126 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

Kinster
post Jun 14 2008, 11:07 PM

144 posts

Thanks for the info, guys. I am on my hunt for Topcoat Flat!

I went to TM @ BTS today, but they are out of Topcoat Flat. I also went to look for AF Hobby @ Ampang. Read somewhere that it is in Paragon Point... went there but don't see any hobby shop! Can someone please teach me how to find AF Hobby? I did see another hobby shop opposite Paragon's main entrance though, but that's not AF... and it's not open. I'll try to look for this Plaza Ampang too. This is the triangular-shaped building next to MRR2, right? I'll also go ask XL if they have it.

If anyone has any other suggestions on where to find Topcoat Flat, please share. smile.gif Thanks! biggrin.gif
rayloke
post Jun 14 2008, 11:16 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Kinster @ Jun 14 2008, 11:07 PM)

I went to TM @ BTS today, but they are out of Topcoat Flat. I also went to look for AF Hobby @ Ampang. Read somewhere that it is in Paragon Point... went there but don't see any hobby shop! Can someone please teach me how to find AF Hobby? I did see another hobby shop opposite Paragon's main entrance though, but that's not AF... and it's not open. I'll try to look for this Plaza Ampang too. This is the triangular-shaped building next to MRR2, right? I'll also go ask XL if they have it.

If anyone has any other suggestions on where to find Topcoat Flat, please share. smile.gif Thanks! biggrin.gif
Now i m not sure\, long time never go Af hobby d. I remember Af hobby doesnt look like a hobby store at all!, it's upstairs of a guardian shop. I dont think even got big signage.

Another place u might wanna consider is Hobby HQ (HHQ) in yow chuan plaza (or some prefer to call crown princess hotel). that's place for serious modeller, more of a scale model place. I realised more of the gundam related goods are relatively slower moving over there. you might get there.
krellian69
post Jun 14 2008, 11:19 PM

69 posts

AF Hobby has now moved OUTSIDE of Paragon Point, oppposite the entrance, right above Guardian.
Foxngn
post Jun 14 2008, 11:19 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

AF Hobby is located opposite of the paragon, it was at the second floor of a guardian, try knock the door..

Flat top coat, Hobby shop above plaza ampang, beside is the citisquare.
Last time ask the boss he said flat top-coat will be in-stock this month.

This post has been edited by Foxngn: Jun 14 2008, 11:29 PM
Kinster
post Jun 14 2008, 11:34 PM

144 posts

Oh, outside Paragon! No wonder I can't find it inside. I'll go look again tomorrow. Hope they open Sundays. If don't have, then I'll go check Hobby HQ @ Yow Chuan Plaza.

"Hobby shop above plaza ampang, beside is the citisquare", I'm a little confused. From the location description, sounds like same area as Hobby HQ. Or could this be another shop in the same area?

Thanks again for the suggestions, sifus! biggrin.gif
Foxngn
post Jun 14 2008, 11:39 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(Kinster @ Jun 14 2008, 11:34 PM)
Oh, outside Paragon! No wonder I can't find it inside. I'll go look again tomorrow. Hope they open Sundays. If don't have, then I'll go check Hobby HQ @ Yow Chuan Plaza.

"Hobby shop above plaza ampang, beside is the citisquare", I'm a little confused. From the location description, sounds like same area as Hobby HQ. Or could this be another shop in the same area?

Thanks again for the suggestions, sifus! biggrin.gif
Is the same shop, cause i keep forgotting the shop name tongue.gif
But try not to go on lunch time, cause sometimes the uncle will close shop go for lunch
naith
post Jun 15 2008, 06:23 PM

158 posts

Is there a way to get to AF Hobby using public transportation? As in buses and trains? I've never driven to that area before(and would rather not given the fuel hikes)
edan1979
post Jun 15 2008, 06:25 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,510 posts

stop at LRT cempaka and use the rapid bus... ask the driver if they follow the route to The Puteri park plaza... thats the nearest bas stop near the shop...
Kinster
post Jun 16 2008, 04:11 PM

144 posts

If you're not familiar with the area, AF Hobby could be hard to find even if you stop at Putri Park Plaza.
I live near the area, so I found it no problem. Actually, I didn't find it. It found me! sweat.gif
Y'see, as instructed, I went upstairs of Guardian pharmacy. First floor, looked like a residence, no signage whatsoever. Went up to second floor, looked more like somebody's house. Discouraged, began to go down the stairs when I heard a loud cantonese voice behind my back, demanding, "Meh see?" ("What's the matter?"). Gave me a scare, but it was the boss of the shop. He let me in and I noticed he got a CCTV, watching me looking around like a fool. Gah! He explained the lack of signage because they just moved in here.

Anyway, Topcoat Flat was out of stock, I'll have to go back in a coupla weeks. That's okay. smile.gif
edwardgsk
post Jun 16 2008, 08:26 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(Kinster @ Jun 16 2008, 04:11 PM)
If you're not familiar with the area, AF Hobby could be hard to find even if you stop at Putri Park Plaza.
I live near the area, so I found it no problem. Actually, I didn't find it. It found me!  sweat.gif
Y'see, as instructed, I went upstairs of Guardian pharmacy. First floor, looked like a residence, no signage whatsoever. Went up to second floor, looked more like somebody's house. Discouraged, began to go down the stairs when I heard a loud cantonese voice behind my back, demanding, "Meh see?" ("What's the matter?"). Gave me a scare, but it was the boss of the shop. He let me in and I noticed he got a CCTV, watching me looking around like a fool. Gah! He explained the lack of signage because they just moved in here.

Anyway, Topcoat Flat was out of stock, I'll have to go back in a coupla weeks. That's okay. smile.gif
so it is 1st floor or second floor?
Kinster
post Jun 17 2008, 02:36 AM

144 posts

It's the first floor, right above Guardian. Just climb up one flight of stairs. The exterior looks nothing like a hobby shop. In fact it looks nothing like any shop. Like I said, I thought it was somebody's home. But just ring the bell, they should get the door for you. Otherwise, just do what I did, act like a fool looking for something, they'll get a laugh from the CCTV then open the door... tongue.gif
edwardgsk
post Jun 17 2008, 04:20 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

o icic haha okok the next time i go kl i will visit ther...
zoidx_chung
post Jun 17 2008, 05:23 PM

道可道,非常道!
791 posts

wrong post... mod delete pls

This post has been edited by zoidx_chung: Jun 17 2008, 05:31 PM
zoidx_chung
post Jun 17 2008, 05:24 PM

道可道,非常道!
791 posts

wrong post, delete pls

This post has been edited by zoidx_chung: Jun 17 2008, 05:32 PM
MyKy44
post Jun 17 2008, 06:16 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

i remember seeing a topic called Topcoat vs Tamiya Clear last few days, in the list of topics out in the LYN main page. But then can't find it ady.

There's another one, Mr Hobby Super Clear UV Cut. Do these clear paints have the same use/function as topcoat itself?

And also, anyone tried the selfmade topcoat solution in the pinned thread? smile.gif
Exiled_Gundam
post Jun 17 2008, 06:23 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Jun 17 2008, 06:16 PM)
i remember seeing a topic called Topcoat vs Tamiya Clear last few days, in the list of topics out in the LYN main page. But then can't find it ady.

There's another one, Mr Hobby Super Clear UV Cut. Do these clear paints have the same use/function as topcoat itself?

And also, anyone tried the selfmade topcoat solution in the pinned thread? smile.gif
Super Clear UV Cut is a kind of topcoat that prevent white color on the model kits become yellowish over the time (if i'm not mistaken). Dont use it on non-white surface though, coz it will result in frost-like effect
MyKy44
post Jun 17 2008, 06:26 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Jun 17 2008, 06:23 PM)
Super Clear UV Cut is a kind of topcoat that prevent white color on the model kits become yellowish over the time (if i'm not mistaken). Dont use it on non-white surface though, coz it will result in frost-like effect
Eh? But i used it on the silver of my WZC. no frost-like effect also
noob4life
post Jun 17 2008, 10:02 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Jun 17 2008, 06:16 PM)

The self made topcoat ( using the Future Floor acrylic i presume ? Cant remember ) was tested AND approved by Vince... pro gundam modeller. biggrin.gif Theres no way it wont work... and u shuld take a look at his completed models pictures... beautiful stuff. I dont see why the topcoat wont work. blush.gif
lonetitans
post Jun 17 2008, 10:41 PM

229 posts

i'm not sure if this question's out of place. where can i find an affordable and reliable air compressor? normally it'll cost how much one for a nice and basic one...
rayloke
post Jun 18 2008, 02:42 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Jun 17 2008, 06:26 PM)
Eh? But i used it on the silver of my WZC. no frost-like effect also
Super UV cut is like super clear, not like super gloss or anything. The UV cut means, they add some chemical and alter the formula a little, the coat will filter out Uv light (from the sun and our lights). So it suppose to prolong the duration of your paint from fading.

Like a UV cut sun glasses, it blocks the UV light from entering your eye balls.

126 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0285sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:37 PM