11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

erh_teo
post Nov 26 2008, 10:05 AM

hand must move like taichi master... :lol
start spraying from one side to one side.. google for more youtube video on spraying tutorials...
erh_teo
post Nov 26 2008, 01:34 PM

haven't done dis, but heard fr some top malaysian sifu, after buffing the mr.metallic, topcoat with waterbase topcoat (blue label can spray).
expected to loose some shine but it can protect the scratch/touch..

u want shine shine but not the weak bond of mr.metal?
try gunze's mr. super metallic, but price tag 3 times more expensif..
can get fr HHQ..
erh_teo
post Nov 26 2008, 03:17 PM

super gloss finish never accomplish by airbrushing alone.
no matter how skillful or powerful handpiece or compressor u have.

a gloss finish is usually attained wt good combination of smooth and good paint coverage.

polishing and waxing will futher bring the depth and gloss of the finishing.
airbushing jus never stop there to get u the showroom shine u wanted.

i spent nearly 2 years on and off reading and experimenting just to understand the basics in getting high gloss finishing.

read more here:
http://italianhorses.net/Publications/MC/E...nt/Image-10.jpg
http://italianhorses.net/Publications/MC/E...nt/Image-11.jpg
http://italianhorses.net/Publications/MC/E...nt/Image-12.jpg
http://italianhorses.net/Publications/MC/E...nt/Image-13.jpg
erh_teo
post Nov 27 2008, 04:57 PM

understood this thread is kinda lengthy for newbie who is more keen to spend time on actual kits than reading in front monitors..

before u wanted to learn anything.. always.. always..
read this one 1st if u haven't.. (u shud have i guessed)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/488910

Added on November 27, 2008, 5:06 pm
QUOTE(hclai @ Nov 27 2008, 04:46 PM)
I m new here, being reading this thread for a while and i just got my first gundam set which is a Lucas Strike E + IWSP. and some basic tools for gunpla, one thing really interested me is air brushing or painting , how many of you here actually paint ur gundam or just assemble or ppl now already turn to gundam fix configuration? i dun really understand, what is decal?

any tai kor here willing to give some hands on tutorial on air brushing or color painting on either gundam or Zaku...
getting back to ur questions..
well.. depend wat suites to ur need;

1) most of us will snap-fit our kit, painting or not it's a matter of when time allow us to do so.
bear in mind an MG kit requires somewhere from 2-3 weeks and can last up to 1-2 months (if u r rili one bz fella) to complete painting.. so i snap-fit the kit i want 1st and find when free then start painting
2) fix figuration is almost a figure, with movable parts and detachable armors, it doesnt allow u to "build the kit from runner". so it's diff. i like snap-fitting so i choose model kit.
3) money
u can spent min or alot depend again how u gonna spent ur money for tools, paints, not to mention airbrush handpiece and compressor. but i spent more on paints, thinners and disposable tools. airbrush n compressor is just one time investment.

so, u decide wat u wanna do after u snap-fit lor. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by erh_teo: Nov 27 2008, 05:06 PM
erh_teo
post Nov 28 2008, 10:03 AM

kenot be his pic, unless he is azizol aka hyakushiki84

Added on November 28, 2008, 10:07 am
QUOTE(St0rmFury @ Nov 27 2008, 07:53 PM)
Put a LITTLE super glue inside the joint hole and insert the joint. Wait for a few seconds and remove the joint. Once the glue dries it should it tighter.
for ball joint with pc joint (polycap joint) stormfury's method will works > BALL JOINT (esp those groin joint)
but for male peg with female pc, the male peg might got stuck and break > ROD JOINT (esp those elbow joint)

so for ROD joint, u may wan the supergle dry outside before putting back into the pc joint. less is more. sometimes a few drop will do the trick.

This post has been edited by erh_teo: Nov 28 2008, 10:07 AM
erh_teo
post Nov 28 2008, 10:16 AM

QUOTE(gaiachronicler @ Nov 27 2008, 06:07 PM)
wa u all snap fit 1st only decide to paint ka? shocking.gif  i thought take out parts that wan to paint 1st then only put them into 1 pieces..( i know some will snapfit then take apart again, paint then put it back together again)

@rayloke, the forum link u give me like dead already... last post is like last year (OMG)
summore i still haven't get the verification to my id at that forum
depends, some experience modeller straight cut, sand, paint then assemble.
for rookie like me, it's always safe to test the "water" 1st.
y? if u encounter difficulty during assembling time, most prob u miss insert something or snap the wrong parts u will definitely get the paint scratch.

QUOTE(hclai @ Nov 28 2008, 12:06 AM)
thanx for the reply, i bought some basic tools from tamiya under ground already, and some instant spray on type paint. guess i will do the same, snap fit the kit then think about what to paint and when to paint. by the way, do you use air brush for ur gunpla? i check some online tutorial, dun really hav idea how to use it and i know with compresor and and different sizes of air brush it would be another hefty investment if i dun really use it often and at the end of the day, it will become and white elephant. where to look for those gundam marker or gunpla related material? i check few hobby shop, around one utama ( tamiya underground), mid valley  XL sell some of the paint only, where can i actually scout or check out gundam related things and air brush stuff? any good recomendation? hope u dun mind from time to time i will ask u more if i go into paint and detail scaling of gundam. Thanx alot of the reply
it's rili up to ur taste and standard dude.
again there's so many guys here willing to spent at least up to 3-4 mg kit every once and every month but complain that the only one time investment for airbrush n compressor is expensif.
airbrush + handpiece, to be safe let say it's around 650 to get a decent set to begin with. that's like only 5-6 mg kit (prob 4-6 months no buying kit)
some ppl go for quantity some go for quality.
for me, it's good to be somewhere in between. blush.gif

if u believe snap fit collections are not ur taste, it's time to consider whether u wanna do more kits or just stop at where u r.
unlike cars or bikes, gunpla requires many color parts and can spray can't fulfil ur needs.
unless u r willing to spent time to learn handpaint, some ppl just stick to the easiest way.
sand, lining and top coat. it may look less complete but nonetheless it's still better looking than snap-fit dry kit..

erh_teo
post Dec 2 2008, 12:32 PM

QUOTE(boltguard @ Nov 29 2008, 02:36 AM)

can anyone tell me where can i get this? 
these are called Hologram Sheets 
i oso having hardtime looking for this thing locally.
online shop for making fairy dolls carries them, but i lost the link. if buying on9 is ur option, look for sites making and selling stuffs to make fairy butterfly dolls

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Nov 29 2008, 11:30 AM)
bro, is tamiya lacquer thinner safe to mix with mr color?
got mr.thinner why wanna use tamiya thinner. if i'm u i dun wan risk my thinner and paint. damn those paint gonna increase 1/3 next year still wanna waste paint meh doh.gif

QUOTE(boltguard @ Nov 29 2008, 07:43 PM)
so long i didnt play with my AB, suddenly i ab my kit today, put surfacer in the ab, there's this web thingy that came out of my ab, wuts the prob with that? 

is my mixing ratio wrong? 

help me onegai shimasu  rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(boltguard @ Nov 29 2008, 08:50 PM)
urmm, this is how i do, surfacer 30% & thinner 70%, correct ka?
then how bout mr. colour ? same mixing ratio?
all the ratio they give u is correct but problem wt surfacer is they tend to dry tooooo thick.
the same ratio may not apply when it work for a new bottle of surfacer 1000 compare to an old thicken bottle.
again, follow the milk-thickness consistency as suggested. the paint shud flow when properly thin like milk.
if it's over-thin, it will looked too thin, less opaque (like semi transparent)

Added on December 2, 2008, 12:47 pm
QUOTE(WaytoDawn @ Nov 29 2008, 08:54 PM)
Ahh...now i get it. thx man! So now i just have to get my airbrushing skills right... Tried airbrushing for the first time today and.... shocking.gif It's really different from just using the spray can. I've got a few questions that i hope you sifu's can help me with.
1) Whats the most suitable ratio of water to acrylic paint? 50:50? I tried diluting the paint and all i got was either too thick or too diluted.... sweat.gif
2)I'm using a single action airbrush n it kinda produces rather large particles and quite widespread. Is this due to my skills (or lack there of sweat.gif ) or the handpiece?
3) I've read about the basic tamiya air compressor from the previous few pages that cost about RM200 n is battery powered. Can I get that at one of the shops here? Cuz buying on9 is not an option for me.

Thx in advance!
1) keep trying, the ratio is somewhere around there, 50:50 to 40:60
2) for single color and broad area spraying, the problem more lies on ur thinning rather than equipment fault.
3) invest for a proper compressor wt handpiece la bro.. ard 650 can get u a decent set liao laugh.gif

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Nov 29 2008, 11:11 PM)
1st time recasting small parts... using bondite... sweat.gif

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Nov 30 2008, 08:45 AM)
TM@BTS got sell afhobby also got...

Added on November 30, 2008, 8:46 ambrrr.. casting failed... doh.gif
apa lu mau tunjuk bro.. apa pun tarak nampak, tak tau u fail apa la laugh.gif

This post has been edited by erh_teo: Dec 2 2008, 12:47 PM
erh_teo
post Dec 3 2008, 09:52 AM

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Dec 2 2008, 08:57 PM)
hahaha.. kind of forget to post result.... mold 100% confirm success.... the copy.... doh.gif i put less bondite... so the result is fail for the 1st one.. 2nd one success recast yellow sub join... tongue.gif  thumbup.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Added on December 3, 2008, 9:55 am
QUOTE(VHunter @ Dec 2 2008, 07:05 PM)
Guys, serious help needed. I just got a Unicorn and I have NO IDEA how to apply the transparent decals. I ended up breaking it on my finger. Have any videos or pictures?
do u rili need to get ppl to help u on evereything???
those transparent stickers i dont see any difficulty in appyling them. if u got broad clumpsy fingers use a tweezer may help.
otherwise i suggest u pay a trip to Time Machine see they got stock of unicorn waterslide decals. that is a much better option blush.gif

This post has been edited by erh_teo: Dec 3 2008, 09:55 AM
erh_teo
post Dec 4 2008, 10:38 AM

clay can be anytype but mostly widespread use in modelling is the modelling clay (that need to be baked for harden it).
search in wikipedia, there's too many i oso cant describe.
i can only tell u clay is for scupting works. try wikipedia for modelling clay.

putty can be from tamiya or gunze
see here:
http://www.hlj.com/hljlist2/?Dis=-2&from=d...chpage=top_page

pla-plate is sheets of plastic, the same PS plastic that make ur gundam kit. use to do modification works such as the pic u shown earlier of hi-nu gundam
erh_teo
post Dec 5 2008, 11:09 AM

here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/392450

xl-shop
time machine
Miniature Hobby
AF Hobby

or online:
HLJ
Rainbow ten
HobbySearch

local hobby online:
www.hobbiescorner.com
http://z4.invisionfree.com/mgs/

erh_teo
post Dec 10 2008, 03:36 PM

QUOTE(Demon_Eyes_Kyo @ Dec 10 2008, 01:34 PM)
I am currently using Mr. Hobby Thinner to clean up paint smudges and to strip paint from my model if its not done properly. Will it harm my kit?
i think it will HARM UR WALLET MORE biggrin.gif
of course, it will do NO harm for ur kit blush.gif
but that will harm ur earlier paint joint.. i suggest u use acques hobby acrylics if u handpaint. mess up, clean wt window cleaner/windex and start all over. mr.color is pretty troublesome for clean up if ur paint job mess up.

If we dilute industrial thinner with a lot of water, will it harm the kit or it has same effect as hobby thinner.
thinner n water doesnt mix like oil wt water.
(u see properly there's droplet inside, that's call emulsion, if it's mix u'll see 1 clear layer of lquid)
so answer is NO.
just get mr.thinner for the proper thinner for "thinning" ur paint.
industrial paints are for cleanup jobs.

edwardgsk...
rayloke already mentioned in his earlier post.
compound = abrassive compound that worked like fine fine sandpaper
it's like asking, sandpaper got color r? can use after finsih my paint job?
say if the finest sandpaper u can get is 2000#, compound is like 2000# to 10,000# depending the grade u getting.
erh_teo
post Dec 10 2008, 05:37 PM

i'm sorry.. i didnt get ur question..

wash as in the sense of cleaning it or u mean "panel wash" (panel lining)?

if it's for cleaning purpose of course b4 painting.

erh_teo
post Dec 12 2008, 06:02 PM

for more modding works pls look into more forums like hkml, plamo or local one like zero g.
lowyat here is really to help newcomers. flooding this thread wt modding questions bring newcomers nowhere but hell.

visit more, see more, try more.. u'll b there one day.
there's no harm drooling at ppl's work but sometimes it makes abit of sacrifies as well..

gathering.. go to the link rayloke posted.

cheers and happy modelling!!!
erh_teo
post Dec 15 2008, 06:02 PM

if u r using air canisters then i suggest u go with somewat between 1/3 to 2/3 parts surfacer, probably like say 55-60% surfacer 40-45% thinner. if u r satisfied wt ur earlier 67% surfacer, go ahead.

usu if u r using air compressor (no limited air:)) it will be easier to handle 1/3 (surfacer/thinner) ratio. the one time go cover everytime might be bit rough. feel with ur fingers u'll know wat i mean.

to counter the 1/3 less opaque, spray another layer, it shud be fine.

remember, painting is to "provide" color to ur kit, NOT COVER UR KIT WITH PAINT.
u want all though nice nice details n panel still visible, go with minimum thin amount but thick enuf just to cover the base color (grey primer).
erh_teo
post Dec 16 2008, 10:28 AM

no problem, no need address as sir..

we are here just to share share ma...

compressor not working? getting new one? y not sent for repair/checking see what's the problem b4 getting new one?

erh_teo
post Dec 17 2008, 03:44 PM

u want satisfactory results, hobby thinner like those fr tamiya or mr.thinner.

u r not perfectionist, k.. can use industrial thinner fr hardware.
just be aware as some are stronger some milder.. should be ok if use for mist spray application sparingly..
scare screw up, try on scrap plastics.
never apply industrial thinner full strength in wet coat.
ur plastic will melt/soften...

Added on December 17, 2008, 3:48 pmu want something to replace mr.thinner, work exactly like it, yes, probably gaia thinner (fr gaianotes).. cost more or less or just slightly cheaper.
problem is availability around hobby shops here (KL).

if ur hardware industrial thinner can work as satisfactory as hobby thinner, then those shelf won't b always out of stock of hobby thinner.. that's all i can say...

This post has been edited by erh_teo: Dec 17 2008, 03:48 PM
erh_teo
post Dec 23 2008, 11:45 AM

edloh2k, u r right, turpentine can never mix wt mr.color.
but siang89 mentioned he used mr.hobby color.
in fact we all aware the side effect of using turpoentine.
since mr.hobby color is actually water-based, it's better if use alcohol or methylated spirit, or distilled water oso can.

for washing, it's best using hobby enamel thinner for enamel wash (humbrol or tamiya)

u can use zebra type thinner for ab, but just becafeful, it can melt plastic.
if u are very familiar wt ab, somethings use sparingly and it can save u for money.
while since i dun have good results wth zebra or other industrial thinner, i stil stick back to mr.thinner/leveling thinner:)
i use zebra only for washing brush/cleaning prupose..
erh_teo
post Dec 24 2008, 05:04 PM

well... can't blame those who tried alternatives..

believe it or not.. not all people stock up their paint and thinner well..
so unfortunate hobby thinner well just out of stock and u can be waiting for weeks and weeks by time the restock.. worse, with newer (more) expensif price...
erh_teo
post Dec 26 2008, 11:29 AM

i'm sorry.. btw boltguard, wat is a real touch marker...?
n definitely.. wat tips r u looking forwards eh?
use marker oso need tips ka? tongue.gif
erh_teo
post Dec 26 2008, 03:16 PM

QUOTE(boltguard @ Dec 26 2008, 11:37 AM)
real touch markers are, urmm, like the one below tongue.gif
http://www.1999.co.jp/eng/10037435

but they're very much different from the normal gundam markers
real touch markers seems waterproof  nod.gif , then tried with thinner, all gone  doh.gif , have to start all over
or is it i have to stick with the old school twist style, use the thin point gundam line marker  tongue.gif

saw from hobby japan 2008 november issue, they used it on the Macross parts to make the detail lines, then wipe it off, but when i tried it, it made a smudgy mess pulak  doh.gif  doh.gif
so.. u r using it to fill panel lines is it?
the effect is smudgy either those panel not deep enuf and u have to have awhile for halfdried otherwise those wet ink inside the panel will come out as well..

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0561sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:23 AM