM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
Apr 9 2009, 08:41 PM
Apr 10 2009, 01:02 PM
1,829 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Bolehland |
I would like to hear Roksan Kandy LIII driving a pair of Sonus Minima Amator speakers. Really unsure how they will sound coz hardly see this combination being suggested.
Judging from the papers, the Roksan Kandy LIII has enough power and the price is not too high either. Oh ya.. BTW, anyone here asked the price of a pair of Toy before? Curious to know the price.. |
Apr 10 2009, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Apr 10 2009, 01:02 PM) I would like to hear Roksan Kandy LIII driving a pair of Sonus Minima Amator speakers. Really unsure how they will sound coz hardly see this combination being suggested. i have a good idea... have u seen those audio buff carrying their amp to hifi shops & audit the speakers? Judging from the papers, the Roksan Kandy LIII has enough power and the price is not too high either. Oh ya.. BTW, anyone here asked the price of a pair of Toy before? Curious to know the price.. maybe u can try that |
Apr 11 2009, 12:06 AM
well. i am one of the audio buff you describe then.
i carried my NAD to hifi shop to test the speaker before i buy. because i think it's the best and most direct way to know how it sound rather than asking opinion over internet. and ppl give opinion, then we won't believe it, and still thinking "are you sure what you said is correct? what if my taste different with yours?" so what's the point of asking opinion while already choose not to believe. then directly go and test is the best way. After asking a lot of question in the internet, in the end still won't get an answer that is satisfied. or even got ppl answer also choosed not to believe. so why wasting energy asking? if seriously want to buy. really go straight and test. because for this kinda of low budget hifi entry level speaker. i don't think any hifi shop willing to borrow this speaker for you to take home and test it. unless you are very very close with those hifi shop. This post has been edited by PcWork: Apr 11 2009, 12:11 AM |
Apr 11 2009, 11:01 AM
2,137 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(PcWork @ Apr 11 2009, 12:06 AM) well. i am one of the audio buff you describe then. if u r close to the owner and is a regular with him, he will loan it to u for home trial run...i carried my NAD to hifi shop to test the speaker before i buy. because i think it's the best and most direct way to know how it sound rather than asking opinion over internet. and ppl give opinion, then we won't believe it, and still thinking "are you sure what you said is correct? what if my taste different with yours?" so what's the point of asking opinion while already choose not to believe. then directly go and test is the best way. After asking a lot of question in the internet, in the end still won't get an answer that is satisfied. or even got ppl answer also choosed not to believe. so why wasting energy asking? if seriously want to buy. really go straight and test. because for this kinda of low budget hifi entry level speaker. i don't think any hifi shop willing to borrow this speaker for you to take home and test it. unless you are very very close with those hifi shop. that i usually do when i have doubts and wondered if it is good as the reviews stated... or u can ask some of audiophiles who got the same product and let u come for an audition... sharing and giving opinion is a great and plus u meet some ppl who share the same passions |
Apr 11 2009, 01:50 PM
well i was thinking to borrow a concertino. but what if it doesn't suit me, and it get damaged physically or cosmetically while i transport it? i end up have to buy things i don't like.
so rather i bring my own amp there. test it kao kao. |
Apr 11 2009, 02:20 PM
2,137 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(PcWork @ Apr 11 2009, 01:50 PM) well i was thinking to borrow a concertino. but what if it doesn't suit me, and it get damaged physically or cosmetically while i transport it? i end up have to buy things i don't like. lol usually those big big things i dun dare to ask .... so rather i bring my own amp there. test it kao kao. but if u r lucky enuff, they might be kind enuff to bring their speakers to yur home to try it out... u can get some tips and hints on how to setup yur hifi speaker and maxed it out when they come and look at yur room and yur rigs.... |
Apr 11 2009, 02:42 PM
67 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(ah liew @ Apr 9 2009, 08:41 PM) thanks for sharing, i'm using Alpha 8 Alpha 8? Okay, I'll comment here as I have used a pair of 8Ps in the past to drive a Minima Amator. Easy to listen to but lacks the slam factor.just wondering how it sounds if plug into the Sonus if i buy seperately it'll be expensive.... The 8Ps struggle at higher volumes. I am not surprised as the Minima Amator is one tough dog to drive. I went onto the 9Ps later. Better overall but still lacks excitement. Hope this helps. |
| Change to: | 0.0329sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:55 PM |